Skip to main content

Presidential Inaugural Addresses

Featured Content

"Before he enter on the Execution of his Office, he shall take the following Oath or Affirmation:—“I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will faithfully execute the Office of President of the United States, and will to the best of my Ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States."

In addition to the Constitutionally-mandated Oath of Office, Presidents since George Washington have customarily given inaugural addresses upon assuming office. On GovInfo, these addresses are included within the daily and bound versions of the Congressional Record. Until 1937, Presidential Inaugurations were held on March 4th. The date was changed to January 20th as part of the 20th Amendment.

For more information regarding Presidential Inaugural Addresses, see the Architect of the Capitol's site , which includes facts about each inauguration, such as for Dwight Eisenhower's first inaugural, in which the President's choice of a homburg hat for the occasion made them "an inaugural must, displacing traditional black toppers."

For Presidents prior to Ulysses S. Grant, see the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies' Inaugurations site.

Inaugural Addresses

Joseph R. Biden Jr. (2021-2025)

Donald J. Trump (2017-2021)

Barack Obama (2009-2017)

George W. Bush (2001-2009)

William J. Clinton (1993-2001)

George Bush (1989-1993)

Ronald Reagan (1981-1989)

Jimmy Carter (1977-1981)

Gerald R. Ford (1974-1977)

Richard M. Nixon (1969-1974)

Lyndon B. Johnson (1963-1969)

John F. Kennedy (1961-1963)

Dwight D. Eisenhower (1953-1961)

Harry S. Truman (1949-1953)

Franklin D. Roosevelt (1933-1945)

Herbert Hoover (1929-1933)

Calvin Coolidge (1923-1929)

Warren G. Harding (1921-1923)

Woodrow Wilson (1913-1921)

William Howard Taft (1909-1913)

Theodore Roosevelt (1901-1909)

William McKinley (1897-1901)

Grover Cleveland (1893-1897)

Benjamin Harrison (1889-1893)

Grover Cleveland (1885-1889)

Chester Arthur (1881-1885)

James A. Garfield (1881)

Rutherford B. Hayes (1877-1881)

Ulysses S. Grant (1869-1877)

About Featured Content Articles – This series of articles aims to highlight content available in GovInfo related to various national observances, commemorations, anniversaries and more. See more featured content articles.