InSight Launching to Mars

Featured Content May 1, 2018 - On May 5, 2018, NASA is scheduled to launch the InSight spacecraft destined for Mars


"In some ways InSight is like a scientific time machine that will bring back information about the earliest stages of Mars' formation four-and-a-half billion years ago. It will help us learn how rocky bodies form, including Earth, its moon and even planets in other solar systems." InSight spacecraft, Source: NASA
Bruce Banerdt, InSight's Principal Investigator
Source: NASA

May 5, 2018, 4:05 am PDT (7:05 EDT, 11:05 UTC) NASA is scheduled to launch the United Launch Alliance Atlas V rocket carrying the InSight spacecraft destined for Mars’ northern hemisphere. The launch will take place in California at the Vandenberg Air Force Base. This will be the first interplanetary mission to launch from America’s west coast, the first dedicated to Mars' deep interior, and the first NASA mission since the Apollo moon landings to place a seismometer on the soil of another planet.

InSight, short for "Interior Exploration using Seismic Investigations, Geodesy and Heat Transport," uses cutting edge instruments to explore beneath the surface of the planet to measure its "pulse" (seismology), "temperature" (heat flow), and "reflexes" (precision tracking) to allow scientists to study the process of planet formation and evolution. (Source: NASA)


Launch coverage will begin on NASA Television and the agency’s website. at 3:30 a.m. PDT (6:30 EDT, 10:30 UTC).


Related Legislation

H.R. 5503 (IH) - National Aeronautics and Space Administration Authorization Act of 2018
PDF Details

124 Stat. 3328 - An act to enact certain laws relating to national and commercial space programs as title 51, United States Code, ''NATIONAL AND COMMERCIAL SPACE PROGRAMS''
PDF Details

51 U.S.C. - NATIONAL AND COMMERCIAL SPACE PROGRAMS
PDF Details

Budget FY 2019 - National Aeronautics and Space Administration
PDF Details

H. Rept. 115-649 - AMERICAN SPACE COMMERCE FREE ENTERPRISE ACT OF 2017
PDF Details

DCPD-201700901 - Remarks on Signing a Memorandum on Reinvigorating America's Human Space Exploration Program
PDF Details

House Hearing, 115th Congress - AN UPDATE ON NASA EXPLORATION SYSTEMS DEVELOPMENT
PDF Details

Resources