(2) Effective date.-Subsection (f) of section 102 of the Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act, as amended by this subsection, shall apply with respect to each regularly scheduled general election for Federal office held on or after November 1, 2010.

The bill (S. 3073), as amended, was ordered to be engrossed for a third reading, was read the third time, and passed.

#### NAVAL VESSEL TRANSFER ACT OF 2008

Mr. DURBIN. Mr. President, I ask unanimous consent that the Senate proceed to the immediate consideration of H.R. 7177 which is at the desk. The PRESIDING OFFICER. The

clerk will report the bill by title. The legislative clerk read as follows:

A bill (H.R. 7177) to authorize the transfer of naval vessels to certain foreign recipients, and for other purposes.

There being no objection, the Senate proceeded to consider the bill.

Mr. DURBIN. Mr. President, I ask unanimous consent that the bill be read three times and passed, the motions to reconsider be laid upon the table with no intervening action or debate, and that any statements relating to this measure be printed in the RECORD.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Without objection, it is so ordered.

The bill (H.R. 7177) was ordered to a third reading, read the third time, and passed.

### STEPHANIE TUBBS JONES GIFT OF LIFE MEDAL ACT OF 2008

Mr. DURBIN. Mr. President, I ask unanimous consent that the Senate proceed to the immediate consideration of H.R. 7198 which was received from the House.

PRESIDING OFFICER. The The clerk will report the bill by title.

The legislative clerk read as follows: A bill (H.R. 7198) to establish the Stephanie Tubbs Jones Gift of Life Medal for organ do-

nors and the family of organ donors. There being no objection, the Senate

proceeded to consider the bill.

Mr. DURBIN. Mr. President, I ask unanimous consent that the bill be read three times and passed, the motions to reconsider be laid upon the table with no intervening action or debate, and that any statements related to the bill be printed in the RECORD.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Without objection, it is so ordered.

The bill (H.R. 7198) was ordered to a third reading, read the third time, and passed.

## ORDERS FOR THURSDAY, OCTOBER 2. 2008

Mr. DURBIN. Mr. President, I ask unanimous consent that when the Sen-

ate completes its business today, it stand in recess until 10 a.m. on Thursday, October 2; that following the prayer and pledge, the Journal of proceedings be approved to date, the time for the two leaders be reserved for their use later in the day, and that the Senate then proceed to a period of morning business, with Senators permitted to speak for up to 10 minutes each.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Is there objection?

Without objection, it is so ordered.

## RECESS UNTIL 10 A.M. TOMORROW

Mr. DURBIN. Mr. President, if there is no further business to come before the Senate, I ask unanimous consent that it stand in recess under the previous order.

There being no objection, the Senate, at 9:56 p.m., recessed until Thursday, October 2, 2008, at 10 a.m.

#### NOMINATIONS

Executive nominations received by the Senate:

DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY

JONATHAN B. SCHARFEN OF VIRGINIA TO BE DIREC-GRATION SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECU-RITY, VICE EMILIO T. GONZALEZ.

NATIONAL OCEANIC AND ATMOSPHERIC ADMINISTRATION

SUBJECT TO QUALIFICATIONS PROVIDED BY LAW, THE FOLLOWING FOR PERMANENT APPOINTMENT TO THE GRADE INDICATED IN THE NATIONAL OCEANIC AND AT-MOSPHERIC ADMINISTRATION:

To be lieutenant (junior grade) KYLE W. RYAN OLIVER E. BROWN

To be ensign GREGORY R. SCHWEITZER JOHN H. PETERSEN BENJAMIN S. BLOSS JOHN F. ROSSI CHARLENE B. FELKLEY EMILY M. ROSE KEVIN W. ADAMS MATTHEW M. FORNEY MATTHEW J. NARDI MATTHEW J. NARDI ADAM R. REED ADRIENNE L. HOPPER RACHEL M. SARGENT JONATHAN E. OWEN RYAN A. WARTICK SUBJECT TO QUALIFICATIONS PROVIDED BY LAW, THE FOLLOWING FOR PERMANENT APPOINTMENT TO THE GRADE INDICATED IN THE NATIONAL OCEANIC AND AT-MOSPHERIC ADMINISTRATION:

To be lieutenant (junior grade)

ANDREW R. COLEGROVE ANNA-ELIZABETH B. VILLARD-HOWE NICHOLAS C. MORGAN JEFFREY G. PEREIRA COLIN T. KLIEWER HAROLD B EMMONS III PAUL M. CHAMBERLAIN MICHAEL W. O'NEAL MICHAEL W. O'NEAL JULIE L. EARP KYLE A. BYERS LOREN M. EVORY ANDREW J. OSTAPENKO LAURA T. GALLANT GREGORY R. SCHWEITZER MARK S. ANDREWS MEGAN R. GUBERSKI NATHAN F. WURDERNS NATHAN E. WITHERLY CHRISTINE L. SCHULTZ CLAIRE V. SURREY RONALD L MOYERS JR. RONALD L MOYERS, JR. BRIAN D. PRESTCOTT GLEN A. RICE PATRICK M. REDMOND RUSSELL A. QUINTERO NATHAN B. PARKER JONATHAN B. HEESCH MATTHEW C. GRIFFIN FAITH C. OPATRNY

#### PUBLIC HEALTH SERVICE

THE FOLLOWING CANDIDATES FOR PERSONNEL ACTION IN THE REGULAR CORPS OF THE COMMISSIONED

CORPS OF THE U.S. PUBLIC HEALTH SERVICE SUBJECT TO QUALIFICATIONS THEREFORE AS PROVIDED BY LAW AND REGULATIONS:

To be medical director

MATTHEW T. MCKENNA

ZACHARY TAYLOR III

To be senior surgeon

TIMOTHY R. COTE JULIETTE MORGAN

To be surgeon HENRY C. BAGGETT III EDWARD C. DOO

PAUL D. HEIDERSCHEIDT JOHN T. REDD JOSEPH P. SIMON

To be senior assistant surgeon

SCOTT J. FILLER

MONIQUE R. FOUNTAIN ANA I. GUZMAN KAREN C. LEE

LARLEN C. LEE LORI A. POLLACK JAMES J. SEJVAR MICHAEL C. THIGPEN

To be senior dental surgeon

SEYED H. MORTAZAVI

To be dental surgeon

JUAN K. PACKER PHILLIP A. WILSON PAUL A. WONG

To be senior assistant dental surgeon JODINE C. ANDERSON

CAROL L. MCDANIEL

To be nurse director HOLLY A. WILLIAMS

To be senior nurse officer

ANN M. MCCARTHY To be nurse officer

KRISTAL E. DYE SUSAN E. ERWIN MARTIN A. FOREMAN BRANT B. GOODE VERONICA M. GORDON JERRI L. MCGINNIS DOROTHY R. MERCHANT ELVIRA D. MOSELY REBECCA S. NOE ARLENE M PATUC CAROLYN R. STACY-WILKIN DEBRA TUBBS

To be senior assistant nurse officer

ANNE M. ARCEO HELEN E. BALLANTYNE DEMETRIUS CHAPMAN SUMMER A. CUTTING DAN FLETCHER III MELISSA A. GEORGE SHAWNA L. HUTCHINS DEBORAH N. LAMPING

To be engineer officer

JEFFREY A. MURRAY

To be senior assistant engineer officer VARSHA B. SAVALIA

To be scientist

DAVID J. MCINTYRE

DANISHA L. ROBBINS To be senior environmental health officer

PAUL M. LEWIS

To be environmental health officer

BRIAN L. LEWELLING

MATHEW J. THOMAS JOHN T. WHITESIDES

To be senior assistant environmental health

officer

JEFFREY T. DICKSON MOLLY E. PATTON

LEO B. ZADECKY

To be pharmacist

STEVEN A. LABROZZI JUDY L. ROSE JAMIE L. SHADDON

To be senior assistant pharmacist KRISTINA J. BALLINGER

KRISTINA J. BALLINGE JEFFERSON FREDY KATIE E. JOHNSON RANDI R. LANIER JEFFREY J. MALLETTE LORI B. MOORE ALLISON M. PAYNTER ALLISON M. PAYNTER VINCENT S. SANSONE COURTNEY M. SUGGS JUDITH B. THOMPSON

# October 1, 2008

To be senior assistant therapist JAMES M. COWHER

To be health services officer director clifford d. brown  $% \mathcal{L}(\mathcal{L})$ 

 $To \ be \ health \ services \ officer$  irwin w. Fish

To be senior assistant health services officer  $\ensuremath{\mathsf{JULIA}}\xspace$  H. BRYAN

ALNISSA T. CARTER MICHAEL C. CLAY MARTHA S. FERMIN LORI A. GOODMAN RACHAEL TRIMPERT SCHMIDT CAMERON C. SCOTT MICHAEL R. TILUS EMILY J. WILLIAMS *To be junior assistant health services officer* KRISTI R. ANDERSON KEREN ARKIN SARAH E. COLEMAN

CONGRESSIONAL RECORD—SENATE

MATTHEW R. DAAB JAMES C. DECKER DIMANA DIMITROVA ELIZABETH A. FRANKLIN DAVID M. GIANFERANTE MARILOU GONZALEZ REBECCA HARDY AMY J. HATCHER SARA A. KIERPIEC TINA PATTARATORNKOSOHN JEFFREY R. STRICH XI HUA YANG JOHN I. YOUNG