DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA PERSONAL PROTECTION ACT

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. FOSSELLA). The pending business is the question of passage of the bill, H.R. 3193, on which further proceedings were postponed earlier today.

The Clerk read the title of the bill.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the passage of the bill on which a recorded vote was ordered.

This will be a 5-minute vote.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—aves 250, noes 171. answered "present" 1, not voting 10, as follows:

[Roll No. 477]

AYES-250

Aderholt Emerson McInnis Akin Alexander English McIntyre Everett McKeon Baca Feenev Mica Bachus Flake Michaud Miller (FL) Baird Forbes Ford Miller (MI) Baker Ballenger Fossella. Miller, Gary Barrett (SC) Franks (AZ) Mollohan Bartlett (MD) Gallegly Moran (KS) Garrett (NJ) Barton (TX) Murphy Bass Gerlach Murtha Beauprez Gibbons Musgrave Berry Biggert Gillmor Myrick Neugebauer Gingrey Bilirakis Goode Ney Northup Goodlatte Bishop (GA) Bishop (UT) Gordon Norwood Blackburn Granger Nunes Blunt Graves Nussle Green (TX) Boehner Oberstar Bonilla Green (WI) Ortiz Bonner Gutknecht Osborne Boozman Boswell Harris Otter Boucher Hart Oxlev Hastings (WA) Boyd Paul Bradley (NH) Hayes Hayworth Pearce Brady (TX) Pence Brown (SC) Peterson (MN) Hefley Hensarling Brown-Waite Peterson (PA) Ginny Herger Petri Burgess Herseth Pickering Burns Hill Pitts Hinojosa Burr Platts Burton (IN) Hobson Pombo Buver Hoekstra. Pomerov Calvert Holden Porter Camp Hostettler Portman Prvce (OH) Cantor Hulshof Capito Hunter Radanovich Cardoza Isakson Rahall Carson (OK) Issa Regula Istook Carter Rehberg Chabot Jenkins Renzi Chandler John Reves Johnson (IL) Chocola Reynolds Coble Johnson, Sam Rogers (AL) Jones (NC) Cole Rogers (KY) Kanjorski Collins Rogers (MI) Cooper Keller Rohrabacher Costello Ros-Lehtinen Kellv Kennedy (MN) Cox RossCramer Kind Royce King (IA) Ryan (OH) Crane Crenshaw Kingston Ryan (WI) Cubin Kline Ryun (KS) Culberson Knollenberg Sandlin Cunningham Kolbe Schrock LaHood Sensenbrenner Davis (AL) Davis (TN) Lampson Sessions Davis, Jo Ann Latham Shadegg LaTourette Deal (GA) Shaw Sherwood DeFazio Lewis (CA) DeLay Lewis (KY) Shimkus DeMint Linder Shuster LoBiondo Diaz-Balart, L. Simmons Lucas (KY) Lucas (OK) Diaz-Balart, M. Simpson Dingell Skelton Doolittle Manzullo Smith (MI) Dreier Marshall Smith (TX) Duncan Matheson Souder McCotter Dunn Stearns Edwards McCrery Stenholm McHugh Strickland Ehlers

Thornberry Wamp Stupak Sullivan Tiahrt Weldon (PA) Sweeney Tiberi Weller Tancredo Toomey Whitfield Turner (OH) Tanner Wicker Taylor (MS) Turner (TX) Wilson (NM) Taylor (NC) Upton Wilson (SC) Vitter Terry Young (AK) Thomas Walden (OR)

NOES-171

Abercrombie Hinchey Olver Ackerman Holt Owens Allen Honda Hooley (OR) Pascrell Andrews Baldwin Houghton Pastor Becerra. Hover Pavne Bell Hyde Pelosi Berkley Inslee Price (NC) Berman Israel Quinn Ramstad Bishop (NY) Jackson (IL) Rangel Blumenauer Jackson-Lee Rodriguez Bono (TX) Brady (PA) Jefferson Rothman Brown (OH) Johnson (CT) Roybal-Allard Brown, Corrine Johnson, E. B. Ruppersberger Butterfield Jones (OH) Rush Capps Capuano Kaptur Kennedy (RI) Sabo Sánchez, Linda Cardin Kildee T. Kilpatrick Carson (IN) Sanchez, Loretta King (NY) Case Sanders Castle Kirk Saxton Clav Kleczka Schakowsky Clyburn Kucinich Schiff Scott (GA) Conyers Langevin Crowley Lantos Scott (VA) Cummings Larsen (WA) Serrano Davis (CA) Larson (CT) Shays Davis (FL) Leach Sherman Davis (IL) Slaughter Lee Davis, Tom Levin Smith (NJ) Lewis (GA) DeGette Smith (WA) Delahunt Snyder Lipinski DeLauro Lofgren Solis Deutsch Lowey Spratt Dicks Lynch Stark Doggett Majette Tauscher Dooley (CA) Thompson (CA) Maloney Thompson (MS) Doyle Markey Emanuel Matsui Tiernev McCarthy (MO) Engel Towns McCarthy (NY) Udall (CO) Eshoo Etheridge McCollum Udall (NM) McDermott Van Hollen Evans McGovern Velázquez Fattah McNulty Visclosky Meehan Walsh Ferguson Filner Meeks (NY) Waters Foley Menendez Watson Frank (MA) Millender-Watt Frelinghuysen McDonald Waxman Miller (NC) Frost Weiner Gilchrest Miller, George Wexler Moore Gonzalez Wolf Moran (VA) Greenwood Woolsev Grijalva Nadler Wu Gutierrez Napolitano Wynn Young (FL) Neal (MA) Harman

ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1

Obey

NOT VOTING-10

Boehlert	Hoeffel	Tauzin
Cannon	Meek (FL)	Weldon (FL)
Gephardt	Nethercutt	
Hastings (FL)	Putnam	

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore (during the vote). There are 2 minutes remaining in this vote.

□ 1458

Mr. WALSH changed his vote from "aye" to "no."

Mr. FORD changed his vote from "no" to "aye."

So the bill was passed.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

PARLIAMENTARY INQUIRY

Mr. CONYERS. Mr. Speaker, parliamentary inquiry.

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. Fossella). The gentleman will state his parliamentary inquiry.

Mr. CONYERS. Mr. Speaker, under the provisions of the bill just passed, H.R. 3193, will the Members of the House of Representatives be allowed to bring concealed weapons to the floor of this body?

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The gentleman's question is not a proper parliamentary inquiry.

The rules of the House would govern that question as a matter of decorum.

APPOINTMENT OF CONFEREES ON H.R. 4520, AMERICAN JOBS CRE-ATION ACT OF 2004

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Without objection, the Chair appoints the following conferees:

From the Committee on Ways and Means, for consideration of the House bill and the Senate amendment, and modifications committed to conference: Messrs. THOMAS, CRANE, McCrery, Rangel and Levin.

From the Committee on Agriculture, for consideration of title VII of the House bill, and subtitle B of title XI of the Senate amendment, and modifications committed to conference: Messrs. GOODLATTE, BOEHNER, and STENHOLM.

From the Committee on Education and the Workforce, for consideration of sections 489, 490, 616, 701, and 719 of the Senate amendment, and modifications committed to conference: Messrs. BOEHNER, SAM JOHNSON of Texas, and GEORGE MILLER of California.

From the Committee on Energy and Commerce, for consideration of section 662 and subtitle A of title XI of the Senate amendment, and modifications committed to conference: Messrs. Bar-TON of Texas, BURR and WAXMAN.

From the Committee on the Judiciary, for consideration of sections 422, 442, 1111, 1151 and 1161 of the Senate amendment, and modifications committed to conference: Messrs. Sensen-BRENNER, SMITH of Texas and Conyers.

For consideration of the House bill and Senate amendment, and modifications committed to conference: Mr. DELAY.

There was no objection.

GENERAL LEAVE

Mr. YOUNG of Florida. Mr. Speaker, I ask unanimous consent that all Members may have 5 legislative days in which to revise and extend their remarks and include extraneous material on H.J. Res. 107, and that I may include tabular material on the same.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Is there objection to the request of the gentleman from Florida?

There was no objection.