PART 71—STANDARD TIME ZONE BOUNDARIES

Sec.

- 71.1 Limits defined; exceptions authorized for certain rail operating purposes only.
- 71.2 Annual advancement of standard time.
- 71.3 Atlantic zone.
- 71.4 Eastern zone.
- 71.5 Boundary line between eastern and central zones.
- 71.6 Central zone.
- 71.7 Boundary line between central and mountain zones.
- 71.8 Mountain zone.
- 71.9 Boundary line between mountain and Pacific zones.
- 71.10 Pacific zone.
- 71.11 Alaska zone.
- 71.12 Hawaii-Aleutian zone.
- 71.13 Samoa zone.
- 71.14 Chamorro Zone.

AUTHORITY: Secs. 1–4, 40 Stat. 450, as amended; sec. 1, 41 Stat. 1446, as amended; secs. 2–7, 80 Stat. 107, as amended; 100 Stat. 764; Act of Mar. 19, 1918, as amended by the Uniform Time Act of 1966 and Pub. L. 97–449, 15 U.S.C. 260–267; Pub. L. 99–359; Pub. L. 106–564, 15 U.S.C. 263, 114 Stat. 2811; 49 CFR 1.59(a), unless otherwise noted.

SOURCE: Amdt. 71–11, 35 FR 12318, Aug. 1, 1970, unless otherwise noted.

§ 71.1 Limits defined; exceptions authorized for certain rail operating purposes only.

(a) This part prescribes the geographic limits of each of the nine standard time zones established by section 1 of the Standard Time Act, as amended by section 4 of the Uniform Time Act of 1966 (15 U.S.C. 261). The Uniform Time Act also contains lists of operating exceptions granted for specified rail carriers, whose operations cross the time zone boundaries prescribed by this part. (15 U.S.C. 265).

(b) Any rail carrier whose operations cross a time zone boundary prescribed by this part may apply for an operating exception to the General Counsel, Department of Transportation, Washington, DC 20590. However, each rail carrier for which an operating exception is granted shall, in its advertisements, time cards, station bulletin boards, and other publications, show arrival and departure times in terms of the standard time for the place concerned.

(c) The time zones established by the Standard Time Zone Act, as amended by the Uniform Time Act of 1966, are Atlantic, eastern, central, mountain, Pacific, Alaska, Hawaii-Aleutian, Samoa, and Chamorro.

[Amdt. 71–11, 35 FR 12318, Aug. 1, 1970, as amended by Amdt. 71–21, 52 FR 41631, Nov. 18, 1986; 78 FR 15884, Mar. 13, 2013]

§ 71.2 Annual advancement of standard time.

(a) The Uniform Time Act of 1966 (15 U.S.C. 260a(a)), as amended, requires that the standard time of each State observing Daylight Saving Time shall be advanced 1 hour beginning at 2 a.m. on the second Sunday in March of each year and ending at 2 a.m. on the first Sunday in November. This advanced time shall be the standard time of each zone during such period. The Act authorizes any State to exempt itself from this requirement. States in two or more time zones may exempt either the entire State or may exempt the entire area of the State lying within either time zone.

(b) Section 3(b) of the Uniform Time Act of 1966 (15 U.S.C. 260a(b)) provides that "it is the express intent of Congress * * * to supersede any and all laws of the States or political subdivisions thereof insofar as they may now or hereafter provide for advances in time or changeover dates different from those specified in [section 3(a) of that Act]", which are those specified in paragraph (a) of this section.

[Amdt. 71–11, 35 FR 12318, Aug. 1, 1970, as amended by Amdt. 71–21, 52 FR 41631, Nov. 18, 1986; 78 FR 15885, Mar. 13, 2013]

§ 71.3 Atlantic zone.

The first zone, the Atlantic standard time zone, includes that part of the United States that is between 52°30″ W. longitude and 67°30″ W. longitude and that part of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico that is west of 67°30″ W. longitude, but does not include any part of the State of Maine.

§71.4 Eastern zone.

The second zone, the eastern standard time zone, includes that part of the United States that is west of 67°30" W. longitude and east of the boundary line described in §71.5, and includes all of