would make them subject to the regulations.

- (b) An exemption provides the person or class of persons with relief from the regulations for up to 5 years, and may be renewed, upon request, for subsequent 5-year periods.
- (c) Exemptions may only be granted from one or more of the requirements contained in the following parts and sections of the FMCSRs:
- (1) Part 380—Special Training Requirements;
- (2) Part 382—Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and Testing;
- (3) Part 383—Commercial Driver's License Standards; Requirements and Penalties:
- (4) Part 384—State Compliance with Commercial Driver's License Program;
- (5) Part 391—Qualifications of Drivers:
- (6) Part 392—Driving of Commercial Motor Vehicles;
- (7) Part 393—Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operation;
- (8) Part 395—Hours of Service of Drivers:
- (9) Part 396—Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance (except for § 396.25); and
- (10) Part 399—Step, Handhold and Deck Requirements.

[63 FR 67608, Dec. 8, 1998, as amended at 81 FR 47720, July 22, 2016; 86 FR 35639, July 7, 2021]

## § 381.305 How do I determine when I may apply for an exemption?

- (a) You may apply for an exemption if one or more FMCSR prevents you from implementing more efficient or effective operations that would maintain a level of safety equivalent to, or greater than, the level achieved without the exemption.
- (b) Before you decide to apply for an exemption you should carefully review the regulation to determine whether there are any practical alternatives already available that would allow you to conduct your motor carrier operations. You should also determine whether you need an exemption from all of the requirements in one or more parts of the regulations, or whether a more limited exemption from certain sections within one or more parts of the regulations would provide an acceptable level of regulatory relief. For

example, if you need regulatory relief from one of the recordkeeping requirements concerning driver qualifications, you should not request regulatory relief from all of the requirements of part 391.

## § 381.310 How do I apply for an exemption?

- (a) You must send a written request (for example, a typed or handwritten (printed) letter), which includes all of the information required by this section, to the Administrator, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey Ave., SE., Washington, DC 20590-0001.
- (b) You must identify the person or class of persons who would be covered by the exemption. The application for an exemption must include:
- (1) Your name, job title, mailing address, and daytime telephone number;
- (2) The name of the individual or motor carrier that would be responsible for the use or operation of CMVs;
- (3) Principal place of business for the motor carrier (street address, city, State, and zip code); and
- (4) The USDOT identification number for the motor carrier.
- (c) You must provide a written statement that:
- (1) Describes the reason the exemption is needed, including the time period during which it is needed;
- (2) Identifies the regulation from which you would like to be exempted;
- (3) Provides an estimate of the total number of drivers and CMVs that would be operated under the terms and conditions of the exemption;
- (4) Assesses the safety impacts the exemption may have;
- (5) Explains how you would ensure that you could achieve a level of safety that is equivalent to, or greater than, the level of safety that would be obtained by complying with the regulation; and
- (6) Describes the impacts (e.g., inability to test innovative safety management control systems, etc.) you could experience if the exemption is not granted by the FMCSA.
- (d) Your application must include a copy of all research reports, technical