### Subpart B—Headquarters

### §1.11 The Commission.

(a) The Nuclear Regulatory Commission, composed of five members, one of whom is designated by the President as Chairman, is established pursuant to section 201 of the Energy Reorganization Act of 1974, as amended. The Chairman is the principal executive officer of the Commission, and is responsible for the executive and administrative functions with respect to appointment and supervision of personnel, except as otherwise provided by the Energy Reorganization Act of 1974, as amended, and Reorganization Plan No. 1 of 1980 (45 FR 40561); distribution of business; use and expenditures of funds (except that the function of revising budget estimates and purposes is reserved to the Commission); and appointment, subject to approval of the Commission, of heads of major administrative units under the Commission. The Chairman is the official spokesman, as mandated by the Reorganization Plan No. 1 of 1980. The Chairman has ultimate authority for all NRC functions pertaining to an emergency involving an NRC Licensee. The Chairman's actions are governed by the general policies of the Commission.

(b) The Commission is responsible for licensing and regulating nuclear facilities and materials and for conducting research in support of the licensing and regulatory process, as mandated by the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended; the Energy Reorganization Act of 1974, as amended; and the Nuclear Nonproliferation Act of 1978; and in accordance with the National Environmental Policy Act of 1969, as amended, and other applicable statutes. These responsibilities include protecting public health and safety, protecting the environment, protecting and safeguarding nuclear materials and nuclear power plants in the interest of national security, and assuring conformity with antitrust laws. Agency functions are performed through standards setting and rulemaking; technical reviews and studies; conduct of public hearings; issuance of authorizations, permits, and licenses; inspection, investigation, and enforcement; evaluation of operating experience; and confirmatory research. The Commission is composed of five members, appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

- (c) The following staff units and officials report directly to the Commission: Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel, Office of the General Counsel, Office of the Secretary, Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication, Office of International Programs, and other committees and boards that are authorized or established specifically by the Act. The Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards and the Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste also report directly to the Commission.
- (d) The Offices of Congressional Affairs and Public Affairs report directly to the Chairman.

[52 FR 31602, Aug. 21, 1987, as amended at 57 FR 1639, Jan. 15, 1992; 59 FR 63882, Dec. 12, 1994]

#### INSPECTOR GENERAL

## $\S 1.12$ Office of the Inspector General.

The Office of the Inspector General—

- (a) Develops policies and standards that govern NRC's financial and management audit program;
- (b) Plans, directs, and executes the long-range, comprehensive audit program;
- (c) Conducts and reports on investigations and inquiries, as necessary, to ascertain and verify the facts with regard to the integrity of all NRC programs and operations;
- (d) Investigates possible irregularities or alleged misconduct of NRC employees and contractors;
- (e) Refers suspected or alleged criminal violations concerning NRC employees or contractors to the Department of Justice;
- (f) Reviews existing and proposed legislation and regulations for their impact on economy and efficiency in the administration of NRC's programs and operations;
- (g) Keeps the Commission and the Congress fully and currently informed, by means of semiannual and other reports, about fraud, abuse, and other serious deficiencies in NRC's programs and operations; and
- (h) Maintains liaison with audit and inspector general organizations and

### § 1.13

other law enforcement agencies in regard to all matters relating to the promotion of economy and efficiency and the detection of fraud and abuse in programs and operations.

[54 FR 53313, Dec. 28, 1989]

PANELS, BOARDS, AND COMMITTEES

# §1.13 Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards.

The Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) was established by section 29 of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended. Consisting of a maximum of 15 members, it reviews and reports on safety studies and applications for construction permits and facility operating licenses; advises the Commission with regard to hazards of proposed or existing reactor facilities and the adequacy of proposed reactor safety standards; upon request of the Department of Energy (DOE), reviews and advises with regard to the hazards of DOE nuclear activities and facilities; reviews any generic issues or other matters referred to it by the Commission for advice. The Committee, on its own initiative, may conduct reviews of specific generic matters or nuclear facility safety-related items. The ACRS conducts studies of reactor safety research and submits reports thereon to the U.S. Congress and the NRC as appropriate.

# § 1.15 Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel.

The Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel, established pursuant to section 191 of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, conducts hearings for the Commission and such other regulatory functions as the Commission authorizes. The Panel is comprised of any number of Administrative Judges (fulltime and part-time), who may be lawyers, physicists, engineers, and environmental scientists; and Administrative Law Judges, who hear antitrust, civil penalty, and other cases and serve as Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Chairmen. The Chief Administrative Judge develops and applies procedures governing the activities of Boards, Administrative Judges, and Administrative Law Judges and makes appropriate recommendations to the Commission concerning the rules governing the conduct of hearings. The Panel conducts all licensing and other hearings as directed by the Commission primarily through individual Atomic Safety and Licensing Boards composed of one or three Administrative Judges. Those boards are designated by either the Commission or the Chief Administrative Judge.

[52 FR 31602, Aug. 21, 1987, as amended at 85 FR 65661, Oct. 16, 2020]

#### §1.18 [Reserved]

## § 1.19 Other committees, boards, and panels.

Under section 161a. of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, the Commission may establish advisory bodies to make recommendations to it. Currently, four committees are in existence.

(a) The Advisory Committee on Medical Uses of Isotopes (ACMUI) was established by the Atomic Energy Commission in July 1958. The ACMUI, composed of physicians and scientists, considers medical questions referred to it by the NRC staff and renders expert opinions regarding medical uses of radioisotopes. The ACMUI also advises the NRC staff, as requested, on matters of policy regarding licensing of medical uses of radioisotopes.

(b) The Licensing Support Network Advisory Review Panel (LSNARP) was established by the Commission on October 3, 1989, pursuant to 10 CFR 2.1011(e) of the Commission's regulations. The LSNARP provides advice to the Commission on the design, development, and operation of the Licensing Support Network (LSN) an electronic information management system for use in the Commission's high-level radioactive waste (HLW) licensing proceeding. Membership consists of those interests that will be affected by the use of the LSN, and selected Federal agencies with expertise in large-scale electronic information systems. The individual representatives of these interests and agencies possess expertise in management information science