112TH CONGRESS 2D SESSION

S. RES. 437

Congratulating the Boston College men's ice hockey team on winning its fifth National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Men's Hockey Championship.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

April 25, 2012

Mr. Kerry (for himself and Mr. Brown of Massachusetts) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to

RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the Boston College men's ice hockey team on winning its fifth National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Men's Hockey Championship.
- Whereas, on April 7, 2012, Boston College won the 2012 National Collegiate Athletic Association (referred to in this preamble as the "NCAA") Division I Men's Hockey Championship;
- Whereas the 2012 NCAA Division I Men's Hockey Championship is the fifth national championship for the Boston College Eagles men's ice hockey team;
- Whereas the 2012 NCAA Division I Men's Hockey Championship is the third national championship in the last 5 years for Boston College and its head coach, Jerry York;

- Whereas Jerry York has the most wins of any active coach in NCAA Division I Men's Hockey;
- Whereas Father William P. Leahy, S.J., the President of Boston College, and Gene DeFilippo, the Athletic Director of Boston College, have shown great leadership in bringing athletic success to Boston College;
- Whereas the semifinal games and final game of the NCAA Division I Men's Hockey Tournament are known as the "Frozen Four";
- Whereas junior goaltender Parker Milner was named the Most Outstanding Player of the Frozen Four after allowing only 2 goals during the entire NCAA Division I Men's Hockey Tournament;
- Whereas Boston College finished the 2011–2012 men's hockey season on a 19-game winning streak, which is a singleseason team record;
- Whereas, on February 13, 2012, Boston College won its third consecutive Beanpot Championship, defeating Boston University in sudden death overtime by a score of 3 to 2;
- Whereas, on March 17, 2012, Boston College won its third consecutive Hockey East Championship, defeating the University of Maine by a score of 4 to 1;
- Whereas, on April 5, 2012, Boston College defeated the University of Minnesota in a Frozen Four semifinal game by a score of 6 to 1 to advance to the national championship game; and
- Whereas Boston College won the Frozen Four championship game with a victory over Ferris State University by a score of 4 to 1: Now, therefore, be it

1	Resolved, That the Senate—
2	(1) recognizes the achievements of the players,
3	coaches, students, and staff whose hard work and
4	dedication helped Boston College win the 2012 Na-
5	tional Collegiate Athletic Association Division I
6	Men's Hockey Championship; and
7	(2) respectfully requests that the Secretary of
8	the Senate transmit an enrolled copy of this resolu-
9	tion to—
10	(A) Father William P. Leahy, S.J., the
11	President of Boston College;
12	(B) Gene DeFilippo, the Athletic Director
13	of Boston College; and
14	(C) Jerry York, the head coach of the Bos-
15	ton College men's ice hockey team.

 \bigcirc