112TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION

S. RES. 40

Congratulating the University of Akron men's soccer team on winning the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Men's Soccer Championship.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

February 2, 2011

Mr. Brown of Ohio (for himself and Mr. Portman) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to

RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the University of Akron men's soccer team on winning the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Men's Soccer Championship.
- Whereas on December 12, 2010, the University of Akron men's soccer team, known as the Zips, won the National Collegiate Athletic Association College Cup in Santa Barbara, California and became the first team to win a national title in the history of the University of Akron;
- Whereas, with the victory over the previously undefeated and top-ranked University of Louisville Cardinals, the 2010 University of Akron men's soccer team finished its historic championship season with a record of 22 wins, 1 loss, and 2 draws;

- Whereas the 2010 University of Akron men's soccer team has become a symbol of pride and success to the University of Akron and the communities in Northeast Ohio surrounding the University of Akron;
- Whereas the athletic program of the University of Akron encourages student-athletes to compete on the field, complete degrees in the classroom, and become contributing members of society;
- Whereas, each year, University of Akron student-athletes and coaches participate in community service activities;
- Whereas the head coach of the University of Akron men's soccer team, Caleb Porter, has won 1 national title and taken the men's soccer team to 2 national championship games in the 2 years prior to date of the approval of this resolution;
- Whereas associate head coach Jared Embick, assistant coach Oliver Slawson, and volunteer assistant coach Liam Curran played an important role in coaching the University of Akron men's soccer team;
- Whereas midfielder Scott Caldwell was named the most outstanding offensive player of the College Cup;
- Whereas defender Kofi Sarkodie was named the most outstanding defensive player of the College Cup;
- Whereas forward and midfielder Darlington Nagbe is a finalist for the Hermann Trophy, which is awarded to the best men's collegiate soccer player in the United States;
- Whereas 44 members of the University of Akron men's soccer team have been named All-Americans, including 2 members from the 2010 season, defender Kofi Sarkodie and forward and midfielder Darlington Nagbe;

- Whereas 12 members of the University of Akron men's soccer team have been named Academic All-Americans, including 4 members from the 2010 season—defender Kofi Sarkodie, defender Chad Barson, goalkeeper David Meves, and midfielder Anthony Ampaipitakwong;
- Whereas the 2010 University of Akron men's soccer team was comprised of—
 - (1) 3 seniors—midfielder Anthony Ampaipitakwong, defender Chris Korb, and defender Enrique Paez;
 - (2) 5 juniors—midfielder Michael Balogun, midfielder and defender Matt Dagilis, forward and midfielder Darlington Nagbe, midfielder Michael Nanchoff, and defender Kofi Sarkodie;
 - (3) 7 sophomores—defender Chad Barson, midfielder Scott Caldwell, goalkeeper David Meves, goalkeeper Anthony Ponikvar, forward Thomas Schmitt, midfielder Ben Speas, and defender Zarek Valentin; and
 - (4) 9 freshmen—midfielder Reinaldo Brenes, forward Richard Diaz, Jr., forward Gabriel Genovesi, midfielder Perry Kitchen, forward Darren Mattocks, goalkeeper Andrian McAdams, midfielder Martin Ontiveros, midfielder Eric Stevenson, and forward McKauly Tulloch;
- Whereas 11 members of the 2010 University of Akron men's soccer team hail from the State of Ohio; and
- Whereas the University of Akron men's soccer team should be praised for its historic season of both athletic and academic accomplishments: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 Resolved, That the Senate—
- 2 (1) congratulates the University of Akron men's
- 3 soccer team on winning the National Collegiate Ath-

| 1 | letic Association Division I Men's Soccer Champion- |
|----|--|
| 2 | ship; |
| 3 | (2) recognizes the athletic program of the Uni- |
| 4 | versity of Akron for encouraging student-athletes to |
| 5 | achieve in both sports and academics; and |
| 6 | (3) requests the Secretary of the Senate to |
| 7 | transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution for ap- |
| 8 | propriate display to— |
| 9 | (A) the University of Akron; |
| 10 | (B) Dr. Luis M. Proenza, the President of |
| 11 | the University of Akron; and |
| 12 | (C) Caleb Porter, the head coach of the |
| 13 | University of Akron men's soccer team. |