## 112TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION

## S. RES. 39

Congratulating the Auburn University football team for winning the 2010 Bowl Championship Series National Championship.

## IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

February 2, 2011

Mr. Sessions (for himself and Mr. Shelby) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to

## RESOLUTION

Congratulating the Auburn University football team for winning the 2010 Bowl Championship Series National Championship.

Whereas the Auburn University Tigers won the Tostitos Bowl Championship Series National Championship Game (referred to in this preamble as the "BCS National Championship Game") in Glendale, Arizona, on January 10, 2011, in a thrilling victory over the University of Oregon Ducks with a score of 22 to 19;

Whereas the Auburn University Tigers earned their seventh Southeastern Conference title by defeating the University of South Carolina Gamecocks on December 5, 2010, with a score of 56 to 17;

Whereas the Auburn University Tigers finished the 2010 season with a perfect record of 14 wins and 0 losses;

- Whereas the Auburn University Tigers won 6 games against nationally ranked opponents during the 2010 season;
- Whereas the 2010 BCS National Championship Game marks the second national college football championship in the storied history of Auburn University;
- Whereas the Auburn University football team earned its first national college football championship in the 1957 season, when the team was led by Coach Ralph "Shug" Jordan and quarterback Lloyd Nix;
- Whereas the victory of the Auburn University Tigers in the 2010 BCS National Championship Game was the fifth consecutive BCS national championship won by a school in the Southeastern Conference;
- Whereas in 2010, the Auburn University Tigers were led by quarterback Cam Newton, winner of the Heisman Trophy, the Maxwell Award, the Davey O'Brien Award, the Walter Camp Award, the Associated Press Player of the Year Award, and the Manning Award;
- Whereas during the BCS National Championship Game, Lombardi Award winner Nick Fairley recorded 5 tackles, including 3 tackles for losses, 1 sack, and 1 forced fumble, and was named the Bowl Championship Series Defensive Player of the Game;
- Whereas running back Michael Dyer rushed for 143 yards on 22 carries, including 57 yards on the game-winning drive, and was named the Bowl Championship Series Offensive Player of the Game;
- Whereas Wes Byrum kicked a 19-yard field goal in front of 78,600 fans as time expired to break the 19 to 19 tie and win the game;

- Whereas Gene Chizik, in his second season as head coach of the Auburn University football team, won the Associated Press Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year Award, the Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award, the Bobby Bowden National Collegiate Coach of the Year Award, and the Paul "Bear" Bryant Award;
- Whereas Gene Chizik instilled character, integrity, and the values espoused in the Auburn Creed in his players and inspired the Auburn players, students, and fans throughout the season with the theme of "All In";
- Whereas offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach Gus Malzahn was recognized as the top assistant coach in the country, receiving the 2010 Broyles Award for leading the offense of the 2010 Auburn University football team to single-season school records for total offensive yards, total rushing yards, and points scored;
- Whereas the vision and leadership of President Jay Gogue and Athletic Director Jay Jacobs was instrumental in bringing academic and athletic success and national recognition to Auburn University;
- Whereas the winning season of the 2010 Auburn University football team was also made possible by the leadership and service of past Auburn men such as George Petrie, John Heisman, Ralph "Shug" Jordan, Jim Fyffe, and James E. Foy;
- Whereas the 2010 BCS National Championship Game was a victory not only for the 2010 Auburn University football team, but also for the great Auburn University football teams and players throughout the history of the program, including the undefeated teams of 1958, 1993, and 2004

and players Bo Jackson, Pat Sullivan, Tracy Rocker, Terry Beasley, Jason Campbell, Carnell Williams, Ronnie Brown, Ed Dyas, and Quentin Riggins; and

Whereas the 2010 Auburn University football team has brought great honor to Auburn University, the Auburn University family, and the entire State of Alabama: Now, therefore, be it

	,
1	Resolved, That the Senate—
2	(1) congratulates the Auburn University foot-
3	ball team for winning the 2010 Bowl Championship
4	Series National Championship;
5	(2) recognizes the achievements of the players
6	coaches, students, and staff whose hard work and
7	dedication were instrumental in helping the Auburn
8	University Tigers win the national championship
9	and
10	(3) respectfully requests the Secretary of the
11	Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolu-
12	tion to—
13	(A) the President of Auburn University
14	Dr. Jay Gogue;
15	(B) the Athletic Director of Auburn Uni-
16	versity, Jay Jacobs; and
17	(C) the Head Coach of the Auburn Univer-
18	sity football team, Gene Chizik.