112TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION

S. RES. 225

Congratulating the University of South Carolina baseball team for its gritty and record-breaking pursuit of back-to-back National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Baseball National Championships.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

June 30, 2011

Mr. Graham (for himself and Mr. Demint) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to

RESOLUTION

Congratulating the University of South Carolina baseball team for its gritty and record-breaking pursuit of back-to-back National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Baseball National Championships.

Whereas, on June 28, 2011, the University of South Carolina Gamecocks won the 2011 National Collegiate Athletic Association College World Series with a 5–2 victory over the University of Florida Gators at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Nebraska;

Whereas the University of South Carolina baseball team has secured the University's second national championship in men's athletics since the founding of the University in 1801;

- Whereas the University of South Carolina baseball team became just the sixth team in college baseball history to win back-to-back national championships;
- Whereas the University of South Carolina baseball team won a record 11 consecutive games at the College World Series;
- Whereas the University of South Carolina baseball team won a record 16 consecutive games at the National Collegiate Athletic Association baseball tournament;
- Whereas the University of South Carolina baseball team, in its 10th appearance at the College World Series, became the first team to go 10–0 in the National Collegiate Athletic Association tournament;
- Whereas head coach Ray Tanner won his second national title as Head Coach in his 15th season at the University of South Carolina;
- Whereas second baseman Scott Wingo was named Most Outstanding Player of the 2011 College World Series;
- Whereas first baseman Christian Walker, catcher Robert Berry, second baseman Scott Wingo, shortstop Peter Mooney, pitchers Michael Roth and Matt Price, and designated hitter Brady Thomas were named to the 2011 College World Series All-Tournament Team;
- Whereas the State of South Carolina was proud to send the University of South Carolina baseball team to the College World Series for the second consecutive season; and
- Whereas the University of South Carolina baseball team is the 2011 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Baseball Champion: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 Resolved, That the Senate—

1	(1) commends the University of South Carolina
2	Gamecocks for winning the 2011 National Collegiate
3	Athletic Association College World Series;
4	(2) recognizes the achievement and dedication
5	of all players, coaches, and support staff who battled
6	and made winning 2 consecutive national champion-
7	ships possible;
8	(3) congratulates the people of South Carolina
9	the University of South Carolina, and Carolina
10	Gamecocks fans everywhere; and
11	(4) requests that the Secretary of the Senate
12	submit an enrolled copy of this resolution to—
13	(A) Dr. Harris Pastides, President of the
14	University of South Carolina;
15	(B) Eric Hyman, Director of Athletics at
16	the University of South Carolina; and
17	(C) Ray Tanner, Head Coach of the Uni-
18	versity of South Carolina baseball team

 \bigcirc