## 112TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION

## S. RES. 209

Congratulating the Dallas Mavericks on winning the 2011 National Basketball Association Championship.

## IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

June 16, 2011

Mrs. Hutchison (for herself and Mr. Cornyn) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to

## RESOLUTION

Congratulating the Dallas Mavericks on winning the 2011 National Basketball Association Championship.

- Whereas the Dallas Mavericks finished the 2010–11 National Basketball Association (NBA) season with a 57–25 record;
- Whereas, during the 2011 NBA Playoffs, the Mavericks defeated the Portland Trailblazers, Los Angeles Lakers, Oklahoma City Thunder, and Miami Heat en route to the NBA Championship;
- Whereas the Mavericks epitomized a "never say die" attitude during the 2011 NBA Finals, overcoming losses in games 1 and 3 of the NBA Finals with thrilling fourth quarter comebacks in games 2, 4, and 5 to take a 3–2 series lead;

- Whereas, on June 12, 2011, the Mavericks won the 2011 NBA Championship in 6 games over the Miami Heat;
- Whereas the Mavericks owner Mark Cuban never wavered in his commitment to bring an NBA championship to Dallas, fulfilling the vision of founding owner Don Carter and past owner Ross Perot, Jr.;
- Whereas the President of Basketball Operations and General Manager Donnie Nelson built a team complete with depth, versatility, and humility;
- Whereas third-year Head Coach Rick Carlisle and his assistants helped transform the Mavericks from a perennial playoff contender into the NBA's best;
- Whereas Dirk Nowitzki, who has spent his entire 13-year career with the Mavericks, overcame injury and illness to average 26 points and 9.6 rebounds per game during the NBA Finals, earning the NBA Finals Most Valuable Player Award;
- Whereas longtime Mavericks guard Jason Terry scored a game high 27 points in game 6 to carry the Mavericks to the championship;
- Whereas 17-year NBA veteran Jason Kidd set the tone for the Mavericks' success through his patient, calm, and disciplined leadership;
- Whereas Shawn Marion, Tyson Chandler, DeShawn Stevenson, and Jose Juan "J.J." Barea provided balance on offense and defense to help pave the way to the championship;
- Whereas the Mavericks bench was pivotal to the team's championship, with valuable contributions being made by the entire roster, including guard Rodrigue Beaubois, forward Corey Brewer, forward Caron Butler, forward

Brian Cardinal, center Brendan Haywood, guard Dominique Jones, center Ian Mahinmi, and forward Peja Stojakovic; and

Whereas the Mavericks gave the city of Dallas its first NBA Championship, a unique and special accomplishment for Mavericks fans throughout the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex and around the world: Now, therefore, be it

1	Resolved, That the Senate—
2	(1) congratulates the Dallas Mavericks for their
3	outstanding heart, resolve, and determination in
4	winning the 2011 National Basketball Association
5	Championship; and
6	(2) respectfully requests the Secretary of the
7	Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolu-
8	tion to—
9	(A) Mavericks head coach Rick Carlisle;
10	(B) Mavericks general manager Donnie

 $\bigcirc$ 

(C) Mavericks owner Mark Cuban.

Nelson; and

11

12