112TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION S. RES. 198

Congratulating the Alaska Aces hockey team on winning the 2011 Kelly Cup and becoming East Coast Hockey League champions for the second time in team history.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

MAY 24, 2011

Mr. BEGICH (for himself and Ms. MURKOWSKI) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to

RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the Alaska Aces hockey team on winning the 2011 Kelly Cup and becoming East Coast Hockey League champions for the second time in team history.
- Whereas on Saturday, May 21, 2011, the Alaska Aces won the second Kelly Cup championship in the history of the team with a 5-3 victory over the Kalamazoo Wings;
- Whereas the Alaska Aces lost only 1 game throughout the entire 2011 Kelly Cup playoffs;
- Whereas the Alaska Aces finished the regular season by winning an impressive 35 of the final 41 games;
- Whereas the Alaska Aces won the Brabham Cup with the best record in the East Coast Hockey League regular season;

- Whereas head coach Brent Thompson led the Alaska Aces to the Kelly Cup championship in only his second year as head coach and received the John Brophy award as the East Coast Hockey League's Coach of the Year;
- Whereas Alaska Aces Captain Scott Burt became the first player in East Coast Hockey League history to win 3 Kelly Cups;
- Whereas Alaska Aces forward Scott Howes was named the Most Valuable Player of the Kelly Cup playoffs with 7 goals and 19 points earned during the postseason;
- Whereas Alaska Aces forward Wes Goldie was named Most Valuable Player for the 2010-2011 East Coast Hockey League regular season with 83 points;
- Whereas Alaska Aces goaltender Gerald Coleman backstopped the Alaska Aces with a record of 11 wins and 1 loss during the Kelly Cup playoffs and was selected as the East Coast Hockey League's Goaltender of the Year;
- Whereas the Alaska Aces benefitted from the veteran leadership of center and native Alaskan Brian Swanson;
- Whereas the hard work and dedication of the entire team lead the Alaska Aces to victory;
- Whereas the East Coast Hockey League has developed some of the greatest hockey players who have later enjoyed successful careers in the National Hockey League and the American Hockey League; and
- Whereas Alaskans everywhere are proud of the accomplishments of the Alaska Aces in the 2011 season: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 *Resolved*, That the Senate—

1	(1) congratulates each member and the coach-
2	ing staff of the Alaska Aces hockey team on an im-
3	pressive championship season;
4	(2) recognizes the achievements of the East
5	Coast Hockey League on another fine season of de-
6	veloping players and promoting ice hockey in North
7	America; and
8	(3) respectfully requests the Secretary of the
9	Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolu-
10	tion to—
11	(A) the Alaska Aces ownership;
12	(B) the Commissioner of the East Coast
13	Hockey League, Brian McKenna; and
14	(C) the Commissioner Emeritus of the
15	East Coast Hockey League, Patrick J. Kelly.

 \bigcirc