112TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION

H. RES. 56

Congratulating the Florida International University Golden Panthers for the school's first Bowl victory.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

January 25, 2011

Mr. RIVERA (for himself, Ms. Wasserman Schultz, and Ms. Wilson of Florida submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Education and the Workforce

RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the Florida International University Golden Panthers for the school's first Bowl victory.
- Whereas Florida International University (FIU), established in 1965, is a public university located in Miami, Florida;
- Whereas the FIU football program was established in 1999 and had its inaugural season in 2002 in Division 1–AA;
- Whereas the FIU Golden Panthers moved to Division I–A in 2005, joining the Sun Belt Conference;
- Whereas the FIU Golden Panthers were the 2010 Sun Belt Conference co-champions;
- Whereas, on December 26, 2010, the FIU Golden Panthers defeated the University of Toledo Rockets 34–32 in the Little Caesars Pizza Bowl;

- Whereas the Little Caesars Pizza Bowl was the first bowl appearance for the FIU football program as well as their first victory;
- Whereas, during the Little Caesars Pizza Bowl game, FIU wide receiver Eugene "T.Y." Hilton, who had 3 catches for 32 yards and a touchdown, also returned a kickoff 89 yards for a touchdown, and was instrumental on a 4th-and-17 conversion that eventually set up the game-winning field goal, was named the Little Caesars Pizza Bowl Most Valuable Player;
- Whereas kicker Jack Griffin connected on a 34-yard field goal as time expired to clinch the victory for the FIU Golden Panthers;
- Whereas the FIU football team of skilled players, including Marquis Rolle, Willis Wright, Junior Mertile, Larvez Mars, Eugene "T.Y." Hilton, Wayne Times, Jeremiah Harden, Solomon Smith, Anthony Gaitor, Khambrel McGee, Kedrick Rhodes, Glenn Coleman, Ashlyn Parker, Jake Medlock, Wesley Carroll, Toronto Smith, Wayne Younger, Colt Anderson, Franklin Brown, Dudley LaPorte, Kreg Brown, Randy Williams, Chuck Grace, Markeith Russell, Terrance Taylor, Emmanuel Souarin, Jonathan Cyprien, Darian Mallary, Jose Cheeseborough, Darriet Perry, Dezariah Johnson, Jonathan Faucher, Jarvis Wilson, Justin Halley, Cain Elliot, Zach Schaubaut, Robert Boswell, Winston Fraser, Trenard Turner, Brandon Bennett, Jarrell McGee, Derrick Jones, Jr., Jack Griffin, Sam Miller, Josh Brisk, Kenneth Dillard, Torrence Seymour, Caleb Vincent, Antwoine Bell, Jeremy Jermin, Aaron Davis, Michael Davies, Sam Gervais, Kasey Smith, Junior Delpe, Dylan Lynch, David Delsoin, Anton Graham, Nick Thorstenson, Giancarlo

Revilla, Rupert Bryan, Jr., Gregory Hickman, Michael Cal, Dereck Wimberly, Jr., Kenneth White, Donald Senat, Christopher Edwards, Curtis Bryant, Chris Nasiff, Mitch MacClugage, David Istanich, Kevin Van Kirk, Austin Tottle, Caylin Hauptmann, Ceedrick Davis, Stephen Bailey, Chris Cawthon, Andre Pound, Brad Serini, Cedric Mack, James Wiggins, Ty Frierson, Jairus Williams, Greg Ellingson, Ariel Martinez, Michael Curry, Mitch Wozniak, Joey Harris, Mike Jean-Louis, Jacob Younger, Rockey Vann, Jordan White, Paul Crawford, Andrew Mattox, James Jones, Joshua Forney, Tourek Williams, Jerrico Lee, and Isame Faciane, contributed extraordinary performances throughout the regular season and the Little Caesars Pizza Bowl;

- Whereas FIU Head Coach Mario Cristobal provided strong, wise leadership and instilled a solid work ethic for the football team;
- Whereas Coach Cristobal has been commended by the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) for the team's 74-point increase in the all-important Academic Progress Rate for "the improved academic performance of the football team since the arrival of [Coach Cristobal] in December 2006";
- Whereas the FIU coaching and support staff, which included Athletic Director Pete Garcia, Defensive Coordinator Geoff Collins, Offensive Coordinator Scott Satterfield, Cedric Calhoun, Greg Laffere, Alex Mirabal, Juan Navarro, Frank Ponce, Jeff Popovich, Apollo Wright, Phil Ockinga, Roderick Moore, Dennis Smith, Tony Egues, Dan Hernandez, Jared Brookman, and Andrew Green, exhibited exemplary leadership and guidance to the team; and

Whereas the dedicated FIU Golden Panthers fans supported their team with joy and enthusiasm: Now, therefore, be it

1	Resolved, That the House of Representatives—
2	(1) congratulates—
3	(A) the Florida International University
4	Golden Panthers football team for their first
5	bowl victory in the Little Caesars Pizza Bowl
6	and for their outstanding performance during
7	the 2010 season; and
8	(B) FIU wide receiver Eugene "T.Y." Hil-
9	ton for winning the 2010 Little Caesars Pizza
10	Bowl Most Valuable Player Award;
11	(2) recognizes and praises the achievements of
12	the FIU Golden Panthers football players, coaches,
13	and support staff whose hard work, dedication, and
14	resiliency proved instrumental throughout the sea-
15	son;
16	(3) commends the Florida International Univer-
17	sity students, faculty, alumni and fans for their
18	dedication; and
19	(4) directs the Clerk of the House of Represent-
20	atives to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution
21	to—
22	(A) the FIU Head Coach, Mario Cristobal;

1	(B) FIU Wide Receiver, Eugene "T.Y."
2	Hilton;
3	(C) the FIU President, Dr. Mark B.
4	Rosenberg; and
5	(D) the FIU Athletic Director, Pete Gar-
6	eja

 \bigcirc