112TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION H. RES. 464

Congratulating the St. Louis Cardinals on winning the 2011 World Series Championship.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

NOVEMBER 14, 2011

Mr. AKIN (for himself, Mr. LUETKEMEYER, Mr. CARNAHAN, Mrs. HARTZLER, Mr. LONG, Mr. JOHNSON of Illinois, Mrs. EMERSON, Mr. COSTELLO, and Mr. CLAY) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform

RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the St. Louis Cardinals on winning the 2011 World Series Championship.
- Whereas, on October 28, 2011, the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Texas Rangers by a score of 6–2 in game 7 to win the 2011 World Series and become the champions of Major League Baseball;
- Whereas this is the 11th World Series title that the St. Louis Cardinals have won;
- Whereas the Texas Rangers demonstrated great skill and sportsmanship in order to reach their 2nd World Series;
- Whereas the Cardinals executed an amazing run for the playoffs, winning 23 of their last 32 games to qualify for the playoffs as the National League "wild card" team;

- Whereas the Cardinals beat the Philadelphia Phillies, the team with the best record in the regular season, in game 5 of the National League Division Series;
- Whereas the Cardinals beat the Milwaukee Brewers in game 6 of the National League Championship Series;
- Whereas the 107th World Series was one of the most exciting series in baseball history;
- Whereas Albert Pujols's performance in game 3 was one of the best performances in World Series history;
- Whereas the Cardinals, led by David Freese, staged an amazing come from behind win in game 6;
- Whereas Manager Tony La Russa, who has won 3 World Series titles, announced his retirement on October 31, 2011;
- Whereas General Manager John Mozeliak and owner William DeWitt, Jr. assembled a great team;
- Whereas the entire roster of the 2011 Cardinals should be congratulated, including World Series Most Valuable Player David Freese, as well as Bryan Anderson, Bryan Augenstein, Miguel Batista, Lance Berkman, Mitchell Boggs, Andrew Brown, Chris Carpenter, Matt Carpenter, Adron Chambers, Maikel Cleto, Zack Cox, Allen Craig, Tony Cruz, Daniel Descalso, Brandon Dickson, Octavio Dotel, Ryan Franklin, Rafael Furcal, Jaime Garcia, Tyler Greene, Mark Hamilton, Matt Holliday, Edwin Jackson, Jon Jay, Pete Kozma, Gerald Laird, Kyle Lohse, Lance Lynn, Kyle McClellan, Trever Miller, Yadier Molina, Jason Motte, Corey Patterson, Albert Pujols, Nick Punto, Colby Rasmus, Adam Reifer, Arthur Rhodes, Shane Robinson, Marc Rzepczynski, Fernando Salas, Eduardo Sanchez, Skip Schumaker, Brian Tallet,

Ryan Theriot, Raul Valdes, Adam Wainwright, P.J. Walters, and Jake Westbrook; and

- Whereas Cardinals fans, who are among the best fans in the Nation and were vital to the team's success, can now call their baseball team world champions: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 *Resolved*, That the House of Representatives—
- 2 (1) congratulates the St. Louis Cardinals on
 3 winning the 2011 World Series; and
- 4 (2) commends the players, coaches, manage5 ment, staff, and fans of the St. Louis Cardinals on
 6 this great victory.

 \bigcirc