112TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION

H. RES. 311

Congratulating the Dallas Mavericks on winning the 2011 National Basketball Association championship.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

June 16, 2011

Ms. Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas (for herself, Mr. Sessions, Mr. Hall, Mr. Sam Johnson of Texas, Mr. Barton of Texas, Mr. Bur-GESS, Mr. GOHMERT, Mr. POE of Texas, Mr. HENSARLING, Mr. CULBER-SON, Mr. Brady of Texas, Mr. AL Green of Texas, Mr. McCaul, Mr. Conaway, Ms. Granger, Mr. Thornberry, Mr. Paul, Mr. Hinojosa, Mr. Reyes, Mr. Flores, Ms. Jackson Lee of Texas, Mr. Neuge-BAUER, Mr. GONZALEZ, Mr. SMITH of Texas, Mr. Olson, Mr. Canseco, Mr. Marchant, Mr. Doggett, Mr. Farenthold, Mr. Cuellar, Mr. GENE GREEN of Texas, Mr. Carter, Mr. Griffin of Arkansas, Mr. Pearce, Mr. Chabot, Mr. Crawford, Mr. Southerland, Mr. Austin SCOTT of Georgia, Mr. LANKFORD, Mr. HURT, Mr. POMPEO, Mr. WIL-SON of South Carolina, Ms. HERRERA BEUTLER, Mr. SCHILLING, Mr. KINZINGER of Illinois, Mr. McKinley, Mr. Johnson of Ohio, Mr. HECK, Mr. FLEISCHMANN, Mr. DESJARLAIS, Mr. RENACCI, Mr. RYAN of Wisconsin, Mrs. Noem, Mrs. Hartzler, Mr. Guinta, Mr. Palazzo, Mr. Gosar, Mr. Denham, Mr. Tiberi, Mr. Broun of Georgia, Ms. Fudge, Mrs. Black, Mr. Rush, Mr. Davis of Illinois, Mr. Clyburn, Mr. PAYNE, Mr. BUTTERFIELD, Mr. JACKSON of Illinois, Mr. THOMPSON of Mississippi, Ms. Wilson of Florida, Ms. Brown of Florida, Ms. Lee of California, Ms. Edwards, Ms. Richardson, Ms. Clarke of New York, Mr. Cleaver, Mr. Kucinich, Mr. Clarke of Michigan, Mr. David SCOTT of Georgia, and Mr. Towns) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform

RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the Dallas Mavericks on winning the 2011 National Basketball Association championship.
- Whereas, on June 12, 2011, the Dallas Mavericks won the 2011 National Basketball Association (NBA) championship by defeating the Miami Heat in Miami, Florida;
- Whereas the Mavericks' victory in the NBA was the team's first NBA championship in the franchise history;
- Whereas the owner, Mark Cuban, has made the Mavericks the model NBA club through sound management and by instilling a team-first philosophy;
- Whereas the Mavericks' success is a result of contributions by the entire team, including players Jose Barea, Rodrigue Beaubois, Corey Brewer, Caron Butler, Brian Cardinal, Tyson Chandler, Brendan Haywood, Dominique Jones, Jason Kidd, Ian Mahinmi, Shawn Marion, Dirk Nowitzki, DeShawn Stevenson, Peja Stojakovic, and Jason Terry;
- Whereas head coach Rick Carlisle, and assistant coaches Terry Stotts, Dwane Casey, Darrell Armstrong, Monte Mathis, and Robert Hackett, head athletic trainer Casey Smith, and assistant trainer Dionne Calhoun, led the Mavericks to their first NBA championship by stressing teamwork and determination;
- Whereas the Mavericks' ability to win this season despite a long season and injuries is a testament to the skill of the coaching staff and the desire of the team to play with pride for the City of Dallas;
- Whereas Dirk Nowitzki was selected as the NBA Finals Most Valuable Player;

Whereas the Dallas Mavericks continue to captivate a growing and diverse audience from across Texas and the Nation; and

Whereas the City of Dallas and the State of Texas are proud of the accomplishments of the Dallas Mavericks, the entire Mavericks' organization, and the dedicated and faithful Dallas fans throughout the 2011 NBA season: Now, therefore, be it

1 Resolved, That the House of Representatives—

2 (1) congratulates the Dallas Mavericks on their 3 victory in the 2011 National Basketball Association 4 (NBA) championship; and

> (2) recognizes the dedication and teamwork of all the players, coaches, and staff of the Dallas Mavericks, all of whom were instrumental in helping the Mavericks win their first NBA championship.

> > \bigcirc

5

6

7

8