^{111TH CONGRESS} 2D SESSION S. RES. 692

Congratulating the San Francisco Giants on winning the 2010 World Series Championship.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

DECEMBER 2, 2010

Mrs. BOXER (for herself and Mrs. FEINSTEIN) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation

RESOLUTION

Congratulating the San Francisco Giants on winning the 2010 World Series Championship.

- Whereas, on November 1, 2010, the San Francisco Giants defeated the Texas Rangers by a score of 3–1 in game 5 to win the 2010 World Series and become champions of Major League Baseball;
- Whereas this is the first championship the San Francisco Giants have won since the Giants came to San Francisco from New York in 1958;
- Whereas this is the sixth World Series title in the history of the Giants franchise;
- Whereas the 2010 Giants acted with determination and teamwork as they emerged victorious from the fiercely contested National League Western Division;

- Whereas, during the National League playoffs, the Giants unleashed their arsenal of overpowering starting pitching, unflappable relief pitching, steady defense, and timely hitting to defeat the Atlanta Braves and the two-time defending National League champions, the Philadelphia Phillies, en route to capturing their first pennant since 2002;
- Whereas, although there is no one superstar on the roster, the Giants are a group of self-described "castoffs and misfits" that truly exemplify what it means to be a team;
- Whereas all 25 players on the playoff roster should be congratulated, including World Series Most Valuable Player Edgar Renteria, as well as, Jeremy Affeldt, Madison Bumgarner, Matt Cain, Santiago Casilla, Tim Lincecum, Javier Lopez, Guillermo Mota, Ramon Ramirez, Sergio Romo, Jonathan Sanchez, Brian Wilson, Buster Posey, Eli Whiteside, Mike Fontenot, Aubrey Huff, Travis Ishikawa, Freddy Sanchez, Pablo Sandoval, Juan Uribe, Pat Burrell, Cody Ross. Aaron Rowand, Nate Schierholtz, and Andres Torres;
- Whereas Managing General Partner Bill Neukom, General Manager Brian Sabean and Manager Bruce Bochy did a tremendous job putting together the 2010 San Francisco Giants team and guiding them to the 2010 World Series;
- Whereas San Francisco is a city with a rich baseball tradition where players such as Willie Mays, Willie McCovey, Orlando Cepeda, Juan Marichal, Gaylord Perry, and Joe DiMaggio have displayed the prodigious skills that would eventually take them to the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York; and

- Whereas Giants fans who have been ever loyal, supporting the team from China Basin to Coogan's Bluff, can once again call their baseball team world champions: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 *Resolved*, That the Senate—
 - 2 (1) congratulates the San Francisco Giants on
 3 winning the 2010 World Series Championship; and
 4 (2) commends the fans in California, across the
 5 country, and around the world for their unremitting
 6 support of the Giants.
 - \bigcirc