^{111TH CONGRESS} ^{2D SESSION} S. RES. 637

Commending the Seattle Storm for winning the 2010 Women's National Basketball Association Championship.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

SEPTEMBER 21, 2010

Ms. CANTWELL (for herself and Mrs. MURRAY) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on the Judiciary

RESOLUTION

Commending the Seattle Storm for winning the 2010 Women's National Basketball Association Championship.

- Whereas, on September 16, 2010, the Seattle Storm (referred to in this preamble as the "Storm") defeated the Atlanta Dream by a score of 87 to 84 to win the Women's National Basketball Association (referred to in this preamble as the "WNBA") Championship;
- Whereas this victory is the second championship in the 11year history of the Storm franchise;
- Whereas the Storm had the most wins in the league during the 2010 regular season;
- Whereas the Storm tied the record for wins in a WNBA regular season with 28, including a 13-game win streak;

- Whereas the Storm did not lose a single game at home during the entire 2010 season;
- Whereas the 2010 season was the best season in Storm franchise history;
- Whereas the Storm had a regular season record of 28–6 and a winning percentage of .824, the best of any professional sports team in Seattle history;
- Whereas the Storm won all 7 games the team played in the postseason, becoming only the fourth WNBA team to win the championship without a postseason loss, the first since 2002;
- Whereas center/forward Lauren Jackson was named the Most Valuable Player of the WNBA Finals, scoring 67 points and earning 24 rebounds during the series;
- Whereas Lauren Jackson was named the Most Valuable Player of the WNBA regular reason for the third time in her WNBA career;
- Whereas Lauren Jackson received the most votes of the All-WNBA first team, and guard Sue Bird was named to the All-WNBA second team;
- Whereas Lauren Jackson and Sue Bird won their second career championships with the Storm;
- Whereas each of the starting players for the Storm scored at least 10 points in the final game;
- Whereas the owners of the Storm, Dawn Trudeau, Lisa Brummel, Anne Levinson, and Ginny Gilder, have invested in the success of the Storm and prevented the franchise from leaving Seattle;
- Whereas the owners of the Storm have set the example for the leadership of women in professional sports;

- Whereas head coach of the Storm, Brian Agler, with the help of assistant coach Nancy Darsch, led the team to its second WNBA championship through leadership and a winning philosophy;
- Whereas head coach Brian Agler was named the 2010 WNBA Coach of the Year;
- Whereas the management of the Storm has been successful in building an outstanding team by drafting new players and signing key free agents;
- Whereas the Storm is headquartered in the 7th Congressional District of Washington in the Interbay neighborhood of Seattle, Washington;
- Whereas the Storm is the only professional basketball franchise in the City of Seattle; and
- Whereas the 2010 Storm team is evidence of what can be accomplished when self is set aside and a teamwork mentality is adopted by all of the players: Now, therefore, be it
- 1 *Resolved*, That the Senate—
- $2 \qquad (1) \text{ commends} --$
- 3 (A) the Seattle Storm for winning Wom4 en's National Basketball Association champion5 ship; and
- 6 (B) the people of Washington State for
 7 their support of the team;
- 8 (2) recognizes the achievements of all the play9 ers, coaches, and support staff who were instru10 mental in the success of the Seattle Storm during

the 2010 Women's National Basketball Association
 season; and

3 (3) requests the Secretary of the Senate to
4 transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution for ap5 propriate display to the Seattle Storm.

 \bigcirc