^{111TH CONGRESS} 2D SESSION S. RES. 563

Recognizing the Los Angeles Lakers on their 2010 National Basketball Association Championship and congratulating the players, coaches, and staff for their outstanding achievements.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

JUNE 23, 2010

Mrs. FEINSTEIN (for herself and Mrs. BOXER) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on the Judiciary

RESOLUTION

- Recognizing the Los Angeles Lakers on their 2010 National Basketball Association Championship and congratulating the players, coaches, and staff for their outstanding achievements.
- Whereas, on June 17, 2010, the Los Angeles Lakers won the 2010 National Basketball Association (NBA) Championship with a 83–79 victory over the Boston Celtics in Game 7 of the NBA Finals;
- Whereas, during the 2010 NBA Playoffs, the Lakers defeated the Oklahoma City Thunder, Utah Jazz, Phoenix Suns, and Boston Celtics en route to the storied franchise's 16th championship and 11th in Los Angeles;
- Whereas the 2010 Lakers honored the franchise's tradition of excellence that dates back to its establishment in 1947 in

Minneapolis, Minnesota, where the Lakers were named for the "Land of 10,000 Lakes" and won 5 championships before moving to Los Angeles in 1960;

- Whereas this marks the Lakers' 5th NBA championship since 1999, the most by any franchise during that period, and matches the run by the "Showtime" Lakers of the 1980s that featured Hall of Fame players Earvin "Magic" Johnson, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, and James Worthy;
- Whereas Phil Jackson has won more championships than any other coach in NBA history, recording his 11th championship this year and 5th with the Lakers;
- Whereas the 2010 NBA Championship marks the 10th for the Lakers owner Gerald Hatten Buss;
- Whereas general manager Mitch Kupchak has built a team that has exemplified the talent, character, and resilience necessary to repeat as NBA Champions;
- Whereas Kobe Bryant won his 5th NBA Championship, tying him with Earvin "Magic" Johnson and Derek Fisher for the most by a Lakers player;
- Whereas Kobe Bryant averaged 28.6 points, 8.0 rebounds, and 3.9 assists during the NBA Finals, en route to winning his 2nd consecutive NBA Finals Most Valuable Player Award and becoming just the 8th player to win the award on multiple occasions;
- Whereas Ron Artest, whose hustle and defensive tenacity were critical to the Lakers' win, recorded 20 points and 5 steals during Game 7 of the NBA Finals;
- Whereas the frontcourt of Pau Gasol, Andrew Bynum, and Lamar Odom played stifling defense and helped the Lakers out-rebound the Celtics in the decisive Game 7;

- Whereas Derek Fisher consistently showed toughness and leadership and scored 16 critical points in Game 3 in Boston;
- Whereas the Lakers bench scored 25 points in a pivotal Game 6, and players Jordan Farmar, Luke Walton, Sasha Vujacic, Shannon Brown, Josh Powell, and DJ Mbenga all contributed to the team's 2010 Championship;
- Whereas the Lakers posted a record of 57–25 during the regular season, the best record in the Western Conference and 3rd best in the NBA; and
- Whereas the Los Angeles Lakers have demonstrated that they are both champions on the court and in the community through the team's involvement in charity and outreach programs throughout the Southern California community: Now, therefore, be it

1 *Resolved*, That the Senate recognizes and congratu-

- 2 lates—
- 3 (1) the Los Angeles Lakers for winning the
 4 2010 NBA Finals;
- 5 (2) the Boston Celtics for winning the NBA
 6 Eastern Conference Championship and continuing a
 7 timeless rivalry; and
- 8 (3) coach Phil Jackson for winning his record-9 setting 11th championship.