## <sup>111TH CONGRESS</sup> 2D SESSION S. RES. 505

Congratulating the Duke University men's basketball team for winning the 2009–2010 NCAA Division I Men's Basketball National Championship.

## IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

April 29, 2010

Mr. BURR (for himself, Mrs. HAGAN, and Mr. KAUFMAN) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on the Judiciary

## RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the Duke University men's basketball team for winning the 2009–2010 NCAA Division I Men's Basketball National Championship.
- Whereas, on April 5, 2010, Duke University defeated Butler University by a score of 61–59 to win the 2009–2010 National Collegiate Athletic Association (referred to in this resolution as the "NCAA") Division I Men's Basketball National Championship;
- Whereas Duke completed a record-breaking season, tying for first in the Atlantic Coast Conference (referred to in this resolution as the "ACC") regular season with a record of 13–3, winning the National Invitation Tournament Season Tip-Off, and winning the ACC tournament;

- Whereas Coach Mike Krzyzewski won his fourth national championship, making him the second winningest coach of all time;
- Whereas players Seth Curry, Jordan Davidson, Andre Dawkins, Steve Johnson, Ryan Kelly, Casey Peters, Mason Plumlee, Miles Plumlee, Jon Scheyer, Kyle Singler, Nolan Smith, Lance Thomas, Todd Zafirovski, and Brian Zoubek made up this year's national championship team;
- Whereas forward Kyle Singler was named Most Outstanding Player of the Final Four, scoring 19 points in the championship game;
- Whereas guard Jon Scheyer was named 2nd team All-American and 1st team All-ACC;
- Whereas Kyle Singler was named 1st team All-ACC;
- Whereas guard Nolan Smith was named 2nd team All-ACC;
- Whereas forward Lance Thomas was named to the ACC All-Defensive team;
- Whereas senior Brian Zoubek and freshman Ryan Kelly made the ACC All-Academic team;
- Whereas Duke made their 34th appearance in the NCAA tournament;
- Whereas Duke appeared in the national championship game for the 10th time, the eighth under Coach Krzyzewski and the fourth since 1999;
- Whereas Duke was a number 1 seed in the tournament for the 11th time;
- Whereas Duke finished the 2009–2010 season with a record of 35–5;

- Whereas Duke went undefeated at home with 17 wins, setting a new school record;
- Whereas Duke won its 1,000th game at home under Coach Krzyzewski against the University of Maryland on February 13, 2010;
- Whereas Duke showed incredible dedication and respect for the game of basketball throughout the 2009–2010 season; and
- Whereas Duke is to be congratulated for its sportsmanship, dedication, and commitment: Now, therefore, be it
- 1 Resolved, That the Senate— 2 (1) congratulates the Duke team for winning 3 the 2010 NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Tour-4 nament; 5 (2) recognizes the achievements of the players 6 and coaches; and 7 (3) directs the Secretary of the Senate to make 8 available enrolled copies of this resolution to Duke 9 University President Richard H. Brodhead, Athletic 10 Director Kevin White, and Head Coach Mike 11 Krzyzewski for appropriate display.

0