111TH CONGRESS 2D SESSION

S. RES. 389

Commending The University of Alabama Crimson Tide for being unanimously declared the 2009 NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision National Champions.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

January 20, 2010

Mr. Shelby (for himself and Mr. Sessions) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on the Judiciary

RESOLUTION

- Commending The University of Alabama Crimson Tide for being unanimously declared the 2009 NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision National Champions.
- Whereas, on January 7, 2010, The University of Alabama Crimson Tide marched into the historic Rose Bowl and defeated the University of Texas Longhorns 37–21, to win The 2010 Bowl Championship Series (referred to in this preamble as the "BCS") National Championship Game;
- Whereas the Crimson Tide earned a berth in the 2010 BCS National Championship Game by defeating the then-unbeaten Florida Gators 32–13 in the 2009 Southeastern Conference Championship Game;
- Whereas the Crimson Tide finished the 2009 season with a perfect record of 14 victories and 0 losses;

- Whereas the Crimson Tide defeated 3 teams ranked in the Associated Press (referred to in this preamble as the "AP") Postseason Top 10 Poll and 5 teams ranked in the AP Postseason Top 25 Poll;
- Whereas the Crimson Tide finished the 2009 season ranked first by all 60 AP voters and all 58 USA Today Coaches' Poll voters;
- Whereas the first of 5 victories for the Crimson Tide in the Rose Bowl on January 1, 1926, earned the first football national championship for The University of Alabama and served as one of the first great achievements in the storied winning tradition of the Crimson Tide;
- Whereas the 2010 BCS National Championship Game victory was the 32nd bowl victory and, a NCAA record, 57th bowl appearance for the Crimson Tide;
- Whereas the Crimson Tide previously won a total of 12 National Championships, winning in 1925, 1926, 1930, 1934, 1941, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978, 1979, and 1992;
- Whereas Head Coach Nick Saban has led the Crimson Tide back atop the elite of College Football while instilling discipline, character, and integrity in the young men he coaches;
- Whereas the leadership and devotion of Crimson Tide Athletics Director Mal Moore to The University of Alabama have been crucial for the National Championship teams for which he has played, coached, and served as Athletic Director;
- Whereas Javier Arenas, Terrence Cody, Michael Johnson, Mark Ingram, Rolando McClain, Leigh Tiffin, and Mark

- Barron earned AP All-America honors for their accomplishments during the 2009 season;
- Whereas the 2009 Crimson Tide had a record number of 6 AP First Team All-Americans;
- Whereas in 2009, running back Mark Ingram, Jr. won the first Heisman Trophy in the long and accomplished history of the Crimson Tide football program;
- Whereas in 2009, Rolando McClain was recognized as the top collegiate linebacker in the Nation with the Butkus Award and the Jack Lambert Award, the first to be awarded to a Crimson Tide player;
- Whereas Crimson Tide Defensive Coordinator Kirby Smart was honored as the best Assistant Coach in the Nation in 2009, with the prestigious Broyles Award;
- Whereas 13 players on the 2009 Crimson Tide roster had earned their degrees from The University of Alabama before the season began;
- Whereas President Robert Witt has been instrumental to the remarkable academic and athletic success that The University of Alabama has experienced since his arrival at the Capstone;
- Whereas The University of Alabama is devoted to educating young persons and providing them with the tools to excel throughout their lives; and
- Whereas the excellence on the field of the Crimson Tide brought pride to The University of Alabama, the Crimson Tide faithful, and the whole of the great State of Alabama: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 Resolved, That the Senate—

1	(1) congratulates The University of Alabama
2	Crimson Tide for being unanimously declared the
3	2009 NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision National
4	Champions;
5	(2) recognizes the achievements of the players
6	coaches, students, and staff whose hard work and
7	dedication helped the Crimson Tide win the National
8	Championship; and
9	(3) respectfully requests the Secretary of the
10	Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolu-
11	tion to—
12	(A) President of The University of Ala-
13	bama, Dr. Robert Witt;
14	(B) Athletic Director of The University of
15	Alabama, Mal Moore; and
16	(C) Head Coach of The University of Ala-
17	bama Crimson Tide, Nick Saban.

 \bigcirc