H. Res. 1480

In the House of Representatives, U. S.,

September 14, 2010.

- Whereas the University of Southern California (USC) Trojan men's tennis team has achieved many accomplishments during the 2010 season;
- Whereas USC finished the 2010 season with an overall record of 25–3;
- Whereas, the No. 5 seed in the tournament, USC won the 2010 NCAA Championship with a 4–2 victory over the No. 2 seed Tennessee;
- Whereas the USC men's tennis team has now won its 18th NCAA men's tennis team championship, making the Trojans the all-time leader in such team victories;
- Whereas USC's previous NCAA men's tennis team championship came in 2009;
- Whereas USC won the 2009 NCAA Championship with a 4–1 victory over Ohio State;
- Whereas, as a whole, USC has won its 113th national championship as a university, and its 90th men's national championship;
- Whereas the 2010 NCAA Championship is the second for USC head coach Peter Smith;

- Whereas USC Daniel Nguyen was named the NCAA Tournament's Most Outstanding Player;
- Whereas other All-Team Tournament Team honors went to Robert Farah at No. 1 singles, Steve Johnson at No. 2 singles, Daniel Nguyen at No. 4 singles, and Peter Lucassen at No. 6 singles, as well as Robert Farah and Steve Johnson at No. 1 doubles and Daniel Nguyen and JT Sundling at No. 2 doubles; and
- Whereas under the leadership of USC's 10th president, Steven B. Sample, USC has established itself as a world-class research university, known for its leadership in the fields of communication, media, public diplomacy, the sciences, and the arts: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the House of Representatives—

- (1) commends the University of Southern California (USC) Trojan men's tennis team and USC President Steven B. Sample for USC's victory in the 2010 NCAA Men's Tennis Championship;
- (2) applauds Coach Peter Smith for his winning his second NCAA Championship as USC's head coach; and
- (3) recognizes the achievements of the players, coaches, students, alumni, and staff who were instrumental in helping the University of Southern California win the 2010 NCAA Men's Tennis Championship.

Attest: