111TH CONGRESS 2D SESSION

H. RES. 1092

Congratulating the University of Iowa Hawkeyes football team for winning the 2010 FedEx Orange Bowl.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

February 22, 2010

Mr. Loebsack (for himself, Mr. Boswell, Mr. King of Iowa, Mr. Braley of Iowa, and Mr. Latham) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Education and Labor

RESOLUTION

Congratulating the University of Iowa Hawkeyes football team for winning the 2010 FedEx Orange Bowl.

- Whereas the University of Iowa Hawkeyes football team was ranked seventh in the final Associated Press and USA Today Top 25 polls of the 2009 college football season;
- Whereas the University of Iowa football team was selected to play in the 2010 FedEx Orange Bowl, which is the Hawkeyes' eighth bowl game in the past 9 football seasons;
- Whereas the University of Iowa football team were the winners of the 2010 FedEx Orange Bowl, which was the first Bowl Champion Series win in the school's 121-year history;

- Whereas the University of Iowa football team's defense finished the regular season tied for second place in the Nation for interceptions with 20, and tied for fifth in the Nation for total turnovers with 29;
- Whereas the University of Iowa football team had 8 players receive Big Ten Player of the Week honors for their performances throughout the season;
- Whereas the University of Iowa football team had 13 members honored as academic All-Big Ten selections for the 2009 season;
- Whereas University of Iowa senior A.J. Edds was honored as a Big Ten Conference Sportsmanship Award recipient;
- Whereas University of Iowa junior Bryan Bulaga was honored as the Big Ten Conference Offensive Lineman of the Year;
- Whereas University of Iowa junior defensive end Adrian Clayborn was honored by the College Football Performance Awards as the National Defensive Performer of the Year;
- Whereas University of Iowa seniors Pat Angerer, Dace Richardson, Tony Moeaki, juniors Bryan Bulaga, Adrian Clayborn, Amari Spievey, and sophomore Tyler Sash were named first-team All-Big Ten performers, and 5 Hawkeyes were named second-team All-Big Ten performers;
- Whereas University of Iowa senior Pat Angerer and junior Bryan Bulaga were named first-team All-Americans, sophomore Tyler Sash was named a second-team All-American, and junior Adrian Clayborn was named a third-team All-American;

- Whereas University of Iowa junior defensive end Adrian Clayborn was honored as the FedEx Orange Bowl's Most Outstanding Player, compiling 9 tackles and 2 quarter-back sacks;
- Whereas Head Coach Kirk Ferentz was named the Dave McClain Big Ten Conference Coach of the Year for the third time in his 11 seasons as the University of Iowa's Head Football Coach;
- Whereas the University of Iowa football team's coaching staff, including the Head Coach Kirk Ferentz, Offensive Coordinator and Quarterbacks Coach Ken O'Keefe, and Defensive Coordinator Norm Parker are commended for their dedication, motivational abilities, and leadership;
- Whereas the University of Iowa football team ended the 2010 season with a record of 11 wins and 2 losses and a 6 win and 2 loss Big Ten record, which tied the Hawkeyes for second in the Big Ten Conference's final standings for the regular season; and
- Whereas the University of Iowa Hawkeye football program has brought honor to the team, the University of Iowa, the city of Iowa City, and the State of Iowa: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 Resolved, That the House of Representatives—
- 2 (1) commends the University of Iowa Hawkeyes
- 3 football team for winning the 2010 FedEx Orange
- 4 Bowl; and
- 5 (2) congratulates the team for setting new
- 6 records in the University of Iowa football team's his-

- 1 tory and finishing the season with 11 wins and 2
- 2 losses.

 \bigcirc