H. Res. 1047

In the House of Representatives, U. S., March 11, 2010.

- Whereas The Ohio State University (Ohio State) Buckeyes football team achieved many historic accomplishments during the 2009 regular season;
- Whereas Ohio State defeated favored Oregon 26–17 in the Rose Bowl on January 1, 2010;
- Whereas Ohio State won its seventh Rose Bowl all-time;
- Whereas Ohio State won its fifth consecutive Big Ten title and played in its fifth consecutive BCS bowl;
- Whereas Ohio State finished the season at 11–2, ranked fifth nationally;
- Whereas Ohio State led the Big Ten for the eighth consecutive season in academic all-conference honorees;
- Whereas Ohio State Coach Jim Tressel became only the second coach in Ohio State history to win both a NCAA National Championship and a Rose Bowl (Woody Hayes);
- Whereas the Ohio State defense ranked in the Top 5 nationally in 4 different categories;
- Whereas Quarterback Terrelle Pryor threw for 266 yards, ran for 72 yards, and scored two touchdowns, leading all players for both teams in these categories; and

Whereas Quarterback Terrelle Pryor was the Rose Bowl MVP: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the House of Representatives—

(1) commends The Ohio State University (Ohio State) Buckeye football team for its victory in the 2010 Rose Bowl;

(2) congratulates Coach Jim Tressel, winner of five Big Ten titles; and

(3) recognizes the accomplishments of the Ohio State Buckeye football team, which has played in more BCS Bowl Games than any other team in college football.

Attest:

Clerk.