110TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION S. RES. 346

Expressing heartfelt sympathy for the victims of the devastating thunderstorms that caused severe flooding during August 2007 in the States of Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Ohio, Oklahoma, and Wisconsin, and for other purposes.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

October 15, 2007

Mr. COLEMAN (for himself, Ms. KLOBUCHAR, Mr. DURBIN, Mr. GRASSLEY, Mr. HARKIN, Mr. BROWN, Mr. VOINOVICH, Mr. FEINGOLD, Mr. KOHL, Mr. OBAMA, Mr. INHOFE, and Mr. COBURN) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on the Judiciary

October 25, 2007

Reported by Mr. LEAHY, with an amendment and an amendment to the preamble

October 26, 2007

Considered, amended, and agreed to with an amendment to the preamble and an amendment to the title

RESOLUTION

- Expressing heartfelt sympathy for the victims of the devastating thunderstorms that caused severe flooding during August 2007 in the States of Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Ohio, Oklahoma, and Wisconsin, and for other purposes.
- Whereas during August 2007, severe thunderstorms were responsible for bringing as much as 18 inches of torrential rain to parts of the States of Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota,

Ohio, Oklahoma, and Wisconsin, resulting in devastating floods;

- Whereas these storms tragically took the lives of at least 20 people;
- Whereas these storms injured countless other people, damaged or destroyed thousands of homes, and devastated businesses and institutions;
- Whereas on August 20, 2007, the Governor of Oklahoma declared Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Custer, Dewey, Grady, Jefferson, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Lincoln, Logan, McClain, Muskogee, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Seminole, Stephens, and Washita Counties, Oklahoma, to be in a state of emergency as a result of these storms;
- Whereas on August 21, 2007, the Governor of Minnesota declared Fillmore, Houston, Steele, Olmsted, Wabasha, and Winona Counties, Minnesota, to be in a state of disaster as a result of these storms, and subsequently Dodge and Jackson Counties, Minnesota, received a Federal major disaster declaration as well;
- Whereas on August 20 and 21, 2007, the Governor of Wisconsin declared Crawford, La Crosse, Richland, Sauk, and Vernon Counties, Wisconsin, to be in a state of disaster as a result of these storms;
- Whereas on August 22, 2007, and in the days following, the Governor of Iowa declared Allamakee, Appanoose, Boone, Calhoun, Cherokee, Davis, Humboldt, Mahaska, Montgomery, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Wayne, Webster, and Winneshiek Counties, Iowa, to be in a state of disaster as a result of these storms;

- Whereas on August 22, 2007, the Governor of Ohio declared Allen, Crawford, Hancock, Hardin, Putnam, Richland, Seneca, Van Wert, and Wyandot Counties, Ohio, to be in a state of disaster as a result of these storms;
- Whereas on August 24, 2007, and in the days following, the Governor of Illinois declared Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Grundy, Lake, LaSalle, Kane, Knox, McHenry, Warren, and Will Counties, Illinois, to be in a state of disaster as a result of these storms;
- Whereas President Bush declared 8 counties in Minnesota, 8 counties in Ohio, 22 counties in Oklahoma, 14 counties in Wisconsin, 6 counties in Illinois, and 14 counties in Iowa to be major disaster areas as a result of these storms, and individuals and families, State and local Governments, and certain private nonprofit organizations in these areas became eligible for individual or public Federal disaster assistance or both;
- Whereas numerous individuals and entities have selflessly and heroically given of themselves and their resources to aid in the disaster relief efforts; and
- Whereas the catastrophic injury, death, and damage in Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Ohio, Oklahoma, and Wisconsin would have been even worse in the absence of local relief efforts: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 *Resolved*, That the Senate—
- 2 (1) expresses heartfelt sympathy for the victims
 3 of the devastating thunderstorms that caused severe
 4 flooding during August 2007 in the States of Illi5 nois, Iowa, Minnesota, Ohio, Oklahoma, and Wis6 consin;

(2) conveys gratitude to the local, State, and
 Federal officials and emergency personnel who re sponded swiftly to the crisis, including emergency
 management teams in each of the affected States,
 Michael Chertoff, Secretary of Homeland Security,
 and David Paulison, Administrator of the Federal
 Emergency Management Agency;

8 (3) recognizes the generous and selfless support
9 of citizens, local businesses, the American Red
10 Cross, the United Way, Catholic Charities, and the
11 Salvation Army; and

12 (4) reaffirms support for helping the victims of13 the flooding rebuild their homes and lives.

 \bigcirc