109TH CONGRESS 2D SESSION S. RES. 428

Congratulating the University of Wisconsin men's cross country team for winning the 2005 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Cross Country Championship.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

April 5, 2006

Mr. FEINGOLD (for himself and Mr. KOHL) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to

RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the University of Wisconsin men's cross country team for winning the 2005 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Cross Country Championship.
- Whereas, on November 21, 2005, after finishing second for 3 consecutive years, the University of Wisconsin men's cross country team (referred to in this preamble as the "Badgers cross country team") won the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Cross Country Championship in Terre Haute, Indiana, by placing first ahead of—
 - (1) the University of Arkansas; and
 - (2) Notre Dame University;

Whereas the Badgers cross country team secured its victory through the strong performances of its members, including—

(1) Simon Bairu, who won his second consecutive individual national championship with a time of 29:15.9;

(2) Chris Solinksy, who finished third in the championship race with a time of 29:27.8;

(3) Matt Withrow, who finished ninth in the race with a time of 29:50.7;

(4) Antony Ford, who finished 14th with a time of 29:55.2;

(5) Stuart Eagon, who finished 17th with a time of 30:05.3;

(6) Tim Nelson, who finished 18th with a time of 30:06.4; and

(7) Christian Wagner, who finished 58th with a time of 30:35.7;

- Whereas the success of the season depended on the hard work, dedication, and performance of every player on the Badgers cross country team, including—
 - (1) Simon Bairu;
 - (2) Brandon Bethke;
 - (3) Bryan Culver;
 - (4) Stuart Eagon;
 - (5) Antony Ford;
 - (6) Ryan Gasper;
 - (7) Ben Gregory;
 - (8) Bobby Lockhart;
 - (9) Tim Nelson;
 - (10) Teddy O'Reilly;
 - (11) Tim Pierie;
 - (12) Joe Pierre;
 - (13) Ben Porter;

- (14) Codie See;
- (15) Chris Solinsky;
- (16) Christian Wagner; and
- (17) Matt Withrop;
- Whereas, on October, 30, 2005, the Badgers cross country team won its seventh straight Big Ten championship with a record-setting score and margin of victory by sweeping the top four positions and eight of the top ten positions;
- Whereas numerous members of the Badgers cross country team were recognized for their performance in the Big Ten Conference, including—

(1) Simon Bairu, who was named the Big Ten Men's Cross Country Athlete of the Year and won the Big Ten Conference individual title;

(2) Matt Withrop, who was named the Big Ten Men's Cross Country Freshman of the Year after finishing third in the conference meet; and

(3) Head Coach Jerry Schumacher, who was named the Big Ten Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year for the fifth consecutive year; and

- Whereas Simon Bairu, Chris Solinsky, Matt Withrow, Antony Ford, Stuart Eagon, and Tim Nelson earned All-American honors: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 *Resolved*, That the Senate—
- 2 (1) congratulates the University of Wisconsin
 3 men's cross country team, Head Coach Jerry
 4 Schumacher and his coaching staff, Athletic Director
 5 Barry Alvarez, and Chancellor John D. Wiley for an
 6 outstanding championship season; and

(2) respectfully requests the Clerk of the Senate
 to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution to the
 Chancellor of the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

4