108TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION S. RES. 280

Congratulating the San Jose Earthquakes for winning the 2003 Major League Soccer Cup.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

DECEMBER 9, 2003

Mrs. BOXER (for herself and Mrs. FEINSTEIN) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to

RESOLUTION

Congratulating the San Jose Earthquakes for winning the 2003 Major League Soccer Cup.

- Whereas on November 23, 2003, the San Jose Earthquakes defeated the Chicago Fire to win the 2003 Major League Soccer Cup;
- Whereas the San Jose Earthquakes achieved a 14–7–9 regular season record to finish first in the Major League Soccer Western Conference;
- Whereas the San Jose Earthquakes finished an extraordinary season by overcoming injuries, adversity, and multiplegoal deficits to reach the Major League Soccer Cup championship match;
- Whereas in the championship match, the San Jose Earthquakes and the Chicago Fire scored 6 goals combined,

breaking the Major League Soccer Cup championship match scoring record;

- Whereas head coach Frank Yallop led the San Jose Earthquakes to victory;
- Whereas the San Jose Earthquakes is a team of world-class players, including Jeff Agoos, Arturo Alvarez, Brian Ching, Jon Conway, Ramiro Corrales, Troy Dayak, Dwayne De Rosario, Landon Donovan, Todd Dunivant, Ronnie Ekelund, Rodrigo Faria, Manny Lagos, Roger Levesque, Brain Mullan, Richard Mulrooney, Pat Onstad, Eddie Robinson, Chris Roner, Ian Russell, Josh Saunders, Craig Waibel, and Jamil Walker, all of whom contributed extraordinary performances throughout the regular season, playoffs and Major League Soccer Cup;
- Whereas San Jose Earthquakes midfielder Ronnie Ekelund scored in the fifth minute of play, tying Eduardo Hurtado for the fastest goal scored in a Major League Soccer Cup championship match;
- Whereas with the victory, San Jose Earthquakes captain Jeff Agoos won his second Major League Soccer Cup for the San Jose Earthquakes and his fifth Major League Soccer Cup overall;
- Whereas San Jose Earthquakes forward Landon Donovan, who has been named United States National Team Player of the Year twice, scored 2 goals on 2 shots in the championship match, earning the Honda Major League Soccer Cup Most Valuable Player Award;
- Whereas by winning the 2003 Major League Soccer Cup, the San Jose Earthquakes join DC United to become the second team in Major League Soccer history to win the Major League Soccer Cup more than once;

Whereas the San Jose Earthquakes have brought great pride to the City of San Jose and to the State of California;

- Whereas Major League Soccer has become extremely popular in only 8 seasons; and
- Whereas the success of Major League Soccer has contributed to the growing popularity of soccer in the United States in recent years: Now, therefore, be it

1 *Resolved*, That the Senate—

- 2 (1) congratulates the San Jose Earthquakes for
 3 winning the 2003 Major League Soccer Cup;
- 4 (2) recognizes the achievement of the players,
 5 coaches, staff, and supporters of the San Jose
 6 Earthquakes in bringing the 2003 Major League
 7 Soccer Cup to San Jose;
- 8 (3) commends the San Jose community for its
 9 enthusiastic support of the San Jose Earthquakes;
 10 and
- (4) expresses the hope that Major League Soccer will continue to inspire fans and young players
 in the United States and around the world by producing teams of the high caliber of the San Jose
 Earthquakes.

0