## S. CON. RES. 100

## IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

May 10, 2004 Referred to the Committee on International Relations

## **CONCURRENT RESOLUTION**

Celebrating 10 years of majority rule in the Republic of South Africa and recognizing the momentous social and economic achievements of South Africa since the institution of democracy in that country.

- Whereas the Republic of South Africa peacefully and successfully held democratic elections and transitioned to a democratic, nonracial form of government in 1994;
- Whereas South Africa helped initiate and frame the New Partnership for Africa's Development and continues to head this partnership for development and responsible leadership in Africa;
- Whereas South Africa actively supports the South African Development Community, which promotes regional economic cooperation and higher standards of living in Southern Africa;

- Whereas South Africa has made significant advances in housing by constructing 1,600,000 houses for the poor of South Africa;
- Whereas since 1994, 9,000,000 people in South Africa have gained access to clean water;
- Whereas before 1994, 22,000,000 people in South Africa did not have access to adequate sanitation, but 63 percent of households in South Africa now have access to adequate sanitation;
- Whereas before 1994, 60 percent of people in South Africa did not have electricity, but more than 70 percent of households in South Africa now have electricity;
- Whereas from 1994 to 2004, secondary school enrollment in South Africa increased from 70 percent to 85 percent, and students in South Africa now learn in a racially integrated school system;
- Whereas the Government of South Africa has established nutritional and educational programs to benefit the youngest and poorest people in South Africa;
- Whereas South Africa is experiencing the longest period of consistent positive growth, as measured by its gross domestic product (GDP), since growth in GDP was properly recorded in the 1940s;
- Whereas F.W. de Klerk and Nelson Mandela share a Nobel Peace Prize for their work in ending apartheid in South Africa and establishing a representative government;
- Whereas Desmond Tutu led the Truth and Reconciliation Commission to repair injustices among South Africans and improve race relations in the country, and was awarded a Nobel Peace Prize for his efforts;

- Whereas South Africa has contributed troops to peacekeeping efforts in Burundi, Liberia, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ethiopia, and Eritrea;
- Whereas South Africa President Thabo Mbeki has forged a relationship with President George W. Bush, making three state visits to the United States and hosting President Bush during his visit to Pretoria, South Africa;
- Whereas South Africa has served as an inspiration for other African nations striving for democracy and the peaceful cooperation of many ethnic groups;
- Whereas after being isolated for many years because of the odious system of apartheid, South Africa has since 1994 become a premier location for large international conferences, a leading tourist destination, and the locale for numerous films; and
- Whereas in 1993, the Government of South Africa voluntarily halted its biological, chemical, and nuclear weapons programs and, in 1994, hosted the first conference in Africa on the implementation of the Convention on the Prohibition on the Development, Production, Stockpiling, and Use of Chemical Weapons and On Their Destruction, with annexes, done at Paris January 13, 1993, and entered into force April 29, 1997: Now, therefore, be it
  - 1 Resolved by the Senate (the House of Representatives
  - 2 concurring), That Congress—
  - 3 (1) applauds the Republic of South Africa for
  - 4 the remarkable transition to a democratic govern-
  - 5 ment and the tremendous progress achieved during
  - 6 10 years of majority rule;

1	(2) looks forward to a continued partnership
2	with South Africa focused on a sustained commit-
3	ment to the health of South Africans; and
4	(3) anticipates continued social development
5	and economic growth in South Africa.
	Passed the Senate May 7, 2004.
	Attest: EMILY J. REYNOLDS,
	Secretary.