## H. Res. 415

## In the House of Representatives, U.S.,

October 29, 2003.

- Whereas Pro Player Stadium, located in the City of Miami Gardens and Miami-Dade County, is the home field for the Florida Marlins;
- Whereas Major League Baseball is celebrating the 100th anniversary of the World Series this year;
- Whereas on October 25, 2003, the Florida Marlins won the 2003 World Series in a six game series;
- Whereas by defeating an excellent New York Yankees team—the American League Champions and the latest team in a storied franchise which, with 26 World Series victories, dominated professional baseball's first 100 years—the Florida Marlins have captured their second World Series title in the brief ten year history of the team;
- Whereas, during the World Series, Marlins pitcher Josh Beckett struck out 19 Yankee batters in two games, maintained a 1.10 earned run average, including a 2–0 shutout during the crucial 6th game, and was named the 2003 World Series Most Valuable Player;
- Whereas the Marlins won 91 games during the regular season to earn a playoff berth by clinching the National League Wild Card slot;
- Whereas the Marlins have never lost a post-season series;

- Whereas the Marlins defeated the Western Division Champion and defending National League Champion San Francisco Giants in the National League Divisional Series;
- Whereas the Marlins defeated the Central Division Champion Chicago Cubs in the National League Championship Series;
- Whereas, during the National League Championship Series, Marlins catcher Ivan Rodriguez batted .321 with 2 home runs and ten runs batted in while playing stellar defense, and was named the 2003 National League Championship Series Most Valuable Player;
- Whereas the Marlins team of skilled players, including Josh Beckett, Ivan Rodriguez, Juan Pierre, Jeff Conine, Mike Lowell, Luis Castillo, Alex Gonzalez, Miguel Cabrera, Derek Lee, Juan Encarnacion, Brad Penny, Carl Pavano, Mark Redman, Dontrelle Willis, Ugueth Urbina, Braden Looper, Chad Fox, Michael Tejera, Nate Bump, Rick Helling, Mike Redmond, Brian Banks, Lenny Har-Mike Mordecai, Todd Hollandsworth, Armando Almanza, Toby Borland, Blaine Neal, Kevin Olsen, Tommy Phelps, Tim Spooneybarger, Justin Wayne, Ramon Castro, Josh Willingham, Andy Fox, Kevin Hooper, Jesus Medrano, Wilson Valdez, Josh Wilson, Chad Allen, Chip Ambres, Abraham Nunez, Gerald Williams, and A.J. Burnett, contributed extraordinary performances during the regular season, the playoffs, and the World Series:
- Whereas Manager Jack McKeon, who was hired on May 11, 2003, provided strong and wise leadership and bold strategy for a young and resilient baseball team during the regular season and in the postseason and, in the words

- of one columnist, ". . . recapture[d] much of what baseball once was, how tangy it tasted, what a field of honor it celebrated and how its central emotion should be joy";
- Whereas the Marlins coaching and support staff, which included Pitching Coach Wayne Rosenthal, Bench Coach Doug Davis, Hitting Coach Bill Robinson, First Base and Infield Coach Perry Hill, Third Base Coach Ozzie Guillen, Bullpen Coaches Pierre Arsenault and Jeff Cox, Team Physician Dr. Daniel Kanell, Trainer Sean Cunningham, Assistant Trainer Mike Kozak, Equipment Manager John Silverman, Assistant Equipment Manager Mark Brown, Visiting Clubhouse Manager Bryan Greenberg, Clubhouse Attendant and Umpire's Room Assistant Michael Hughes, and Visiting Clubhouse Assistant Michael King, exhibited exemplary leadership and guidance to the team;
- Whereas Jeffrey Loria purchased the Florida Marlins franchise on February 12, 2002, and stated: "Our goal is to restore the organization to championship form.";
- Whereas Jeffrey Loria, Chairman, CEO, and Managing General Partner of the Florida Marlins, David Samson, President of the Florida Marlins, and Larry Beinfest, Senior Vice President and General Manager of the Florida Marlins, have shown a positive commitment to the Marlins franchise by successfully acquiring, assembling, and maintaining a team of high-quality, winning players;
- Whereas the dedicated Marlins fans supported their team with joy and enthusiasm; and
- Whereas the Marlins captivated the United States with their "never-say-die" playing style during this historic performance: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the House of Representatives—

- (1) congratulates—
- (A) the Florida Marlins for winning the 2003 Major League Baseball World Series championship and for their outstanding performance during the 2003 Major League Baseball season; and
- (B) Florida Marlins pitcher Josh Beckett for winning the 2003 World Series Most Valuable Player Award;
- (2) recognizes and praises the achievements of the Marlins players, coaches, management, and support staff whose hard work, dedication, and resiliency proved instrumental throughout their World Series Championship Season;
- (3) commends the Florida community and the Marlins fans for their dedication; and
- (4) directs the Clerk of the House of Representatives to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution to—
  - (A) the Marlins players;
  - (B) Marlins Manager Jack McKeon;
  - (C) Marlins Chairman, CEO, and Managing General Partner Jeffrey Loria;
    - (D) Marlins President David Samson;
  - (E) Marlins Senior Vice President and General Manager Larry Beinfest;

- (F) the Marlins Coaches;
- (G) The Honorable Shirley Gibson, Mayor of the City of Miami Gardens, Florida;
- (H) The Honorable Manny Diaz, Mayor of the City of Miami, Florida;
- (I) The Honorable Alex Penelas, Mayor of Miami-Dade County, Florida; and
- (J) The Honorable Jeb Bush, Governor of the State of Florida.

Attest:

Clerk.