## H. Res. 392

## In the House of Representatives, U.S., March 9, 2004.

- Whereas on September 16, 2003, the Detroit Shock won the 2003 Women's National Basketball Association championship, defeating the 2-time defending champion Los Angeles Sparks;
- Whereas the Shock finished at the top of the Eastern Conference with an outstanding 25-win season;
- Whereas the Shock defeated the Cleveland Rockers 2 games to 1 in the first round of the playoffs;
- Whereas the Shock defeated the Connecticut Sun 2 games to none in the Eastern Conference finals;
- Whereas in the finals against the Sparks the Shock won 2 straight games after losing the opening game;
- Whereas Ruth Riley scored a career-high 27 points in the final game;
- Whereas in the final game Deanna Nolan nailed a 3-pointer with 53 seconds remaining, and made 4 out of 4 free throws down the stretch;
- Whereas 22,076 attended the final game, setting a new attendance record for the WNBA;
- Whereas the Shock made an unprecedented turnaround in the 2003 season under the leadership of their coach, the

former Detroit Piston and NBA champion Bill Laimbeer, who was named 2003 WNBA Coach of the Year;

- Whereas Coach Laimbeer and his staff of Laurie Byrd, Pamela McGee, and Korie Hlede provided strong leadership and solid coaching, resulting in a basketball team which has been undeniably dominant in regular and postseason play;
- Whereas many other individuals have contributed to the Shock's success, including athletic trainer Laura Ramus;
- Whereas the Shock's success resulted from contributions from the entire roster of players, including Swin Cash, Allison Curtin, Barbara Farris, Cheryl Ford, Kedra Holland-Corn, Sheila Lambert, Astou Ndiaye-Diatta, Deanna Nolan, Elaine Powell, Ruth Riley, Stacey Thomas, Petra Ujhelyi, and Ayana Walker;
- Whereas 3 Shock players, Cheryl Ford, Swin Cash, and Deanna Nolan, were named to the all-WNBA second team;
- Whereas Cheryl Ford was named 2003 WNBA rookie of the year, receiving 49 out of 54 possible votes;
- Whereas Ruth Riley was named Most Valuable Player of the 2003 WNBA Finals MVP;
- Whereas the WNBA and the Shock exemplify the highest standards of sportsmanship and success, and help to encourage the participation of women in professional sports; and
- Whereas the Shock have displayed great strength, ability, and perseverance this season, which are all reflective of the hardworking people of the metropolitan Detroit region and the great State of Michigan: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the House of Representatives—

(1) congratulates the Detroit Shock for winning the 2003 Women's National Basketball championship and for their outstanding performance during the entire 2003 season, and congratulates all of the 8 WNBA teams who played in the postseason;

(2) salutes the achievements of all of the players, coaches, and staff of the Shock, who worked hard and who were instrumental in bringing the City of Detroit its first WNBA championship;

(3) commends the Los Angeles Sparks for a valiant performance during the playoff finals and for displaying their strength and skill as a team; and

(4) directs the Clerk of the House of Representatives to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution to the Shock players, Head Coach Bill Laimbeer, and President and team owner William Davidson.

Attest:

Clerk.