One Hundred Zighth Congress of the United States of America

AT THE SECOND SESSION

Begun and held at the City of Washington on Tuesday, the twentieth day of January, two thousand and four

Concurrent Resolution

Whereas the All-America City award is the oldest and most respected community recognition program in the Nation;

Whereas for 55 years the National Civic League has encouraged and recognized civic excellence by honoring communities of all sizes where business, citizens, voluntary organizations, and governments work together to address critical issues;

Whereas the All-America City Award recognizes exemplary grassroots community-oriented problem-solving, and is given to communities that confront challenges and achieve results cooperatively; and

Whereas more than 4000 communities have competed and more than 500 communities have been named All-America Cities: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the House of Representatives (the Senate concurring), That the Congress honors the cities of Concord, North Carolina; Evansville, Indiana; Cottage Grove, Oregon; Spokane, Washington; Springfield, Ohio; Montevideo, Minnesota; Pembroke Pines, Florida; Stockton, California; Philippi, West Virginia; and Hidalgo, Texas, on receiving the National Civic League 2004 All-America City Award.

Attest:

Clerk of the House of Representatives.

Attest:

Secretary of the Senate.