H. CON. RES. 408

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

May 5, 2004

Received and referred to the Committee on the Judiciary

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

Congratulating the University of Denver men's hockey team for winning the 2004 NCAA men's hockey national championship, and for other purposes.

Whereas on Saturday, April 10, 2004, the University of Denver men's hockey team won its 6th national hockey championship, their first such win since 1969;

Whereas the team was led by goaltender Adam Berkhoel, who finished the game with a shutout, only the 3rd shutout in hockey national championship game history; the first

- occurring in 1968 when the University of Denver beat North Dakota by a score of 4–0;
- Whereas Adam Berkhoel made 24 saves in the 2004 championship game and was named Most Outstanding Player of the Frozen Four;
- Whereas Gabe Gauthier scored the 2004 championship game's only goal in the first period, assisted by Connor James;
- Whereas the Pioneers kept the Black Bears scoreless despite a 3-man advantage for Maine with 2 minutes to go in the 3rd period;
- Whereas the roster of the Pioneers' 2004 team also included Max Bull, Ryan Caldwell, Matt Carle, J.D. Corbin, Lukas Dora, Jeff Drummond, Glenn Fisher, Jon Foster, Luke Fulghum, Jussi Halme, Michael Handza, Ryan Helgason, Jon James, Greg Keith, Danny King, Matt Laatsch, Nick Larson, Scott McConnell, Brock McMorris, Ted O'Leary, Jeff Rogers, Brett Skinner, Kevin Ulanski, and Adrian Veideman;
- Whereas Head Coach George Gwozdecky and his coaching staff, including Assistant Coach Steve Miller, Assistant Coach Seth Appert, Director of Hockey Operations David Tenzer, and Volunteer Assistant Coach Chris LaPerle, deserve much credit for the outstanding determination and accomplishments of their team; and
- Whereas the students, alumni, faculty, and supporters of the University of Denver Pioneers are to be congratulated for their commitment and pride in their 2004 national champion men's hockey team: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 Resolved by the House of Representatives (the Senate
 - 2 concurring), That Congress—

1	(1) congratulates the University of Denver
2	men's hockey team for winning the 2004 NCAA
3	men's hockey national championship;
4	(2) recognizes the achievements of all the
5	team's players, coaches, and support staff and in-
6	vites them to the United States Capitol Building to
7	be honored;
8	(3) requests that the President recognize the
9	achievements of the University of Denver men's
10	hockey team and invite the team members to the
11	White House for an appropriate ceremony honoring
12	a national championship team; and
13	(4) directs the Clerk of the House of Represent-
14	atives to make available to the University of Denver
15	enrolled copies of this resolution for appropriate dis-
16	play and to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolu-
17	tion to each coach and member of the 2004 NCAA
18	men's hockey national championship team.
	Passed the House of Representatives May 4, 2004.
	Attest: JEFF TRANDAHL,
	Clerk.