107TH CONGRESS 2D SESSION

H. RES. 581

Recognizing the importance and accomplishments of the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

OCTOBER 10, 2002

Ms. Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas (for herself, Mr. Bishop, Ms. Brown of Florida, Ms. Carson of Indiana, Mrs. Christensen, Mr. Clay, Mrs. Clayton, Mr. Clyburn, Mr. Conyers, Mr. Cummings, Mr. Davis of Illinois, Mr. Fattah, Mr. Ford, Mr. Hastings of Florida, Mr. Hilliard, Mr. Jackson of Illinois, Ms. Jackson-Lee of Texas, Mr. Jefferson, Mrs. Jones of Ohio, Ms. Kilpatrick, Ms. Lee, Mr. Lewis of Georgia, Ms. McKinney, Mrs. Meek of Florida, Mr. Meeks of New York, Ms. Millender-McDonald, Ms. Norton, Mr. Owens, Mr. Payne, Mr. Rangel, Mr. Rush, Mr. Scott, Mr. Thompson of Mississippi, Mr. Towns, Mr. Watt of North Carolina, Ms. Watson of California, Mr. Wynn, Mrs. Maloney of New York, Mr. Honda, Ms. Kaptur, Mr. Kildee, and Mr. Carson of Oklahoma) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Education and the Workforce

RESOLUTION

Recognizing the importance and accomplishments of the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund.

Whereas in 1987, the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund was founded, under the leadership of Dr. N. Joyce Payne, in conjunction with its founding corporate sponsors, Miller Brewing Corporation and the National Basketball Association;

- Whereas since its inception, the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund has provided more than \$20 million in scholarships and programmatic support to students attending the 45 historically Black public colleges and universities (including 5 historically Black law schools) that make up the fund's membership;
- Whereas the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund is the only national organization to provide merit scholarships and programmatic and capacity-building support to 45 historically Black public colleges and universities;
- Whereas the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund was created to bridge the technological, financial, and programmatic gaps between historically Black public and private colleges and universities;
- Whereas the 45 member institutions of the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund are a critical source of public higher education for African Americans, with more than 215,000 students at the institutions;
- Whereas more than 77 percent of all students enrolled in historically Black colleges and universities attend member institutions of the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund;
- Whereas the legacy and commitment to education of the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund centers on a foundation of preparing a new generation of leaders;
- Whereas the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund continues to provide students quality academic instruction in a positive learning environment while promoting equal opportunity in higher education; and
- Whereas October 2002 marks the 15th anniversary of the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund: Now, therefore, be it

1	Resolved, That the House of Representatives—
2	(1) fully supports the goals and ideals of the
3	Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund;
4	(2) salutes and acknowledges the Thurgood
5	Marshall Scholarship Fund and the vigorous and
6	persistent efforts in support of equal opportunity in
7	higher education of—
8	(A) the fund's president, Dwayne Ashley;
9	(B) the fund's board of directors; and
10	(C) the presidents, faculties, staff, and
11	trustees of the 45 member institutions of the
12	fund; and
13	(3) commends the students who benefit from
14	the Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund for their
15	pursuit of academic excellence.

 \bigcirc