Public Law 95-408 95th Congress

An Act

To amend title 28 of the United States Code to make certain changes in the places of holding Federal district courts, in the divisions within judicial districts, and in judicial district dividing lines.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled,

SHORT TITLE

SECTION 1. This Act may be cited as the "Federal District Court 28 USC 81 note. Organization Act of 1978".

PLACES OF HOLDING COURT

SEC. 2. (a) The last sentence of section 97(a) of title 28. United States Code, is amended to read as follows:

"Court for the Eastern District shall be held at Ashland, Catlettsburg, Covington, Frankfort, Jackson, Lexington, London, Pikeville, and Richmond.".

(b) The last sentence of section 104(a)(1) of title 28, United States Code, is amended to read as follows:

"Court for the eastern division shall be held at Aberdeen, Ackerman, and Corinth.".

DIVISIONS WITHIN JUDICIAL DISTRICTS

SEC. 3. (a) Section 98(c) of title 28, United States Code, is amended to read as follows:

"Western District

"(c) The Western District comprises the parishes of Acadia, Allen, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Cameron, Catahoula, Claiborne, Concordia, Jefferson Davis, De Soto, East Carroll, Evangeline, Franklin, Grant, Iberia, Jackson, Lafayette, La Salle, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Rapides, Red River, Richland, Sabine, Saint Landry, Saint Martin, Saint Mary, Tensas, Union, Vermilion, Vernon, Webster, West Carroll, and Winn.

"Court for the Western District shall be held at Alexandria, Lafayette, Lake Charles, Monroe, Opelousas, and Shreveport.".

 (b) Section 114 of title 28, United States Code, is amended—
(1) in paragraph (2), by striking out "Sheridan, Steele, Stutsman, and Wells" and inserting in lieu thereof "Steele, and Stutsman";

(2) in paragraph (3), by striking out "Bottineau,", "McHenry,", and "Pierce,"; and

(3) by amending paragraph (4) to read as follows:

"(4) The Northwestern Division comprises the counties of Bottineau, Burke, Divide, McHenry, McKenzie, Mountrail, Pierce, Renville, Sheridan, Ward, Wells, and Williams.".

Oct. 2, 1978

[S. 3375]

Federal District Court Organization Act of 1978.

JUDICIAL DISTRICT DIVIDING LINES

SEC. 4. (a) Section 89 of title 28, United States Code, is amended— (1) in the first paragraph of subsection (a), by inserting "Madison," immediately after "Liberty,"; and

(2) in the first paragraph of subsection (b), by striking out "Madison,".

(b) (1) Section 93 of title 28, United States Code, is amended to read as follows:

"§ 93. Illinois

"Illinois is divided into three judicial districts to be known as the Northern, Central, and Southern Districts of Illinois.

"Northern District

"(a) The Northern District comprises two divisions.

"(1) The Eastern Division comprises the counties of Cook, De Kalb, Du Page, Grundy, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, Lake, La Salle, McHenry, and Will.

"Court for the Eastern Division shall be held at Chicago.

"(2) The Western Division comprises the counties of Boone, Carroll, Jo Daviess, Lee, Ogle, Stephenson, Whiteside, and Winnebago.

"Court for the Western Division shall be held at Freeport and Rockford.

"Central District

"(b) The Central District comprises the counties of Adams, Brown, Bureau, Cass, Champaign, Christian, Coles, De Witt, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Iroquois, Knox, Livingston, Logan, McDonough, McLean, Macoupin, Macon, Marshall, Mason, Menard, Mercer, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Peoria, Piatt, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Stark, Tazewell, Vermilion, Warren, and Woodford.

"Court for the Central District shall be held at Danville, Peoria, Quincy, Rock Island, and Springfield.

"Southern District

"(c) The Southern District comprises the counties of Alexander, Bond, Calhoun, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Crawford, Cumberland, Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jersey, Johnson, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Massac, Monroe, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Richland, St. Clair, Saline, Union, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, White, and Williamson.

"Court for the Southern District shall be held at Alton, Benton, Cairo, and East Saint Louis.".

(2) Section 133 of title 28, United States Code, is amended by striking out the item relating to Illinois and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

"Illinois:

"Northern	13
"Central	2
"Southern	2"

(c) Section 112 of title 28, United States Code, is amended-

(1) in the first paragraph of subsection (a), by inserting "Columbia," immediately after "Clinton,", by inserting "Greene," immediately after "Fulton,", and by inserting "Ulster," immediately after "Tompkins,"; and

(2) in the first paragraph of subsection (b), by striking out "Columbia,", "Greene,", and "Ulster,".

EFFECTIVE DATE

SEC. 5. (a) The amendments made by this Act shall take effect 180 28 USC 89 note. days after the date of enactment of this Act.

(b) Nothing in this Act shall affect the composition or preclude the service of any grand or petit juror summoned, empaneled, or actually serving in any judicial district on the effective date of this Act.

Approved October 2, 1978.

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY:

HOUSE REPORT No. 95-1554 accompanying H.R. 13331 (Comm. on the Judiciary). SENATE REPORT No. 95-1121 (Comm. on the Judiciary). CONGRESSIONAL RECORD, Vol. 124 (1978):

Aug. 21, considered and passed Senate.

Sept. 12, H.R. 13331 considered and passed House; passage vacated and S. 3375, amended, passed in lieu.

Sept. 19, Senate concurred in House amendment.