[Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States: William J. Clinton (1994, Book II)]
[October 4, 1994]
[Pages 1696-1697]
[From the U.S. Government Publishing Office www.gpo.gov]

Appointment for the President's Committee on Mental Retardation
October 4, 1994

    The President today announced his intention to appoint the final 
eight members to the President's Committee on Mental Retardation. The 
appointees are Gisselle Acevedo Franco, Tom Smith, Robert Dinerstein, 
Cathy Ficker Terrill, Deborah Spitalnik, Lorenzo Aguilar-Melancon, Ruth 
Luckasson, and Virginia Williams.
    ``We have now assembled a strong and dynamic group of advocates, 
self advocates, family members and professionals who share our common 
vision of moving from exclusion to inclusion, from dependence to 
independence, from paternalism to empowerment,'' the President said. ``I 
look forward to the leadership that these

[[Page 1697]]

dedicated appointees will provide to the committee.''

Note: Biographies of the appointees were made available by the Office of 
the Press Secretary.