[Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States: William J. Clinton (1993, Book II)]
[August 31, 1993]
[Page 1425]
[From the U.S. Government Publishing Office www.gpo.gov]

Nomination for Posts at the Departments of Agriculture, Defense, Labor, 
and Veterans Affairs and the Agency for International Development
August 31, 1993

    The President today announced his intention to nominate the 
following individuals to posts in his administration:

Department of Agriculture

    Michael Dunn, Administrator of the Farmers Home Administration

Department of Defense

    H. Allen Holmes, Assistant Secretary for Special Operations and Low-
        Intensity Conflict

Department of Labor

    J. Davitt McAteer, Assistant Secretary for Mine Safety and Health
    Preston Taylor, Jr., Assistant Secretary for Veterans Employment and 

Department of Veterans Affairs

    Kathy Jurado, Assistant Secretary for Public and Intergovernmental 

U.S. International Development Cooperation Agency

    Mark Schneider, Assistant Administrator for Latin America and the 
        Caribbean, Agency for International Development

    The President applauded his new nominees. ``These individuals, 
experienced in each of their fields, are important additions to our 
administration,'' the President said.

    ``Michael Dunn's work at the National Farmers Union will serve him 
well as he takes the helm on issues important to rural Americans. H. 
Allen Holmes brings an extensive knowledge of foreign affairs and 
previous State Department experience to his new role. Mr. McAteer's 
important work in mine safety will assist him as he works to ensure the 
safety of our country's mine workers.

    ``I am confident General Taylor will be an effective advocate for 
veterans in the Labor Department as will Kathy Jurado in the Department 
of Veterans Affairs. Mark Schneider's experience in pan-American issues 
will also bode him well as he takes his post at AID,'' the President 

Note: Biographies of the nominees were made available by the Office of 
the Press Secretary.