[111th Congress Public Law 44]
[From the U.S. Government Printing Office]

[[Page 123 STAT. 1966]]

Public Law 111-44
111th Congress

                                 An Act

To authorize the President, in conjunction with the 40th anniversary of 
 the historic and first lunar landing by humans in 1969, to award gold 
medals on behalf of the United States Congress to Neil A. Armstrong, the 
  first human to walk on the moon; Edwin E. ``Buzz'' Aldrin, Jr., the 
pilot of the lunar module and second person to walk on the moon; Michael 
Collins, the pilot of their Apollo 11 mission's command module; and, the 
first American to orbit the Earth, John Herschel Glenn, Jr. <<NOTE: Aug. 
                        7, 2009 -  [H.R. 2245]>> 

    Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the 
United States of America in Congress <<NOTE: New Frontier Congressional 
Gold Medal Act. 31 USC 5111 note.>> assembled,

    This Act may be cited as the ``New Frontier Congressional Gold Medal 
SEC. 2. <<NOTE: 31 USC 5111 note.>>  FINDINGS.

    The Congress finds that--
            (1) as spacecraft commander for Apollo 11, the first manned 
        lunar landing mission, Neil A. Armstrong gained the distinction 
        of being the first man to land a craft on the moon and first to 
        step on its surface on July 21, 1969;
            (2) by conquering the moon at great personal risk to safety, 
        Neil Armstrong advanced America scientifically and 
        technologically, paving the way for future missions to other 
        regions in space;
            (3) Edwin E. ``Buzz'' Aldrin, Jr., joined Armstrong in 
        piloting the lunar module, Eagle, to the surface of the moon, 
        and became the second person to walk upon its surface;
            (4) Michael Collins piloted the command module, Columbia, in 
        lunar orbit and helped his fellow Apollo 11 astronauts complete 
        their mission on the moon;
            (5) John Herschel Glenn, Jr., helped pave the way for the 
        first lunar landing when on February 20, 1962, he became the 
        first American to orbit the Earth; and
            (6) John Glenn's actions, like Armstrong's, Aldrin's and 
        Collins's, continue to greatly inspire the people of the United 
SEC. 3. <<NOTE: 31 USC 5111 note. President.>>  CONGRESSIONAL GOLD 

    (a) Presentation Authorized.--The President is authorized to 
present, on behalf of the Congress, to Neil A. Armstrong, Edwin E. 
``Buzz'' Aldrin, Jr., Michael Collins, and John Herschel Glenn, Jr., 
each a gold medal of appropriate design, in recognition of their 
significant contributions to society.
    (b) Design and Striking.--For purposes of the presentation referred 
to in subsection (a), the Secretary of the Treasury shall

[[Page 123 STAT. 1967]]

strike gold medals with suitable emblems, devices, and inscriptions, to 
be determined by the Secretary.
SEC. 4. <<NOTE: 31 USC 5111 note.>>  DUPLICATE MEDALS.

    The Secretary of the Treasury may strike and sell duplicates in 
bronze of the gold medal struck pursuant to section 3 under such 
regulations as the Secretary may prescribe, at a price sufficient to 
cover the cost thereof, including labor, materials, dies, use of 
machinery, and overhead expenses, and the cost of the gold medals.
SEC. 5. <<NOTE: 31 USC 5111 note.>>  NATIONAL MEDALS.

    The medals struck pursuant to this Act are national medals for 
purposes of chapter 51 of title 31, United States Code.
SEC. 6. <<NOTE: 31 USC 5111 note.>>  AUTHORITY TO USE FUND 
                    AMOUNTS; PROCEEDS OF SALE.

    (a) Authority To Use Fund Amounts.--There is authorized to be 
charged against the United States Mint Public Enterprise Fund, such 
amounts as may be necessary to pay for the costs of the medals struck 
pursuant to this Act.
    (b) Proceeds of Sale.--Amounts received from the sale of duplicate 
bronze medals authorized under section 4 shall be deposited into the 
United States Mint Public Enterprise Fund.

    Approved August 7, 2009.


            July 20, considered and passed House.
            July 21, considered and passed Senate.