[Federal Register Volume 76, Number 214 (Friday, November 4, 2011)]
[Page 68460]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2011-28575]



Designation of a Class of Employees for Addition to the Special 
Exposure Cohort

AGENCY: National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), 
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

ACTION: Notice.


SUMMARY: HHS gives notice of a decision to designate a class of 
employees from the Ames Laboratory at Iowa State University as an 
addition to the Special Exposure Cohort (SEC) under the Energy 
Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act of 2000. On 
October 18, 2011, the Secretary of HHS designated the following class 
of employees as an addition to the SEC:

    All Department of Energy (DOE) employees, its predecessor 
agencies, and its contractors and subcontractors who worked in any 
area of the Ames Laboratory at Iowa State University during the 
period from August 13, 1942 through December 31, 1970, for a number 
of work days aggregating at least 250 work days, occurring either 
solely under this employment or in combination with work days within 
the parameters established for one or more classes of employees 
included in the Special Exposure Cohort.

    This designation will become effective on November 17, 2011, unless 
Congress provides otherwise prior to the effective date. After this 
effective date, HHS will publish a notice in the Federal Register 
reporting the addition of this class to the SEC or the result of any 
provision by Congress regarding the decision by HHS to add the class to 
the SEC.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Stuart L. Hinnefeld, Director, 
Division of Compensation Analysis and Support, NIOSH, 4676 Columbia 
Parkway, MS C-46, Cincinnati, OH 45226, Telephone (877) 222-7570. 
Information requests can also be submitted by Email to [email protected].

John Howard,
Director, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.
[FR Doc. 2011-28575 Filed 11-3-11; 8:45 am]