[Federal Register Volume 75, Number 204 (Friday, October 22, 2010)]
[Pages 65309-65310]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2010-26710]



National Commission on the BP Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill and 
Offshore Drilling

AGENCY: Department of Energy, Office of Fossil Energy.

ACTION: Notice of open meeting.


SUMMARY: This notice announces an open meeting of the National 
Commission on the BP Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill and Offshore Drilling 
(the Commission). The Commission was organized pursuant to the Federal 
Advisory Committee Act (Pub. L. 92-463, 86 Stat. 770) (the Act). The 
Act requires that agencies publish these notices in the Federal 
Register. The Charter of the Commission can be found at: http://www.OilSpillCommission.gov.

DATES: November 8, 2010, 9 a.m.-5 p.m., and November 9, 2010, 9 a.m.-
5:30 p.m.

ADDRESSES: Grand Hyatt Washington, 1000 H St., NW., Washington, DC 
20001; telephone number: 1-202-582-1234.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Christopher A. Smith, Designated 
Federal Officer, Mail Stop: FE-30, U.S. Department of Energy, 1000 
Independence Avenue, SW., Washington, DC 20585; telephone (202) 586-
0716 or facsimile (202) 586-6221; e-mail: 
[email protected].

    Background: The President directed that the Commission be 
established to examine the relevant facts and circumstances concerning 
the root cause of the BP Deepwater Horizon explosion, fire, and oil 
spill and to develop options to guard against, and mitigate the impact 
of, any oil spills associated with offshore drilling in the future.
    The Commission is composed of seven members appointed by the 
President to serve as special Government employees. The members were 
selected because of their extensive scientific, legal, engineering, and 
environmental expertise, and their knowledge of issues pertaining to 
the oil and gas industry. Information on the Commission can be found at 
its Web site: http://www.OilSpillCommission.gov.
    Purpose of the Meeting: Inform the Commission about the progress of 
the Chief Counsel's investigation into the Macondo well blowout. The 
Commission will hear a presentation from the Chief Counsel and 
statements from industry and academic experts. The Commission will also 
have the opportunity to hear from representatives of companies involved 
in the events leading to the blowout.
    Tentative Agenda: The meeting is expected to start on November 8, 
2010 at 9 a.m. Presentations to the Commission are expected to begin 
shortly thereafter and will conclude at approximately 5 p.m. The 
meeting will continue on November 9, 2010 at 9 a.m. with presentations 
to the Commission. Public comments can be made on November 9, 2010 from 
5 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. The final agenda will be available at the 
Commission's Web site: http://www.OilSpillCommission.gov.
    Public Participation: The meeting is open to the public, with 
capacity and seats available on a first-come, first-serve basis. The 
Designated Federal Officer is empowered to conduct the meeting in a 
fashion that will facilitate the orderly conduct of business.
    Approximately one-half hour will be reserved for public comments on 
the second day of the hearing. Time allotted per speaker will be three 
minutes. Opportunity for public comment will be available on November 
9, 2010 tentatively from 5 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. Registration for those 
wishing to request an opportunity to speak opens onsite on November 9, 
2010 at 8 a.m. Speakers will register to speak on a first-come, first-
serve basis. Members of the public wishing to provide oral comments are 
encouraged to provide a written copy of their comments for collection 
at the time of onsite registration.
    Those not able to attend the meeting may view the meeting live on 
the Commission Web site: http://www.OilSpillCommission.gov. Those 
individuals who are not able to attend the meeting, or who are not able 
to provide oral comments during the meeting, are invited to send a 
written statement to Christopher A. Smith, Mail Stop FE-30, U.S. 
Department of Energy, 1000 Independence Ave., SW., Washington, DC 
20585, or e-mail: [email protected].
    Minutes: The minutes of the meeting will be available at the 
Commission's Web site: http://www.OilSpillCommission.gov or by 
contacting Mr. Smith. He may be reached at the postal or e-mail 
addresses above.
    Accommodation for the hearing impaired: A sign language interpreter 
will be onsite for the duration of the meeting.

[[Page 65310]]

    Issued in Washington DC, on October 19, 2010.
Rachel Samuel,
Deputy Committee Management Officer.
[FR Doc. 2010-26710 Filed 10-21-10; 8:45 am]