[Federal Register Volume 75, Number 203 (Thursday, October 21, 2010)]
[Page 65018]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2010-26557]

[[Page 65018]]



National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health; 
Designation of a Class of Employees for Addition to the Special 
Exposure Cohort

AGENCY: National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), 
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

ACTION: Notice.


SUMMARY: HHS gives notice of a decision to designate a class of 
employees from the Ames Laboratory, Ames, Iowa, as an addition to the 
Special Exposure Cohort (SEC) under the Energy Employees Occupational 
Illness Compensation Program Act of 2000. On October 6, 2010, the 
Secretary of HHS designated the following class of employees as an 
addition to the SEC:

    All employees of the Department of Energy, its predecessor 
agencies, and its contractors and subcontractors who worked in any 
area of the Department of Energy facility at the Ames Laboratory 
from January 1, 1955 through December 31, 1960, for a number of work 
days aggregating at least 250 work days, occurring either solely 
under this employment, or in combination with work days within the 
parameters established for one or more other classes of employees in 
the Special Exposure Cohort.

This designation will become effective November 5, 2010, unless 
Congress provides otherwise prior to the effective date. After this 
effective date, HHS will publish a notice in the Federal Register 
reporting the addition of this class to the SEC or the result of any 
provision by Congress regarding the decision by HHS to add the class to 
the SEC.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Stuart L. Hinnefeld, Interim Director, 
Division of Compensation Analysis and Support, National Institute for 
Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), 4676 Columbia Parkway, MS C-46, 
Cincinnati, OH 45226, Telephone 877-222-7570. Information requests can 
also be submitted by e-mail to [email protected].

John Howard,
Director, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.
[FR Doc. 2010-26557 Filed 10-20-10; 8:45 am]