[Federal Register Volume 75, Number 135 (Thursday, July 15, 2010)]
[Pages 41211-41212]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 2010-17261]



National Institutes of Health

Office of the Director; Notice of Establishment

    Pursuant to the Federal Advisory Committee Act, as amended (5 
U.S.C. Appendix 2), the Director, Office of Federal Advisory Committee 
Policy, National Institutes of Health (NIH), announces the 
establishment of the Interagency Pain Research Coordinating Committee.
    Public Law 111-148 (``Patient Protection and Affordable Care 
Act''), Title IV, as it amends Part B of Title IV of the Public Health 
Service Act (42 USC 284 et seq.) requires the committee to: (a) Develop 
a summary of advances in pain care research supported or conducted by 
Federal agencies relevant to the diagnosis, prevention, and

[[Page 41212]]

treatment of pain and diseases and disorders associated with pain; (b) 
identify critical gaps in research on the symptoms and causes of pain; 
(c) make recommendations to ensure that the activities of the NIH and 
other Federal agencies are free of unnecessary duplication of effort; 
(d) make recommendations on how best to disseminate information on pain 
care; and (e) make recommendations on how to expand partnerships 
between public and private entities to expand collaborative, cross-
cutting research.
    Duration of this committee is two years from the date the Charter 
is filed.

    Dated: July 9, 2010.
Jennifer Spaeth,
Director, Office of Federal Advisory Committee Policy.
[FR Doc. 2010-17261 Filed 7-14-10; 8:45 am]