[Federal Register Volume 74, Number 61 (Wednesday, April 1, 2009)]
[Page 14824]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: E9-7277]



[ IA-08-022; ASLBP No. 09-881-01-EA-BD01]

In The Matter Of Dhiraj Soni; Establishment of Atomic Safety and 
Licensing Board

    Pursuant to delegation by the Commission dated December 29, 1972, 
published in the Federal Register, 37 FR 28,710 (1972), and the 
Commission's regulations, see 10 CFR sections 2.104, 2.202, 2.300, 
2.303, 2.309, 2.311, 2.318, and 2.321, notice is hereby given that an 
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board is being established to preside over 
the following proceeding:

In the Matter of Dhiraj Soni; (Enforcement Action)

    This proceeding concerns a request for a hearing submitted on March 
13, 2009 by the law firm of Akerman Senterfitt on behalf of Mr. Dhiraj 
Soni in response to a February 10, 2009 ``NRC Staff Order Prohibiting 
Involvement in NRC-Licensed Activities, 74 FR 7930 (Feb. 20, 2009). 
Under the terms of that Order, the Staff concluded that Mr. Dhiraj 
Soni, the former Vice President of Eastern Testing and Inspection, Inc. 
(ETI), engaged in deliberate misconduct that caused ETI to be in 
violation of 10 CFR 30.9 and, accordingly, that Mr. Dhiraj Soni 
violated 10 CFR 30.10. The Order therefore prohibits Mr. Dhiraj Soni 
from any involvement in NRC-licensed activities for a period of one 
year from the effective date of the Order.
    The Board is comprised of the following administrative judges:

Ann Marshall Young, Chair, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, 
Washington, DC 20555-0001.
Paul B. Abramson, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Washington, DC 
Bruce R. Matthews, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Washington, DC 

    All correspondence, documents, and other materials shall be filed 
in accordance with the NRC e-filing rule, which the NRC promulgated in 
August 2007. See 72 FR 49,139 (Aug. 28, 2007).

     Issued at Rockville, Maryland, this 26th day of March 2009.
E. Roy Hawkens,
Chief Administrative Judge, Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel.
 [FR Doc. E9-7277 Filed 3-31-09; 8:45 am]