[Federal Register Volume 62, Number 179 (Tuesday, September 16, 1997)]
[Pages 48657-48658]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 97-24535]



Office of National Drug Control Policy

Designation of High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas

AGENCY: Office of National Drug Control Policy, Executive Office of the 

ACTION: Notice.


SUMMARY: This notice lists two (2) counties in New Mexico designated by 
the Director of National Drug Control Policy, as additions to the 
Southwest Border High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA). The 
Southwest Border HIDTA in New Mexico currently consists of Bernalillo, 
Hidalgo, Grant, Luna, Dona Ana, Eddy, Lea, and Otero Counties. The 
additional counties in New Mexico are Chaves and Lincoln. HIDTAs are 
domestic regions identified as having the most critical drug 
trafficking problems that adversely affect the United States. These new 
counties are designated pursuant to 21 U.S.C. 1504(c), as amended, to 
promote more effective coordination of drug control efforts. This 
action will support local, New Mexico, and Federal law enforcement 
officers in assessing regional drug threats, designing strategies to 
combat the threats, developing initiatives to implement the strategies, 
and evaluation of the effectiveness of these coordinated efforts.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Comments and questions regarding this 
notice should be directed to Mr. Richard Y. Yamamoto, Director, HIDTA, 
Office of National Drug Control Policy, Executive Office of the 
President, Washington, D.C. 20503; 202-395-6755.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: In 1990, the Director of ONDCP designated 
the first five HIDTAs. These original HIDTAs, areas through which most 
illegal drugs enter the United States, are the Southwest Border, 
Houston, Los Angeles, New York/New Jersey, and South Florida. In 1994, 
the Director designated the Washington/Baltimore HIDTA to address the 
extensive drug distribution networks serving hardcore drug users. Also 
in 1994, the Director designated Puerto Rico/U.S. Virgin Islands as a 
HIDTA based on the significant amount of drugs entering the United 
States through this region. In 1995, the Director designated three more 
HIDTAs in Atlanta, Chicago, and Philadelphia/Camden to target drug 
abuse and drug trafficking in those areas.

[[Page 48658]]

    Five new HIDTAs have been designated in 1997. These are: the Gulf 
Coast HIDTA (includes parts of Alabama, Louisiana, and Mississippi); 
the Lake County, Indiana HIDTA, the Midwest HIDTA (includes parts of 
Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, and South Dakota, with focus on 
methamphetamine); the Northwest HIDTA (includes seven counties of 
Washington State); and the Rocky Mountain HIDTA (includes parts of 
Colorado, Utah, and Wyoming).
    The program supports more than 150 co-located officer/agent task 
forces in fifteen regions of the country, including the entire 
Southwest Border. The HIDTA program strengthens mutually supporting 
local, State, and Federal drug trafficking and money laundering task 
forces, bolsters information analysis and sharing networks and, 
improves integration of law enforcement, drug treatment and drug abuse 
prevention programs.

    Dated: September 3, 1997.
Barry R. McCaffrey,
[FR Doc. 97-24535 Filed 9-15-97; 8:45 am]