[Federal Register Volume 61, Number 131 (Monday, July 8, 1996)]
[Pages 35731-35732]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]
[FR Doc No: 96-17290]



Iowa; Major Disaster and Related Determinations

AGENCY: Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

[[Page 35732]]

ACTION: Notice.


SUMMARY: This is a notice of the Presidential declaration of a major 
disaster for the State of Iowa (FEMA-1121-DR), dated June 24, 1996, and 
related determinations.

EFFECTIVE DATE: June 24, 1996.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Pauline C. Campbell, Response and 
Recovery Directorate, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Washington, 
DC 20472, (202) 646-3606.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Notice is hereby given that, in a letter 
dated June 24, 1996, the President declared a major disaster under the 
authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency 
Assistance Act (42 U.S.C. 5121 et seq.), as follows:

    I have determined that the damage in certain areas of the State 
of Iowa, resulting from severe storms and flooding on May 8-28, 
1996, is of sufficient severity and magnitude to warrant a major 
disaster declaration under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief 
and Emergency Assistance Act (``the Stafford Act''). I, therefore, 
declare that such a major disaster exists in the State of Iowa.
    In order to provide Federal assistance, you are hereby 
authorized to allocate from funds available for these purposes, such 
amounts as you find necessary for Federal disaster assistance and 
administrative expenses.
    You are authorized to provide Public Assistance and Hazard 
Mitigation in the designated areas. Consistent with the requirement 
that Federal assistance be supplemental, any Federal funds provided 
under the Stafford Act for Public Assistance or Hazard Mitigation 
will be limited to 75 percent of the total eligible costs.

    The time period prescribed for the implementation of section 
310(a), Priority to Certain Applications for Public Facility and Public 
Housing Assistance, 42 U.S.C. 5153, shall be for a period not to exceed 
six months after the date of this declaration.
    Notice is hereby given that pursuant to the authority vested in the 
Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency under Executive 
Order 12148, I hereby appoint Melvin Schneider of the Federal Emergency 
Management Agency to act as the Federal Coordinating Officer for this 
declared disaster.
    I do hereby determine the following areas of the State of Iowa to 
have been affected adversely by this declared major disaster:

    Adair, Des Moines, Henry, Iowa, Johnson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, 
Madison, Mahaska, Muscatine, and Washington Counties for Public 
Assistance and Hazard Mitigation.

(Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance No. 83.516, Disaster 
James L. Witt,
[FR Doc. 96-17290 Filed 7-5-96; 8:45 am]