[From the U.S. Government Printing Office, www.gpo.gov]
3. AN HISTORIC RESOURCES SURVEY OF THE COASTAL ZONE OF SARASOTA COUNTY, FLORIDA -----------------a------------------------I---------------- - --- -------- ------------- - -------- ------------------------- Prepared for the Sarasota County Board of County Commissioners Sarasota County Department of Natural Resources and the Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources Contributors: Joan Dem i ng Rebecca Spain Schwarz Patricia Carender Daniel Delahaye J. Raymond Williams J. Raymond Williams, Project Director University of South Florida Department of Anthropology Tampa, Florida March 1990 FurA% [email protected],,Mis project were provided by the Department or Environmental Regulation, office or Coastal Zone Management, using funds made available through the National Oceanographic and G Abna0eric Administration under the Coastal Zone Management Act 1972, as Amended. 70.215 Under Florida Department of Environmental Regulation Contract No. CM-235, .C63 Agreement for Cultural Resource Management. F6 1990 Volume 1: Teirt AN HISTORIC RESOURCES SURVEY OF THE COASTAL ZONE OF SARASOTA COUNTY, FLORIDA Prepared for the Sarasota County Board of County Commissioners, Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources Under Florida Department of Environmental Regulation Contract No. CM-235, Agreement for Cultural Resource Management Contributors: Joan Deming Rebecca Spain Schwrz Patricia Carender Daniel Delahaye J. Raymond Williams, Project Diretor University of South Florida Department of Anthropology Tampa, Florida Funds for this project were provided by the Department of Environmental Regulation Office of Coastal Zone Management, using funds made available through the National oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration under the Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972, as amended. March 1990 G70.215.C63 Fb 1990 TABLE OF CONTENTS Page OF FIGURES LIST OF TABLES EXECUIVE SUMMARY iii INTRODUCTION 1 METHODOIDGY 6 ARCHAEOLOGICAL S8 REPORT 12 General Introduction 12 Summary of Survey Results 14 USGS Englewood 16 USGS Englewood NW 25 Manasota, Key USGS Venice 41 Casey Key 55 USGS Laurel 59 Siesta Key 81 USGS BIRD Keys 89 US Sarasota 96 Conclusions 105 HISTORIC REPORT 114 General Introduction 114 Summary of Survey Results 118 Englewood 123 Manasota Key 138 Englewood-Venice (Includes Woodmere) 143 Higelville 146 Eagle Point 149 Nokomis 153. Laurel 163 Casey Key 170 Osprey 175 Vamo 183 South of Phillippi Creek 188 Red Rock 193 Siesta Key 199 Uplands 210 MANAGEMENT RECOMMENDATIONS 214 BI0GRAPHY 225 APPENDIX 236 Appendix A: Sample of Florida Master Site File Form for Recording Historic Structures. Appendix B: Sample of Florida Master Site File Form for Recording Archaeological Sites. Appendix C: Data Sunmary: Previously Recorded Sites in the Coastal Zone Study Area. Appendix D: Data Sumnary: Newly Recotded Sites in I the Coastal Zone Study Area. I Appendix E: Previously Recorded Arclutectural Sites in the City of Venice, including Higelville (Source: Werndli 1985). Appendix F: Index to Soil Survey of Sarasota County. Flor maps- Appendix G: Sanple Field Survey Form used in Historic Structures Survey. LMr (W namm Page Figure 1. Location of the Sarasota county coastal zone survey Area. 3 Figure 2. Location of Archaeological Sites in the UsGs Englewood 23 Map Area. Figure 3. Location of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Englewood NW 29 Map Area. Figure 4. Location of Archaeological Sites on Manasota Key. 37 Figure 5A. Location of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Venice 50 Map Area (northern portion) Figure 5B. Location of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Venice 51 Map Area (southern portion) Figure 6A. Location of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Laurel 75 Map Area (northern portion). Figure 6B. Location of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Laurel 76 Map Area (southern portion). Figure 6C. Location of Archaeological Sites in the USGS laurel 77 Map Area (portion depicting selected eastern streams) Figure 7. Location of Archaeological Sites on Siesta Key. 86 Figure 8. Location of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Bird Keys 92 Map Area. Figure 9. location of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Sarasota 101 Map Area. Figure 10. Surveyed Ccommities in Southern Sarasota County Coastal 116 Zone. Figure 11. Surveyed Ccmmnities in Northern Sarasota County Coastal 117 Zone. Figure 12. Location of Historic Structures in Englewood. 126 Figure 13. Location of Historic Structures on Manasota Key and in 140 the Area Between Englewood and Venice. Figure 14. Lopation of Historic Structures in Higelville. 147 Figure 15. Location of Historic Structures at Eagle Point. 150 Figure 16. Location of Historic Structures in Nokanis. 156 Figure 17.. Location of Historic Structures in Laurel. 166 Figure 18. Location of Historic Structures on Casey Key. 172 Figure 19. Location of Historic structures in osprey: 178 Figure 20. Location of Historic Structures in South Osprey. 179 Figure 21. Location of Historic Structures in Vamo. 185 Figure 22. Iocation of Historic structures South of Phillippi Creek. 190 Figure 23. Location of Historic Structures in Red Rock. 195 Figure 24. Location of Historic Structures in Northern Siesta Key. 201 Figure 25. Location of Historic Structures in Southern Siesta Key. 202 Figure 26. Location of Historic Strt=tur-es in The Uplands. 211 L3:Sr CF 7NBEES Page Table 1. Evaluation-of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Englewood 22 Map Area (Exclusive of Manasota Key). Table .2. Evaluation-of Archaeological Sites in th,6 USGS ErigleAx)od 28 NW Map Area (Exclusive of Manasota. Key). Table 3. Evaluation of Archaeological Sites on Manasota Key (USGS 36 Englewood, Englemod NW, and Venice) Table 4. Evaluation of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Venipe Map 49 Area (Exclusive of the City*of Venice and Manasota. Key). Table 5. Sunrary of Sites Found in the Interior Zone of the USGS 61 Laurel Map Area. Table 6. Evaluation of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Laurel 72-74 Map Area. Table 7. Evaluation of Archaeological Sites on Siesta Key (USGS 85 Sarasota and Bird Keys) Table 8. Evaluation of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Bird Keys 91 Map Area. Table 9. Evaluation of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Sarasota 100 Map Area (Exclusive of the City of Sarasota and Barrier Islands). Table 10. Number of Surveyed Strucbmes in Each Ca=MitY. 122 Table 11. Evaluation of Surveyed Historic Struct1res in EngleWCOd. 128-132 Table 12. Evaluation of Surveyed Historic [email protected] on Mmmsota 142 Key. Table 13. Evaluation of surveyed Historic Structures Between 145 Englewood and Venice. Table 14. Evaluation of surveyed Historic Structures on Eagle 151 Point. Table 15. Evaluation of Surveyed Historic StrUCtUres in-NOkOmis. 157-160 Table 16. Evaluation of Surveyed Historic Structures in Laurel 167 Table 17. Evaluation of Surveyed Historic Structures On Casey Key. 173 Table 18. Evaluation of Surveyed Historic Structures in OsWeY - 180-181 Table 19. Evaluation of Surveyed Historic Structures in VamO. .186 Table 20. Evaluation of Surveyed Historic Structures South of 191 Phillippi Creek. Table 21. Evaluation of Surveyed Historic Structures in Red Rock. 196-197 Table 22. Evaluation of Surveyed Historic Structures on Siesta Key. 204-207 Table 23. Evaluatim of Surveyed Historic Structures in The UPlands 212 EXECUTIVE SEI#VM A _rehensive survey of archaeological sites and historic structures (pre-1949) within the unincorporated parts of the coastal zone of Sarasota County was conducted by the University of South Florida, Department of Anthropology. The overall goals of the Coastal Zone project were to identify, evaluatel and reccmnerxi protection [email protected] forhistoric resources within the study area. In addition to the mainland ccoastal strip and the barrier islands of Manasota Key, Siesta Key, and Casey Key, the project area also included portions of several eastward stream. Archaeological background research, informant interviewing and systematic field survey resulted in the recording and of 60 prehistoric and historic period sites. of these, the majority were discovered as a result of field survey. In general, the findings of the archaeological survey served to support the existing site location predictive model for the region. Among the axitributions of the archaeological survey was the addition of small, poorly known site types to the site inventory for Sarasota County. Thus, the dis- covery of small shell middens, as well as artifact, shell, ceramic and lithic scatters served to level out sane of the biases in the exisitng data base. Architectural survey was organized into 14 areas, generally corresponding to catumities and the barrier islands. A total of 847 historic structures were located, recorded, and evaluated. The majority of these were found in Erxjlewood (243), Nokomis (168) and Siesta Key (148). Generally, most of the structures imentoried were frame vernacular residences of small scale and modest design. Based upon. the findings of both the archaeological and historic struc- tures survey, a variety of initiatives and protection strategies for the mamgement of historic resources within the Coastal Zone were xeCOILmexxied. Foremost, it was strongly urged that Sarasota County adopt an historic preser- vation ordinance. Numerous sites and properties were also recommended for r,cmination to the Natiotial Register. Archaeologically, 14 shell middens were recommended for NR nmunaticn as a thematic district. Four late 19th to early 20th century - cemeteries were also suggested for consideration as a National Register thematic district. Twenty other archaeological sites within the coastal zone, both previously and newly recorded, were adjudged potentially significant, and reommerded for further study. Specific r ons were made 'for each of the 14 commmities surveyed for historic [email protected] Five individual properties were deemed eligible for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places due to their architectural significance and their association with local historical events and persons. other structures located in areas which could be ncminated as National Register Districts or as Local Historic Districts were also highlighted. A mmber of additicnal historic sites were re=tuiia ed for several thematic National Register multiple properties nominations. iv ECUCTICK In 1987, Historic Property Associates (HpA) was commissioned by Sarasota County to prepare an Historic Preservation Element for the unincorporated area of Sarasota County. This was the first step in a long process leacbxxg toward conscious preservation of the county's prehistoric and historic archae- ological and architectural resources. Their report, "Draft Copy, Historic Preservation Element, SarasoEa County," prepared in 1987 to 1988,. briefly summarized the existing resources remaining and provided general recommenda- tions for implementing [email protected] programs within the county. This Historic Preservation Element has since been incorporated, With modifications, as Chap- ter 1 (Historic Preservation) of APOXSEE. The Revised and Ljpdated County Cbmrrehensive Plan (1989). The architectural information included in the HPA draft report was the result of a "windshield survey" of the county, using 1943 topographic maps and a 1936 Florida Department of Transportation road map, which showed structures present along represented roads when the maps were originally prepared. Loca- ticns that indicated significant concentrations of structures were visited, their mmter was counted, and general characteristics were summarized. A compmeheilsivW SULYWA, d -1hing each structure, was not conducted in that phase. In additaon to the historic structures information, known archaeological ites, as organized by U. S. Geological Survey (USGS) quadrangle map areas, were described. An "Historic Resource Review Manual" was prepared (Archibald s 1988) to accompany the preservation element. This manuscript provided summaries of previous archaeological work, known sites, a mments of site potential, and re= ations. Also prepared were sets of USGS quadrangle maps and Soil Survey maps, wtuch platted the locations of recorded and reported sites, as well as outlined zones of "Archaeological Sensitivity," respectively. Archaeological field survey, and the recording of previously unknown sites, was riot a focus of this research. The Sarasota County Board of Commissioners and the Sarasota County His- torical Commission (an advisory board to the County Commissioners) have played a vital role in local historic preservation efforts. Consistent with their , the County Commissioners recently passed an ordinance to establish a County of Historical Resources. In conjunction with the establish- o"ncerns ment of this -ent, initiatIves were taken to secure funding for a comp- rehensive survey of the coastal zone of Sarasota County. In 1987, George W. Percy, Florida's State Historic Preservation officer (SiPO) led to the Sarasota County Historical Commission that an appropriate source of such money was a Coastal Zone Management grant. Under the auspices of the Sarasota Coun- ty Board of Ctmmissioners, the Sarasota County Department of Matural Resour- ces, headed by Jack Merriam, was requested to draft the requisite grant appli- cation papers. This was done in conjunction with the Sarasota County Histori- cal Commission, who were advised and supported by George W. Percy, Director, and Inuis D. Tesar, Administrator of the Review and Compliance Section, of the Florida Division of Historical Resources. The application for funds to carry out a survey of historic resources was submitted by the County Depart- ment of Natural Resources (DNR) to the Florida Department of [email protected] Regulation (DER), Coastal Zone elut2i Program, for consideration. 2 With federal fulds received through the Flor:rda Department of Environ- mental Regulation, Sarasota County was given a grant-in-aid to conduct a sur- vey and implement a management program to preserve and enhance the county's coastal historic resources. Thus, in [email protected]@, 1988, Sarasota County, under. the co-sponsorship of the Department of Natural Resources and the recently created Department of Historical Resources, entered into [email protected] with the Florida DER to identify,,- evaluate and reccnmiend protective strategies for historic resources *(pre-1949) within the coastal zone of Sarasota County. Sarasota is the first Florida county to receive coastal zone mangagement funding to carry out a project of this type. In early 1989, a grant was awarded to the University of South Florida, Department of Anthropology, to conduct a -7-griprehensive survey of all archaeo- logical sites and historic structures (pre-1949) within the unincorporated parts of Sarasota County. rIhe Coastal Zone project area is bound on the east by U.S. Highway 41 (Tamiami Trail) and on the west by the Gulf of Mexico; Bee Ridge Road on the north to the Sarasota/Charlotte county line on the south; exclusive of Lcnqjboat Key and the incorporated areas within the cities of Sarasota and Venice. The small residential ccmmmity known as "The Uplands", to the west of U.S. Highway 41 just south of the Manatee/Sarasota County line, was also included (Figure 1). In addition, the USF team of archeologists and architectural consultants conducted a separate survey of Old Miakka, in the northeast corner of Sarasota County, and parts of the Myakka River which had not been surveyed previously. The results of the Old Miakka/Myakka River survey have been presented in a separate zepor (Deming et al. 1989). The findings of the coastal Zone Ccuprehensive Survey are detailed in the report which follows. Project Goals The overall goals of the Coastal Zone project were to identify, evaluate, and reommend [email protected] strategies for historic resources (pre-1949) within the study area (Figure 1). In addition to the mainland coastal strip, and the barrier island of Manasota Key, Siesta Key, and Casey Key, the study area also E, ssed portions of several eastward streams, including North, South, Catfish, Shakett, (Shake It), CurTy, Forked, Phillippi, Alligator, Godfrey (Deer), Salt, and Fox Creeks. Also investigated were c=mmities which strad- dled U.S. Hiqt-my 41 in their early developnent, such as Osprey, Laurel and Nokcmis. The specific services performed as part of this study were [email protected]: 1. Documentary Research: Th determine the type and extent of existing available documentation for historic 5 -tures and archaeological sites.. 2. : Th locate and document archaeological sites and historic struc- tures (pre-1949) in with the Secretary of Interior's Standards and the Florida Bureau of Historic Preservation's standards for identification of historic resources in coastal areas and eastward stremm, e:@cluding areas with existing survey reports- 3. Evaluate 2MM F To determine which sites are eligible for inclusion on the National Register of Historic Places- 3 ...... ...... vim rNSITY PARKWA 2 13 BRADENTON SARASOTA BEE RIDGE OLD MYAKKA FRUMILLE ROAD Oil PJDCE ROAD BIRD KEYS 13 1AUREL SR 72 10 LOWEI.t K.E MURDOCX 1,1YAKKA' NORTHWEST Ax -K olx A XK x 1 MURDOCK ct"Trit ROAD fI us @11 12 13 WPM IIISTORIC PROPERTY VENICE MYAKKA RIVER ASSOCIAIFS. ST. AUG11STINE, SARASOTA COU14TY PLA14NING I . DUARTMENT. ma. 17 0 1 Z 3 4 5 ENGLEWOOD w- @-- - - 14ORTIIWEST ENCIXWOOP SCALE IN MILES ... .... Figure 1. Location of the Sarasota County Coastal Zone Survey Area. 4 4. His+-oric Resources h%nggement Strategy: To evallate survey findings and develop strategies for management of historic tescurces. 5. Final Egp_ort: Th prepare a report which includes narratives on methodology, findings and recommerxiations. In' addition, - the following products were requested: a. A bibliography of historic and archaeological resources. b. A brief narrative with map detailing areas of concentration oi historic resources. c. An inventory of historic sites located, including completed Florida Master Site File forms, site and USGS maps with site locations. d. A list of sites surveyed that are potentially eligible for inclusion on the National Register of Historic Pla and which National Register criteria each property meets. overviews of the history and prehistory of Sarasota County, contained in numerous other reports, were not made a part of this report. The major enpha- sis of this project, as per cayt:rUCtMal agreement, was the production of an inventory which would include completed Florida Master Site File forms, photo- graphs of sites, and draft and final U.S. Geological [email protected] (USGS) maps indi- cating site locations, as well as section aerial naps showing delimited site locations and all specific properties surveyed and tested. Acknowl Mus project was supported and aided by many agencies and individuals. Foremost, the members of the project team wish to thank the Sarasota County Board of County commissioners, the Sarasota county Historical Commission, George W_ Percy (Florida CM), Lcuis D. Tesar (Florida DHR), and Jack Merriam (Sarasota County EM) for their efforts in securing funding for this project. We are alw grateful to James W. Stoutamire, Environmental Supervisor, Coastal Zone Management, Florida Department of Environmental Regulation; Wilson Stiles, Director of Sarasota county's Department of Historical Resources; and Steven Sauers, Assistant Director of the County's Department of Natural Resources, for helping to make this project a workable reality. The Support services provided by Dr. Roger T. Grange, Jr., Chair of the Department of Anthropology, university of South Florida, are also gratefully acknowledged. Marry individuals in the Florida Division of Historical Resources, and Sarasota County's Departments of Natural Resources, Historical Resources, parks and Recreation, and ErIgineering, as well as the Office of the Property Appraiser, were of primary assistance. Among these individuals are Louis D. Tesar, Laura Kammerer, Susan Henefield, Marion Smith, and Tulie Wheeler of the Florida Division of Historical Resources, and Laurm Archibald and Nina Lawis (DHR), John McCarthy (EM), and Don Multney, Robert H. Hall, Pete Wenner and Laura Kleiss Hoeft (Parks and Re=eati0n) - We also wish to acknowledge the generous contr-ibutions of Sarasota county Historical Commission members Marion Almy, Betty Axnall, Helen Caravelli, Robert Cashatt, and Jan Matthews- A great deal of information was generously shared by colleagues and con- cerned Sarasota County residents. We wish to acknowledge the special contri- butions of the follading: George Luer, Bill Burger, Bill Davis, Jack Tate,, Dorothy and Jim Cannon, Helen Vanderbilt, Carol Rae Herring, Mitchell Hope, 5 Kafi Benz, Dudley deGroot, Louis Roberts Wyatt, Elizabeth Coon, victor and Linda Smith, josh Martin, Terry Barton, Mr. and Mrs. c.B. Wilcox, Joy and Mickey Higel, Pat.Ball, Bennie Komarek, Linda William, Sonny Codcrell and Bob A:ustin. Special thanks are due Cyrxiy Jo Rossiter, who assisted in the archaeolog- ical field survey, as well as to the USF Summer Archaeological Field School students who participated in survey of the Knight's Trail Park and Fox Creek areas: For their extra work in the coastal zone field survey we thank students Kimber liodges, Ken Stowell, and Charles Branham. Lastly., we reserve our deepest gratitude for the hundreds of homeowners, tenants, land managers, and citizens of Sarasota County, wtiose kindness, patience, and support helped us to document the cultural resources of Sarasota County- 6 Background Research In Ordex to determine the type and extent of existing ava-ilable documen- tatIon for historic structur @es and archaeological sites, documentary research. and informant InterVledlng were carried out prior to initiation of fieldwork. Several visits were made to the Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources where Florida Master Site File records, maps, survey and excavation rePor , manuscripts, local histories, newspaper clippings, etc. were examined. Other important sources of information were found at the public libraries in EngledWd, Venice, Sarasota and &mdenton; the Florida Historical Society Collections at the University of South FloridaJ: the P.K. Yonge Library at the University of Florida; and the Florida Division of Historical Resources in Tallahassee. Nineteenth century federal surveyor's plat and other maps were examined at the Sarasota county Department of Natural Resources, Cattlemen Road Complex. Numercxm individuals, including professional archaeologists and histori- ans, were contacted by*phone and queried about their knowledge of local his- toric rescurces. Several key informants graciously consented to interviews in their homes. Public workshops held in Sarasota and Englewood on July 14 and 21 respectively, also served to bring members of the project team in contact with citizens knowledgeable about local sites. The names of these collective individual are listed in the Acknowledgements section of the Introduction. Further, scores of other individuals e-icountered during the fieldwork stage of investigation, also provided valuable site information. The locations of all previously recorded archaeological sites were plat- ted on a set of USGS quadrangle maps. Areas deemed to have a potential for archaeological site occurence, as per the Archaeological Sensitivity Maps on file at the Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources, were marked on the quad maps, as well as the section aerials provided. In addition, all pre- viously unrecorded but reported sites, listed in the Historic Resources Review Manual prepared by Historic Property Associates (Archibald 1988) were plotted on the quads. other site information provided by informants was similarly noted on the quad and aerial maps. For the architectural survey, using the 1948.Soil Survey of County, Flori maps as a guide, the location of each potential site was marked . on the half-section maps. These were then. used during the preliminary I%findshield" survey of the coastal zone to determine which structures xaTain- ed. Field Arcbaeolccdcal: The initiation of archaeological field survey-entailed a "wirkishield" [email protected] survey, whereby most roads contained within the project area were driven out and the adjacent landscape scanned for the presence of note- worthy features, including anomalous landforms and previously recorded sites. Mier? such features were F the resident landowner was asked for permission to inspect more closely the property and/or carry out limited sub- surface shovel testing. During this windshield survey, most vacant lots observed were carefully examined for the presence of Surface cultural materials. In most cases, at least two test pits were also excavated. 7 Properties in the early stage of development, with cleared vegetation, also afforded a good sample of exposed ground for surface reconnaissance, as did smaller-discrete exposures includuxj mosquito control ditches. Shovel tests measured 40 to 50 centimeters in diameter by at least one meter in depth, wtiere possible. All soil-removed was screened through one-quarter inch mesh hardware cloth, and the holes refilled upon completion of data recording. All test pit locations were plotted on the section aerial maps. In cases where surface inspection and/or subsurface testing reve-aled the presence of an archaeological site, continued subsurface testing wa's carried out (pending landowner permission) in order to delimit site boundaries. Geographically, archaeological field survey was based on USGS quadrangle map area, and proceeded from south to north as follows: Englewood, Englewood NW, Venice, Laurel, Bird Keys, and Sarasota. Afforded separate coverage were the barrier islands which cross--cut map =eas: Manasorta. Key, Casey Key and Siesta Key. Specific field survey tactics are detailed for each of these areas in the Archaeological Sites Report section of this report. Most intensive survey efforts, including the majority of systematic subsurface testing, were focused upon the Laurel quad area, particularly along several streams situated to the east of U.S. Highway 41. This increased work effort was made possible by the relatively numerous tracts of undeveloped land, as well as the participation of students from the USF Sumer Archaeological Field School. As in all urban and semi-urban areas, the scope of archaeological survey I For one, am land within the coastal zone was res -icted by several factors. of Sarasota County has been altered by residential and commercial development. Dredging and filling, seawall constnr-tion, and mosquito control ditching have also served to modify the coastal landscape, and thus, the integrity of local archaeological sites. With the exception of some lands along Shakett, Fox and Salt Creeks in the USGS laurel quad area, sizable tracts of undeveloped and/or relatively unaltered land were rare. A related and equally important problem* hampering survey Coverage was the private nature of land ownership throughout the survey zone. The majority of land contained within the "archaeological sensitivity zones," as defined in the Historic Property Associates study, was marked by private residential development. Given the thamands of individual larkkuners, it was not possible to request permission for survey access through written notification, a procedure that has been used successfully in other projects (cf. Almy 1985). The alternative was a door-to-door approach, where a brief cover letter of introduction explaining the nature of the project was presented. AS a general. rule, only a small peruentage of owners were home at the time of survey. It=, while limited ground surface inspection was carried out, subsurfa [email protected] of landscaped yards was not performed. Men home, the majority of Owners were cooperative in permitting visual inspection, but normally rejected the reqwst for testing in their yards. Thus, even whm sites were observable on the surface, their areal dimensions and depth Of deposit could not be easily. Those lots subjected to surface reconnaissance and/or subsurface testing are marked on the section aerial maps which accompany this report. Finally, it should be noted that the publicity generated as a result of the accidental discovery and the mannaer in wtuch subsequent archaeological mitigation of the Manasota, Key B=ial Site was canducted had an adverse effect on our efforts to secure landowner permission for survey. The fear that human 8 remains would be found on their land was voiced by residents frcm Sarasota south to Englewood. A preliminary I%dr4shield" type survey was similarly con- ducted in the early stages of the architectural field survey. Most roads within the project area were driven, focusing primarily on communities known to have existed pre-1949. Using the 1948 Soil Survey of Sarasota 11 Florida maps as a guide, isolated structures in rural areas werv first located on 1957 aerials and then 1986 aerials to see.if they remained today, before driving these secluded roads. About halfway through the project it was dis- covered that the 1948 soil survey maps had been updated in 1954. Thus, using our personal judgemexrt, based on kncwn construction dates for many structures, it was determined which structures were actually built between 1949 and 1954. Historic sites were highlighted with an orange Parker on the half section maps, whereas new construction or vacant lots were shaded with a green marker to indicate the area has been surveyed. A field survey form was prepared, one sheet per recorded site, and copies were bound in books of 100. These forms were'created to facilitate the rapid description of architectural styles, context and features required for the Florida master Site File forms. A blank form has been included in this report (Appendix). On the reverse side ofthe form an outline plan of the structure was drawn with ummual features indicated, boundary streets, and north arrow sham. Each form was assigned a number, starting with 001 and ending with gog. cammuuties, were grouped together as best as possible with several blank form left between each one in case new sites needed to be recorded later. TrIdividual sites were then recorded on the field survey forms, gathering as much data as possible fran the sidewalk. Urban areas with high tions of structures were surveyed by foot, a block at a time. Residents and/ or owner were only contacted if they sk=wed an interest in wbat we were doing; if we were on a private drive; or if neighbors told us that they could provide itional information regarding their hcres. As per the request of Wilson Stiles, Director of the Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources, all structures originally constructed prior to 1949, were to be recorded in this ""'Crehensive survey. This included pristine examples as well as ones which had been slightly, or even heavily, altered during the course of time. nun, all inventoried strt=tures at least 40 years old were included, even though most structures are not listed on the Florida Master Site File until they are 50 years old (constructed prior to 1939, for today's standards). Due to the similarity in COI15 on techniques, materials and styles frcm the mid-1940s (post World War II) to the early 1950s, some of the structures recorded were actually built in the early 1950s. We have tried to eliminate these from the Florida Master Site File list, whenever possible, using aerials and other doctmvmted sources. We generally tried to base our decision on Passing and related criteria such as: higher pitched roofs, porr-heS which aPPeared to have been enclosed, and structures set up off the ground. Also looked for were remains Of earlier materials such as wood windows, narrower wood siding, brick or concrete trapezoidal foundation piers, chimney materials, etc. Terporal distinctions were often hampered by the presence of alum== or vinyl siding, replaced metal awning windows, general additions, and patio enclosures. Every historic structure inventoried which we know to be pre-1949 has been submitted to the Florida Master Site File office at the Bureau of Archaeological 9 Research in Tallahassee. They in turn will determine which of the structures built between 1939 and 1949 shall be accepted. Field survey was initiated in Englewood, and proceeded in a south to north direction. In this manner; it was hoped to reduce the length of travel time at the end of the survey period, when we would be engaged in the process of preparing the draft report. Working from south to north also allowed the area with the heaviest on of historic structures to be surveyed first. The architectural* survey was carried out by cm=uuty, rather than USGS quadrangle area, as wms the case in the archaeological field survey. The communities surveyed included the follaAng: Englewood, Manasota Key, Engle- wood-Venice, Higelville, Eagle Point, Nokomis, Laurel, Casey Key, osprey, Vamo, South Phillippi Creek, Red Rock/Hayden, Siesta Key, and the Uplands. Site Evaluations All historic resources located within the Coastal Zone survey area, including previously and newly recorded archaeological sites and historic 5 ixtures, were evaluated as per their condition and significance/Naticnal Register eligibility. For archaeological resources, site conditions, and ccrxxnmtant data quality, were graded using the ratings categories- prepared as part of a recent county-wide review of historic resources (Archibald 1988:12). These categories are as follows: 1. Site is intact and has little or no subsurfa disturbance. 2. Site is slightly to moderately disturbed, but what remains has con- siderable potential for providing useful information. 3. Site is severely disturbed, which may includ destruction or distur- bance to an area of the site. Me quality and value of the existing data may still permit useful and representative data to be recovered. 4. Site is severely altered and the quality of the data is poor. 5. Site has been completely destroyed. 6. Mie preservation or data quality of the site is unknown because the site is covered by a structure, roadway or fill. CR The preservation or data quality of the site is unknown because the site was riot found, or was based on informant information only. Similar ratings for data quality were used for the architectural sites. These ratings categories are as follows: 1. Structure has basically remained in its.original configuration. 2. [email protected] bas been restored to its original configuration. (This can include modifications necessary for code'requirements, etc., made to conform with the original character of the structure.) 3. [email protected]@ has been altered, but its basic original configuration and materials remain visible. 4. [email protected]@ has been severely altered, hiding mos of the fabric of the original structure. 5. Structure has deteriorated beyond repair. 6. The preservation or data quality of the structure is unknown because it is presently inaccessible to the field surveyor. significance was defined in terms of the federal criteria used for as- sessiM eligibility for the National Register of Historic Places, as presented in 36 C.F.R. 60.4 ("Criteria for Evaluation"): 10 National EWister criteria for evaluati The quality of significance in American history, architecture, archeo- logy, engineering, and culture is present in districts, sites,.build- ings, structures, and objects that possess integrity of location, design, setting, materials, workmanship, feeling and asEjociation and (a) that are associated with events that have made a significant contribution to the broad patterns of of our history; or (b) that are associated with the lives of persons significant in our past; or (c) that embody the distinctive characteristics of a type, period, or method of construction, or that possess high artistic values, or that represent a significant and distinguishable entity whose components may lack individual distinctionvor (d) that have yielded, or may be likely to yield, information impor- tant in prehistory or history. Criteria considerations. ordinarily cemeteries, birthplaces, or graves of historical figures, properties owned by religious institu- tions or used for religious pruposes, structures that have been moved fran their original locations, itILAAL-structed historic buildings, prop- erties primarily in nature, and properties that have achieved significance within the past 50 years shall not be considered eligible for the National Register. However, such properties 'will qualify if they are integral parts of districts that do meet the cri- teria or if they fall within the following categories: (a) A religious property deriving primary significance frcm archi- tectural or artistic distinction or historical importance; or (b) A building or [email protected] removed from its original location but which is significant primarily for architectural value, or which is the surviving structure most importantly associated with a historic person or event; or (c) A birthplace or grave of a historical figure of outstandirxj im- portance if there is no appropriate site or buildug directly associa- ted with his productive life. (d) A cemetery which derives its primary significance from graves of persons of [email protected]@t importance, frcm age, from distinctive design features, or from association with historic events; or (e) Arecot ructed building when accurately executed, in a suitable and presented in a dignified manner as part of a restoration master plan, and when no other building or structure with the same association has survived; or (f) A property primarily amlemrative in intent if design, age, tradition, or symbolic value has invested it with its own exceptional significance; or (g) A property achieving significance within the past 50 years if it is of exceptional importance. it should be pointed out, however, that [email protected] criteria are subject.to vexy broad interpretation, and were purposefully designed to allow the devel- opment of specific guidelines on a local basis. Marry structures and archaeo- logical sites which may be considered locally significant may not meet the criteria but are nonetheless important to the community. As a result, the following criteria for evaluating the significance of archaeological and arch- itectural sites, prepared by Louis D. Tesar, Administrator of the Historic preservation Compliance Review Section of the Florida Division of Historical Resources (1987) was also utilized: An archaeological or historic site will be considered significant if: 1. It has already yielded important data and can be expected to yield a iticnal data; 2. It is in good condition and can be considered to be among the best known examples of the identified type of site known for the historic context in which it occurs; 3. It is atypic:al or rare, and thus considered to contain data riot represented at other sites; 4. It is located such that it represents a good opportunity for interpretation and public display; and/or, 5. It is associated with other sites such that as a group or district they are: a. representative of sites relating to socio-political, reli- 91OUS, subsistence, settlement, etc. activities of a historic dontext. b. a typical example of such groupings but in a good or excellent state of preservation; c. a rare or exceptional example of such site groupings; d. located such that they represent a good opportunity for inter- pretaticn and public display; and/or e. offer an opportunity to yield data important to understandinig the area-*s history or prehistory. A site will Nar be considered significant if (1) it is extensively dam- aged or altered and/or (2) is so similar to sites already sbidied such that it is unlikely to contain new information. Me exception would be a site associ- ated with a famous historical event or person (Tesar 1987:17-18). Both the data quality grade and significance category, as per Tlesar, were used in the final evaluation of each archaeological site. For both archaeo- logical and historic structure sites, a five-fold classification for National Register eligibility was employed to assign a final significance category, as follows: A NR Site - Site is already listed or has been determined eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places. B NR Eligible - Site is considered eligible for listing on the basis of existing information. C Potentially Eligible - Site appears to be potentially significant. but needs further irmestigation before a final determination of significance and NR or local nomination eligibility can be made. D Eligibility Not Determined - Sites have riot yet been evaluated for their significance. E Not NR Eligible - Sites which have been determined to be not sicini- ficant. Ihis, evaluation may be the result of weak data potential, the ncn-remarkable nature of the site, or site destruction.. For those sites classified'as category "B", the National Register criter- ia for evaluation (a, b, c, or d as defined above) was also noted. 12 SrMS gMeral Introduction This section of the report contains the findings of the archaeological background research and field survey. A summary of regional prehistory has not been included as part of this work. Several excellent syntheses havp been preparedl, and the reader is.directed to the Bibliography, at the end of the report, for sources pertaining to regional prehistory and early history. In order to better urderstand site contexts and significance, however, brief summaries of general site types found in Sarasota County, as well as regional prvhistoric time periods are presented'. site TYPes: Several types of prehistoric sites can be expected to occur within, the survey area. Mese include shell middens, sand mounds, cemeteries, and a variety of "scatter" type sites, including lithic, ceramic, artifact, and shell scatters. A sample Florida Master Site File form for recording archaeological sites is contained in the Appendix. As can be observed on this form, marry other types of sites have been identified, includiing those dating to the historic period. Only the most commonly occurring kinds of prehistoric resources expected are discussed below. Briefly, shell middens are prehistoric refuse piles, characterized by the prw"@ce of shellfish food remains in a matrix of organically rich, dark lored soil. Common cultural inclusions in shell middens are pieces of broken pottery vessels; finished tools of stone, shell, or bone; faunal co remains; charcoal; and, in some cases, human skeletal remains. Sites of this t)@ range in size from small, shallow deposits to extensive piles measuring three meters or more in height. Shell middens are usually situated along the srmres of bays, or at the nxxrths of streams. Hammock vegetation, consisting Of live oak, cabbage palm, red cedar, gumbo limbo, etc., is characteristic. Sand mounds, also geographically associated with bays and streams, are consbnacted features used to inter the dead, or built as platforms for aboriginal ;@ . Large, flat-topped, pyramidal shaped sand munds are referred to as "temple mcurxis.ll other earthworks, such as ramps, may be associated with sand mourxis. Borrow areas, ditches, and associated village areas may also be in the vicinity. Cemeteries are areas containing human remains, with or without associated artifacts. In Sarasota County, such sites have been discovered in sloughs as well as the gulfside of a barrier island. Hundreds of interred individuals may be contained in an aboriginal cemetery. Four other kirxIs of sites typically recorded for Sarasota County are classified as "scatters." All are manifested by small, diffuse surface and/or subsurface deposits of chipped stone tools and debitage (I'lithic scatters"), pottery fragments only ("ceramic scattexs"), both stone tools and debitage and pottery, plus, in sane cases, shell tools and/or minor amounts of shellfish food remains ("artifact scatters"), or shellfish food remains with or without associated artifacts ("shell scatters"). In general, most scatters are of low artifact density, restricted areal extent, and shallow depth of deposit. Cultural materials present are generally dispersed rather than concentrated. All four kinds of scatter type sites are situated in a variety of environmen- tal settings. However, almost all are located near a source of potable water, 13 on relatively elevated land which is better drained than the surrounding terrain. Shell and ceramic scatter type sites are.most often associated with xeric vegetation such as scrub oak and sand pine. Due to the absence of outcrops of lithic raw materials suitable for aboriginal tool manufacture, lithic scatter type sites are generally of very low artifact density, and characterized primarily by the outputs of later stage reduction activities. Typically, ceramic scatters are characterized by fragments of urxiecorated! sand-tempered ware. 0111-tilm Periods: Sarasota County lies within the Central Peninsula Gulf Coast archaeological region, as defined by Milanich and Fairbanks (1980:24- 26). The succession of prehistoric culture periods outlined for this region are as follows: Paleo--Indian 10,000 to 6,500 B.C. Archaic 6,500 to 1,000 - 500 B.C. Early Archaic 6,500 to 5,000 B.C. middle Archaic 5,000 to 2,000 B.C. Late Archaic 2,000 to 1,000 - 500 B.C. (Florida Transitional) 1,000 to 500 B.C.- Manasota 500 B.C. to A.D. 800 Weeden Island-related A.D. 800 to 1000 Safety Harbor A.D. 1000 to Spanish contact (1600s) Survey results zed by USGS quadrangle map ,dzation are orgard. area. The excepticns are the three barrier island , Manasata. Key, Casey Key, and Siesta Key, which cross-cut two or more map areas. These have been provided their own sections for discussion of results. The nine survey areas, in order of their presentation, are as follows: USGS, Englewood, USGS Engle- wood NW, MAnasota. Key, USGS Venice, Casey Key, USGS Laurel, Siesta Key, USGS Bird Keys, and USGS Sarasota. S [email protected] findings for each area are organized as follows: 1. General description of the survey area. 2. Summary of previous archaeological work 3. Description of recorded and reported sites 4. Research corLsideratiais and methodology 5. Survey results 6. Site evaluations 7. Reccmnm-dations Ccmpleted Florida Master Site File forms for all newly recorded sites are contained in Volume II of this report. These, as well as updated form for previously recorded sites, have been forwarded to the Site File Coordinator at the Bureau of Archaeological Research in Tallahassee. Accompanying this report are the section aerials used in the field survey. Specific locales surveyed as well as test pit locations are marked on these, as well as areas deemed to have a high site potential but which could not be accessed during this project. Copies of the archaeological survey field notes, as well as interview notes, have been filed at the Sarasota County Department Of Historical Resources. prior to the initiation of this project, a total of 61 archaeological sites previously had been recorded for the project area, including the coastal zone as well as eastward streams, and exclusive of the cities of and Venice. The majority of these cultural resources were visited and briefly 14 described by Doris Davis and John Fales in 1961, working under the auspices of the Sarasota County Historical Ccmission. It was not until 1975-76, however, that most. of these were formally inventoried for the State of Florida by Marion M. Almy, as p4rt of her master's thesis research. Of the total 61 sites previously recorded in the study area, roughly two- thirds are conspicuous, above ground prehistoric features. Specifically, 32 pf the sites recorded are.shell middens; nine are sand burial mounds. The remaining 20 include five shell scatters, . five sites with lithics only or lithic scatters, one ceraTac scatter, one historic reiuse site, one historic road segment, one prehistoric site of unknown type, and six mi llaneous prehistoric sites, including "villages," mound/midden complexes, a "habita- tion," and a cemetery/midden complex. Temporal/cultural affiliations are recorded for 31. Tragically, half of these archaeological sites are listed as presently destroyecl (25) or severely disturbed (6). Recorded information other than that provided on the site file form is rare. In brief, the bulk of our knowledge ca-cerning archaeological sites in the coastal zone of Sarasota County is derived from limited investigation at a handful of sites. General lack of systematic, professional survey has resulted in a skewed site sample, whereby most resources recorded are the larger middens and mounds at the expense of the smaller short-term occupations and special use sites, as evidenced by types classified as lithic, artifact, and shell scattex sites. Sites dating to the early historic period are almost completely absent of &MM Resul Archaeological survey during this project served to almost double the nuidDex of sites recorded for the project area. The number of sites both previously and newly recorded, as per TJSGS quadrangle map area, is as follows: USGS QUAD MAP AREA PREVIaJSLY NEWLY PJDOCRDED RECCRDED 1. Englewood 8 6 2. Englewood N1W 6 6 3. Venice 11 9 4. laurel 17 30 5. Sarasota 11 4 6. Bird Keys 8 5 Totals 61 60 15 Of the 60 sites newly recorded as a result of this project, 49 are prehistoric, 10 are historic period, and one contains both prehistoric and historic period COMpone7ts. The total prehistoric sites/components include 19 shell middens, 13 ceramic- S, Six lithic scatters, five shell scatters, two art;ifact scatters, one cemetery, and three single artifact sites. Historic period sites/components include four cemeteries, two seawalls, a fish house complex, a sawmill, a bridge and connecting road segment, historic refuse, and one single artifact. of the total sites, 30% are presently destroyed (8), or in a severely altered/degraded (10) condition. Temporal/ cultural information for the newly recorded prehistoric sites is almost comr- pletely absent, largely as the result of the limited nature of archaeological investigation; i.e. restricted opportunities-for systematic subsurface test- ing. On a positive note, intensive ground surface examination and subsurface testing in selected areas resulted in a broader inventory of site types than that previously derived from I%dndshield" type survey. Thirty-eight of the 60 sites were discovered ' as a result of archaeological field survey. of the remaining 22 cultural resources, the locations of six were aided by background information; nine as a result of informant information. The other seven sites were among those listed as "reported" sites in the Historic Resource Review Manual (Archibald 1988). Of the total 18 reported sites noted in this document, six had been recorded after preparation of that study, and five could not be relocated as a result of this effort, and are presumed destroyed. 16 1 ENGLEkIOM General Description: The survey property is contained in sections 14, 23, 24, 25, 26 and 36 of Township 40 South, Rcinge 19 East, and Sections 19, 30 and 31 of Tbiwnship 40 South, Range 20 East (USGS, Englewood 1956 PR 1972). It is bounded by Lemon Bay on the west, the Sarasota/Charlotte County line on the south, Godfrey Creek and State Road (,'UZ) 775 on the east, and Buchan Field on the north. Included in this territory is the'town of Englewood. Previous Archaeolo cal In 1934, Dr. Marshall T. Newman, under State of q1L___ Florida and Smithsonian Institution sponsorship, carried out a two month exca- vation of the Englewood mobnd (8Sol). During this excavation project the sand burial mound was completely removed (Willey 1949:126). In 1953, visits were made to several Englewood area aboriginal sites by Chapin and Plowden (8So13 and 8So14) and Goggin, Godwin, Webster and Granberry (8So15). These shell midden and sand mound sites were recorded by Plowden in 1953. Former County Historian Doris Davis, accompanied by John Fales, visited and described several local sites in 1961 during their "wirkishield" survey of Sarasota County. Also in the 1960s, Sarasota County work crews excavated the shell midden at Paulsen,'s Point (8So23). The 1966 excavation season at 8So23 supervised by the Sarasota County Deputy Sheriff and County Historian Doris Davis. As part of this work, a backhoe was employed to dig a trench below the tide level. Results of the total two seasons of excavation at the Paulsen Point site were summarized by Ripley P. Bullen in a 1971 publication. In 1976 the recorded sites in the Englewood area were visited and evaluated by Marion A-1my as part of a larger coun:y-wide -- which formed the basis of her M.A. thesis (Almy 1976). More recently, the Sarasota County Parks and Recreation retained the services of Bill Burger to assess the impact of proposed modifications at a proposed parking lot in Indian Mound Park, site of the Paulsen Point midden (8So23) (Burger 1989). Recordedagp=gg Sites: six prehistoric period archaeological sites were recorded previously in the USGS Englewood coastal zone study area. These resources include three shell middens (8So13, 8So23, 8So65), two burial mounds (8Sol, 8So14), and a shell and artifact scatter (8So15). In addition, three unrecorded sites have been reported to the east of Godfrey Creek. These have been designated sites 11X1, IWI and 11L11 in the His- toric Resources Review Manual (Archibald 1988:17). "J" is reported as a sand mound; K and L as "Prehistoric sites" of unknown type situated on a sand ridge(s). Research Considerations/liethodolggy: Background research included examinat-ion Of local histories, U aphs, newspaper clippings, and other information contained at the Elsie Quirk Public Library in Englewood. Other noteworthy informtion was derived from local citizens who attended a July 21 workshop at the Sarasota County Parks and Recreation Department Cbmmmity Center in Englewood. Document and literature study, as well as informant information, revealed the probable locales of as yet unrecorded sites, specifically those dating to the historic period. No humanmade features were indicated on the federal sur- 17 [email protected]'s Plat Map of Township 40 South, Range 19 East dated '1850. However, the later Englewood Plat, filed August 17, 1896, illustrated that the original tcwm of Englewood was bounded on the north by Stewart, east by Elm and south by Dearborn streets. Lemon Bay was the western town boundary. Within this early settlement, the Plat map showed a boat house in Lot W, situated at the [email protected] of lemon, Bay, north of Bay Street, west of Palm Street, south of Stew-art Street, and northwest of Harvard Street. Other potential site locations were extrapolated frcm the history of Englewood, written by JosephIne Cortes (1976), and supplemented by the information of local residents including Jack Tate, Bill Davis and Bob Cashatt. These includ the following: 1. Heacock Sawmill - W.F. Heacock and son Bert established Englewood's- first sawmill in 1897 at the share of Jeman Bay, at the foot of Harvard Street (Cortese 1976:37). 2. Lemon Bay Fisheries - In 1936 Stuart Anderson began*the operation of this company at the foot of Wentworth street. The building was torn down in 1975 (Cortese 1976:49, 87). 3. Englewood Inn - This hotel was built in 1898 near the west end of Perry Street. A dock extended over 250 feet into Lamm Bay, due south of the end of Perry Street. The Inn was burned in 1909 (Cortese 1976:58). 4. Lemon Bay Trading Company - This company store was constructed at the foot of Yale Street in the 1910s. It was owned by H.C. Nichols, the foundler of Englewood (Cortese 1976:90). In addition, Buchan's landing is situated to the south of old Englewood. In 1924 the Royal Casino was built at the end of the Buchan's Landing Pier. From 1927 until 1936 Stuart Anderson operated a fish house here. In 1937 the Casino was moved to Dearborn and Maple. The location of any tanglible remains of the above noted historic period features was a focus of field survey. The shores of lamon Bay as well as the areas along Godfrey Creek, deemed to have a high potential for prelustoric site occurrence, were also emphasized during field survey. In view of the predominantly private residential nature of land ownership in the general Englewood area, field survey tactics were characterized by a maximum of ground surface inspection and minimum of subsurface testing. The excavation of small shovel tests was confined primarily to geographically scattered WXL-Vejoped lots in high probability area to the east of SEZ 775 and west of Godfrey Creek. Along the bayshore, roads were driven up and down, portions of the shoreline walked out, and local residents queried as to their knowledge of archaeological sites. Anomalous landfox , * such as discrete c1miges in elevation, were carefully inspected, as were coastal areas marked by bammock vegetation. To the interior, sandy knolls vegetated with sand Pines were emphasized. Efforts to. relocate and assess extant previously recorded sites were also mad Survey Results_: A total of three previously unrecorded archaeological sites were located, recorded and assessed on the basis of background research, in- formant information and archaeological field survey. These resources include an historic period cemetery, one shell midden, fishery ccMlex ruins, and a mortuary associated with the Paulsen Point site (8So23). These have been 18 assigned the Florida Master Site File numbers 8SO1358 through 8So1360, and 8Chxxx. *In addition, three of the six previously recorded sites were visited and assessed. The other three sites are no longer extant., Finally, efforts to locate reported sites "J", 'OKI', and 11L11 were unsuccessful. Thesefindings are elaborated below. New Si The four newly discovered sites can be described as follows: 1. Lemon Bay Cemetery (8So1358) - This site is situated in the southeast quarter of Section 36, Township 40 South, Range 19 East. It occupies a high sandy ridge bounded on the east by SR 775, on the south by 2nd Avenue, and on the west by Alta Vista Avenue. It measures approximately two and one-half acres in areal extent. T and for the Lemon Bay Cemetery was deeded by John H. and Florence V. Hill on-May 10, 1900. Since the late 1800s the pioneer settlers of Englewood and their descentiants have been buried here. According to local informant Bill Davis, when SR 775 was =L-structed, the graves of the land donors, the Hills, were destroyed. These gravesites had been enclosed within a small fence (Bill Davis, personal umunication) . The oldest intact grave bearing a date is that of Johnson Carver (1859 - 1890). This burial is situated in the southern half of the cemetery, among other pioneers, includuig members of the Lampp, Goff and Aanger families. Ainong the other indiviak-as interred here is Emile Gauguin, son of the renowned French artist. All gravesites in the Umm Bay Cemetery are oriented east/west. Cedar trees have been planted at both sides of the concrete wall entrance, as well as scattered throughout the cemetery. Grave rows are laid out east to west, and designated cally by tree names (i.e. Ash, Banyan, Cypress, etc.) A sloping [email protected]@ wall marks the eastern cemetery b=x1ary fronting SR 775. Most markers are of commercial stone. Some plots are covered with small rocks, and grave goods are limited in their occurrence. 2. Imon Bay Fishery Complex (8So1359) - This site is located in the south- west quartex of Section 25, Township 40 South, Range 19 East. It is situated alaig the shore of Lemon Bay, between Wentworth Street on the south, and Yale Street on the north. This historic period commercial site is composed of three components: a wood frame fish house (no longer extant); wooden pier segment; and clam shell seawall. All are a iated with the Lemon Bay Fishery, begun by Stuart Anderson in the 1920s. Stuart Anderson was born in Erxglewcod in 1898. In 1925 he started a ccm- mercial fishing business. During the crash of 1929 he rented the Royal Casino Pier from Peter Buchan "and with a few boats, kept the fishing ir&ztry going on a barter basis" (Cortes 1976:50).- Follcwing'a destructive hurricane in 1936, Anderson moved his operation to the end of Wentworth Street. It was here-that Lemon Bay Fisheries was born. For many years, this company was the largest employer in Englewood. Peak production was during World War II. In 1963, Anderson retired, and sold his business to Walter Gault of Placida (Cor- tes'1976:50). In 1975, upon request of the lanJawner, the fish house was burned down by Sarasota County firefighters. Today, the site of the Jemon Bay Fisheries processing and packirxg house is a vacant, sandy lot. The configuration Of the Original structure is Pic- 19 tured on page 87 of Cortes, s history of Englewood . Several piles of wea- thered boards, and*rusted machinery parts (refrigeration units) are all that remain. A small segment of pier and remnant pilings are at the waterfront, behind the residence of Elsie and Joe Czerwinski, 711 Yale Street. Mr. Czerwinski, son-in-law of Stuart Anderson, noted that all the-other old piers in the area are gone (personal communication) . A sloping seawall of discarded*clam shell extends along the bayshore from the foot of Wentworth Street, north to just before the end of Yale Street. Composed of thousands of valves, it measures approximately 140 meters long (north/south) by four meters wide (east/west). The clam shells have been covered, in sane areas, by concrete. According to Mr. CzerwirLski, wtio worked for several years as the manager of Lawn Bay Fisheries, the seawall can* be dated from 1936 until 1966. The majority of shell was probably dumped along the baysbore dn-ing the period fratil945 till 1955, when clam harvesting was at its peak (CzdrwirLski, personal communication) - 3. Paulsen Point Cemetery (8Sol360) - In his report sumorizing the results of excavaticns at the Paulsen Point shell midden site, 8So23, Ripley Bullen noted that burials below the [email protected] high tide line had been discovered wtien a drainage ditch (rxm a boat basin) was dug by the Sarasota County Mosquito Control. Three localities to the east'of the midden were indicated (Bullen 1971: Figure 1, page 2). TWO of the burials were tightly flexed and lying on their right side. At 8So23, practically all of the lowest levels, where material was brought up from below the water table, are assigned to the Perico Island period (1971:12). Thus, 8Sol360 probably dates, at least in part, to this period, now referred to as 'Nanasota". The presence of human remains in this locality was also reported by Englewood residents Bill Davis and Harriet Ives (personal ccummication) as well as wiiburn ,Sonny" Cockrell (personal communication) and George Luer (personal communication). The former informant related finding human bones in. the drainage ditch to the east of the boat basin. This general locality was visited during field survey. No human remains or associated cultural materials were observed. Thus, this site is recorded on the basis of literature search and informant information only. It is situ- ated in.Section 36, Township 40 South, Range 19 East. prewiamly SUNNAAL sites: in addition to the recording of new sites, an effort was made to relocate and assess previously recorded as well as reported sites. The results of this effort are as follows: 1. 8Sol, the Englewood Mound, was recorded by John Goggin in 1953. He descri- bed the site as measLwing 13 feet high by 110 feet in diameter, and situated in the pine flatwoods. According to Willey (1949:126), this sand burial mound was 11completely removed$ d=ing the 1934 excavation. The results Of eXCaVa- tion are summarized in Willey 1949. on the basis of the ceramics recovered, the Englewood mound was used as the type site to define the Engle;^;ood period. In the currently used regional chronology, this period would correspoz to late Weeden Island/Safety Harbor l'i . No longer extant, the UeX Site location was reported by Englewood resident Bill Davis as "aaross from Merle's barber shop" in the area of lst Avenue and McCall Pzad (Personal c0nmuca- tion). Field check of this locality revealed vacant land vegetated with tall Pines, at all f= corners of the 1st Avenue arid McCall Road [email protected] @On- 20 2. 8So13, Davids Site, was recorded by Plowden in 1953 as a shell midden on a point on the east side of Lamm Bay, to the southulest of the EWlewOod Post office. The 1953 condition was described as "partially hauled away." This is probably the '#shell ridge#' described by Willey as the village associated with 8Sol (Willey 1949:126). In 1961, Fales, and Davis noted this site as south of Palm-Grove Street, and north of Bay Street, at Lawn Bay. Almyls 1976 visit placed it at 176 Tyler-Ave., about 200 yards from Lemon Bay. It was described as in fair condition, with a.house built atop it. Field check indicated the site bad not changed in condition since the time of Alny's assessment. The midden is most visible as an elevation to the east of the frame vernacular hcme which occupies this grassed lot. 3. 8So65, the Cherokee Midden, was destroyedby 1976, as per the assessment of Alny. The general site area has been inpacted by residential and seawall [email protected] Field check of the [email protected];all property at 67 Ovrokee Street, the address provided on the FNSF form, confirmed that this cultural resource is no longer extant. Mr. and Mrs. Lundwall, interviewed during the field check, could not recall a shell midden on this property, nor in the imnediate area. They did report, however, that during c=s :ructicn of their home in 1957, square nails were found. These are izxkxttedly associated with the Tamiami Lodge, which was previously situated here. 4. 8So14, the L-aW Mound, is a sand mound located at 349 West Cowles Street. Mien first recorded by Plowden in 1953, it was described as having a leveled top, with a house built on top. The sides of the mound were also "squared off" during house oam zuction. It is not certain whether the Lanpp Mound is the same as the "second sand mound" described by Willey as situated 180 meters ncrt1wnst of the Eriglewood, Mound (8Sol), and wtich reportedly "yielded several burials to sporadic digging" (Willey 1949:126). In actuality, the LauW Mound is about one kilometer from the former locus of 8Sol, and thus, may not be this site. The culture period is unknown. Undisturbed cultural deposits, which probably includ burvan remains, should still be intact. The Lampp fami- ly, which originally altered the mound during house construction, has main- tained the site in its present condition for over 40 years. 5. 8So15, the Erx1lewood Cemetery site, is a shell and artifact scatter type site which occupies the ridgetop directly across (east) frcin the Lemon Bay Cemetery. This site was originally visited and described in 1953, at which time four pi of aboriginal pottery, including semi-fiber teupered ware, were collected. On the basis of this pottery type, it has been dated to the Tat, Archaic. The site was relocated during the current survey, and subjected to ground surface reconnaissance and limited subsurface testing. Exmnination of the cut and eroding west bank of the ridge, frmtuig SEZ 775, revealed a light scatter of oyster and clam shells, plus one fighting conch. Two subsurface shovel tests excavated atop the ridge revealed an upper 30 centimeter thick zone of gray sand containing a small amount of oyster and clam shell. This was underlain by culturally sterile white fine sand, to a depth of at least one meter below surface. No pottery or other artifacts were found. It appears that the western portion of this site was destroyed during construction of SR 775. 6. 8So23, the Paulsen (also spelled Paulson) Point Mound, is a shell midden type site situated within Sarasota county's Indian Mound Park. It has been dated from the Transitional to early safety Harbor periods, circa 1000 B.C. to A.D. 1350 (Bullen 1971). This site was visited during the survey, and obser- ved to extend to the east beyond the 1=ts of the park. Specifically, midden 21 midden shell was observed at the base of cabbage palm and live oaks which marked both sides of the driveway at 271 Winson Avenue. The house proper is also on elevated land, which may be midden. To the rear of this residence is a boat basin with concrete seawall. No evidence of shell midden was -observed here, or at the property directly to the south, at the end of Winson Avenue* fronting the bay. In . general, the overall site condition - has been degraded by the excavations during the 1960s which including trenching with a backhoe. Filling, and deterioration through human activites have also caused site eilteration/deterioration. No testing was carried out as'part of the present survey project. Recent work by Burger (personal communication) has served to confirm the earlier observations by the Bullens (1976)'that cultural deposits extend below the water table. 7. Site "J" is a possible sand mound type site originally reported by Dan Hazeltine. The area indicated to be the locale of site IIXI . as per the USGS quadrangle map on file at the Sarasota County Department of Historical Resour- ces, was field inspected during this project. In general, the area is sandy, and vegetated with oak scrub. Piles of rubbish have been dumped liberally throughout this acreage. Intensive search by a four person team failed to locate a sand mound. Similarly, the excavation of four shovel tests yielded negative results. Thus, there is not enough data to enter this reported site into the Florida Master Site File. 8. Sites IWI and 11L,11 reportedly are located to the north of 11J,11 to the east of Godfrey Creek. Unfortunately, by the time of survey, this entire area has been cleared of vegetation, and graded for development. EarUmoving equipment and construction crews obviated survey efforts. Thus, the existence of pre- historic sites at these two locales could not be verified'. If ever extant, IWI and 111,11 are now presumed to have been destroyed. Data: In general, the land to the west of Godfrey Creek, as contained south of SR 777 and north of the Sarasota/Charlotte county line, has been heavily altered by residential development. In the area bounded by Selma on the north and Horton on the south, three small sand ridges with sand pines (section 31) were the focus of survey efforts. Several homeowners were questioned about the existence of [email protected] cultural materials in the general area, and a few currently undeveloped lots were subjected to ground surface examination and limited subsurface testing. No sites were discovered as a result of this effort. Test pit locations have been marked on the sec- tion aerial map,4uch accompanies this report. Survey in the "Old Englewood" area was similarly non-productive of new cultural resources. Examination of parcels at Buchan's landing, and the ends* of Harvard,- Perry and Yale streets failed to reveal evidence of the Original Buchan's Pier, Heacock Sawmill, Englewood Inn, or LeMOn Bay Trading company store, respectively. All such locales were marked by residential development, arxi/or seawall cons:ruction, which have presumably served to erase any tancil- ble remains of these historic period constructions. Howiever, since permission to test excavate in [email protected] areas could not be secured, it is possible that buried historic period dumps may still be intact. Site Evaluations: Assessments of site condition/data quality and signifi- cance/National Regizter eligibility for the total nine newlY and PM11OuslY .22 discovered archaeological sites within the mainland USGS Englewood quadrangle map area are summarized in Table 1. Site locations are plotted in Figure 2. Table 1. of Arcbaeol=cal Sites in the USGS Englewood Map Arm (Rwlusive of- Manasota Y---Y) - site Site Name Site Type Data Quality NR 8Sol Erxglewood Mound Burial Mound 5 E 8So13 Davids Shell Midden 3 C 8So14 Lanpp Mound Burial Mound 2 B/C 8SO15 &qle^xx)d Cemetery -Shell Scatter 4 E 8So23 Paulsen Point Shell Midden 2 B 8So65 Cherokee Midden Shell Midden 5 E 8So1358 Lemon Bay Cam. Cemetery (Hist.) 2 B 8So1359 Lemon Bay Fishery Packing house; 4 E Dock; Seawall 8So1360 Paulsen Pt. Cem. Cemetery (Preh.) 3 D Of the total sites recorded for this map area, two have been destroyed completely and two altered severely (Data Quality Categories 5 arid 4 respec- tively). Thus, given the loss of integrity, these four cultural resources, 8Sol, -15, 65, and 1359, are not considered eligible for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places. Of the five remaining prehistoric and historic period sites, all have been altered at least slightly. The Paulsen Point site (8*So23), described in the Historic Resources Re- view Manual (Archibald 1988:17) as a "rare multi-caqponent midden," is con- sidered a very significant regional cultural resource, eligible for nomination to the National Register. It has already yielded impartant data and can be expected to yield additional data. Further, it is in good condition and can be considered among the best known extant examples of its type for the area. its location in the county-owned Indian Mound Park represents a good oppor- tunity for interpretation and public display. Thus, 8So23 is deemed eligible to the National Register as per criteria (d) (see Methodology, page 10). The Lampp Mound (8SO14) appears to be potentially eligible. However, it has never been subjected to professional archaeological testing. M-am, such work will be [email protected] before a final determination can be made. Similarly, the Davids site (8sol3) nay be significant, but needs archaeological testing. In general, both are believed to contain ur-idi -bm:t)ed cultural deposits having the potential to yield information of significance to regional culture 23 R 19 E R 20 E 1-3 18 17 Field 24 19 20 T VIV 0 HARVAIn 21. 30 a 2-9r, S 1359- YALE "TWORIH-, 65 777 14 23 1358 413 36 6015 32 --3 'D 0 ? L ISarasota County- Charlotte County 23 'I 65 36 14 U 2 V4 L K 3 .1 .0 J3 0 I? aso ta Soun ty MIttiv-it 2. Location of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Englewood Map Area 24 history, settlement, sm istence, mortuary practices, and population studies. They are ad3udged potentially eligible as per criteria (d) Accordirig to the National Register standards, ordinarily cemeteries shall riot be considered eligible for the National Register. The Englewood Cemetery, resting place of the pioneer settlers of the Englewood area, is of local his- torical significant, and thus, deriving its primary significance from persons associated with historic events, may be eligible for NR.nomination. The Paulsen Point cemetery (8So1360) has been assigned to NR Category I'D" since neither field search rxxr informant information was sufficient to ascer- tain present site condition. The boat basin area has been heavily altered by seawall construction and filling, and it is not known whether intact burials can be anticipated. @ms: Me Paulsen Point site is a very significant cultural resource which should be protected and [email protected] Its location in Irxiian Mound Park affords marry potential benefits for the citizens of Sarasota county. it is strongly urged that this site be contour mapped by a profes- sional surveyor or archaeologist. Arry planned modifications to the park, including construction of boat ramps arxi/or expanded parking facilities should be preceeded by archaeological test excavation in the areas of planned impact. Since this shell midden has never been excavated by a professional archaeolo- gist, limited work is recot - led in order to gather archaeological data necessary for completion of a National Register nomination. The information derived from such work, and the artifacts recover-ed, could be used for an on- site interpretive display. At present, no brochures or other informational materials are available to site visitors. Tand altering activities in the ' area of the Paulsen Point Cemetery site (8So1360) to the east should be pro- hibited, in accordance with Florida Statute 872.05. Both the lampp Mourxi arxi Davids sites are situated on private property. Current landowners should be advised, through written notification by Sarasota County personnel, of the significance of these resources, and the need for their continued pro ection. Arry alterations to these respective properties should be monitored by a professional archaeologist. 25 U9M ENaDJOOD NW General Descrintion: This survey area is bordered on the west by Lemon Bay, and on the east by State Road 775. Included are portions of sections 14, 15, 22, 23 and 26 in Taaiship 40 South, Range 19 East. That part of Manasota Key contained within this quadrangle map area will be discussed separately. Arp! @eo @ck Work: In 1953, Plawxlen and Chapin visited and recor- ded several sites along Imon Bay, including two shell middens (8So1O and 8Soll) and one shell scatter type site (8So12). These three, as well as another shell midden directly north of Forked Creek (8So64) were visited and described by Fales and Davis in 1961. Attempts to relocate and assess the condition of these four resources were made by ALmy in 1976. More recently, the Mystery River Point site (8Soll) has been the focus of four seasons of archaeological investigations by students at The University of South Florida, Sarasota campus (New College). Such work has included contour mapping, sur- face collecting, and test excavation. The written results of these underta- kings are currently in Preparation (Bill Burger, Personal communication). Recordedagggi:tga Sites: A total of four prehistoric sites has been recorded Previously in the USGS EmIlewood NW coastal zone study area. These include three shell middens (8SolO, -11, and -64), plus one shell scatter (8So12)- Only the Mystery River Point site, Woll, has been subjected to systematic, professional, archaeological investigation. Chronometric d#ting of cultural materials from this site indicate an occupation from appr w-inately A.D. 300 to 800 (Bill Burger, personal ccmnmication) - Ceramics recovered in the 1950s at sites 8So1O and 8So12 indicate post-Archaic occupation, beginning with the Transitional period at 8SoIO. The tempm-al/cultural affiliation of the Forked Creek Mound site, 8So64, is not indicated on the Florida Master Site File form. Research- consideraticns&etb=l Background research including the interviewing of several informants, disclosed the potential location of two Wamr-I - archaeological sites. The f irst possible site is a bridge sparaurg Forked creek, of interest in view of the existence of presently unlinked "Bridge Street"(s) to the immediate north and South of this waterway. Second- ly, an as yet unrecorded fish camp along the shore of Lemon Bay in Section 22 was reported by Bill Burger. Ibis archaeologist will be investigating and recording this site in the near future (Burger, personal communication) , and thus, was not surveyed as part of this project. Field survey efforts concentrated on the coastal strip between Lemon Bay and Bayshore Drive, as well as the north and south banks of Forked Creek. In these locales, survey tactics included questioning local hcmeowmers as to their knowledge of archaeological sites, the examination of exposed ground surfaces such as mosquito caitz 1 ditches, and the excavation of a limited number of shovel test pits, where permitted by the landowners. Survey of the Engle&vod Bay park tract, newly acquired by Sarasota County, was also a focus Of field investigation. 26 Survey Results: One new archaeological site was discovered as a result of field survey - This shell scatter type site has -been assigned the FMSF number 8Sol866- In addition, all four ofthe previously recorded sites/site locales were visited, and current site conditions and significance were evaluated. 'Ihe test pit loc4tions and properties subjected to ground surface examination are marked on the section aerials which accompany this report. New Sites: 8Sol866, the Englewood Bay Park site, is a shell scatter located in the southwest quarter of Section 23, Township 40 South, Range 19 East. It is situated within county-owned land. The site area is sloping, and ranges in elevation from five to ten feet above mean sea level. Long-leaf pine, scrub oak, and saw palmetto are the local vegetation. Lemon Bay is 200 meters to the west. Ibis site was discovered as a result of ground surface reconnaissa along a sarxty vehicle trail leading to the shore of Lemon Bay. oyster shell was observed at the distuzted margin of this trail, as well as on the top of an adjacent sandpile. lborough ground surface inspection along the trail and in the vicinity revealed a sparse surface scatter measuring approximately 30 to 40 meters east/west by 10 meters north/south. This large dispersion is probably the result of modern discrbatance, rather than original site configuration. A mosquito cxxitr 1 ditch paralleling the road on the north was also checked for evidence of this site, with negative results. A total of three shovel tests were excavated to the north and south of the trail, within the area of surface scatter. These revealed variable profiles, with a minor amount of shell in the top 40 centimeters of one test pit. In the easternmost shovel hole, the tip of a projectile point was found at 35 centimeters below surface, at the transition frcm gray to brown colored fine sand. Previcusly Faccrded Sites: In addition to the recording of a new site, an effort was made to relocate and assess previously recorded sites. The re- sults of this effort are as follows: 1. 8SolO, the Forked Cmek Point Midden, was discovered by Chapin and Plowden in 1953. They described it as a shell and black dirt midden, situated on an old sand ridge, just south of the third point south of the Manasota Key Bridge, on the east shore of Lawn Bay. It measured ten feet wide by.two feet high. Chapin and Plowden collected pottery which they classified as Glades Plain, St. Johns Plain, M-dnge Plain, fiber-tempered, simple starqoed, arxi Perico Plain. As per the currently used regional chronology, such pottery types would indicate a Late Archaic through at least Manasota period Occupation. In 1976, Almy attempted to relocate the Forked Creek Point Midden. The locality visited was noted as 1245 Bayshore Drive, at the end of Fox Drive. AJW concluded that asolo, which was no longer visible, had been destroyed by dredging and filling. However, she noted, "with further investigation and permission to check property", remains may be found. The 8So1O site locus arid vicinity were visited during field survey. Beginning south of Forked Creek, and west of Bayshore Drive,-all properties for wiuch access could be secured were surface inspected and/or subsurface tested. Test pit locations are marked on the section aerials. Properties inspected included 1285, 1275, 1265, 1245, 1335, 1385 and 1435 Bayshore Drive. No evidence of this shell midden was discovered, and we concur with the firAings of Mmy that 8SoIO is probably no longer e)@. 27 8Soll, variously referred to as the Mystery River Point or Lemon Bay site, is a shell midden originally located and recorded in 1953 by Chapin and Plowden. At this time, it was described as an undisturbed midden measuring 400 feei by four feet by 40 feet, and situated on an old sand ridge on the south side of a peninsula on the east sioe of Lemon Bay. Mangrove was to the north and pine to the east. Chapin and Plowden collected sherds of the Glades Plain type, as well as sherds of semi-fiber tempered ware. This site has been mapped and archaeologi6aliy tested by New Coll6ge stu- dents, under the direction of Bill Burger. However, a final summary report detailing the results of four seasons of investigation has not yet been pro- duced (Tony Andrews, personal ccmmmication; Bill Burger, personal ccmnzuca- tion) - Preliminary findings indicate a Manasota period occupation. 7he Mystery River Point site was visited during this survey, and found to be in very good condition. It has been impacted by ditching on its eastern face. 3. 8So12, the Second Point North of Lemcn Bay site, is a shell scatter discov- ered by Chapin and Plowden in 1953. It was described as measuring 40 feet by 300 feet, and situated on an old sand dune. Four Glades Plain sherds were collected. Efforts to relocate this site entailed walking the shore of Lawn Bay, beginning at 8Soll to the north and continuing south to the foot of the sandy vehicle trail which is below the "second point north", as described by Chapin and Plowden. Both the shoreline and sandy land adjacent to the shore were surface inspected for evidence of 8So12- At the 11point" a cmKxuitz -"*on of large quahog clam valves and oyster shell was observed. Additional clam was noted, moving south along the shore. clam shells were whole, and left and right valves appeared equal in number. In contrast, aboriginal sites generally contain whole left valves and broken rights. Both the clam and oyster shell observed at the shoreline were concluded to be of recent origin, and nct'associated with 8Sol2. Oyster bars are common in this locality. The Second Point North of lemon Bay site, as originally described, could not be relocated, and is presumed destroyed. 4. 8So64, the Forked Creek Mound, is a shell midden noted in 1961 by Fales and Davis. In 1976 the site area, at 1620 Bridge Street, was visited and described by Alny. This investigator recorded a low midden ridge paralleling the north bank of Forked Creek. The presence of numerous oak trees was noted. This address was visited during survey, and the current landowner, Mrs. Pat Marshall, asked for permission to inspect the property. According to Mrs. Marshall, who has resided here for six and one-half years, her present home was built in 1971 amid the oak hammock. The midden had been stripped down "quite a while- ago." Evidence of prior midden removal. was most evident in the wooded area between the Marshall hcme and Bridge Street. Here, two narrow columns of midden debris, topped with pine and oak trees, revealed that two to four feet of cultural deposit had been carried away. The walls of the eroding midden revealed oyster and quahog clam shells, with secondary inclusions of kings crown, scallop, and lightning whelk, among other species; three sand- tempered plain body sherds, and animal bone. In addition to the remnant columns, midden was exposed at both banks of a ditch, to the southwest of the Marshall home. 28 The Forked Creek site measures approximately 70 meters long by 15 meters wide. Estimated thickness of the cultural deposit is 1. 5 meters. It dates to sometime during the post-Archaic period. NegErtive Data: The presence of & wooden bridge across Forked Creek was verified through informant information. However, neither bridge supports nor .other [email protected] @ remains are still extant. According to local.resident, Mrs. George Lee, the bridge was torn dowm sometime prior to-1969 to facilitate boat passage (personal ccr=unication). Forked Creek has been dredged and straightened, and the creekbanks stabilized with concrete seawalls. In general, the area between Bayshore Drive and Loom Bay, to the north and south of Forked Creek, is low and wet. Sane filling and seawall [email protected] has altered the natural terrain. Coastal hammock vegetation is absent. inspection of exposures, including ditches, as well as the excavation of a limited number of subsurface shovel tests, failed to reveal evidence of prehistoric utilizatim/occupation in this area. To the south of Bayshore Drive, and west of Lord Street, is a la-rrre parcel of urxLeveloped land recently acquired by Sarasota County for development of Englewood.Bay Park. Numerous sandy paths cutting through this pine [email protected];oods environment were walked out and searched for the presence of surface cultural materials. Particular attention was directed along the sandy ridge paralleling the Lemon Bay shoreline. A large sandy exposure at the Site Of a recently constructed wooden shelter was also carefully inspected- These collective efforts yielded negative results, With the exception Of the discovery of site 8So1866 described above. Site praluati Assessments of site condition/data quality and significance/ National Register eligibility for the total five newly and Previously recorded archaeological sites are summarized in Table 2. Site locations are plotted in Figure 3. Table 2. or ocdcal Sites in the Englmx)cd NW Map Area. Site Site Nam Site Type Data Qjality MR 8SO10 Forked Creek Point Shell Midden 5 E Midden 8So11 Wstery River Point Shell Midden 2 B 8So12 Second Point North Shell Scatter 6 E of Lemon Bay 8So64 Forked Creek Mound Shell Midden 4 E 8So1866 Englewood Bay Park Shell Scatter 4 E 29 R 19 E '15 14 8501 T 0 4 e 22-3 0 0 S 0 8SOII 08SO12 *8So1866 26 Figure 3. Location of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Englewood NW Map Area. 30 Of the total sites recorded for this map area, two are presumably destroyed (8SolO, 8So12)@ and two are altered severely (8So64, 8So1866) (Data Quality Categories 5 and 4 respectively) . Thus, given the loss of integrity, and the low potential to yield archaeological data of significance, these four cultural resources are not considered eligible for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places. Moll, the Mysterj River Point site, is in good conditien. It has been degraded to sane degree by ditching and prior archaeological excavation. Neverthel , this site has dexamitz-at:ed a rich cultural assemblage, and the ability to contribute significantly to our knowledge of regional prehistory, as well as changing erTvirorm*xrt:al conditions over time. According to Burger, who has investigated this site, intact cult:ural deposits extend below the current: water table. At this lowest level preserved wood has been recovered (Bill Burger, personal comimuucation). Thus, the 14ystery River Point: site is considered a significant: cultural resource, eligible for nomination to the National Register as per NR criteria I'd". It has already yielded important archaeological data, and can be expected to yield more. It is in good condi- tion and. can be considered among the best known examples of its type for the area. Recommendati It.is LILL--- ed that 8So11 be nominated to the National Register. Its location on privately owned land, protected by a deed restric- tion in perpetuity (Mark Famiglio, persa-al c=ninication) - will hopefully ensure its pro Bation and preservation. Mus property is currently being con- sidered for purchase by Sarasota County. It is also suggested that copies of site maps, as'well as the report of field investigations, be requested from New College, for filing at the Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources Archives. Mile already in a degraded condition, avoidance of future land altering activities in the vicinity of 8SO64 is suggested. The landowners should be asked, through written notification, for their cooperation in seeing that the remains of this site be preserved. In the event of site modifications invol- ving county permits (i.e. dock construction, residential additions, tree cutting) archaeological site monitoring is recammended. 31 14NKLSM im General Descriloti : The Manasota Key survey area extends from just north of the Manasota. Public Beach south to the Sarasota/Charlotte county line. It [email protected]; parts of eight sections (9, 15, 16, 21, 22, 26, 27, 35) in TcwrLship 40 South, Range 19 East, as contained within the Venice, Englewood NW, and Englewpod USGS quadrangle map areas. Previous [email protected] Work: Manasota Key has never been subjected to sys-' tematic professional archaeological survey. In 1961, this barrier island was included in the '%Tmdshield" type survey carried out by Doris Davis and John Fales. Three of the sites described by these investigators have been assigned Florida Master Site File (FMSF) numbers 8So8, 8So1OO, and 8So399. All are shell midden type sites situated along the bayside of Manasota Key. In 1987, Bill Burger condt=ted a Phase I survey of the 7.2 acre Stoltzner uperty (proposed Manasota Bay Estates subdivision), as a result of which a shell midden, also on the bayside, was recorded (Burger 1987). This prehis- toric cultural resource, the Stoltzner site, has been assigned the FMSF number 8So598. Finally, in December 198-8 a three and one-half month emergency sal- vage excavation of an aboriginal cemetery on the gulfside of Manasota Key was initiated under the field supervision of Wilburn "Scrary" Cockrell. This work was begun after construction of a house and pool unearthed human bones. The Manasota Key Burial Site, 8So1292, yielded the remains of approximately 100 individuals, most of whom were interred in a "dip in the dune ridge" (Cockrell 1988). In addition to the cemetery, a two component shell midden was found. This project, accomplished by dozens of volunteer excavators, generated tre- maxious publicity. The proceedings have been summarized in numerous newspaper articles and in public talks given by Cockrell. Louis Tesar (personal commun-' ication), speaking for himself as a professional archaeologist concerned with efforts to broaden public understanding and cooperation with historic preser- vaticn issues, has been critical of what he views as Cockrell's focus on pro- ject publicity and the seemingly urrmessary slowness with wbich the project was conducted. Tesar was concerned with the negative effect of this project on the public. Indeed, Tesar's ssessment seers correct in view of our ex- perience on this project. Recordedj2=a:tgA_Sites: As a result of work by Fales and Davis, Burger, and Cockrell, - a total of five [email protected] sites have been recorded for Manasota Key. Sites 8So8, -100, -399, and -598 are shell middens situated along the Lemon Bay side of the key. By 1976, according to the countywide assessment by Mmy (1976), 8So8 and 8So1OO were no longer extant. 8So399, a shell midden with reported burials, dating to the Manasota. period, is.poorly defined geo- graphically. As currently plotted on the maps on file at the Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources, the site extends a considerable distance alcrxj the bayside of Manasota Key, and is situated in both the Englewood and Englewood NW quad map areas. 8So598, a relatively small shell midden, has been dated to the late Weeden Island/early Safety Harbor period, circa A.D. 800- 1200. Radicretric dating of archaeological materials frce the Mark-Lsota Key Burial Site (8So1292) has provided a date of A.D. 120 to 320 for at least one component- in addition to these five recorded sites, a single prehistoric site, des- ignated "T41 (Archibald 1988:17) has been reported for the northwest quarter of 32 Section 22. The type of site for 'IT" was riot known. Further, interviews with John McCarthy of the Sarasota County , Department of Natural Resources,, and Lauren Archibald, Department of Historical Resources, indicated the presence of two,additional shell midden type sites on Manasota Key which were as yet unrecorded. Research Considerations/Methodoloqy: - Traditionally, archaeologists have con- sidered the bay side of barrier islands.to have a high potential for [email protected] toric site location. Gulfside locales have been afforded less consideration. However, with the discovery of 8Sol292 on the gulf side of Manasota Key, this setting can no longer be dismissed as having low site potential. Simply, the entire length of Manasota Key wa's deemed to have a high prehistoric site loca- tion potential, with the exception of filled areas. of particular interest were those areas characterized by oak/cabbage palm hammock vegetation. [email protected] of the U.S. Surveyor General's Office Plat Map for Township 40 Soutli, Range 19 Ea , dated September 1892, revealed two noteworthy histor- ic period features for the area previously called "Gulf Ridge." In Section 27, at Lamm Bay, "Leach's Wharf Of is depicted. To the south, in Section 35, Niharf" and "Chapman's house" are marked. This general locality is about on*-- half mile south of the Hermitage. Thus, the presence of historic dumps, and/ or [email protected] remains, including dock pilings, were predicted for these areas. stically, survey of Manasota Key posed a number of problems. Fore- mr-gi-I hundreds of individuals own property on the key. A large Of these land/bomeowners reside here on a seasonal basis only. Thus, securing permission to survey private property was a time-consuming and often non- productive endeavor. Given the prohibitive costs of contacting each land- owner by mail, it was decided to approach Owners "on the spot" by knocking on doors. In general, the local residents were positive and helpful, although fearful that another "graveyardt' would be found on their Property. The major- ity of [email protected], however, were absent during the survey. In mos instances, repeated efforts to secure lark1owrier permission failed, as no one was home. The JUL' 1WEIRLICASt portion of Manasota Key, extending a distance of approximate- ly 1.8 miles, beginning just north of the Manasota Key public beach (Sections 5, 8, and 9), could not be --;UrVeyed- ACCess to this segment Of the barrier island is by private road only, and permission for entry requested from the security guard at the entrance gate was denied. Thus, as a necessary compromise, survey efforts focused upon those prop- ertles for which permission to carry out subsurface testing could be secured. Undeveloped vacant lots were also exwmxked, and often probed with shallow shovel tests. over fifty percent of the private drives to the east and west of Manasota Key Road were at least driven down, in an effort to contact land- aciers. In this manner, many potexrtial site locations were observed, but not tested. In total, approximately 60 individual properties were archaeologi- cally surveyed using the methods of ground surface inspection and limited ace shovel testing. A total of 44 standard size (40 cm. diameter by variable depths) test pits were excavated, as well as scores of shallow Probes made to ascertain quickly the presence or absence of shell midden or other cultural features. Mosquito control ditches and other exposures, such as the edge of the mangrove line, were particularly helpful in providing a survey sample utiere permission for testing could not be obtained. 33 Survey Results: A total of seven prehistoric period archaeological sites were located and recorded, on the basis of both informant information and field survey. These resources, all shell midden type sites, have been- assigned the FMSF numbers 8Sol369 through 8Sol375. In addition, the locations of all five previously recorded sites, as plotted on the relevant USGS quadrangle maps on file at the Sarasota County Depu-tnent, of Historical Resources (DHR), were visited, and an attempt -made to find reported site "T". These efforts are described below. It should be noted that due to the vagueness in site loca- tional data for several previously recorded sites, it is possible that orie or more newly recorded sites duplicate prior efforts at site documentation. Such problem are discussed in the descriptions of individual sites Which follow. New Sites: The seven newly discovered sites can be described as follows: 1. Johnson Site (8Sol369) - This black dirt and shell midden type site, loca- ted within the southeast quarter of Section 35, Tawiship, 40 South, Range 19 East, is on elevated land paralleling the shore of Lamn Bay. Oak/cabbage palm hammock is the local vegetation type. This site was discovered as a result of archaeological survey,- which included the excavation of two shovel tests. Such work revealed the midden to measure approximately .60 cms in thickness. It is composed mostly of fighting conch and lightening whelk, with some clam. The midden deposit overlies a zone-of granular, gray colored sand with inclusions of small shells (i.e coquina). Me Johnson site is estimated to measure 80 meters north/south by 20 meters east/west. No pottery, shell tools, or other artifacts were discovered, and as a result, the period of site occupation is unknown. 2. Severinson Site (8So1370) - This black dirt and shell midden is also loca- ted in the southeast quarter of Section 35, in an oak/cabbage palm hammock frontirx; Lemon Bay. This locality falls within the southern portion of 8So399, as plotted on the County EM USGS Englewood and Englewood NW quadran- gle maps. The excavation of three test pits revealed a cultural deposit of oyster, fighting conch, and lightning whelk, measuring about 30 cm in thick- ness. site dimensions are estimated at 30 meters north/south by 20 meters east/West. Given the absence of temporally diagnostic cultural materials, the period of site occupation could not be ascertained. 3. Bouffard Site (8Sol371) - This shell midden is located in the northwest quarter of Section 35. This locale was noted by Fales and Davis (1961) as a potential shell midden site (1961). Informant George TAI also mentioned the presence of a midden here. Archaeological survey revealed an extensive, above-ground midden deposit. shellfish species observed on the ground surface included scallop, surway venus, clam, fighting conch, oyster, lightnLrxj whelk, and cockle. Several sand tempered plain pottery sherds were also noted. In some places, the shell deposit measures approximately one meter in height. No subsurface testing was carried out to ascertain the depth of the cultural deposit. That portion of the site closest to Manasota Key Road has been cut- by numerous mosquito cont= 1 ditches, where evidence for the subsurface =rtinuation of t1us cultural deposit can be observed. on the basis of the presence of sand-tenpered ceramics, 8Sol371 can be dated to one or more of the post-Archaic.periods. 4. Hermitage Site (8So1372) - This black dirt and shell midden is located on county property in the southwest quarter of Section 26, Township 40 South, Range 19 East. It was found directly east of the Hermitage complex, beginning due north of the water tanks, on the back side of a gulf coastal dune ridge. 34 The excavation of two shovel tests reveale d a 35 cm, thick deposit of oyster, clam, scallop, and fighting conch, in a matrix of dark brown soil. The site is estimated to measure 30'meters [email protected] by 20beters east/West. Date of the prehistoric occupation is unknown. 5. 6855 MK Road Site (8Sol373) - This black dirt and shell midden site is located in the northeast quarter of Section 27, Township 40 South, Range 19 Fast. The presence of shell midden here was reported by Lauren Archibald.' Survey tactics'included the excavation of seven test pits. These revealed a cultural deposit of lightning whelk, fighting conch, oyster, scallop, and other species in a matrix of dark soil. Sand-tempered pottery was also obser- ved. The depth of the cultural deposit is 60 cms; site dimensions are estima- ted at 20 meters north/south by four meters east/west. This site is 50 meters east of the Gulf, to the west of Manas6ta Key Road. 8So1373 dates to sometime during the post-Archaic period. It is possible that the MK Road site is the same as 8So8, discovered by Plowden in 1953. According to Plowden's iption,. -the 114anasata Key Site" was located 3.2 miles south of the Manasota Key bridge, in a hammock cut by Manasota Key Road. However, the same site number has been used to includ the "Davis Site", as visited by Fales and Davis. According t6 these 1961 investi- gators, 8So8 is located 2.5 miles south of the Mmkisota Key bridge. Given these discrepancies in the previous site locational data, and the lack of site descriptive information for ccuparative purposes, a new F?4SF rnmber was assigned. 6. Fbrd Site (8Sol374) - This shell midden, reported by John McCarthy and Lauren Archibald, was exposed duriM cmts xuction of a house and septic tank. It is located in the northeast quarter of Section 27. Surface examination revealed oyster and scallop shells, with lesser quantities of rose cockle, pear whelk, sunray clam, surf clam, horse conch, lightning whelk, tram tulip, cat's eye, fighting conch, quahog, and king's crown. A lightning whelk shell tool was also observed (Stiles 1989). This site is estimated to measure approximately 30 meters north/south by 45 meters east/west. There is no surface evidence that the site continues into the adjacent Property to the south. No subsurface testing was carried out. Intact cultural deposits may be to the immediate north of the house and septic tank. &9o1374 is dated to the post-Archaic period, on the basis of sarxi-taTered plain ceramics included in the cultural assemblage. 7. O'Brien Site (8So1375) - This black dirt and shell midden is located in the southwest quarter of Section 22, Township 40 South, Range 19 East. It is in an Oak/cabbage palm hammxk frorrtiM Lot= Bay. The excavation of three shovel tests revealed a 30 cm thick deposit of Oyster, clam, scallop, fighting conch, and lightning whelk, in a matrix of dark soil. Areal dimensions are estimated at 20 meters north/south by 20 meters east/west. It is of unknown temporal/cultural affiliation. Mile the location of this site is comparable to the vicinity of 8So8, as described by Fales, and Davis, the absence of above ground eqm-ession, absence of exposure such as along a mosquito control ditch, and small areal extent, all argue in favor of a new ENSE assignment. Previously Pacarded/Reported Sites: In addition to the discovery of new sites, an effort was made to relocate and assess previously recorded as well as reported sites. The results of this effort are as follows: 35 1. [email protected], the Davis [email protected] or manasota Key site, is a shell midden originally discOvered-and recorded by William Plowden in 1953. According to Plowden, the Site was located 3.2 miles south of the Manasota Key Bridge. It was in a ham- mock "cut by the road." He-dated it to the Glades pe#od. In 1961, Fales and Davis described it as located approximately 2.5 miles south of the bridge and marked by gumbo limbo trees. Almy's 1976 county assessment lists this site as destroyed. 8So8, as plotted on the Eilglewood NW quadrangle map on file at the Sarasota County DHR, would be just north of the Manasota Key Burial Site (8SO1292) and the newly recorded O'Brien site (8Sol375). A second location has been plotted to the south. Given the inconsistencies between the Plowden and Fales and Davis locational information, however, it is impossible to determine exactly where this site, as recorded, was situated. It may be the Sam as either 8So1373 or 8So1375, as noted above. 2. 8So100, the Manasota Key Bridge site, has also beeri destroyed, as per Almy's 1976 This site "appears to be filled with inland waterway fill, 11 she observed. 'According to Fales and Davis, this site was located at the first point South Jutting into Iemon Bay on Manasota My, after crossu-q the Im-idge. Mis "first point South" would be the land approximately three- fourths milob south of the bridge in the northeast quarter of Section 16 (1954 Series, Sarasota County Soil Survey, S-jeet 50). Field survey in this locality failed to discover evidence of this cultural resource. Thus, the site is pre- sumed destroyed. 3. 8So399, the Blind Pass Midden, as depicted on the Englewood and Englewood NW quadrangle maps on file at the Sarasota County DHR, occupies a large area which nay subsume one or more of the sites recorded as part of this survey project (8So1369 and 8So1370). However, -in contrast to the poorly defined site area illustrated on the maps is the information provided on the F14SF form, prepared in 1983. According to the site file information, 8So399, loca- ted in a low-lying mangrove area plus adjacent oak/cabbage palm hammock to the east of Manasota Key Road "is relatively small in size." In addition to the midden east of Manasota Key Road, it was noted, pottery, shell and bone have been found to the west of the road by a local resident - 1bus, it was conclud- ed that "possibly the site was/is larger than presently visualized." (FMSF form) . Given the discovery of other small, seemingly geographically discrete "11 middens in this general vicinity as a result of the current project, it is probable that each is part of a larger site complex extending along ba= Bay. Surface collections at 8So399 made in March 1983 yielded 11 [email protected] Plain sherds and one human skull fragment. The latter was found in the midden disturbed by an upturned tree root. Mis site is dated to the early Manasota, circa 500 B.C. to A.D. 200. 4. 8So598, the Stolt=ier site, was not searched for during the survey since it investigated very recently (March 1987) by a professional archaeologist. According to the FTW information recorded by Burger, 8So598 is a small shell "as midden measuring 50 meters by 35 meters by 50 to 60 centimeters in depth. Sand-tempered plain pottery and shell tools were recovered. On the basis of these cultural materials, Burger dated this "relatively temporary occupation" to the Late weeden Island/Early Safety Harbor period, circa A.D. 800 to 1200 (Burger 1987). This site was described as being in good condition in 1987. Survey of this portion of Manasota Key indicated that the proposed residential 36 development which threatened to destroy this *site has riot yet been undertaken-. Mius, present condition is presumed to be unchanged since 1987. 5.- 8Sol292, the Manasota Key Burial Site, was recorded by Sonny Cockrell in December 1988. As noted in the "Previous Archaeological Work" section, biis cemetery arid midden site was the focus of aver three months of emergency salvage excavation. At least one of the site caL Dnents was radiocarbon dated to A.D.. 120 to 320. This site was visited and found to be much as it was left by the excavation crews. The Raj house has not yet been cons =ucted, and evidence of unauthorized site digging in the form of scattered potholes, was evident. Given the nature of archaeological work already carried out here, no further testing or data recording was done. 6. IVII, a prehistoric site reportedly contained in the northwest quarter of Section 22, could riot be located. The general reported site area appears to have been disturbed by the deposition of fill. Australian pine and Bra ilian pepper, the primary vegetation in this area,-substantiates the claim of alter- aticn. The site noted by Fales, and Davis over 25 years ago has ostensibly been destroyed. i _ live Data: A srmll gulf coastal dune area with intact native vege- tation, situated immediately north of the Manasota Public Beach, was surface inspected and tested with four shovel holes. No evidence of an archaeological site was discovered. The Blind Pass Beach area to the east of Manasota Key Road, including the parking lot, restroaa facility, and boat launch areas, have all been covered by intracoastal waterrAmy spoil. Any prehistoric site located here would be buried under such fill. No subsurface testing was carried out. several privately owned properties to the east and west of Manasota. Key Road, subjected to surface inspection arid/or subsurface testing, were found to be devoid of prehistoric or historic period cultural materials. These discrete areas are marked on the section aerials and described in the f ield notes which acccuparry this repor site Evaluati Assessments of site coridition/data quality and sigrlifi- canoe/National Register eligibility for the total 12 newly and previously discovered archaeological sites on manasata Key are s=narized in Table 3. site locatioris are illustrated in Figure 4. Of the total 12 sites currently recorded for ManaSOta Key, Only two have reportedly been ccupletely destroyed (Data Quality category 5)_ However, the contradictory locational information for one of these resources,.8So8, node it impossible to ascertain the current site condition. Two others have been severely altered and degraded as a result of deVelopment. (8SO1372) and/or archaeological excavation (8Sol292). The condition of 8So399 could not be determined, since it is unclear where this site, as originally recorded, is actually located. The Manasota, Key Bridge site (8soloo) and the Hermitage -site (8Sol372) are evaluated as not eligible for nominaticn to the National Reciister in view of their poor state of preservation. 8So8 could not be assessed, since its U9PPTK TTME UaT2R.-o GLETOG8 UaPPT-W TTaIS PLIoa VLETose Z) c U9PPTH TIME pwd MK 9989 CLETOS8 IV U8PPTH TTaW 9bL-4TW-MH ZLCTOSS z U--WTH TTaW pzej-ZrK)9 TLCTOS8 z tr-WTH TTOW UOBUTxat--s OLCTOS8 u--WTH TT9W uos%wr 69ETOSS smppT . WAxaqaw.-O leT=e AaX v4oseueN Z6ZTOS8 z u9PPrA Tlw4S Xauz4To4s 86GOSS G 9 -u9PPTK TTOIE uE%VTK ssvd PUTTS 66COSS a 9 u9PPTK TTOW 9bPT-G ABX P40seueli OOTOS6 G 9 u9PPTK TT9xE uaPPTK SrAga BOS8 HN 14TTur'O L14RO ad4L a4Ts 9wN 94TS 94TS (BOTLOA We MMK 'POQMTfM SOM) MX 940SOUeK UD [email protected] LeD Oroampw go uoT .4mTPAZ :c ;aTqpz 38 R 1 9 E Manosota Bosch 100 5 a 'T" 7 T 21 4 0 0 375 1292 S 1374 73 B If "d Pass Bosch 2 7 3 371 9 9 (GV) 70 369 Figure 4. Location of Archaeological Sites on 8 Sarasota Co, Manasota, Key. arlotte Co 39 accurate location is unknown. 8So1292, on the other hand, has been demonstra- ted to contain significant archaeological data. It is considered eligible for nomination to the National Register, as per NR criteria I'd". However, the degraded condition of this resource may obviate its potential to yield addi- tional archaeological information of significance. It has been rated in the C National Register category, denoting that further research will.be necessary before a final determination of eligibility can be made. With the exception of the Bouffard midden (8Sol3k), the other sites on this barrier island are small shell middens with little or no surface visibility. They were exposed by land altering activities - such as ditching for mosquito control, or discovered as a result of limited subsurface testing. All are altered, but in good to fair condition. Unfortunately, due to the diicontiguous; nature of survey testing procedures, mandated by landowner approval, the true nature of most of these sites, includuq areal dimensions and temporal/cultural affiliations, is poorly understood. Cnly the Stoltzner site, discovered durirxj systematic investigation of a small tract, has been adequately assessed. This site was thought to be significant (Burger 1987). The preliminary findings at the other newly recorded shell middens indicate these too are significant or potentially significant resources (Category B and C). Accordirxj to Bill Burger, discoverer of 8So598, this site "is important for the information it contains relatiM to, the subsistence activities of its inhabitants, their probable seasonal use of the barrier island, and to the [email protected]@al setting, particularly to questions of sea level rise" (Burger 1987:1). Tt=, this resource has been classified as NR category B, as per critiaria I'd." The Bouffard. midden (8SO1371) is also deemed eligible for nomination to the National Register for comparable reasons. The information contained at this site is believed to have the potential to contribute significantly to our knowledge of prehistoric resource utilization and adapta- tions through time. Both 8So598 and 8So1371 may be eligible as part of an archaeological district. Either individually, or preferably as a district, sites 8So1369, -1370, -1373, -1374, and -1375 may be eligible for NR ncmina- tion. Additional information is needed before a final determination can be made. Recommendations: All NR Category C sites, as listed in Table 3, need to be archaeologically tested in order to make final determinations of significance. Such work should serve to define the areal mite of each, as well as teqmral/cultural affiliation. All are tentatively adjudged to be potentially significant and eligible for nomination to the National Register, either individually or as an archaeological district. The Stoltzner site, Bouffard site, as well as the Manasota Key Burial Site should also be considered in such a potential district nomination. survey findings indicate that Manasota Key was an important locus of abo- .riginal activity duruq prehistoric times. The relationship of the sites recorded on this barrier island to others recorded on the mainland, across La= Bay, are not yet understood. There is a strong possiblity that human remains are contained in recorded as well as as yet undiscovered sites. Resi- dential developuent pressure on Manasota Key is acute. As lots are developed one by one for private residential use, it is certain that as yet undiscovered sites will be destroyed. many may contain human remains. It is critical that potential archaeological sites be considered during all types of land alteruq 40 activities, including home and utilities construction, road widening, dock construction, ditching, and vegetation removal. The private nature of land ownership means relatively sma 11 incremental developments. These are generally harder to regulate t:han developments of large tracts. Nevertheless, it is critical that coordination betweeen various county regulatory-agencies involved in the permitting process be responsive to archaeological concerns. Archaeological monitoring of land alterations on a contantung basis is ju-marrended. In conclusion, all of Manasota Key, with the exception of filled land, should be considexed archaeologically sensitive, and treated accordingly. 41 USGS VENICE General Descri=on: The USGS Venice quadrangle map survey area extends frcm Laurel on the north to Forked Creek on the south. It is bordered on the east by US 41 and S.R. 775, and on the west by the Gulf of Mexico. Included are portions of the commmities of Laurel, Nokomisr and South Venice. Lyons, Dona and Pbberts Bays are to the north; Lemon Bay to the south. Eastward streams within the Venice quad area include curry, Hatchett, Alligator and Forked Creeks. In total, 30 sections, at least in part, contained in five townships, were part of this coastal survey sector. Land, within the Venice city limits Was excluded from survey, since this has previously been the focus of professional archaeological investig4tion (A_1W 1985a). The southern part of Casey Key, situated in the northern part of this quadrangle area, as well as the portion of Manasota Key contained within this map area, will be discussed in separate sections of this report. Previous Archaeolggical Work: In 1961, Doris Davis and John Fales reported several sites in the Venice area. Many of these were recorded in 1976 by Almy during her survey and assessment of known sites in Sarasota Couaty (Almy 1976). More recently, professional.archaeological surveys of several parcels slated for development have been carried out in the greater Venice area, most outside the coastal zone proper. These include Hatchett. Creek at Jacaranda and the Woodmere Cmmmmity Center at Jacaranda, where no sites were found (Archibald 1988:18); the Venice Center (AJmy 1985b) which also yielded no new site information; the 1400 acre Gulfstream Land and Development Corporation property (Burger 1983) to the east of US 41, including land along Hatchett and Alligator creeks, where one prehistoric site was located (8So400); and a survey of the 23 acre Eagle Point tract (ACI 1989b), which resulted in the discovery of three prehistoric and historic period archaeological sites, plus the relocation of a previously recorded cultural resource. Other work in the area inclurl the City of Venice survey, carried out in 1985 (Almy 1985a). MAs project included survey of the coastal strip frcm Venice Beach south to Hcrse and Chaise. In addition to the land within the city limits, including the Red Ta vicinity, Eagle Point area, and a segment along Shakett Creek, several locales outside the city proper, incltx1ing Venice Gardens, Caspersen Beach, Nokomis and Laurel were investigated and several Wdustoric sites found. A total of 14 previously un)[email protected] prehistoric sites were located, described and assessed. Finally, . the extensive Venice Beach site cmplex (8So26), with both land and underwater ULZRmientsf has been the focus of long range research. Under- water archaeological explorations of cknwned terrestrial sites in this local- ity were begun by Dr. R. J. Ruppe of Arizona State University (Ruppe 1980). Current archaeological research here is being =npleted by Steve Koski as part of his Master of Arts degree from Arizona State University (Koski, personal camunication). [email protected][email protected]@ @_Si A total of 26 archaeological sites have been recorded for the Venice USGS quadrangle map area. Of these, ten are contained within the coastal zone survey area, exclusive of the City of Venice and Manascrta Key. Among these sites are three shell middens; two lithic sites yielding projectile pom-rts datang from the Paleoindian and/or Archaic periods; a lithic 42 scatter; ceramic scatter; shell scatter; a -multi-ccuiponent site complex containing shell MIddens, early stone tools and human skeletal remains, among other discoveries, dating from the Paleoindian through Weeden Island periods; and a segment of the original Tamiami Trail. Among the shell midden type sites is the Cove site (8So9), recorded by William Plowden in 1953. It is situated on the east bank.of Lim= Bay, to the =Uth Of the Manasota Key bridge. In describing the 1953 -site condition, Plaklen noted that it had been bulldozed dowm unti.1 Only about two feet of shell is above water. The Horse and Chaise site, 8So63, is a shell midden described in 1961 by Fales and Davis. By 1975, wtien recorded by Marion Alwy, this site had been destroyed (Almy 1985a:30). The Gory site (8So24) at Cas- persen Beach is a large multi-ccmponent, nulti-period site which has been bi- sected and damaged by construction of the Intracoastal Waterway. It is. esti- mated to measure one mile long by one-half mile wide, and has yielded evidence of occupation dating from the Paleoindian through Wedden Island times. When last described by Almy during her 1985 City of Venice survey, mst remaining parts of the site had been covered by fill or large rocks (Almy 1985a:30). SSo434, the Sprw*11a11 Site, was found along a canal in Venice Gardens. This prehistoric site, which yielded artifacts datable to the Paleoindian and Arcbaic periods, has been ompletely destroyed (Almy 1985a). 8So400, the Hatchett Creek I site is a shell scatter discovered by Burger during survey of the proposed, Gulfstream development tract (Burger 1983). It was reported to be in good condition at the time of discovery. The Saleman site, 8So443, re- .corded by Mmy in 1985 on the basis of informant information, yielded two Archaic stemmed projectile points in a "high scrub" area on a peninsula of land extending into Lyons Bay. Finally, as a result of the Eagle Point tract survey (ACI 1989b), additional information about previously recorded site 8So439 was obtained. This resource is now classified as a lithic scatter dating to the Middle Archaic period. Also found as a result of this survey were 8So1301, a ceramic scatter datable to the early Manasota period, circa 300 B.C. to A.D. 400; 8So1302, a shell midden of the same period; and 8Sol583, a segment of the Tamiami Trail. in addition to these recorded sites, a shell midden has been reported within the Venice quadrangle map area. This has been designated potential -site IV' (Archibald 1988:20). Research- Cons ons/lIethodoiggy: Background research indicated that the potential for both prehistoric and historic period archaeological sites was high in some areas of the Venice quad map coastal zone survey sector. In her survey of the city of Venice, A.1my cmuented that 11 . . . it is no accident that several historic homestead--,, and a number of prehistoric sites are found on well-drained, slightly elevated, sandy soil" (Alny 1985a:5). Mum, high, dry scrub area near the bays and other water sources were considered to have the potential for the location of sites ranging from paleoindlian camps to - 19th century hcuesteariss. Caqpared to other survey sectors within the coastal zone, i.e. Englewood, Laurel, Sarasota, the Venice area was deemed to have a higher probability for the location of small lithic sites dating to the Paleoindian and Archaic periods, ln'addition to the more ccnmn shell mid*m type sites. conversely, information provided by several informants, including professional archaeologists, indicated that the Alligator Creek area had a low potential for prehistoric site location. Similarly, the inland extensions of Hatchett and Curry creeks are the products 43 of modern channelization, and were deemed to have low prehistoric site potential. Documentary research and informant interviewing indicated the presence Of several specific locales where historic and prehistoric period sites might be expected. ,These include the followuig: '1. Fiddler"s Island - The plat maprof Fiddler's Island,.dated 1920, indicates the presence of several structures within this seven acre area. Included are a house, dock, garage and fish house, as well as a cultivated plot. These are associated with the homestead of Francis A. ammy (Matthews 1989:151). Fid- dler's Island, Wftich no longer bears this name, is located in Section 1 of T=Lship 39 South, Range 18 East. 2. Knight, Lyons and Roberts Hiomesteadg-, - An 1883 U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey map includes the locations of these 19th century . Jesse and Caroline Knight settled somewhere in the vicinity of Section 6. The family of Robert Roberts settled at Horse and Chaise, while Matthew and Eliza Lyons homesteaded up the coast, to the north of Lyons Bay. 3. Higelville - Members of the pioneer Higel family settled the area in the rm-thwest quarter of Section 12, Tlownship 39 South, Range 18 Enst: 4. Woodmere - Woodmere was the home base of the Manasota, Lumber Company from 1918 through 1923. Me plat map of Woodmere, dated May 1918, illustrates the location of the sawmill, mn-ker's quarters, ponds, and railroad lines. During its heydey, this settlement, which covered 10 acres, contained a four story wooden sawmill, housing: for 1500 employees, a large machine shop, a railroad yard, commissary, and 1200 seat dining hall (Cortes 1976:103-104). In 1930 the sawmill was destroyed. Houses occupied by supervisory personnel were sold and moved. According to Cortes, "the only thing left" is an old building on the north line made of stone, with archs and doorways intact, but no roof (1976:104). Several locations for the site of Woodmere were provided by local informants. The potential for buried historic period archaeological remains, including dumps and structural features, was considered high. 5. Woodmere Cemetery - Reportedly, black sawmill workers were interred in a presently unmarked cemetery. Local informants interviewed during this project have provided conflicting site locational information, including the present sites of Japanese Gardens mobile home park, and the Englewood Isles develop- max . The Fales and Davis survey fieldnotes locate this site in the northeast quarter of Section 9, Tawiship 40 South, Range 19 East, about [email protected] mile north of the Manasota Key Bridge. Their information is presumably based on informant information. Fales and Davis note the reported burials to be either Indian or prisoners who died while turpentining. 6. Burial Mound - According to Jokm McCarthy, currently with the Sarasota County Department of Matural. Resources, an aboriginal burial mound may be located behind the M&xmis school. However, Marion AlW and George Luer reported having searched for this feature, with negative results (Almyl personal comuLmication) . 7. A site of unknown type is platted on the Fales and Davis site map, but is not mentioned in their survey field notes. Referenced as site #74, it is illustrated as located in the northwest quarter of Section 32 and/or the northeast quartex of Section 31, Township 39 South, Range 19 Past. 44 8. Stockade - A stockade used to hold convict laborers, who were leased as workers to the lumber companies, was formerly located at U.S. 41 and Pocono Trail. A freshwater well and a loading wharf at the shore along Dona Bay were also located here (Matthews 1989:163). In general, survey tactics emphasized the surface inspection and subsur- face- testing of undeveloped land. Uie majority of subsurface testing was conducted in Sections 4 and 9 of Township 40 South, Range. 19 East, on the first elevated land fronting Lamm Bay. r1he locations of all test-pits we marked an the section aerials, and described in the field notes which accom- pany this report. Since the ten previously recorded sites were visited and assessed by professional archaeologists riot more than six years ago, their relocation and ;g ;sment of current condition and significance were not made a part of this study. r1he various bistoric period features noted above, as well as reported aboriginal site IV' were amarxj the primary concerns during field survey. Survey A total of nine prehistoric and historic period archaeologi- cal sites were located and recorded. Seven were discovered as a result of field survey; two were reported by local informants. 7hese sites, assigned the Florida Master Site File numbers 8Sol36l through 8Sol368, plus 8SO1867, include three shell middens, one ceramic scatter, an historic cemetery, and four miscellaneous historic period sites, including the ruins of the camunuty of woodmere. Mie attempt to find reported site IV' was not successful. In addition, two previously recorded sites were relocated and their present condition and significance assessed. New sites: ihe nine newly discovered sites can be described as follows: l.- Section 4 Midden (8Sol361) - [email protected] black dirt and shell midden type Site is located in the souttagest quarter of Section 4, TowTiship 40 South, Range 19 Past. It was discovered as a result of subsurfa testing during field survey. Mlis small cultural deposit measures approximately 25 meters north/ south by 20 meters east/West. Subsurfa testing revealed that about 80% of the shell fish remains are clam and lightning whelk. other species include oyster and scallop. The depth of the cultural deposit is 35 m7tineters below surface. niere is no above ground evidence. 8Sol36l is of unknown temporal/ cultural affiliation. 2. Coleman/Nantucket Road Site (8So1362) - This ceramic scatter type site is located in the northwest quarter of Section 32, Township 39 South, Range 19 East. It was discovered as a result of subsurface testing during field survey. No surface cultural materials were.noted. This site is situated on a small sandy ridge, vegetated with scrub oak, palmetto and pine- Lemon Bay is to the northwest. The excavation of two shovel test--- within 30 meters of each other revealed a stratigraphic profile of 0-25 cms medium gray sand, underlain by successive zones of white (25 to 65 cm) and tan (65 to 100 cms) colored fine sand. rr*m sand tempered plain potsherds were recovered from one shovel test, at depths of 30 to 45 cms. The second shovel test was urq=ductive of additional cultural materials. site size is estimated at 1 than 30 meters in diameter. 8Sol362 can be dated to post-Archaic times. 3. Rigel Midden (8So1363) - This large shell midden type site was rePOrted by Hickey Rigel. it is no longer ectant. According to Mr. Rigel, this site, ado Drive and LaGuna Drive, measured located in the present vicinity of El Dor 45 about 40 feet high. It was adjacent to a mangrove swamp. The site was demol- ished for roadfill used to surface Englewood Road. Corrkmuuums now mark the general site area. 4. Rigel Bayside (8So1364) - This historic period site consists of remnant dock pilings and a handmade concrete retaining wall (seawall) at the shore of Roberts Bay, directly to the rear of 816 and 812 LaGuna Drive. A primary ccnstituerTt of the seawall is coquina. shell. Mese constructions are associ- ated with the historic two story Rigel residence at 816 La Guna-Drive, started at the turn of the century and completed in 1916. (Mickey Rigel, personal com- munication) - A partially modified wooden boathouse also associated with the early Rigel family occupation is adjacent to the seawall and dock pilings on the east. This* site was discovered during field survey in the Higelville area. Information was then solicited from site owners/ residents Joy and Mickey Rigel. Mr. Rigel is the great-grandson of Frank Rigel. 5. Fiddler's Island Seawall (8So1365) - Field survey of the Anchorage deve 1- opment, formerly knowm as "Fiddler's Island", revealed a concrete seawall made with coquina. in the yard of 450 Amchorage Drive. A large modern home and pool occupy the property. This seawall was traced alorx; the shoreline in a south- east direction, ending just east of the south end of Anchorage Drive. Here, a break in the seawall was marked by a set of steps, the lowest rungs of wtuch were covered by the waters of Roberts Bay. Directly to the north of the steps was a concrete slab, marking a former house foundation. A small wood frame structure is situated directly to the west. Accorduxj to local resident and developer Elizabeth Coon (Personal ccrmmmication), the house that formerly marked this spot was owned by "Mr. North," and dated to the 1930s. Muo, the seawall may date to the 1930s, although the construction materials are similar to those used in the 1910s and 1920s. It appears similar, for example, to the newly recorded Rigel Bayside site (4SoI364), %struCted. sometime between 1900 and 1916. All traces of the original Carry homestead are gone. Mrs. Coon, who grew UP in this area, related that in the early 1930s her grandfather purchased Fiddler's Island from the Curry family. At this time, it was a low lying island. Her grandfather filled the land, and in the 1930s it was replatted as "Enchanted Island." Tangible remains of this period are also gone, or badly deteriorated. An old stucco bridge wtuch connected Enclmnted Island to the mainland on the east, built in the 1930s, is no longer extant (Elizabeth Coon, personal communication). The only other structure frcm the 1930s, a wooden seawall on the canal side (east) of the former island, is very badly deterio- rated, . and falling into the canal. It was not assigned a Florida Master Site File number - 6. 7he Axrhorage (8So1366) - This historic period site consists of a partial- ly buried anchor. It is located beneath a large oak tree in an undeveloped lot, directly north of 476 Anchorage Drive in the southeast quarter of Section i, Township 39 South, Range 18 East. This land was formerly part of Fiddler's Island. According to informant Elizabeth Coon (personal comnziication) , the anchor dates to the turn of the century. Field survey, includuxj surface ex- amination alotV the shoreline and the excavation of four sba I low [email protected] tests around the anchor, revealed the presence of noted metal pieces and red bricks, the latter apparently used to help stabilize the shoreline. No other noteworthy features were observed. 46 7. Venice Cemetery (8So1367) - The Venice Ceaetery is located in the north- west: quarter of Section 32, Tbwnship.39 South, Range 19 East. Its location is clearly depicted on the USGS Venice quadrangle map.- This land, *originally. owned by pioneer settler Jesse Knight, has served as a cemetery since the 1880s. Members of many of the area's pioneers and their descendants are buried here, including Jesse Knight, Charles Curry, and Alred WI-ede, as well as members bf the Higel family. All gravesites are oriented in an east/west direction, with the [email protected] stories to the west. Individual graves are marked primarily by commercial stone and decorated with plastic flowers. Cemetery plantings are mostly cedar bushes. Two east/Vest tr anding shell marl driveways divide the cemetery into a northern and southern part. Grave rows are designated alphabetically, star- ting with "All in the ap'proximate cemetery center. Rows B through Q are to the west of A. Beginnning to the east of row A, grave rows are designated R through V. Most of the earliest graves are in the cemetery center, to the north of the shell marl driveway. Members of the Curry family, including Reverend Charles 0. Curry (1850-1901) are interred in Rom B and C. An elaborate, upright monument marks the grave of Reverend Charles Curry. Members of the Knight family are buried in Row D. Upright carved stone monu- ments similar to that for Charles Curry mark the gravesites of the Reverend Jesse Knight (1817-1911), his wife Caroline R. Knight (1825-1901), and Milton A. Knight (1861-1890). Members of the Higel family are buried in Row L. 8. Woodmere Sawmill Complex (8So1368) - The project archaeologists were directed to the Woodmere site area by several local informants, who provided the addresses for the Green Fountain Nursery and Englewood Disposal Company. We wish to acknowledge the cooperation and valuable information Provided by Mr. Terry Barton, owner of Erx#ewood Disposal. A copy of the plat map of wbo also showed aphs of the Woodmere was provided by Mr. Barton, company property prior to constrir-ticn of their waste disposal facilities. Me Woodmere site dates from circa 1918 to 1930. Field survey of the Woodmere site area revealed the ndm of a single standing structure. According to Mr. Barton, t1us served as the sawmill com- plex px#=]se. The four walls of this structure, made of gray concrete brick, are still standing; the roof is no longer extant- Directly to the north of the pumphouse, in a heavily overgrown area stre x1ling to the west and east, lie the ruins of the sawmill and other associated buildings. Among these ruins, thoroughly concealed by thick vegetation, are large segments of concrete foundations, concrete piers measuring upward of ten feet in height, and piles of brick rubble. According to Mr. Barton,, a 600 feet deep well, capped over by Disposal personnel, is also situated within this wooded area. other constructed features associated with Woodmere are no longer extant. Part of a building with the date.11191711 carved in the concrete, has been covered over by new constny-tion (Barton, Personal coumanicaticn). Photo- graphs taken in the 1960s showed two rail sidings to the west of the Englew:)cd Disposal property. - The original mill pmd, illustrated on the 1918 Plat map, was dredged by the Barton family to create a lake. 9. Pocono T!rail Midden (8So1867) - This shell midden type site is located in the northwest quarter of Section 6, Township 39 South, Range 19 Fast. It was discovered during ground surface reconnaissance of a seemingly disturbed, va- cant lot frcr&-uV Dona Bay. At the base of two wooden stakes, as well as in patchy exposures of disturbed ground, dark soil and oyster shell Were ObSer- 47 ved. A single shovel test, excavated adjacent.to one of the wooden stakes, revealed an Upper strata Of oyster and quahog clam shells in a matrix of dark gray/black soil. Minor inclusions of scallop, lightning whelk, and king's crowm were also recovered. This Midden layer, extending to a depth of 30 centimeters below surface, also included 42 undecorated sand-tempered pottery sherds and one piece of animal bone. Underlying the midden layer was light gray sand, from 30 to 100 cms. Lesser amounts of oyster pnd clam, plus 11 additional sberds were.found Set%@ 30 and 60 cms. Flollowing excavation of this test pit, a series of shallow shovel probes were made in the vicinity to areally delimit t1us cultural feature. Site dimensions are estimated at 30 meters north/south by 45 meters east/West. Cabbage palm and oak mark the western portion of the site area; weeds and modern trash the eastern section. Brazilian pepper is found to the immediate west. Dona Bay is adjacent at the north. On the basis of the rinrherds found ([email protected] curving rim with flattened lip), SSo1867 is dated from the Weeden Island-related to Safety Harbor periods, circa A.D. 800 to 1600 (cf. Tu and AlW 1982: Figure 3, p. 45). Isolated Finds: In addition to these nine sites, two instances of single arti- fact occurences were discovered during archaeological field survey. These do not warrant designation as sites. The first isolated find consists of a sin- gle waste flake of ncn-thermally altered coral, found on the ground surface at a ditch paralleling Hibiscus Road in the South Venice area. The excavation of a shovel test at the spot of this find, in addition to three other test pits in the immediately surrounding area (Vacant lot between 4150 and 4124 Hibiscus Rd) did not result in the recovery of additional cultural materials. A single sand tenqxwed plain pottery sherd was discovered on the disturb- ed ground surface of Intracoastal Waterway spoil, in the northeast quarter of Section 5, Tbwnship 40 South, Range 19 East. This area of fill appeared to be potboled by vandals. one such hole, measuring about a meter in depth, reveal- ed fill throughout. The sherd may be redeposited from the area identified as the Gory Site, to the north. Previously Although the relocation of previously re- corded sites was not a focus of survey in the USGS Venice map area, due to their relatively recent recording and evaluation by professional archaeolo- gists, one recorded shell midden (8So9) was visited and examined, and the Gory site area (8So24) at Caspersen Beach investigated. Attenipts, to locate report- ed site 'IV' were Unsuccessful. These efforts are described below: 1. 8So9 - The Cove Site, a sheal midden, was located in the yard of 1990 Bayshore Road. Midden shell was observed at the base of trees, at the [email protected] shore, and exposed in ditches. The current larkkuner was most cooperative in permitting the excavation of a shovel test. This revealed a cultural deposit measuring 65 cms in thickness, and composed primarily of clam, scallop, and- fighting conch. Lightning whelk and oyster were 1 frequent shellfish inclusions. The site dimensions are estimated at 100 meters northwest/ southeast by 30 to 40 meters north/south. Impacted by.construction of a ham, septic tank, and ditches, the site is in altered, though good condition. 2. 8So24 - The Gory site, is an extensive multi-compcnent, multi-period cul- tural resource. Mr. Vincent Gory of Venice has made surface collections here since 1969. Among the cultural materials recovered have been Archaic stemmed projectile points, sand and clay tempered Pottery, human renminS, bird Points, 48 and net sinkers, as per the-1975 FMSF form. Originally, this site ran inland from the Gulf across a small creek just south of Red Lake. Excavation for the Intracoastal Waterway cut through the-site, burying at least three-fourths of the approximate four to five'acre site area under several feet of spoil. In 1985, Alw-*s assessment concluded that 8So24 had been bisected and severely damaged by the Intracoastal Waterway, with the remaining parts covered by fill and/or large rocks. Some undisturbed area to the west of the Intracoastal may remain, she noted. Almy classified the Gory site as potentially eligible for nomination to the National Register (Almy 1985:30). Portions of the Gory site area, to both the east and west of the Intra- coastal Waterway, were visited during this project'' In general, the area to the east has been completely covered with dredged spoil, and the wa"y banks are lined with large boulders, thus obscuring arry evidence of the origi- nal site surface or profile. Given the estimated depth of the spoil, it was caicluded that standard shovel testing to one meter depth'woutld not reach the original site surface. The site area west of the waterway is contained within a county-owned park. The area between the beach and-waterway was walked out, and, With the exception of the coastal strip, found to be mostly covered with fill. Unlike the eastern bank, however, the western waterway bank has not been covered with boulders. The banks were spot checked for evidence.of mid- den or other cultural features and/or materials. None were noted. Judging by the difference between the base of cabbage palm trees and the top of the spoil, the depth of the overbur;den is estimated at seven to eight feet. M=, no subsurface testing was conducted. According to the information contained on the FHSF form, Prepared PY Almy in 1975, one small shell midden remains as an island in the Intracoastal Waterway. This island, observed from the Caspersen Beach side of the Gory site area, is separated fran the Itainland" by a deep ditch. Without a boat-, we could not get to the island to check on the condition of the site. Cabbage palm and a mangrove fringe were observed from afar. The southern fringe of the island appeared sandy, and the edges of the vegetation line devoid of Mld- den material. 2. Site IITJ"- Intensive ground surface inspection and the eD=vaticn Of two subsurface test pits in the reported site area failed to reveal the Presence of a shell midden type site, or other Prehistoric cultural materials- Me area investigated is located from the foot of Gale Street south to the foot of Hudscn Street. rMe saw palmetto ground cover in this area had been recently cut and cleared for developnent. 0=, surface exposure was good. In addi- tion, a mosquito control ditch Paralleling Lemon Bay afforded another good ppnrtunity for site detection. Only modern Oyster shell was rx7ted- Perhaps the location of this site in Section 9 was incorrectly reported arid/Or Plot- ted, and the midden discovered in Section 4 (see 8So1361 above) is the same as that reported. -i _ Ltive Data: The sand mound reportedly located behind the Nokomis School could not be found. However, the sct=l property was examined only frm lust outside the boundaries of the schoolyard, as this area was being used by the children at the time of survey. Prior investigation by other area archaeolo- gists similarly have yielded negative results (Marion Almy, personal =wuni- cation). The area south of the schoolyard, along the north bank of Curry Creek, was welked out east to the railroad tracks. in general, this land was wert? and no evidence of cultural materials or features were observed on the ground surface. 49 As noted above, the field map produced by John Fales and Doris Davis, plotting the sites visited during their 1961 windshield survey, indicated a site (#74) in the vicinity of Sections 3-1 and 32, Township 39 South, Range 19 East - This general site area was visited twice. The first visit entailed thorough c_mxxz-d surface inspection only; on the second visit a total of four test pits were excavated in an area of oak scrub and palmetto surrounded. by tidal marsh at the approximate site locus. No evidence of an aboriginal site could be discovered. It is possible that this-reported site was destroyed by .the dredging*of the Intracoastal Waterway through this area. Site Evaluations: AsseSSMents of site condition/data quality and signif i- [email protected]_/National Register eligibility for the total 19 newly and previously discovered archaeological sites with= the mainland USGS Venice quadrangle area are summarized in Table 4. Previously recorded sites are graded as per the information provided in Mmy (1985b) and Burger (1983). Site locations are illustrated in Figures 5A and 5B. Of the total 19 prehistoric and historic period archaeological sites, nine have been severely altered or completely destroyed. All but the Veluce Cemetery (8So1367) and the newly discovered Section 4 midden (8So1361) have been adversely impacted to some degree. Residential development, shoreline modifications, and dredge and fill operations are the primary causes of site Wrm-ddaticn. All but five sites are evaluated as not eligible for listing in the National Register, either because of site destruction/degradation, or the non- remarkable nature of the site. For example, 8So1361, while in very good Condition, is a small shell midden type site, deemed unlikely to contain data. which could mi @ibute furthex to cur understanding of the area's prehistory. It is riot considered among the best examples of its type for -the region. Similarly, the Hatchett Creek site, 8So4OO, a small shell scatter recor-ded by Burger in 1983, was eviderxmd by an eight meter square surface scatter of marine shell, with no associated artifacts. Mile in good condition in 1983, and situated within a planned preservation/green space area, it is not believed that corytinued, [email protected]@ at this site would produce archaeological data that can contribute significantly to regional prehistory. It=, it is not deemed NR eligible. M=ee prehistoric sites have been classified as Category B, and are adjudged to be eligible for listang in the National Register. These include the Gory site (8So24), Eagle Point III (8So1302) and the Pocono Trail site (8So1867). The first, 8So24, is an extensive multi-camponent site evidenc-ing thousands of years of occupation/utilization, beginning in the Paleoindian period. This site complex is named in honor of Venice resident Vincent Gory, wbo has made marry significant discoveries here. In her 1985 survey of selected portions of the cityof Venice, Mmy dis- cussed the Gory Site. Her research included the interviewing of Vincent Goryl examination of his site maps and artifact collection, and field inspect-ion of the site area. She noted: . . . the site has been bisected and severely damaged by the Intracoastal Waterway. Most remaining parts of the site have been covered by fill and/or large rocks used to line the waterway. However, west of the Intracoastal 50 Table 4. of CWTical Sitied in the I Venice Map Arm (EW-1USiVe Of the dity VaAce and Mmmsota My). Site Site Name Site Type Data Quality NR 8S09 cove Shell Midden 3 E 8So24 Gory Multi-camp. 3 B 8So63 Horse and Shell Midden 5 E Chaise 8So4OO Hatchett Creek I Shell Midden 2 E 8So434 Sprenthall Lithics 5 E 8So439 Eagle Point Lithic Scatter 5 E 8So443 Saleman Lithics 4 E 8So1301 Eagle Point II Ceramic Scatter 4 E 8So1302 Eagle Point III Shell Midden 2 B 8So1361 Section 4 Shell Midden 1 E 8So1362 Coleman/Nan- Ceramic Scatter 2 E tucket Road 8So1363 Higel. Midden Shell Midden 5 E 8So1364 Higel Bayside Dock/Seawall/ 4 E Boat house 8So1365 Fiddlers Island Seawall 4 E Seawall 8So1366 The A:nchorage Single artifact 2 E (Historic) 8So1367 Venice Camtery Camtery (Hist. 1 B 8So1368 %bodmere Sawmill ccMlex 4 E 8So1853 Eagle Point/ Road Segment 2 C Taniami Trail 8So1867 Pocono Tra. il Shell Midden 2 B LAURE Aso 86 08Sol367 NOKOMIS 0 0 A 4 rt m 0 0 8Sdl366 o1365 :I, 0 agle 8So439,-1301, 11% VL efts -1302, -1853 1 00 m In lb @-6 * 0 So1364 rt 8Sol363 0 m :3 CA Vonice Beac rt zr m 8So26 8So44 C-- VENICE In .1i 8S0442 m n m 8SO422 8So445 52 CENTER ROAD AIRPORT AVE CITY SH"ROCK BLVD 343A OF 8So43' NIC 0 A 4 8So63 do 8S 1. 8So24 US 41 SSo1368 08So1361 WANASOTA BEACH RD 8So 00 8So9 7. southern-b-order ot G n e ma -ar 0 ON DEARID30RN ROAD 0 @SCALE IN MILES Figure 5B. Location of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Venice Map Area (southern portion). Source: Apoxsee, Appendix C, Figure C-8, page C-23. 53 Water-vay there may be sane rdmaining undisturbed areas of the site. Sarasota County owns or leases much of the property west of the Gory site . . . No doubt, this site was of major importance to the @@ians of the region (Almy 1985b:30). According to several local informarits, aboriginal artifacts are still being "dug up" to the east. . Evidence of such site vandalism was noted in the southeastern portion of the site, in a spoil covered area. The present poten- tial for the recovery of significant archaeological data from this large site has not yet been [email protected] ascertained.. Testing will be difficult, given the depth of the overburden in most places. There is a high probability that intact cultaral deposits are present. Thus, the Gory site is deemed eligible for nomination to the National Register as per criteria I'd." It has already contributed significantly to our knowledge of regional prehistory, and may be oTected to contain additional data of importance, particularly from the earl- iest and least known periods of prehistoric occupation. Eagle Point III (Wo1302), discovered during systematic professional sur- vey of the Eagle Point tract (ACI 1989b), was evaluated as follows: Eagle Point III is believed to be a short-term exploitive camp where marine resources were utilized. The site, in good to accellent. condition, could provide an opportunity for additional research concerning aboriginal diet, former climatic and variables, and settleme, pat- terning. 1bus, it can be considered a regionally signifi- cant prehistoric resource and potentially eligible for listing in the Naticnal Register of Historic Places. (ACI: 1989b:22). The Poc ono Trail site (8So1867), newly recorded as a result of this sur- vey, is also deemed eligible for listing in the Naticrial Register, as per criteria I'd." Like the 8So1302 shell midden at Eagle Point, this midden along Dona. Bay is believed to have the potential to contribute significantly to our knowledge of regional prehistoric patterns of resource exploitation and diet, among other current research-concerns. While cemeteries are usually not considered NR eligible, the historic Venice Cemetery is adjudged to be an important local resource since indivi- duals who made significant can ributions to the early history of the Venice/ Nokomis area are [email protected] here. 1Jhus, 8SO1367 should be considered for listing in the National Register of Historic Places. Cne site has been classified as NR category C, indicating that while it appears to be potentially eligible for rcmination to the National Register, additional information is needed before a final determination of eligibility can be made. Incluried in this classification is 8So1853, the Eagle Point/ Tamiami Trail site, discovered in 1989 during survey of the Eagle Point tract (Aci 1989b) . - n-ds segment of the Tamiami trail I'may be significant to the historic on of Eagle Point and the county's early development" (ACI 1989b:25). Additional historic research was rax-3-M-1- in order to make a final determination of significance. 54 Recanwndati The Gory site has never been tested systematically b*y professional archaeologists. in order to assess the impact of Intracoastal waterway cmwtructicn upon this cultural resource, and to qather information to make a final determination of National Register eligibility, such work is recamnended. This work should include testuig of areas to both the east and west sides of the channel, including county- owned land at Caspersen Beach. If cultural deposits are found to be intact, this site should be rcminated to the Naticnal Register. Preparation of NR nominations for the other three Category B sites discussed above, as well as research necessary to evaluate 8So1853, are also suggested. 55 CASEY KEY General Descripti : Casey Key extends approximately seven miles in length along the coast of Sarasota County.- It is bounded on the north by Midnight' Pass, which Separates this barrier island from Siesta Key, .and by the Venice Inlet to the South. Tattle [email protected] Bay, Dryman Bay and. Blackburn Bay border Casey - Key on the east. Nokomis Beach is in the southern part. This barrier island is contained within three USGS quadrangle areas: Bird 1qeys, Laurel and Venice. Geographically, it is situated in portions of sections 4, 9, 15, 16, 22, 26, 27, and 35 of Township 38 South, Range 18 East; and Section 2 of [email protected] 39 South, Range 18 Ehst. Overall, Casey Key has been fairly well developed. Previous 7he earliest known "investigation" of a prehistoric site on Casey Key was the looting and subsequent destruction of a burial mound situated at the north end of the island. In the 1940s, this mound and village site was dug into by students from Venice High School. Reportedly, the skulls they uncovered were sold for $20 each (Bullen and Bullen 1974:48). This site was entered into the Florida Master Site File by Mitney Robinette in 1956, and assigned the number 8So17. According to Mr. Robinette, over 200 burials were removed by the students. Other individuals cmTtributed. to the plunder. In 1959 the Casey Key site area was visited by the Bullens, who noted that only scattered aginaxtS of bones and pottery remained. While the burial mound was destroyed, the associated village area, located at the water's edge, "consisted of a fairly extensive shell ridge crisscrossed and rew;orked by draglines to make mosquito control ditclies" (Bullen and Bullen 1976:48). In 1974, in conjunction with their survey of the Palmer Oaks tract, Miller and Swindell tried to relocate the remains of 8So17. A total of 10 to 15 hours were spent looking for the Casey Key site, with negative results (Miller 1974:9). Similarly, survey of the MJL one mile of Casey Key did not result in the discovery of additional sites (Miller 1974:8). Eleven years later, excavations associated with house construction in the vicinity of 8So17 resulted in the uncoveriM of human bones and artifacts. Pm--=ml from the Florida Museum of Natural History were contacted, and in June 1985, Williara Marquardt and Karen 36 Walker of that institution visited the construction site. They noted a sparse shell midden, overlain by successive layers of old topsoil and Intracoastal Waterway spoil, and reccitimended archaeological site testing. The human remains previously unearthed by the on crew were analyzed by William Maples of the Florida Museum of Natural History. Uncertain whether this site was part of the 8So17 complex, Marquardt designated it the "Snyder Site," but did riot assign a new Florida Master Site File number (Marquardt 1985). Recordedaggg=gd Sites: 8So17 is the only site recorded for Casey Key. This burial mound and village (shell midden) complex, according to the Bullens, represented "a sizable community or one that lasted a fairly long time," judging by the number of interments (Bullen and Bullen 1976:51). It has been tentatively dated to the late Weeden Island period. Research Considerations/lIethodolgW: Like the other barrier islands in the coastal zone of Sarasota County, Casey Key was deemed to have a high potential 56 for prehistoric site location. However, despite decades of investigations on the island, only one site had been recorded and none reported. It was uncertain whether the absence of sites reflected the lack of aboriginal settlement, or simply the lack of survey efforts. Documentary research indicated that historic period sites might also be anticipated. One type of potential site was historic refuse, associated with late 19th to early 20th century homesteading. Among - the early sett4ers of Casey Key were the-Shumard, Root, Ragan and Dryman families. Me family of T - C usa Shumard, which included six children, arrived at Casey's Key just after the turn of the century (Matthews 1989:151). The Root and Ragan families were neighbors. In 1909, Zachariah M. Dryman homesteaded aver 100 acres on the key along the area which came to be ktx;wn as Dryman Bay. "He had been familiar with local lands since 1872.11 (Matthews 1989:152). In addition to these po- to,rtial homestead sites, examination of the Plat of Graham's Point, Casey Key (Sarasota Cmzyty Plat Book A-16, no date) indicated a "comnmity dock" extending out into Little Sarasota Bay, at a point 1459 feet north of the southern line of Section 15, Township 38 South, Range 18 East. Historic refuse as well as old wooden pilings associated with this feature were also considered as potential sites. Interviews held prior to the inception of fieldwork indicated two possible site locales, bath revealed as a result of land alteration along the bayside of the island (Jobn McCarthy, personal ccemLmication). The location of these reported sites, as well as a 3essment of the condition of 8So17, were among the objectives of field survey. Arcbaeological field tactics entailed a reconnaissance of Casey Key beginning south at Albee Road (Nokomis Beach) and working north to the north end of Casey Key. All vacant lots were visually examined, and limited subsurface testing carried out. Land under [email protected] was another focus of irmestigaUcn, with particular attzrition paid to subsurface Zi- such as building excavation [email protected] and spots markiM the removal of trees. [email protected] contz 1 ditches and other clearings were also carefully looked at. Finally, selected yards with native hamauck vegetation were also [email protected], where landowner permission could be secured. A total of 13 general localities in Sections 4, 9, 15, 22, 16 and 35 were examined. niese locales are marked on the aerial maps submitted with this report- Despite the posting of "Private Road" signs, Casey Key Road was driven to its northern terminus. Results: John McCarthy, of the Sarasota County Department of Natural Resources had reported finding a shell midden while visiting a coz Ptruction site wtiere a mangrove cutting violation had taken place. Archaeological field survey confirmed the presence of this cultural resource. while this site is believed to lie very close to the Snyder site described by Marqtzrdt (1985), which my or may not be part of the Casey Key site (WoV), given the seemingly small and geographically discrete nature of the newly discovered midden, it has been assigned a new Florida Master Site File number. It IS described below. No other prehistoric or historic period cultural resources were found on Casey Key. 1. Mangrove Violation Site (8SO1384) - This site is located in the southeast ship 38 South, Range 18 Fast, in the northern Part quarter of Section 4, Tawl of Casey Key. it is at the hammock/twigrove transition line, just east of new residerltial construction at 1370 North CaseY Key Road. 57 revealed a small shell midden at the con- tact oak/cabbage palm/red cedar hammock. Mid- den materials were exposed in small cuts, and at the base of trees in this disturbed zone. Shellfish food remains consisted primarily of quahog clam, kings crown, light:ning whelk, and tulip. Secondary species included oyster, ribbed scallop, and fighting conch. Neither p)ttery, shell tools, nor human bone were observed. 11he stratigraphy, profiled in a series of shallow cuts, revealed the middeh deposit extending for at least 20 centimeters below sur- face. Shell was in a matrix of grayish brown sand. Cn the basis of surface examination only, this site is estimated to measure 20 meters north/south by 10 meters east/west. The absence of midden material to the west appears to indicate that the midden is confined largely to the upland edge of the man- ca=e. ftwiaway &tm: Mu-ee ef f orts to locate the remains of 8;So17 were Wisuccessful. It is presumed that this cultural resource has been completely destroyed. During the background information stage of inves- tigaticn, several individuals interviewed related digging into the burial mound in the early 1950s. supposedly, many of the bones and artifacts were taken to Venice High school. Conversaticm with these indivirbal generally served to [email protected] this site on the USGS Laurel quadrangle map which accompanies this report. No new cultural information was derived. UBWUve Mta: Tuelve localities r marked on the aerial maps for Sections 35, 26, 22, 15, 9 and 4, Township 38 South, Range 18 Fast, were found to be devoid of prehistoric cultural materials. In most cases, small shells and granular beach sand were observed in these areas of hammock vegetation and relatively elevated terrain. A large area in Sections 26 and 35, pointed out by McCarthy as, possibly having a shell midden, was being cleared for develop- ment of "Casey Key Estates" at the tire of archaeological survey. Thus, ground surfa conditions were excellent. The square shaped fringe along the mangrove edge was walked out and carefully checked for aboriginal cultural materials and/or features. None was noted. According to the surveyor questioned here, this area was filled during the 1960s. site Evaluati : cnly two prehistoric sites are recorded for Casey Key. The Casey Key Site, 8Sol7, is believed to be destroyed, and Ithus, not eligible for rxmination to the National Register. Similarly, the newly recorded Mangrove violation site, 8So1384, is in a poor state of preservation.' Its data quality is considered poor, and thus, is also deemed not significant nor eligible for the National Register. The question of the relationship between the Snyder site described by Marquardt and Pk-jlker, and 8So17, has as yet not been resol- ved. Recommendations: It is possible that as yet unrecorded sites may exist on Casey Key, on privately owTied land riot accessible for survey. The area deem- ed to have the greatest site location potential is that marked by hammock vegetation, and contained in the AJJL' I portion of the barrier island, in sections 4 and 9, Township 38 South, Range 18 Past. Types of sites which may be anticipated are shell middens, some or all of which may contain human remins. Given the smal 1-scale, incremental, residential nature of future land alteration here, it is reCOILIMMAIC-MI that permits for residential construc- tion, the excavation for pools, dock building, tree removal, and other gmuid disturbing activities be contingent upon the monitoring of land alterations by a professional archaeologist. In the event that cultural reSOUrCeS are 58 discovered, lmuted subsurface testing --;hould be carried out such that site size, tentative ta'aporal/cultural classification, and condition can be ascertained. Landowners in this area should be encouraged to preserve [email protected] protect these sites. 59 IARM Generc-d DeS"CriZ_10_n: 'Me USGS Laurel quadrangle*map area extends from Vamo on the north to Laurel on the south. US 41 forms the eastern survey boundary, and Lattle Sarasota, Dryman and Blackburn bays are to the west, flanked to the west by Casey Key. Casey Key will be discussed in a separate section of this report. A number.of small streams cross the coastal *zone, including catfish,, North, south and shakett creeks. To the interior, Fox and salt creeks branch Off Shakett Creek. Cow Pen Slough, another tributary in this inland area, has been diverted to form a canal. Portions of these inland waterways were inclu- ded in the archaeological survey. In total, land contained within 21 sec- tions of three townships, was examined. Miese include the following: Township 37 South, Range 18 East, Sections 27, 28, 33, and 34; Township 38 South, Range 18 East, Sections 3, 4, 10, 14, 15, 22, 23, 25, 26, 35 and 36; and Township 38 South, Range 19 East, Sections 20, 21, 28, 29, 30, and 31. Previous Work: Archaeological sites within this quadrangle map area have been the focus. of attention for over a century. The collections of artifacts and human remains made by Jokm G. Webb at his hamstead in Osprey, where he lived from 1867 until 1911, probably mark the first investigations into local abori- ginal sites. The Webb hcoestead and surrounding archaeological site ccmplex, recorded as 8So2, are today located within "Spanish Point at the Oaks," a preserve owned and by the Gulf Coast Heritage Association. Webb sent his collections to the Smithsonian. In 1918, Ales Hrdlicka also explored the Osprey site (8So2), made collections, and too sent them to the Smithsonian Institution. From 1959 to 1962 Adelaide and Ripley P. Bullen of the Florida Museum. of Natural History carried out test excavations at the Hill Cottage Midden, _qjell Ridge, Chapel Midden and burial mound at the Osprey site. The results of their work have been detailed in a 1976 publication (Bullen and Bullen 1976). Another early investigator of aboriginal sites in the Laurel vicinity was J.E. Moore, an amateur archaeologist and paleontologist. In 1932, just after most of the Laurel Mound (8So98) was hauled away by a Sarasota County road crew, he observed skeletons and pots PoMposed. His observations, including the presence of a pattern of radial burials at this site (Moore 1932a, 1932b), are elaborated in a recent article by Tal and AlW (1987). In 1961 County Historian Doris Daivis, ac companied by John Fales, perform- ed a wind1shield type survey of Sarasota County during which time several pre- historic sites within the Laurel quad map area-were noted. 'Some of these were relocated by Almy during a 1975 to 1976 assessment survey, and recorded with the Florida Bureau of Archaeological Research. over the past two decades, several archaeological survey projects have been conducted on properties scheduled for developnent.* The majority of these are located just to the east of US 41. Among the surveys are those conducted on the 400 acre Palmer Oaks tract (Miller 1974); the 500 acre Prestancia tract (Willis 1985); the Barclay tract (AlW and Lu 1986); Osprey Postal Station site (William 1987); various parcels of the Palmer Venture Development tract (Hardin and -Ballo 1987a, 1987b, 1987c; Austin and Ballo 1988a, 1988b); a 645 acre tract Just north of Oscar Scherer State Recreation Area (ACI 1988a); a segment of Laurel Road between US 41 and Interstate 75 (ACI 1988b); and the North Creek Golf Villas Developrent (ACI 1989a). In addition, archaeological 60 reconnaissance of Area "All within the Oscar Scherer State Recreation Area was carried out in 1987 as part of a Manatee Ccmamity College class instructed by Marion A-bry (Abry 1988).. Recently, a variety of archaeological investigations have been ccnductedby Archaeological Consultants, Inc. at the Spanish Point (8So2) site complex, including the monitoring of sewer line installations, for their inpact, on the site xaqponents present (ACI 1988b). The Catfish Creek site (8SO608), discovered as a result of professional survey on the Palmer Venture Development tract, has also been the scene of recent mitigative exca- vation (Austin and Russo 1989). Arc:haeolQgical work has been continued here, under the direction of Bob Austin, George I and Lauren Archibald, assisted by rambbers of the Time Sifters' a chapter of the Florida Anthropological Society. Recorded4geM=gg Sites: As a result of the above mentioned efforts, a total of 17 archaeological sites have been recorded within this quadrangle map study area. Of these, ten are situated within the coastal zone. These cultural re- sources include seven shell middens (8So28, -30, -59, -60, -90, -461, -and - 595); one lithic scatter (8So594); one burial mound (8So29); and the Osprey midden and mound complex (8So2). The remaining seven sites, located east of US 41, include two shell middens (8So6l, -438); two shell scatters (8So6O6, - 608); two burial mounds,(Wo62, -98), and a two acre village with reported burials (8So3). Most of these inland frcm the shore sites are situated along Catfish, Sotrth, or Shakett. creeks. In addition to these recorded sites, the Historic Resources Review Manual (Archibald 1988:39) lists seven "reported" sites, designated alphabetically. TWO (N and 0) are located along Cow Pen Slough, and one is at the shoreline of Blackburn Bay (S). Site IWI refers to an resource at the Osprey post office, and IIP,11 'IQ," and "R,[email protected] have, since preparation of the manual, been recorded as part of the Oscar Scherer II site complex (.8So606) (AJM 1988:Figure 2, p.5). Research Considerations/MethodolgW: Virtually the entire coastal strip within this quadrangle map area is marked as having a high potential for prehistoric site location, as per the maps prepared by Historic Property Associates. In addition, non-coastal areas along streams, which are characterized by rela- tively elevated terrain, better drained soils, and hammock or scrub vegeta- tion, were deemed to have the potential for prehistoric site location. The potential for historic period archaeological sites was also consider- ed. The laurel area was the center of turpentine and lumber activities during the initial four decad of the twentieth century. For example, to the east of US 41 and north of Laurel Roadf in the present Mission Valley Estates development, was the site of the former McKeithan still. Housing for the workers, a commissary, church and cemetery were components of this turpentine settlement (Arnall 1987, 1988; ACI 1988b: Figure 3). systematic archaeological suxvey of interior portions. of the laurel quadrangle map area lying along several swIl creeks, was facilitated by the participation of University of south Florida Archaeological Field School students., During three weeks in may, the USF haam conducted archaeological survey in portions of Knight's Trail Park, as well as a few large parcels of privately owTked undeveloped land to the east and West Of Fox Creek,, within TiowTmAdp 38 South, Range 19 East, Sections 20, 21, 29 and 30. A total of 317 61 shovel tests, mcinately 50 cm. in diameter and 100 an. deep, were exca- vated. In general, shovel tests were dug at 25 meter intervals along pedes- trian transects in relative-proximity (rx:) greater than 30 meters) to stream beds.- Occasionally, shovel-tests were placed in additional high probability areas, such as ridges or isolated knolls. Cnce cultural materials were recovered from a test pit, additional tests were dug at fixed distances from the original artifact bearing test pit, in order to delineate site boundaries. The cooperation of Mr. Robert Hall, Knight's Tz-4il Park, Sarasota Coupty Parks and Recreation Department, as well as Mr. C. B. Wildcx, foreman of the Ewirxj family holdings is gratefully acknowledged. In addition to the contributions of the USF Field School students and supervisors, members of the project team surveyed other interior lands along Shakett and Salt Creeks. Shovel tests were systematically as well as Judge- mentally placed- The coastal zone was surveyed by initially driving up and down the streets and checking for vacant land to surface inspect and subsurface test, as well as residentially developed lots where certain features, including unusual elevation, hammock vegetation, and/or the surface presence of cultural materials indicated a potential site location, Such developed lots were examined and/or subsurface tested only with the permission of the landowner. All areas surveyed as well as test pit locations are illustrated on the sec- ticn aerials which accompany this report. %MW Results: A total of 30 previously archaeological sites were located, recorded and assessed on the basis of background research, * informant information and archaeological field survey. These resources include 12 cera- mic scatters, five lithic scatters/lithics only sites, three shell middens, two artifact scatters, three shell scatters, three single artifact sites, one historic bridge and road segment, and an historic cemetery. These have been entered into the Florida Master Site File.as numbers 8So1313 through 8So1329; 8So1343 through 8So1352; and 8So1355 through 8So1357. In addition, several of the previously recorded sites were visited and assessed. Now Si : A total of 27 previously Unrecorded/unreported sites have been recorded in the Laurel quadrangle map area as a result.of field survey. Three additional sites, recorded on the basis of informant information, are described in the "Previously Recorded/Reported Sites" section which follows. In view of the large number of sites, and the reduralancy of their information- al value, this discussion will cluster certain prehistoric cultural resources, rather than describe each separately. Complete information for each site is found on the Florida Master Site File forms, contained in the second volume of this report. A. Sites in the Interiori Of the total sites recorded, 20 are located inland from the coast along Fox Creek, Salt Creek, and an unnamed stream that flows through Knight's Trail Park. Seventeen of these were found as part of the USF Summer Archaeological Field School work. Table 5 presents a summary of site information for the 19 prelustoric resources. In addition too these prefustoric sites, one historic period cemetery in the interior was located and recorded. The 20 interior sites include 11 ceramic scatters, four lithic scatters, one artifact scatter, and three single artifact sites, plus an historic ceme- 62 713ble 5. Swmiary of Sites F=id in the Interi= Zone of the I YAp Area. Artifacts # TPs/ Site Site Name Type Locale Sf Sub Depth # Prod. Size 1313 Park Stream CS KTP 0 9 0-30 16/3 49 1314 Faistic Road IS KTP 1 4 45-65 5/2 500 1315 Scrub Thicket CS lap 0 28 0-40 5/2 3 1316 Palmetto CS KIP 0 14 0-10 5/1 1 1317 Creek Shore CS Fox 0 4 10-20 4/1 1 1318 Cindy LS Fcoc 0 2 60-70 5/1 1 1319 Fowls Sherds CS Fox 0 68 40-90 16/10 416 1320 Horse Pasture CS Fox 0 3 0-30 4/1 1 1321 Wilccx Ceramic CS Fcx 0 100 10-75 22/12 484 1322 Curious Cow CS Fcx 0 3 10-50 4/1 4 1323 Sara is Fcx 0 3 0-20 .3/1 1 1324 One Flake SA Fcx 0 1 70 1/1 .25 1325 Fcx Creek CS Fox 0 9 20-60 4/2 4 1326 Sneaky Cow Sh Fcoc 0 1 10-20 3/1 1 1327 Fcx**s Flakes TIS Fox 0 4 30-80 6/3 7 1328 Jumping Fish SA Fox 0 1 77 3/1 1 1329 . Knight's Trail Pk. AS KIP 0 126 0-90 32/13 1260 1343 Linda CS Salt 3 129 0-20 1/1 1 1344 Victor Smith cs Salt 29 1 60 1/1 625 LE=: site Types: cs ceramic scatter Locale: Kip Knight's Trail LS Lithic Scatter Park AS Artifact Scatter SA Single Artifact 63 tery. Only three of the 19 prehistoric sites exhibited surface expression, in the form of a single flake or a few sherds. The remaining 16 were discovered as a result of systematic and judgemental subsurface testing. In eight of th4 16 cases where nultiple test pits were excavated, artifacts were recovered from only a single shovel hole. Here, the total artifact assemblage recovered numbered only three to five specimens per site. In general, these sites were marked by very limited artifact assemblages, as well as small areal extents. Twelve sites yielded 1 than nine arti- facts. Site size ranged from [email protected] to 1260 square raters, with more than half less than 10 square meters in-size. No temporally diagnostic lithic artifacts were discovered. Of the total 15 pieces of lithic debitage recovered from five sites, all were small chert non-decortication type flakes. Six showed evidence of thermal alteration. In general, such lithic debris is indicative of late stage tool manufacture or refurbishment. All pottery recovered was sand-tempered plain in type. Of the total 15 sites yielding ceramics, five (8So1313, -1321, -1322, -1329, and - 1343) had a few rinsherds among the assemblage. Mese can be used to tenta- tavely date the periods of site occupation (cf. Luer and A1W 1980, 1982). With the exception of two slightly inward curving rim with rourkled lips, indicative of a 200 B.C. to A.D. 700 (Tal and Almy 1982: Figure 3, page 45) date of o=upaticn for one compcnent of 8So1321, the straight rims with rounded lip (8So1321, -1322) and sligMly outcurving rim with flattened lips (8So1313, -1329, -1343) indicate temporal/cultural affiliations for these sites of A.D. 400 to Safety Harbor and A.D. 800 to Safety Harbor respectively (cf. III and " 1982: Figure 3, page 45). The remaining ten pottery bearing sites can be said to date to post-Archaic tunes. All these interior prehistoric sites are situated on relatively elevated terrain proximate to a source of potable water. On the basis of the assem- blages recovered, all can be considered short-term, sPecial-use type sites, probably of an extractive or task-oriented nature. 7hese may have been occu- pied on a seasonal or transitory basid by peoples otherwise resident on the coast for the greatest part of the year. In summary, it should be noted that had it not been for the intensity of survey efforts in this interior zone, facilitated by a team of almost 20 indi- chial--- from the USF field school, the majority of these sites would have gone undetected. Almost all are small sites with little or no surface visibility and limited artifact assemblages. In addition to these prehistoric period sites, one historic period site, the Laurel cemetery, was recorded in the non-coastal portion of the Laurel study - area. site information is derived from background research, informant interviewing,, and field survey. Florida Mster Site File number .1he Laurel cemetery, assigned the 8So1345, is located in the southwest quarter of Section 30, Township 38 South, Range 19 ra . It occupies a parcel of undeveloped land at the end of High- land Circle, in the Mission Valley Estates residential development. The 1ndIvidual graves are no longer marked, and there are no tangible on-site indications that there is, in fact, a cemetery at this location. Its exact boundaries are unknom. Reportedly, when Highland Circle was constructed in 1958, coffins were unearthed (Huskey 1983). 64 The Laurel Cemetery site was pointed out by Elizabeth (Betty) Arnall, who accompanied Deming in the field. This locale was, in turn, sham to her by C. B. Wilcox, foreman and overseer of the Baing family holdings in Laurel, including the land now developed as Mission Valley Estates. The number of individuals interred here is not known. It is generally understood, however, that these persons were black turpentine workers who labored at the [email protected]= still during the 1920s and 1930s (Arnall n.d.; Huskey 1983). A comninity developed around the W.Keithan still, wtuch included housing for the workers, a commissary, and church. ' I B. Sites in the Coastal A total of seven unrecorded sites were discovered along the coastal zone as contained in the USGS Laurel project area. These are individually described as follows: 21. Webb Street Scatter (8So1346) - This multi-ccaponeryt. site consists of a prehistoric artifact scatter as well as an historic period dump. It is located an a now vacant lot, due south of the foot of Webb Street, in the southwest quarter of Section 3, Tlownship 38 South, Range 18 Ea . As per the USGS Laurel quad dated 1943, two homes formerly sat on the east end of this lot, to the south of Webb Street and west of Palmetto Street. At the time of survey, the houses were gone. Two raised earth platforms, situated side by side, marked the former hcresites. A ditch is to the south, and a vacant area with scattered live oaks marks the zone between the homesites and Little Sarasota Bay. Gtound surface reconnaissance revealed the presence of widely scattered dMestic and building debris, including fragments of brick, window and bottle glass, ceramics, etc. A total of-five subsurface shovel tests were excavated across the vacant lot. of these, three were productive of a total two waste flakes and one sand-tempered plain sherd. ' Three quahog clam left valves were also found at 0 to 25 cms in the same test that yielded a flake at 60 cms. On the basis of this evidence, the prehistoric site component is classified as an artifact scatter. It dates to the post-Archaic period, and nay be temporally/ culturally associated with the previously recorded shell midden site, 8So6O, situated just to the north of Webb street at the bayshore. 8So1346 is in very deteriorated condition, having been degraded by residential developnent and the use as a parking area for boaters utilizing the Webb Street boatramp. The histr .)ric refuse component is confined to the general site surface Debris is widely scattered. Me majority of refuse is believed to date Prior to the 1940s, probably from the 1920s to 1930s. A concrete seawall at the bayshore is engraved IIST 1927.11 It is probable that the two homes were occupied around this time. old wooden pilings were also observed in the bay at the foot of this lot. 22. Bennie Site (8So1347) - This site, situated in the southwest quarter Of Section 3, TowTiship, 38 South, Range 18 East, was reported by a local resident, mrs. Norma ("Bennie") Komarek. A visit was made to the Komarek residence to inspect the cultural materials reported. These included three bifa which I&S. Komarek reported as having been exposed by erosion of the shoreline directly north of their dock. The three bifaces are of the Florida Archaic Stemmed type. TWO are Chert; one of coral. T`Wo are broken; One COMplete. All have been discolored black. No subsurface testing was done in the landscaped Komarek yard- However, directly north of the Komarek property, at a point within five meters Of wtlere 65 the b1faces were reportedly collected, three small shovel tests were excavated- These test Pits revealed an upper deposition of fill, underlain by very wet fine sand. No cultural materials were observed. In addition, the shoreline was walked from the Kcmarek dock north to the foot of Webb Street. No cultural materials or features were observed. In sum, the origin of these specimens is unknown. on one hand, they my have eroded out-of a shoreline site; on the other hand, they could originate from a now inundated terrestrial site covered by the bay waters. on the basis of the artifact types, the Bennie site can be dated to the Archaic period, circa 5000 to 1000 B.C. (Bullen 1976). It is presumed-destroyed. 23.. Lychee Lane Grove (8So1348) - This shell and artifact scatter type site, located in the southwest quarter of Section 23, TaQiship 38 South, Range 18 East, was discovered as a result of ground surface reconnaissance in an abandoned citrus grove slated for residential development. A small cluster of clam shell was noted on the surface, A total of three subsurface shovel tests were excavated in the disturbed area in and near the surface shell. As a result, one sand-tenpered plain sherd and a small amoLmt of associated clam and scallop shell were found in the upper 25 cms of one test pit, and shell only in the top 20 cms of another. The third shovel hole was devoid of prehistoric cultural materials, as were the two addit-ibnal test pits excavated to the south and north. As a result of archaeological field investigatiQn, 8So1348 is estimated to measure about 30 meters by 30 meters. The sherd wmld indicate a post- Archaic occupation/utilization, circa 1000 B.C. to the 1600s. The site has been largely [email protected] as a result of grove planting and maintenance. 24. Wall Midden (8So1349) - This shell midden type site is located in the northeast quarter of Section 35, Township 38 South, Range 18 East. The site was first pointed up as a result of bacJaground research, and verified through field inspection. A site in this general locality was noted by Doris Davis and John Fales during their 1961 windshield survey. HOWeverr no descriptive notes were re- corded by these investigators, and the clue to the location of this prehis- toric cultural resource was in the form of a dot on the Fales and Davis field MP- A field visit to the area revealed a large black dirt and shell midden on a privately owned, residentially developed lot along Blackburn Bay, to the south of Laurel Road. The site area was elevated and vegetated with cabbage palm and live oaks. The lwx1cwners home is adjacent to the midden on the southwest. Patchy exposures at the ground surface and tree bases revealed oyster, clam, lightning whelk, tulip, and king's crown shells in a matrix of dark black soil. What may have been the fragment of a human jaw was exposed when a large whelk was kicked up. Close visual inspection and subsurface testing were hampered and precluded by the urXNX)perativeness of the landowner, who stated that the midden observed was brought in for driveway fill. Clearly, the clean white shell driveway fill was . e with the midden observed. Further, according to the owner, in former years he bulldozed a swath through the middle of the property, where the midden is located, and revealed "nothing." Clearly, on the basis of the observed midden in this locality, the landowner is mistaken.. Further, the site observed is an in si deposit, rather than redeposited materials. 66 8SO1349 measures about 60 meters in length by 30 meters in width. It is oriented *in a roughly. north/south direction, paralleling the shore of Blackburn Bay. The depth of the cultural deposit is unknown, but is believed to measure at least 1.5 meters in some places. The period of site occupation is also unknown. This shell midden is in very good to excellent condition, despite some alteration. It may contain human burials, as indicated by an upturned fragment of jaw which might be human. The uncooperativeness of the landowner prevented closer inspection and identification. 25. Haucke (8So1350) - This shell scatter type site, located in the northeast quarter of Section 26, TowTiship, 38 South, Range 18 East, was first indicated as a result of background research, and verified by field survey. Examination of the Fales and Davis survey map indicated'a site (#65) marked for this general area. However, no descriptive notes associated with this find *were mad by these investigators. The general site area visited during this field survey is a high bluff overlooking Blackburn Bay. The foot of Hill Street is directly to the south. Cabbage palms vegetate the otherwise yard of a private residence. According to the landowner, nothing unusual has ever been found during gardening activities. However, permission to excavate a test pit in the yard revealed the presexice of a thin shell scat- ter, composed of oyster with minor inclusions of broken quahog clam. No pot- tery or other cultural materials were noted. The shell is confined to the upper 25 centimeters of gray colored fine sand. This is underlain by tan sand, devoid of shell and other cult:ural materials. A second shovel test was excavated in the undeveloped lot dumatly to the north. A.Lw elevated, and vege ated with cabbage pal plus lan-leaf pine, su slirface testing revealed a natural profile of gray (0-20 cm), white (10-50 cm), and tan (50-100 cm) colored flne sand. No -shell or other cultural materials were observed. Cn the basis of these data, the Haucke site is recorded as a probable aboriginal shell scatter. Mile the exact areal dimensions are unknown,.it is presumed small in size, probably less than 10 meters in diameter. Depth Of the cultural deposit is 25 . The site cannot be dated, given the absence of temporally . c artifacts. It is in fair condition, having largely been disturbed by residential developrient and lawn cultivation and maintenance. 26. Oaks/Vamo Midden (8So1351) - This shell midden type site, located in the southwest quarter of Section 34, Tv*Tjship 37 South, Range 18 East, was discovered during archaeological field recauuiissance of an undeveloped, peninsula shaped tract, bounded by Catfish Creek to the east and North Creek to the west and south. Vano, Way is to the north. The site area is to the west of an old north/south trail, at a point where North Creek bends to the right. It is elevated and marked by live oak, cabbage palm, and ceda The easternmos portion of the site area was originally observed because of the amount of illicit excavation here. Several large potholes and piles of midden debris were noted. Cyster and clam appear to be the dominant shellfish tielk, pear whelk, scallop, and other species, with fighting conch, lightning w species included. Sherds of sand-tempered plain pottery were also observed in the spoil piles. The site continues west, paralle1ing North Creek. At its western e&.ent, it joins w:Lth previously recorded site SSo28. In general, Ithi --, Portion of the 67 site had not been vandalized. Midden material was slighly exposed in patchy ground surface exposures, as well as along mosquito control ditches. The Oaks/Vamo Midden midden is estimated to measure approximately 180 meters east/west by 40 meters r)orth/scuth. A [email protected] shovel test excavated in the eastern portion of the site area revealed an upper 50 centimeter thick strata of shell and a few animal bones, in a matrix of dark gray soil. This was underlain bV a zone of light shell and dark gray soil at 50 to 70 cms, following by lighter gray sand with no shell at 70 to 100 cms. Thus, the depth of the cultural deposit is approximately 70 cms. 8So1351 is in good condition, despite prior alterations. 27. Catfish Creek Bridge/Webb Road (8So1352) - This historic period site is currently evidenced by a series of wooden pilings which mark the former supports for a bridge which crossed North and Catfish Creeks. Only the' segment spanrung Catfish Creek is still extant. The pilings are placed in parallel rows of three across, spaced at 1.25 meter intervals. Distance between the posts, going north to south, is 2.8 meters. Beginning with the first set of pilings at the north, the eleventh set of posts is.topped by a square cut wood crossbeam measuring 15 cms. high by 15 cins. long. The sets of pilings can be followed across Catfish Creek, ending at elevated land which marks the continuation of the old road to the south. This general area is presently under residential development (The Oaks Preserve). The lower 60 to 80 cms of each piling has been encased in concrete, a seemingly later addi- tion. The path of the old bridge supports is presently marked by oyster bars and the growth of mangroves. Frm the =-th shore of Catf ish Creek begim a road. At a distance of approdmately 200 feet north of the creek bank, the road forks to both the east and west/northwest to north. rIbe latter branch extends a distance of about 1400 feet, before ending at piles of modern refuse (300 feet south of Vamo Way). This road segment is surfaced with shell, which appears to have been derived fran an aboriginal midden. Both forks of the road mark the transition line between hammock and pine flatwoods vegetation cammmities. The bridge piluxgs and road appear to be in line with the Webb homestead at VISpanish, Point" to the south. Acccrding to Jan Matthews (Personal =muu- cation), this road segment(s) may be part of Public Road 16205, which dates to the Webb family occupation period. "Me road from John Webb's Spanish Point homestead to Sarasota had been finished in 1876 . . - It turned north at the eastern boundary of the homestead, crossing North Creek by a bridge and ford- ing Catfish Creek" (Matthews 1983:304). The shell surfacing material may have been taken from one or more of the shell middens on the Webb property, recor- ded as part of the Ospreysite complex (Wo2). ftwiamly Tkd/Rqxrted Sites: Of the total 17 previously recorded archaeological sites, a few were relocated, examined and assessed. The results of this effort are briefly summarized below, following the descrip- ticns of the reported sites. The four currently unrecorded sites/site areas reported by informants and assigned an alphabetical listing in the Historic Resource Review manual, were all searched for, relocated and recorded during this project. In the case of reported site 110,11 several ceramic scatter sites were newly recorded for the general area. These resources are described as follows: 68 1. Osprey Post Office Site (8So1355) This site, designated IIIWI in the Historic Resources Review Manual (Archibald 1988:39), was reported as a shell scatter by George Tal . In 1987 the 4.8 acre proposed Osprey post office site, within which 8So1355 is situated, was arcbaeologically surveyed (Williams 1987). As a result of this effort, which included ground surface inspection and systematic subsurface testing, a total of two sand tempered plain sherds were-found in two contiquous test pits. Given this sparse evidence, these finds were not believiad to warrant site classification. to this systematic survey, this proposed post office property was visited and archaeologically examined by George Tal , who reported collecting clam shell and sand-tempered plain pottery from the disturbed ground surface. The area was visited during this survey project, and found to be completely destroyed by land alteriM. activities associated with post office construction. Thus, this now destroyed site is recorded on the basis of the combined Williams and Tal data. It is a very small, diffuse, shell and artifact scat- ter which dates sometime after 1000 B.C. It was located in the northeast quarter of Section 10, Tlownship 38 South, Range 18 East. 2. The Sack of Sherds Site (8So1356) - This site, designated IV' in the His- toric Resources Review Manual (p.39), was reported by George TA, . Information about this site was previously communicated to Tal by Dan Hazeltine, who had been taken to the site area by Bill Hurt, brother of landowner Carlton Hurt. Hazeltine collected a "bagfull" of sand-tempered plain sherds, reportedly from a high sand ridge composed of yellow sand. Sherds were recovered from as deep as three feet below surface (Til , personal communication). On the basis of the thick walled ceramics, TA has dated this site as possible Early Manasota. Landowner Carlton an-t was.contacted by gxne and asked for permission to survey his sizable acreage to the south of Salt creek, including the general vicinity of site 'IN." Wile very helpful in providing information, Mr. Hurt denied access to the property. n=, the site, of necessity, is recorded as per informant information only. It is classified as a ceramic scatter, and plotted in the nortlywest quarter of Section 28, Township 38 South, Range 19 East. The land within which this site is located is presently used as a cattle pasture. Presumably, with the aception of uncontrolled digging, this site is in altered, but at least fair condition. 3. Blackburn Bay Midden (8So1357) - 1his shell midden type site, designated 'IS" in the Historic Resources Review Manual (p. 39), was reported by George Tal .. Acocnpanied by mt. Ti , this site area was visited during the survey project. It is situated in the yards of residences at 1501, 1505, and 1509 Bayshore Road, to the north of Laurel Road. The general site area is marked by high relative elevation and hammock vegetation (live oak/cabbage Palm). The northwest corner of the site is at the dock at 1509 Bayshore. Immediately to the south, there is a seawall and about five meters of fill between the bay and the west edge of the midden. Shell observed on the ground' surface included oyster, clam, scallop, li4itening whelk, fighting conch, and pear whelk. According to informant George Ta , who resides here, he and his landlord have, over the years, col- lected sand-tempered as well as sand and limestone-tempered pottery, a bone point, and human skeletal remains. The latter were observed at the dock in the yard of 1509 Bayshore. overall, the condition of this midden, located in 69 the southeast quarter of Section 26, Township 38 South, Range 18 RA-st, is excellent. 4. 11011 - This general area along Cow Pen Slough was surveyed by the Univer- sity of South Florida field school crew. On the *basis of surface reconnaidsance and systematic and judgemental subsurface testing, several small ceramic scatter-type sites were discovered. These have been asigned the FNSF numbers 8So1313 through 8So13J6. Thus, reported. site 11011 has been recorded as several. separate cultural resources, one or more of which may cor- respond to the general site area, as originally reported. The following discussion concerns the relocation and/or general evalua- tion of previously recorded sites. Several were not visited as part of this survey project, since they were originally recorded and described by profes- sicnal archaeologists within the past decad or so, or because they have been recently visited by other professional or amateur archaeologists who were in- terviewed during this project. 1. 8So2 - This site canplex, listed on the Naticnal Register of Historic Places, has been well described in the literature. It has, and continues to be, the focus of archaeological investigations. Thus, while visited, it was riot subjected to field survey during this project. Fzwver, upon the request of T-inda Williams, Director of Spanish Point at the Oaks, the Florida Master Site File for 8So2 was updated, specifically to delineate better the several archaeological site CaLponents which are elements of this complex. These ccm- ponents, including the Palmr Burial mound, Archaic midden, Shell Ridge, etc., are included in the site file forms in the second volume of this report. 2. 8So3 - The Pool Hammock site was first investigated in the 1930s by H.L. schoff , who described it as a two acre village having an 18 inch deposit of cultural debris (Willey 1949:343). Pottery types recovered indicate OOcLIPa- tion during the Weeden Island and Safety Harbor periods - This site was also visited during the Fales and Davis (1961) and Almy (1976) county a Lsments. According to a recent article by Tal and AJMY (1987:301), the Pool Hammock site is today in an area that "straddles the lawns of private homes and the margin of a swampy hardwood hammock-11 No systematic, professional archaeolog- 1cal irTvestigaticn of this potentially significant site has ever been carried out. Field inspection during the present survey Project was' constrained due to fenced and posted land and an absentee owner. Access from the east, via the railroad tracks, was blocked by deep ditches and swamp. Thus, the site area proper, as per the site location on the Laurel map on file at the Sarasota county cm, was not inspected. Present site condition is unknown. 3. 8So28 - Ihe mosquito Control Site is a shell midden recorded by Swindell and Miller in 1974, as a result of their survey of the Palmer Oaks tract. This site was field checked during the current project, and found to be as described in 1974. it is cut by a mosquito control ditch, but shows no other alterations. This small site, as originally recorded, my in fact be part of the larger Oaks/Vamo Midden (8SO1351), recorded as a result of this current project- 4. aso2g -The Burial Island Mound site is a sand burial motirid located in the center of a hammock island. It was originally recorded by %Andell and Miller as a result of their Palmer Oaks tract survey- According to informant George Luer, who has recently visited 8So29, this cultural resource is currently being vandalized. Accessible by boat, this site was not visited during this 70 survey project. 5. 8So30 - Bu2qtial Island Midden, a shell midden type site located 75 feet northeast of 8So29 on the edge of a hanmock island, was also recorded by Swin- dell and Miller in 1974. It was not visited during this'project, and thus, its present condition is unknown. 6. 88qSo59 - The Osprey Point site was originally noted by Fales and Davis (1961) and recorded by Almy (1976). In 1986,-it was visited, desiribed, and assessed as part of the survey of the Barclay proposed development tract (Almy and Tu 1986). Me portion of this shell midden site contained within the Barclay property was found to be intact, with good integrity. On the basis of the pottery recovered, the Osprey Point site was dated from the Weeden Island/late Manasota to early Mississippian periods, circa A.D. 500 to 1200. the site was adjudged significant, and potentially eligible for nomination to the National. Register. It was not visited as part of the current project. 7. 8So6O - The Wood Midden, a shell midden type site, was first described by Fales and Davis (1961), and recorded by A0W (1976). Men last visited by Almy in 1976, it was assessed to be in fair, although altered, condition. nus site was visited during the current project, and found to be little changed since the time of Almyls visit. A gazebo COntUcted 0n the mickln, near the baysshore, served to expose some midden shell and gone piece of sand- tempered plain pottery. To the south, midden was visible at the base of sane cabbage palm. 8. 8So61 - This shell Midden, situated within Oscar Scherer State Recreation Area (OSSRA), war. first noted by Fales and Davis in 1961, then recorded by Alny in 1976. By 1976, it bad been destroyed, as per the AW data. The temporal/cultural affiliation is unknown. 9. 8So62 - The Salt Creek Mound, also noted by Fales and Davis in 1961 and recorded by Almy, was noted as destroyed during the AlnTy assessMent. It had been leveled by cultivation of an orange grove. The period of this site is unknown. 10. 8S090 - The Titown shend Shores shell midden site, noted in 1961 by Fales and Davis and recoded by Amly in 1976, was destroyed by 1976. The period is unknown. 11. 8So98 - The Laurel Mound, a Safety Harbor period burial mound, first des- cribed by J.E. Moore in the 1930s (Moore 1932a, 1932b), is no longer extant. The general site area was recently subjected to intensive, professional arch- a :)logical investigation during survey of Laurel Road (Archaeological Consul- tants, Inc. 1988). No remnants of this cultural feature could be found. This site was the focus of a recent study by Tal and Alny, published in The Florida 52q&56qt60qh40q=28qglg0qg72qL4qi (1987). 12. 8So438 - The martin/m24qc24qGuire site is a large, well-preserved shell midden 8qo04qn 36qS36qhakett Creek 4qi04qn Taurel. It was briefly visited and described during Amys 1985 City of Venice survey. the noted that artifacts previously found by local residents included ,sand-t0 plain , worked animal bone, bone pins, lithic d is, shark teeth tools and a shell bead" (Almy 1985:33). The site was believed to date to one or more post-Archaic periods, and was evaluated as Status A, denoting that it warranted Preservation Or complete excavation prior to addtional, disturbances Or destruction- The 71 Martin/McGuire site is also mentioned in a recent publication by Luer and Ahry (1987:301), who conclude that this midden "is significant because it adds another factor to prehistoric exploitation of oysters in this estuarine area." The site is in excellent condition, and protected- from vandalism by the resident owner. It was not field inspected during this project. 13. 8So461 - The Florida - I and Site is a shell midden originally described as two sites by Fales and Davis (#s 62 and 63) (1961). In 1976, Almy combined these .sites into one. The site was destroyed by the tim of Ahry's assess- ment. The general site area was visited duriM this survey and found, as AlW noted, to be altered by filling, seawall construction, and residential devel- opme-nt 14. 8So594 - The Barclay site is a low density lithic scatter discovered as a result of archaeological survey of the Barclay Tract (AlW and Luer 1986). At the tim of survey, it had been badly disturbed by sand mining. Thus, in view of its degraded condition, it was not considered significant. The site area was visited during the current project, and found to be as described in 1986. 15. 8So595 - The Melnick site is a shell midden, also discovered as a result of survey of the Barclay tract (AIny and Tu 1986). Based upon the recovery Of a rinsherd, it was tentatively dated as Early Manasota, circa 500 B.C. to A.D. 300. It was described as severely damaged by earthmoving. 9ftile the exact locality of this site was not visited, the Barclay tract has not yet been developed. Thus, the site condition is presumed little changed since 1986. 16. 8So6O6 - The Oscar Scherer II site is an extensive shell scatter, discov- ered by Marion AIW and students from Manatee Comnmity College duriM systematic survey of selected portions of OSSRA. Scme 7rillponents of the larger site area had been destroyed; others were in good condition. This resource was considered regionally significant, and recoitatended for preservation. 17. 8So6O8 - The Catfish Creek site is a shell scatter di Nered by Piper Archaeological Researth, Inc., during survey of the Palmer Ventures Develop- ment in 1988. Deemed potentially significant, it was subjected to limited test excavation (Austin and Russo 1989). Continued excavations of a larger site area are cgrrently beuxj carried out here, under the direction of Bob Austin, ' George Tal and Lauren Archibald. The site is in good condition, and considered regionally significant. Mile riot visited during the current sur- vey project, that area lyug to the west, across US 41, was subjected to subsurface shovel testing. The cultural deposit was found not to extend this far to the west. Negative Data: All traces of the McKeithan still, and the workers set- tlement formerly located north of T-aurel Road, have been obliterated by devel- opment. This general area, w1uch formerly contained, housing for the workers, a ccmussary, church and cemetery, is now marked by homes in the Mission Valley Estates residential ccmmmity. The burial ground, not yet built upon, has been recorded as a site (See discussion of 8So1345 in 'New Sites" section above) . In general, the lard to the east of Shakett Creek, as contained in the southeast quarter of Section 30, T38S, R19E, was not [email protected] of archaeo- logical sites or cultural materials. Survey efforts here included ground 72 surface inspection, as well as th6 excavation of 12 shovel tests. According to Almy (Personal communication) , prior archaeological reconnaissance in this area also yielded negative results. Similarly, archaeological survey of a small area along the north bank of South Creek, as situated west of US 41 in the southwest quarter of Section 14, T38S., R18E, was similarly devoid of prehistoric and early historic period cul- tural materials. Subsurface testing in this area indicated disturbance by fill. In the southwest quartex of Section 34, T37S, -R18E, is a peninsular shaped parcel of land slated for residential development. This tract is bounded on the east by Catfish Creek, and on the south and west by North Creek. Vamo Way is to the north. The area is marked by several wide, sandy vehicle trails, 'made by the passage of heavy equipment. Construct-ion of a bridge across North Creek has also served to expose large areas of sandy ground surface. This network of roads in the largely pine flatwoods environ- ment provided a good sample for surface reccnraissance. All such roads were walked out, and checked for the presence of surface cultural materials. Only a single waste flake was observed in the area disturbed by bridge construc- ticn. The excavation of two subsurface tests at this locality failed to pro- duce additional cultural materials. This was considered an 111solated find-" Th the west of the new bridge, along the fringe of the peninsula,. is hammock vegetation. This hammock zone separating the pine flatuxxds frcm the Creek,, however,, is all believed to have high prehistoric site location potential. It is flagged as preservation area, and hopefully will not be adversely impacted by development. Archaeological survey of a small area to the east of Catfish Creek, as situated south of Vamo Way and west of US 41, was similarly non-productive of prehistoric or early historic period cultural materials. No evidence for the continuation of the Catfish Creek Site (8So608) could be found. Several other discrete survey areas along the coastal zone of the USGS I.aurel quadrangle map area, deemed to have a moderate to high site location potential, yielded negative results. These localities are marked on the sec- tion aerials which ac=qoany this report* Test pit informtion is provided in the field notes, which also acccmparry this report. Site Ealuati of site condition/data quality and signifi- C /Naticml Register eligibility for the total 47 newly and previously discovered archaeological sites within the coastal and riverine areas of the usGs Laurel quadrangle 'map area are summarized in Table 6.. Site locations are illustrated in Figures 6A, 6B,, and 6C. of the total sites recorded, 15 or almost 33% have been Completely des- troyed or sevexely altered (Data 01ality Categories 5 and 4 respectively) - However, if only the sites to the west of US 41, within the coastal zone pro- per, are ccnsldered, disc=tanq the numerous small, largely intact ceramic and lithic scatter sites in the interior, there is a marked increase in the percentage of sites destroyed or in very poor cmdition. Specifically, of the total 18 coastal zone archeological sites, 10 or 55% are heavily deteriorated or destroyed. All coastal zone sites have been altered to some degree- 73 Table.6. Evaluaticn of cal Sites in the I LMUM1 Quadrangle MP Area. Site Site Nam Site Type Data Quality NR 8So2 osprey Midden/Mound 2 A Complex 8So3 Pool Hamnock Village 6 C 8So28 Mosquito Control Shell Midden 3 E 8SO29 Burial Island Md. Burial Mound 3 D 8So3O Burial Isl. Midden Shell Midden 3 D 8So59 osprey Point Shell Midden 2 B 8So6O Wood Midden Shell Midden 3 C 8So61 OSSRA I Shell Midden 5 E 8So62 Salt Creek Mound Burial Mound 5 E 8So9O Townshend Shores Shell Midden 5 E 8So98 Laurel Mound Burial Mound 5 E 8So,438 Martin/NdGuire Shell Midden 1 5 8So461 Florida Land Shell Midden 5 E 8So594 Barclay Lithic Scatter 5 E 8So595 Melnick Shell Midden 4 E 8So6O6 OSSRA II Shell Scatter 3 C 8So6O8' Catfish Creek Shell Scatter 2 B 8So1313 Park Stream Ceramic Scatter 1 E 8So1314 Ftustic Road 11thic Scatter 2 E 8So,1315 Scrub Thicket Ceramic Scatter 1 8So1316 Palmetto Ceramic Scatter 1 E 8So1317 Creek Sbore Ceramic Scatter E 74 Table 6. Evaluation of Sites in the I Taivel, a map Area. ([email protected]) Site Site Name Site Type Data Quality NR 8So1318 Cindy Lithic Scatter 1 E 8Soi319 Fcmcls Sherds Ceramic Scatter 1 E 8So1320 Horse Pasture Ceramic Scatter 1 E 8So1321 Wilcox ceramic ceramic Scatter 1 C 8So1322 curious cow Ceramic Scatter 1 E 8So1323 Sara Lithic Scatter 1 E 8So1324 One Flake Single Artifact 1 E 8So1325 Fcx Creek Ceramic Scatter 1 E 8So1326 -%xmky Cow Single Artifact 1 E 8So1327* Fox's Flak Lithic Scatter 1 E 8So1328 Jumping Fish Single Artifact 1 E 8So1329 M-Light-'s Trail Artifact Scatter 1 C Park 8So1343 Linda Ceramic Scatter 4 E 8So1344 Victor Smith Ceramic Scatter 4 E 8So1345 Laurel Cemetery Camtery (Hist.) 2 C 8So1346 Webb Street Scat. Artifact Scatter/ 4 E Historic refuse 8So1347 Bemie Lithics 5 E 8So1348 Lychee Lane Grove Shell Scatter 5 E 8So1349 Wall Midden Shell Midden 2 B 8So1350 Haucke Shell Scatter 4 E 8So1351 Oaks/Vamo Midden- Shell Midden 2 B 75 Table 6. Of 'Cal in the I Tmwel Quadrangle Map Area. (Continued) site Site Name Site Type Data Quality NR 8So1352 Catfish Creek Bridge/ Bridge/Road 4 C Webb Road Segment 8So1355 Osprey Post Office Shell Scatter 5 E 8So1356 Sack of Sherds Ceramic Scatter 6 D 8So1357 Blackburn Bay Midden Shell Midden 2 B 76 R 1 E 27 26 25 'VAMO 28 35 36 1334 T 61. 3 30 3 5t2 290 U 7 0608 S T 3 C 8 S 3 2 -4 &60 -3 voily 355 "PP 59 U41 0 12 0 "PP 0 461 OSS Z A 15 14 13 90 06 'VAM 28 3-91 13qC2 0608 C 01 Figure 6A. Lcc;[email protected]*of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Laurel Map Area (Northern part of map area). 77 0 tv 98 9 So1350 8So 357 I RO D- it It0 a [email protected] 4 $C 8Sc 13 Uj Figure 6B. Location of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Laurel Map Area (South portion). m 19 20 2 po 0 6 n rt rt e [email protected] @4 a Mo1317- 0 0 68(, 0 :3 1328 d CL 0 M I-h qj Fl-> n m rr n Fj- =1 :3 fu MISSIO QQ m Vail y 0 0 0 m 0 29 @- aq M FA- Ir n n _fe rt va 8SO62 Solt m [email protected] 30 0. (A '28 m @-4 rt w 8SoI345 (A rt r? = H m m 0 a EI Laurel Road SoM m > 32 3--- m 79 The OsWey Site, a malti-period archaeological site complex cQntaining shell middens and a burial mound, in addition to historic period components, the only recorded site within this quadrangle map area which is already listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a result of field is survey, six others are considered eligible and six potefitially eligible, but require further archaeological testing to make a final determination of signi- ficance/eligibility. of the six sites evaluated as #gnificant, and eligible for -National Register nomination. as per NR criteria I'd", five are shell middens and one is a shell scatter. In general, all are believ;[email protected] to have the pDtential to yield information of importance to regional culture history. Of particular interest is the potential to learn mor about resource utilization in the coastal zone over tire. Most, if not all, of these shell midden sites, probably contain intact cultural stratigraphy spanning several periods of prehistoric culture. There is also the possibility that human remains may be included in one or more of these sites. The seven sites adjudged to be potentially significant, but requiring further supporting data, include a "village site," shell midden, shell scatter, ceraMIC scatter, artifact scatter,- historic cemetery, and historic bridge ruins and road secjaexrt. All but one of the prehistoric period sites are situated outside the coastal zone. The functional nature of non-coastal sites, and the relationship between these occupations and those along the coast, are topics of great curmvnt research interest. If found to contain intact cultural deposits which have the potential to yield archaeological data of significance, then these resources should be considered eligible for list- ing in the National Register, as per criteria I'd." 8So606, a shell scatter; 8So1321, a ceramic scatter; and 8So1329, an artifact scatter, are considered to be the best examples of their type for the region, and in a relatively good state of preservation. 8So1352, an historic bridge and road, may date to the earliest perjod of non-aboriginal settlement in this region. Historical re- search will be needed to establish w;hether these constructed features are associated with the Webb occupation or the later Palmer period. Reccomendations: Rdle cemeteries are generally not considered eligible for nomination to the National Register, as a resting place for the dead, all cem- eteries, both marked and urmarked, are protected by Florida Statute 872-05 which protects all human burial sites'* The Laurel Cemetery contains the re- of an unknown number of children and adults. These are mostly black turperrtine workers and members of their families. Individual gravesites are no longer marked. Based upon extensive interviewing, Sarasota County Histori- cal Ccmmission member Betty Arnall has been able to plot the location of this burial ground. The Laurel Cemetery is contained in one of the few undeveloped lots remaining in Mission Valley Estates. Development pressure is acute. As a means of preventing illegal disturbance to these cjraves, a survey of the cemetery area should be undertaken, using remote sensing technology such as resistivity or ground penetrating radar. In this way, individual interments can be delineated. The parmike of the cemetery could than be fenced, and the cemetery camnemorat-ed with a permanent marker. The unmarked cemetery M=s sbould be a&n-ged by the com-ity of the need to avoid disturbing the unmarked human remains. ' with passage of a C=Tty Preservation Ordinance, the owners could be provided incentives for keeping this lot undeveloped. rib the north of "Spanish Point at the Oaks" in Osprey, in the area arrxuid the mouth of North Creek, are Several previously as well as newly recorded prehistoric and historic period sites. These include three Shell middens 80 (8So28, 8So3O and 8So1351), a burial mound (8So29), and the remains of a probable late,19th century bridge and road (8Sol352). At present, these are all threatened by the destructive actions of residential development and/or site vandalism. Both the newly recorded Oaks/Vamo Midden (8So1351) and the Catfish-Ncrth Creek Bridge/Webb Road (SSol352) are in an area where develop- ment is inminent. Surveyor's stakes, marking the wetlands pro Bction zone, cut through the shell midden site area, indicating that the major portion of this cultural.feature, lying Just outside the pro %ctive area, will be ad- versely impacted.' Similarly, the Webb Road, a on route possibly dating from the 1870s, [email protected]@bly will also be destroyed. These resources are adjudged to be regionally significant, and potentially eligible for nomination to the National Register. The Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources is urged to notify the owner/developer of the presence of these iites, and the need for their pro @ctian. For example, the incorporation of the historic Webb Road into the master plan for the Proposed development could be encouraged. The possiblility of unearthing human remains at the Oaks/Vamo Midden, and the penalties for knowingly disturbing such burials, should also be commmicated. If preservation through avoidance is not feasible, mitig&- tive salvage excavation of the Oaks/Vamo Midden is recaratiended. This may be accomplished, for ocainple, by members of the local Time Sifters chapter Of the Florida Anthropological Society, under the supervision of a professional arch- aeologist. Burial Mound Island (8So29) has reportedly been vandalized to some degree. County law enforcement officials should be alerted to the destruction of this prehistoric burial site, and efforts made'to apprehend and prosecute the site vandals. This site, ible only by boat, is particularly vulner- able on the weekends. Several sites located withi:n the laurel study area are considered eligi- ble or potentially eligible for nomination to the National ReCPster. Thwe are classified as NR Category B and C in Figure 6. All Category B sites, or those considered eligible on the basis of existing data, are located on pri- vate property, either individually or cor wately owned. These landowners should be notified of the presence of significant cultural resources on their land, and if agreeable to them, information needed to ccuPlete National Reg- ister nominations for these sites should be gathered. Some or all of the shell midden type sites may be eligible for ncminaticn as an Archaeological District. The seven Category C sites will require further archaeological testing or historical research before a determination of significance/National Register eligibility can be made. Of these, one is on state land (8So6O6), one on Sarasota county awned property (Wo1329), and the others privately owned- owners of sites 8So3 (Pool Hammock), 8So6O (;%bod Midden), and 8SO1321.(Wilcox Ceramic) should be asked, by written notification, for permission to conduct such work. The yjught's Trail Park Site (8sol329) should be archaeologically tested as part of a larger program of survey and assessment of historic resources of all county-owned land managed by the Department of Parks and Recreation (See Management ons chapter). 81 SIESTh HEY General Description: Siesta Key is situated within two USGS quadrangle map areas: Sarasota, 1973 on the north and Bird Keys, 1973 on the south.. It is contained in sections 1, 2, 11, 12, and 13, Tawnship, 37 South, Range 17 East; and sections is, 19, 20, 29, 32, anq 33 in Township 37 South, Range 18 East. Geographically, the survey property begins at the City of Sarasota limits, just north of Coconut Bayou, and runs south to Midnight Pass, wtuch separates Siesta from Casey Key. The Gulf of Mexico is to the west, and Roberts and Little Sarasota Bays are to the east. In general, Siesta Key has been fairly well developed. In addition to residential and commercial development, the northern portion of this barrier' island, to the north of Siesta Beach, has been further altered by a complex of human-made carols. Previous : In 1953, William Plowden discovered and recorded a small shell midden on an old sand dune, about .2 miles north of Midnight Pass. This has been entered into the Florida Master Site File as 8So7. The 1961 "windshield" survey of Doris Davis and John Fales resulted in the notation of several other aboriginal sites on Siesta Key, inclix1ing a mound at the Out of Door School. The Davis and Fales, sites were visited and recorded by Marion Almy in 1975 as part of a larger Sarasota County project (1976). As a result of this effort, the South Q=mt Bayou Midden (8So53), Out of Door School (8So54), and Martin Midden (8So57) were formally recorded with the State of Florida. As part of their survey of the Palmer Oaks tract, Miller and Swindell surveyed "nearly one-half mile of the southern tip of Siesta Key". No evidence of archaeologi- cal remains were discovered (Miller 1974:8). In addition, their effort to relocate 8So7 was not productive (Miller 1974:9). The Riite Beach/Point Crisp area was the focus of archaeological attention in the 1970s. In conjunction with their work at the Palmer site across the bay in Osprey (8So2), the Bullens carried out limited test excavations at "Crisp Point," "at a small midden on Siesta Key" (8So7), and at Casey Key (Bullen and Bullen 1976:28). RecordedA3gpg=1gd Sites:. A total of five prehistoric sites have previously been recorded for Siesta Key. All but cne (8So52) are outside the limits of the City of Sarasota. The recorded sites include 8So7 at the south end of the island, described as a "small shell midden" measuring about 100 feet by 50 feet by 2.5 feet; another shell midden at Coconut Bayou (8So53); a "shell midden mound" on ocean Boulevard in the vicinity of the out of Door School (8So54); and the Martin Midden, situated on the bayside of Siesta Key, directly across from the mouth of Phillippi Creek. In addition to these four shell midden type sites, an aboriginal site is reported for the Miite Beach area. Desicjnated site "All in the Resources Review Mazual (Archibald 1988: *40), it apparently is the same locality as that tested by the Bullens at Crisp point. Research Considerati /MethodolgV: on the basis of background research, it was anticipated that Siesta Key had the potential for the location of as yet Lteanda- prehistoric and historic period sites. Among the historic period resources anticipated were historic dLmips associated with several early home- steads, depicted on the U.S. Surveyor General's Plat Map of TowrLsAup, 37 Southo, 82 Range -18 East dated 1896, examined at the Sarasota County Department of Natur- al Resources. This township was surveyed.in 1895 by Elisha B. Camp. Depict- ed on the plat map were three possible homesites, as follows: 1. B. Stickney - extreme northwest corner of Section 20/northeast corner Section 19. 2. M. Sweed (?)- southwest quarter of Section 20, to the northwest of Point Crisp 3. A. Hodges - ncrtheast quarter of the northwest quarter of Section- 29, just south of Point Crisp. B. Stickney refers to Benjamin F. Sticktiey, in wilose honor the Stickney Point Bridge is named. After retiring, Mr. Stickney moved to Siesta Key (then called Sarasota'Key) where he was one of the first settlers. He died at his home in 1912 (Grismer 1946:306). Reference to the other eqxly settlers, Sweed and Hodges, was not found in several local histories (i.e. Grismer 1946; Matthews 1989). other sources of information, such as census records, were not examined. According to Gri6mer, another late 19th cerrbary Of Siesta Key was Captain Tbcmas Gordon Edmondson and his wife Louise Anstie Whitaker, who purchased a claim to over 100 acres on Siesta Key (Gri 1946: 61). Another early occupation for which archaeological remains might be anti- cipated was that of Captain Louis Roberts and his wife Ocean Hansen Roberts. Their house was camtructed in the area referred to as "Roberts Point," at the south end of Roberts Point Road. In 1906, the Roberts' enlarged their home, took in boarders, and called their residence the Roberts Hotel. At this time, no bridges linked the key to the mainland, and travel was by boat only. In addit-ion to these individuals, Frank Guptill was reported to have had a home near Wifte Beach (ceorge I a , personal comamication) The entire bayside of Siesta Key was deemed to have a high potential for prehistoric site location. Unfortunately, most of this zone, to the east of Midnight Pass Road, has been altered by residential development, including the car m :ruction of large complexes. Beginning at the south end of Siesta Key, survey strategy entailed driving down all driveways located to the east of Midnight pass Road. most of [email protected] were found to terminate at a pri- vate residence fronting the bay. Rarely were landowners home to grant permis- sicn for survey and testing. Thus, in the absence of landowner consent, the pr erties were walked around, and the coastline carefully ducked for the presence of cultural materials and features. In addition to the bayside, the land around Heron Lagoon, in the southem portion of Siesta Key, was a focus of archaeological field survey. Tactics here were also largely ground surfa examination, in the absence of landowner permission for subsurface testing. surveyed areas are marked on the section aerials which accomparrY this report. A total of four previously arecxnd- 4 archaeological sites were located, recorded and assessed as a result of I-A gound research, informant information and field survey. All four are shell midden type sites. These have been assigned the Florida Master Site File mmt>--xs 8So1376 through SSo1379. in addition, the locations of all four Previously recorded sites were visited, and current site conditions assessed. New Sites: n=ee shell midden type sites were found as a result of in- formant information and archaeological field survey. These are as follows: 83 1. Lucke (8So1376) - This extensive shell midden is situated along the bayside- in the southeast quarter of Section 29 and the northeast quarter of Section 32,. Tcwnship 37 South, Range 18 East. It is marked to the north and south by 8501 and 8615 Midnight Pass Road respectively. This locality COYT----- in part, to the general area marked as 8So7(GV) on the USGS Bird Keys le map on file at the Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources. However, given the discrepancy in the 6riginal definition of 8So7 as a small midden on a sand dune, combined with the illustration of its location contained in Figure 1 of the Palmer Site report (Bullen and Bullen 1976) coopared with the nature and location of the shell midden located during the survey project, a new number and site designation is deemed preferable. 8So1376 was located on the basis of informant information. (George Luer and Marion Almy, personal comnmucation). Two visits to the general site area revealed a rich midden deposit situated between a sandy beach ridge and the- shore of Little Sarasota Bay, and vegetated with live Oak, cabbage palm, and cedar, sea grape, pine and strangler fig. At least eight residences have been [email protected] atop this cultural feature. The shell midJen measures approximately 300 meters north/south by 40 meters east/%%,est. Predominant shellfish species observed are oyster, fighting conch, and clam, with lesser frequencies of lightening whelk and scallop, among others. Depth of the cultural deposit is estimated at one to two meters at the thickest portions. Since landowner pennission to su psurface test in and around this cultural resource could not be secured, survey tactics were confined to ground surface exajuination. in addition to the shellfish food remains, a few sherds of sand- tempered plain pottery were observed. Accorr1ing to George TA, , who has investigated the northern porticn. of this site area, artifacts recovered have included fighting conch hmmiers, lip-notched pottery, and Moro ware. Such specimens indicate occupation dating to the Manasota and Safety Harbor periods, as well as during post-contact times, circa early 1700s. The Moro ware, dating to the 1700s, may indicate the presence of a fishing rancho. At the saxthernmost part of the Lucke site, the sandy beach ridge to the west of the midden proper may also contain evidence of prehistoric occupation. Irregularities of the ground surface, and patches of dark possible midden soil in some localities my be indicative of such aboriginal settlement. 2. Heron Lagoon Fast Midden (8Sol377) - This shell midden site is located in the southeast quarter of section 29, Township 37 South, Range 18 East. It is contained within the properties at 8233 and 8239 Midnight Pass Road,- to the north and south respectively. Two homes are atop the site. This cultural resource was discovered as a result of field survey. Ground surface examination at the sciuther @tprcperty indicated the presence of midden exposed beneath the elevated home. similar corklitions were noted at the adjacent property to the north. since neither property owner was home, no subsurface testing was carried out. On the basis of surface exposures only, this site is est ima ted to measure appz))dmtely 60 meters north/south by 30 meters east/West. Depth of the cultural deposit is unknown, but estimated to average almost one meter in thickness. A variety of shellfish species, including oyster, clam, fighting conch, lightning whelk, and scallop were observed on the surface. No pottery or other artifacts, such as shell tools were observed. Thus, the Period of site occupation is unknown. 84 3. Cea-IrS Midden (8So*1378) - This shell midden site is located in the northwest quarter of Section 29, Ta*Tjship 37 South, Range 18 Fast. It is bordered to the north by 7811 Midnight Pass Road; to the scuih by 7837 Midnight Pass Road. This site was discovered as a result of field survey. While field checking the historic Mediterranean Revival home at 7811 Midnight Pass Ro4d, a buried midden zone, composed of -dark.. soil and 1mliusions of oyster and fighting conch, was discovered. Only minor amounts of shell bad been observed On the landscaped ground surface. To the south, similar small quantities of exposed shell were observed in the wooded area to the north of the house. on the basis of general topography, vegetation, and scattered ex;posures of shell, 8SO1378 is estimated to measure 120 meters north/scuth by 30 meters east/west.* Depth of the cultural deposit is umknown. Given the absence of temporally diagnostic cultural materials, the Cedars Midden cannot be dated. prewialsly - Sites: Of the four sites previously recorded for Siesta Key, three were found to be destroyed or altered by residential development. The fourth, 8So7, may also be destroyed by condominium cmstnm- tion, if the site location, as originally described, is to the south of the newly recorded Lucke Midden. 1. 8S07 - According to original site recorder William Plowden, the Midnight Pass site, 8So7, was a small shell midden measuring 100 feet long by 50 feet wide, and Situated on an old sand dune about .2 miles north of Midnight Pass. Ccnsistent with the -ipticn provided by Plowden, Bullen and Bullen note that investigation at this "small midden" produced a few sherds (1976:28). As illustrated in Figure 1 of their Palmer site report, 8So7 was located along the bayside of Siesta Key, about .3 miles south of the southern end of Heron Lagoon and about .25 miles north of the north end of Blind Pass. These combined data would situate 8So7 in an area currently occupied by large Thus, this shell midden site is presumed destroyed. 2. 8So53 - The South Coconut Bayou Midden was described by Alny (Florida Master Site File form) as located at 4225 to 4305 Midnight Pass Road. Three houses are coiLstructed atop the site. This site area was relocated and examined duriM the current survey, and found to be as described by Almy in 1976. 8So53 is altered, but may contain sane undisturbed cultural deposits. 3. 8So54 - The Out of Door School S;Lte was. originally described by Fales and Davis as a "shell midden mound" situated west of Ocean Boulevard, to the northwest of the Out of Door School. "Future excavation wrill be necessary to determine which portion of the area is shell deposited by water," 'Fales and Davis recorded in their Field Notes (n.d.). Mien AJmj formlly recorded this site with the State in 1976, it was classified as a destroyed sand mound. The nature of this "site" has been called into question by George Tal , who attended the out of Door School in the 1960s. AccordiM to Tal , this was probably never an aboriginal site, but rather a natural. beach ridge (Personal inicaticn). Unfortunately, this question will never be resolved. The general site area has been destroyed by development. 4. 8So57 - The martin Midden site area was found to be altered by residential development. This cultural resource is presumed destroyed, or at least severely altered by earthmoving and construction activities. The hcmesites are landscaped, and no surface site evidence could be observed. 85 5. "All - According to Fales and Davis, a shell midden extended to the north and south of Crisp Point (Point Crisp) . Archaeological testing in the mid 1970s by the Bullens revealed 11sherds on the surface of both the north and south sides where the point joined Siesta Key" (1976:28). The presence of shell and/or midden debris was not noted. Testing of the peninsula proper by the Bullens revealed an absence of cultural materials - The Crisp Point area was visited during this survey, and found to-be residentially developed and extensively landscaped. Permission for subsurface testing in this -exclusive residential development could not be secured, and no ground surface visibility was present. Thus, this reported site is herein recorded as the 11crisp pointel site (8So1379) on the basis of documentary research only. Areal extent, depth of the cultural deposit,. and period of site occupation/utilization are all unknown. Data: Archaeological reconnaissance in the areas between newly Negative recorded sites 8So1376, -1377, and -1378 did not reveal the presence of sur- face cultural materials. However, * given the lack of systematic subsurface testing, the location of buried cultural materials or features in these zones cannot be discounted. No evidence for activity could be found.. one particular fo- cus of field investigation was the location of tangible cultural remains link- ed to the Roberts homestead on Roberts Point Road. Field survey was severely hanq*xed by private residential develormi . According to 1,fts. Louise Roberts Wyatt (personal communication), grand-dauOTter of Louis and ocean Roberts, there is nothing left of the original homestead. A modern house marks the former Roberts home/botel site which formerly occupied the "point" at the southernmost end of Roberts Point Road. Field inspection'of an elevated, coastal hammock vegetated-area to the south of Stickney Point Road and east of Peacock Road, due south of a marina, was also not productive of archaeological sites. A large undeveloped lot plus several residential yards were surface checked. A few shallow subsurface probes were put in the lot directly south of the marina. All areas revealed beach sand and small shell only. Site Evaluations: Assessments of site conidition/data quality and signifi- cance/Naticnal Register eligibility for the total eight newly and previously recorded sites on Siesta Key are summarized in Table 7. Site locations are illustrated in Figure 7. None of the previously recorded sites is adjudged significant- due to their degraded conditions and poor informational potential. Thus, they are not considered eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places. of the four newly recorded sites, 8SO1377, -1378, and -1379 will re- quire archaeological testing before a final determination of significance/ National Register elibility can be made. Such site testing could not be ac- camplished during survey due to absence of landowner permission. The Lucke site, 8So1376, is considered a significant cultural resource, eligible for nomination to the National Register - It is in * good condition, and has demonstrat-J- potential for contributing to our knowledge of regional prehistory. Preliminary investigations by Tal combined with - the observa- tions made as part of this project, indicate the possibility of intact cul- tural strata ranging in time from the Mnasota culture to the 1700s. The 86 Table 7. EValuaticiri of Arcbaeolo#cal Si cn Siesta Key (I Sarasota and Rird Fays). Site Site Name Site Type Data Quality NR 8So7 Midnight Pass Midden Shell Midden 5 E 8So53 Coca-Axt Bayou Midden Shell Midden 5 E 8So54 Out of Door School ? 5 E 8So57 Martin Midden Shell Midden 5 E 8So1376 Wcke Midden Shell Midden 2 B 8Sol377 Heron lagoon East Shell Midden 2 C 8Sol378 Cedars Midden Shell Midden 2 C 8So1379 Crisp Point Shell Midden 6 D 87 RI 7E R18E 5 T36S T37S Robe rts 2 BC Y 6 7 4F;r 13 19 20 point o' Rocks 00 9 1378 377 3-7 5-- Uft 32 7 (GV) Figure 7. Location of Archaeological Sites on Siesta Key. 88 southern part of this shell midden is situated on land presently for sale. Given the size of the parcel, it is not unlikely that a zoning change to higher density development will be requested. In the event of a rezone, and proposed land development, systematic archaeological survey of this property is strongly urged. Such work should endeavor to areally define the site as well as delineate irxUvidual site ccuponents. The collection of archaeologi- cal information necessary for completing a National Register nomination should be a priority. The lucke midden V= bsents the largest remainirxg site of its type for Siesta Key. It is an important resource, and worthy of preservation and pro Baticn. In the event that preservation may not be feasible, mitiga- tive test excavations are recommended. 89 I BIM IUM General Dgggaption: This survey area is bordered on the west by Little Sarasota Bay; and on the east by US Highway 41. The community of Vamo marks the southern extent. Included are portions of Sections 20, 21, 28, and 33 in Township 37 South, Range 18 East. In general, the majority of this land has been heavily altered by residential development. The portions of Siesta Key and Casey KeY contained-within this qt;adrangle map area are discussed else- where in this report. Previous Archaeolggical In 1961, Fales and Davis noted several mound and midden sites during their 'Vindshield" type survey of Sarasota County. These were relocated, ribed' assessed, and formally recorded with the State of Florida by A-W in 1975 to 1976. A small portion of this quadrangle study area was included in the survey of the Palmer Oaks tract in 1974 (Miller 1974). Recorded as a result of this effort were five prehistoric sites, including 8So27, which had previously beem visited by Fales and Davis. In the mid-1970s, as well as the early 1980s, the Indianola site, 8So69, was visited by George Lu - -Ehell tools examined fraa this site were described in a 1986 article by this investigator (Ti 1986). RecordedAW=gd Sites: A total of six prehistoric sites have previously been recorded in the mainland portion of the USGS Bird Keys coastal zone study area. These include two shell middens (8So27, -75), two burial moundIs (8So68, -83/446), a mound/midden complex (Wo69), and a "habitation" site (8So82). None have been subjected to systematic archaeological study. The Indianola site, 8So69, is probably related both temporally and culturally to the Ralston Mound (also referred to as the Indianola Mound), 8So83/446, which has been dated to the Weeden Island and Safety Harbor periods. Research Considerations/MthodolgW: Background research, including document and literature study as well as informant interviewing, indicated that potential prehistoric and historic period archaeological sites might be expected in the vicinity of previously recorded 8So68, in Township 37 South, Rtange 18 East, Section 20. According to the fieldnortes of Fales and Davis (1961), the area to the north and south of this site, the Metherry Creek Mound, "would indicate an occupation area with possible mounds, middens and village site." In addition, the possibility of historic period refuse in the Metheny Creek area associated with the hamstead of Elof Peterson and/or the post-1894 occupation by the Woodburn. C. Matheny family was also indicated by background research (Fales,and Davis 1961). Examination of two plat maps of Township 37 South, Range 18 Past, dated 1847 and 1896, however, did not reveal any man- mad features in the mainland portion of this study area. Field survey efforts focused on a small pi of Section 20, as well as a portion of the coastal strip in Section 33. With the exception of the unde- veloped land within which the Indianola and Ralston mound sites are situated, the remainder of survey area property in Sections 20, 21 and 28 was found to be camsiderably btult upon and altered, and thus, not amenable for archaeolog- ical inspection. Thus, field survey efforts cOnCX31 ted. on an area bordered to the north by Niarf Road and to the south by Vamo Way. hi, the time of sur- vey, most of this propert had been cleared, and was in the process of being 90 residentially developed. The entire area was initially walked out, and searched for the presence of surface cultural materials. In addition, a number of subsurface shovel tests were excavated in selected areas. Survey One new archaeological site, a shell midden, was discovered as a result of field survey. This has been assigned the FMSF number 8Sol868. In additicn,,' a single chert waste flake was discowxed in a test pit, in a dis- turbed context. It is not considered to warrant designation as a site. Test Pit locations and prcperties subjected to ground surface recontiaissance are marked on the section aerials which accompany this report. Attempts to relo- cate four of the six previously recorded sites resulted in the relocation of two. Miese dfforts are described below. The remaining two sites, Indianola' and. the Ralston Mound, have been recently visited and assessed by George Luer and Marion Alny. Present assessment of these resources derives from the in- formation provided by these individuals. New SJ 8SO1868, the Pirates Midden, is a shell midden type site located in the northeast quarter of Section 20 in Towynhip 37 South, Range 18 East. The general site area was indicated by the Fales and Davis fieldnotes; the exact site location discovered as a result of ground surface reconnais- sance during the present survey effort. The first irxiicaticn of the presence of this site was in the front yard of a private residence at 7166 Captain Kidd Drive. Here, oyster shell in a matrix of dark soil was observed at two sprinkler heads, as well as disturbed patches in the garden. A ditch marking the northern property boundary was devoid of cultural materials. At the time of this initial inspection, the owner was not home, and thus, no subsurface testing was carried out. During a second visit, the owner was requested per- mission to cq1hcqn-face test in the non-landscaped portion of the fron yard. Permission was denied. Directly to the south of this residence are three homes along John Silver Lane, a private road. No midden was visible on the surface at the fxon of 7216 John Silver Lane, adjacent to the above mentioned property. With perru.ssicn of the landowner, two small shovel tests were excavated in the non- landscaped portion of the front yard. No midden material was revealed in this locality. However, in the landscaped rear of the property, oyster shell w.as observed at the base of a tree. Similarly, the back yard to the south, at 7226 John Silver Lane, had eqx)sed shell and dark soil at the base of trees, [email protected] the pool and bayshore. Permission to test in this yard was denied by the landowner. The next home to the south, characterized by lowex elevation and different vegetative cover (ncn-hamnck), did not have exposed midden. No testing was done since the landowner was not at home. As a result of this inspection, the Pirates Midden is estimated to mea- sure apprcodnately 120 meters long by 20 meters wide. Depth of the cultural deposit, as well as its ccuiposition is unknown. Temporal/cultural affiliation is also rx)t known. The site area is marked by coastal hamnock vegetation of oak, cabbage palm, and red ceda . It occupies the eastern side of a small cove in Lattle Sarasota Bay. It has been adversely impacted by the construc- tion of three large residences and pools. Nevertheless, portions of this cultural feature are probably still intact. Mus site is probably related to the Matheny Creek Mound (8So68) to the south. previaLlsly pAmxzded Sites,: in addition to the recording of a new site,'an effort was made to relocate and assess four of the six previously recorded 91 sites. The results of this effort, as well as information about the two re- corded sites'nat visited during this sCzvey, are as follows: 1. 8So27, the Davis Midden, a shallow oyster shell midden dating to the post- Archaic, was recorded by Miller and Swindell in 1974. At this time, the site was described as in altered but fair condition. Relocated during the current P ject, the Davis midden was found to be relatively unchanged in condition sIrbice 1974. 2. 8So68, the MaUieny Creek Mound, a burial mound, was originally described by Fales and Davis in 1961. In 1976, Almy recorded this burial ra=ld as destroy- ed by dredging of a canal. During this activity, she noted, workmen reported observing several burials.. The former site area, at the end of Captain Kidd Avenue at Matheny Point, was visited and found to be further altered by residential construction. There are no visible remains of the Matheny Creek Mound. The period of mound construction is unknown. On the basis of similar sites in the region, the Matherry Creek Mound can probably be dated to between A.D. 800 and 1650, from Weeden Island-related to Safety Harbor times. 3. 8So69, the Irxiianola site, is a mound/midden complex originally noted by Fales and Davis in 1961. According to these investigators, the burial mounds had been destroyed by cultivation in the 1920s or later. The midden area associated with this mound is still intact, and is situated along the shore of Sarasota Bay, to the west of a brackish pond, as well as to the east of the pond. In the latter arm, Tu reported finding notched quahogvalves in 1981 (Tal 1986:133). A sketch of the Indianola midden is contained in Tal 1986 (Figure 6, page 133). It is dated at A.D. 800 to 1200. This site was not visited during the present survey. 4. 8So75, the Holiday Harbor site, is a shell midden originally noted in 1961 by Fales and Davis. In 1976, this site was recorded as destroyed through creek dredging and house cons:ructicn. The former site area, at 7795 N. Holdiay Drive, was visited during the current project. It is marked by a home, constn=ted in 1974, amid a stand of large oak trees. The current owner/resident, Mr. Chris Hicklin, indicated that the higher elevation to the front of the house was the result of dLstur- bance associated with septic tank and septic field construction and burial. Mtographs taken during excavation for a recently installed septic field, shown to the archaeologists by Mr. Hicklin, revealed an absence of shell midden materials. However, alcrxj the west side of the house, as well as in the rear yard fronting the dredged creek, evidence of shell midden was obser- ved at the I-a of several oak trees, as well as along the focter of the con- crete block wall adjacent to the west-southwest. The excavation of two small shovel holes to the north of these exposures, along the west side of the Hicklin home, revealed disturbed fill only. It appears that a small portion of the Holiday Harbor site is located to the rear of the house, betwee;i the swimming pool and creek. This area is cmrtiguous with the edge of the hammock vegetation. Cultural materials other than shell were riot observed, and the teapor-al/cultural affiliation of 8So75 has not been ascertained. 5* 8So82, the Pinehurst spring site, is a 1%abitation" site noted by Fales and Davis in 1961. At this time, it was assessed to be destroyed by residential developmnt. The general site area, as per the location plotted on the USGS Bird Keys quadrangle map at the Sarasota County OM, was visited. No evidence of this site, nor of the native vegetation presumed to have been associated 92 with this cul tural. resource, was seen. The locality visited was along Cove Terrace, to the w4st of Peninsular Drive. 6. 8SO83/446, the Ralston/Indianola Mound, is a burial mound originally noted in 1961 by Fales and Davis. In 1985, it was visited by Alny and TA, , and found to be intact (Almy, personal communication) . According to the latest FMSF form, prepared by Almy in 1985, this cultural feature measures appr wimately 135 feet north/south by 95 feet east/Viest by five feet high.. It is vegetated with scrub oak and palmetto. TWo borrow pits are situated to the west. A sketch of this site area is contained in a 1986 article by Tal (Figure 6, page 133). 8So83/446 is dated to the Weeden Island-related/Safety Harbor periods, circa A.D. 800 to 1200. It was not visited during the current survey- Site Evaluati Assessments of site Ltion/data quality and signifi- cance/National Register eligibility are summarized in Tthle 8. The locations of the total seven newly and previously recorded sites are illustrated in Figure 8. Tab] 8. of Archawlcgdcal Si in the Bird Keys YAp Area. Site Site Name Site Type Data Quality NR 8So27 Davis Midden Shell Midden 3 C 8So68 Matheny Creek Burial Mound 5 E Mound 8So69 Irxiianola Burial Mound(s)/ 3 B Midden complex 8So75 Holiday Harbor Shell Midden 4 D 8So82 Pineb.Irst Spring "Habitation" 5 E 8So83/ Ralston/Irxiianola Burial Mound 1 B 446 Mound 8Sol868 Pirate Midden Shell Midden 3 C Three of the USGS Bird Keys sites were listed as destroyed by Almy in her 1976 county a---- These include 8So68, the Metheny Creek Mound; 8So75, a shell midden rwed the Holiday Harbor site; and 8So82, the Pinehurst Spring site. The locations of these cultural resources are currently marked by residential development. Although field survey indicated that a small portion of the Holiday Harbor site appears intact, the general loss of site integrity, as a result of house, pool and septic tank/field construction, is considered major. Thm, all three Previously recorded sites are adjudged not significant due to their destroyed or severely degraded condition. 93 R 18 E 8SV8 7 08 8 20 21 Ho81 8So75 "@Q %P I e 28 T OP 0 Ole 8So83/446 P [email protected] 3 So69 7 S VAMO 33 8So27 VAMC 820 \8\So83/446 33 3 o @27 Figure 8. Location of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Bird Keys Map Area. 94 8So27, the Davis Midden, recorded by Miller and Swindell in 1974 as being in altered but fair condition, was found to be relatively uwlianged from the time it was discovered. -It is adjudged to be of potential local significbnce. site testing will be necessary before a final determination of National Register eligibility can be made. Similarly, the Pirate Midden may be of local significance, but archaeological testing will be rgKxmsary to ascertain h this site has been altered, as well as whether it has the the degree to whic potential to yield archaeological data of significance to local and-regional prehistory- Both the Indianola site (8So69) and Ralston Mound (8So83/446) are in good Cond.iticnf. and are considered NR eligible. 8So83/446 represents the largest existing intact coastal sand mound in Sarasota County, as per Almy's 1985 assessment. It is in pristine condition, and has the potential to yield archaeological data of significance. Hence,, it is considered eligible as per NR criteria Id". Similarly, the Indianola midden, probably related to 8So83/ 446 both temporally and culturally,, is believed to also have the potential to yield significant archaeological information concerning iginal settlement and patterns of subsistence and resource utilization. It is NR eligible as per criteria Id". Recommendations: Preservation of sites 8So27, -69, -83/446 and -1686 is Xecamriet ed. In the event of proposed adverse impact, limited test excavation is suggested for both 8So27 and 8Sol868,, for the purpose of collecting archaeological data sufficient to make a determination of NR eligibility. If adjudged to be eligible, 8So27 should be preserved and 8Sol868 Xotected fran further alteration. - The Indianola site, 8So69, was originally reported in 1961 as a shell midden and burial mound complex. According to investigators Doris Davis and Jokm Fales, the mounds had been destroyed by cultivation. Remaining is a coastal shell midden,, extending along the waters of Little Sarasota Bay, and continuing to the east, at the eastern side of a brackish porxi. In 1976, Almy recorded this site to be in good condition. With the exception of erosion, and impact from firebreaks, the Indianola site is still in good condition. A sketch of this site is contained in Figure 6 of a 1986 publication by George Tai , who reported on quahog valves and shell tools from this site. This cultural resource,, situated on private property, is adjudged to be a signifi- cant local resource. In conjunction with the Ralston Mound, discussed above, the Indianola shell midden is led for nomination to the National Register. It is also suggested that Dr. Elling 0. Eide, property owner, be camended by the Sumasota. County Historical Commission,, for his efforts to preserve and protect this coastal resource. 7he Ralston/Indianola Mound, SSo83/446, is a significant site, deemed eligible for rxxnination to the National Register of Historic Places. The unaltered nature of this sand burial mound made it a unique regional cultural resource. Unfortunately, the land upon which it sits is currently for sale. Both the lw%kwsex and realtor, aware of the presence of t1us site, cannot be expected to act as site stewards. It is urged that the Director of the County Department of Historical Resources notify both owner and realtor, in writing,' of the significance of this [email protected] burial mound. Penalties for disturbing this mound, in ---rdance with Chapter 872.05, Florida Statutes, should be highlighted. once an Historic Preservation Ordinarx::e for Sarasota County is in place, hopefully in the near future, incentives for preservation 95 can be offered the landowner. The protection and preservation of this site should be considered a top priority. Finally, although the above ground burial mound is no longer extant, it is possible that human remains associated with the Matheny Creek Mound, 8So68; may still be encountered. - U=, any permits for future dredging of the canal, to the south of the former site locus, should be contingent upon archaeologi- cal mmutoring. Arry other modifications to the.area at the mouth of Matheny Creek, including .boat dock* and seawall construction, should require archaeological rwnitoring as a prerequisite for permit approval. 96 SARASOEk General on: The USGS Sarasota quadrangle map survey area.is bounded on the north by Bee Ridge Road and on the south by Buccaneer creek Drive. Rohearts Bay and Little Sarasota Bay, flanked by Siesta Key, are to the west, and US 41 is to the east. In addition to this coastal strip, land along [email protected] Creek, frarL Bee Ridge Road south to its mouth at the bay, was included in the surypy area. This collective survey property is contdined in Sections 5, 6, 7, 8, 17, 18, and 20 of Township 37 South, Range 18 East. In general-, this area has been heavily altered by residential development, with filling and seawall construction along the shoreline. Siesta Key is treated in a separate chapter of this report.. Previous : Human remains uncovered in the Hansen' s' (Hanson' s)Landing area. were the focus of debate concerning the antiquity of humans in Florida during the latter part of the 1800s (Willey 1949:29-31). In 1953, William Plowden recorded a shell midden to the north of Phillippi Creek. This site, designated 8SO6, had been Partially used for road fill at the time of Plowden's visit. Several other local sites were observed and noted in the 1961 windshield survey by Doris Davis and John Fales. Unfortunately, some of these were provided such sketchy site locational and type dataf that later attempts to relocate and record them have not been successful. one such site which has remained xLecorded, was noted by Fales and Davis as situated in the Florence .subdivision to the north of Stickmy Point Road. Presumably, this site has long since been destroyed by residential development and shoreline modificaticns, including dredgin , filling, and seawall construction. In 1975 to 1976 Alny undertook a countywide archaeological The Fales and Davis field notes were utilized to relocate and evaluate known but previously unrecorded sites. As a result, four of these resources, all shell middens, were recorded on Florida Master Site File (FMF) forms, and entered into the State inventory. During the 1970s and early 1980s, these and other prehistoric site localities were visited and described by George Ij, (personal omnzucation). Among these was the Roberts Bay site (8So56), test excavated by Tal in 1975. The results of this investigation were detailed in a 1977 article appearing in The Florida AnthrogoIggi - The Robets Bay site has also been the focus of investigation by Archaeological Consultants, Inc. and by Bill Burger. Finally, in 1988, under contract with the Sarasota County Parks and Recreation Department, a archaeological survey of the Phillippi Plantation Park (Keith-Prcdie Estate) was carried out by Lauren Archibald and Joan Deming. This investigation resulted in the location, z:ecording and eval- uaticn of three prehistoric and historic period archaeological sites. These have been assigned the FNSF numbers 8So616, -617 and -618. [email protected][email protected] Sites: As a result of the above noted efforts, eight arch- aeological sites are currently recorded for the coastal zone (exclusive of siesta Key) and Phillippi Creek area within the USGS Sarasota quadrangle rap region. These include five shell middens (8SO6, -55, -56, -58, and -617); an aboriginal "village" (8So84); a lithic scatter (8So616); and an historic refuse site (8So618). In addition, a shell midden (11GII) and shell scatter ("I") have been reported, as noted in the Resources Review Manual prepared as 97 part of a recent [email protected] assessment by Historic Property Associates (Archibald 1988:23). Research Considerations/MethodolgW: The entire coastal zone and Phillippi Creek area can be considered to have a moderate to high potential for historic and prehistoric period sites. The Red Rook-area, directly south of Bee Ridge and west of US 41, for exanple, was the locality of early by - membdrs of the Pbberts and Hansen (Hanson) families (cf. Grismer 1946; Matthews 1989). TAbile archaeological sites can be expected to occur, the problem of site discovery in this heavily developed area were formidable. Initial drive- tbrvxjh of this survey area revealed a paucity of undeveloped land. Further, major portions of the coastline along Roberts and Little Sarasota Bay have been modified by fill and the colm=Uctim of seawalls. Most properties characterized by relatively high elevation, hammock vegetation, better chained soils, and other site-correlated factors, are also marked by the presence of homes and landscaped yards. 2=, by necessity, archaeological field survey in the USGS Sarasota zone was largely dependent upon informant information and limited ground surface inspection. Subsurface testing was directed at those rare parcels of undeveloped land, or lots in the process of being readied for development- Survey A total of four previously unrecorded archaeological sites were located, recorded and assessed on the basis of background researcht in- formant information and archaeological field survey. Miese resources include a lithics only site, an historic cemetery, a shell midden and a shell scatter. Miese have been assigned the Florida Master Site File mnrbers 8So1380 through 8So1383. In addition, five of the eight previously recorded sites were visi- ted and assessed. The three not visited were those recently recorded by Archibald and Deming on the Keith-Prodie Estate (8SO616, -617, and -618). New Sites: Two previously Unrecorded/unreported sites were located as a result of survey. Both were reported by local resident Helen Caravelli. The two others are listed as reported sites in the Historic Resources Review manual. rrhese resources are described as follows: I. Caravelli Site (8So1380) - Mrs. Caravelli, a member of the Sarasota County Historical commission, reported the discovery of "a few" (2 or 3) projectile points in her backyard. Description of these finds indicate that these specimens may be classified as Florida Archaic Stemmed projectile points. The site area consisted of relatively elevated sandy soil adjacent to a small drainage coming off a nearby spring. The natural spring, located about 100 meters to the east, has been dredged to form a pond. Field inspection of this property, - ed by Mrs. Caravelli, failed to reveal additional cultural materials. 8So1380 is in the northeast quarter Of Section 6, Township 37 South, Range 18 East, between Camino Real and Eastbrook Drives, and north Of Quail Drive. 2. Hansen/Roberts Cemetery (8So1381) - This historic period site, located in the northeast quarter of Section 6, Township 37 South, Range 18 East, Was reported by Helen Caravelli. Field survey, accompanied by Mrs. Caravelli, revealed the presence of a single txAbstone, belonging to Peter Hansen, "ACtg. Ensign us Navy.,, Dates indicating days of birth and death were absent from 98 this marble graveararker. ;t should be noted that while the name of this gen- tleman is usually spelled 1%amson" in the local histories (i.e. Matthews 1989; Grismer 1946). "Hanseh" is the spelling on the tombstone, and thus, is used in this report. The Hansen gravesite is situated amid a vacant lot in a residen- tial neighborhood. Quail. Drive is directly to the south; Camino Real Drive to the east. The undeveloped lot is marked by several large live oak trees. According to Mrs. Caravelli, a second marker, ho longer extant, was situ- ated near the Hansen grave. This belonged to Ocean Roberts, daughter of Peter Hansen and wife of Captain Louis Roberts. Mt. and Mrs. Peter Hansen settled in this area in 1870. According to Grismer's history of Sarasota, their daughter was named "Ocean" because she was born on the Atlantic while her parents were enroute to Anerica. fra England (Grismer 1946:183). Additional information about this site was derived from interview of Mrs. Icuise Roberts Wyatt, great-granddaughter of Peter Hansen and granddaughter of Captain Louis and Ocean Roberts. According to Mrs. Wyatt, Peter Hansen origi- nally left Denmark for Haiti, where he founded the first college there. He and his wife fled Haiti by boat wtien ricting broke out. They lwxled in the Red Rock area of Sarasota. Their daughter Ocean wee born eranoute from Haiti. According to Mrs. Wyatt, in addition to the graves of Peter Hansen and Ocean Roberts, - her grandfather Lcuis- Roberts, and the six children of Louis and Ocean Roberts are interred here. All graves are unmarked, except for that of Peter Hansen. 3. Phillippi Delta (8So1382) - This reported, small shell midden type site, designated 11G11 in the Resources Review Manual (Archibald 1988:23), is located in the southwest quarter of Section 7, Township 37 South, Range 18 East. It is situated among the mangroves, adjacent to Little Sarasota Bay. According to informant -George luer, who last visited the site in the 1970s, the midden was composed primarily of oyster. A Type C shell hammer was collected. Nei- ther the vertical or horizontal site dimensicrLs were reported, although these data are available from Lu . The Phillippi Delta site was reportedly in good condition. It was not field visited during this survey. 4. Immokalee 11G11 (8So1383) - This reported shell scatter site, noted in the Historic Resources Review Manual as site III," (Archibald 1988:23) is no longer extant. Located in the [email protected] quarter of Section 7, [email protected] 37 South, Range 18 East, it has previously been described as Area G of site 8So56 (ACI 1977:8, 12). It was situated several hundred yards east of the midden, along. the bayshore. Surface examination during the survey of the Immokalee tract revealed this area as "miscellaneous marine shells in a light tan or buff colored fine sand" (ACI 1977:12). The excavation of a shovel test yielded a shell scraper and hamer at six inches below surface. 8So1383 can priobably be dated to the Manasota period. nus cultural resource was destroyed by con- structicn of The Landings development. Its location on the quadrangle map housed at the Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources is not cor- rect (George Ta , personal ccrmnunication), and will be modified accordingly. Previously Reaarded/rjqxwted Sites: In -addition to the discovery of new Sites, and the documenting of reported sites, an effort was made to relocate and 'assess previously recorded archaeological sites. These results are as follows: 1. 8So6, the Phillippi creek site, was a shell midden originally recorded in 1953 by William Plcwden. According to this investigator, the midden measured 99 100 feet by 25 feet by two feet, and was situated 200 yards east of US 41 to the north of Phillippi Creek. Cabbage palm and oaks.marked the site area, wi.th mangrove all around. Temporal/cultural affiliation was unkomm. In 1953 the site had already beed degraded for use as road fill, Plowden reported. According to AJWls 1976 assessment, this site was no longer extant, having been destroyed by house construction. Me former site area, as per the site file information, was visited during this survey project.. In general, this area, to the south of Palos Verdes Street and north of the creek, has been altered by residential developp- merrt and seawall cciLtstruction. Neither native hammock vegetation nor man- groves were observed. The first lot of undeveloped land, situated aPPrcv-i- mately 500 meters to the east of US 41,.*bounded by 2262 Wason Drive to the east, was examined. This lot, used as a boat launchl is characterized by hammock vegetation. Marqrove was to the east-saitheast. Ground surf ace exanr- ination revealed two left quahog clam valves and some oyster shell. With the permission of the landomer, four shovel tests were excavated in the vicinity of the surface shell. All revealed an upper 10 to 20 centimeter layer Of disturbed fill, overlying gray sand with inc-lusions of small crushed shell. No evidence of shell midden was es xmtered. Thus, the Phillippi Creek site is believed to be ccupletely destroyed. 2. 8So55, the Field Club site, is another shell midden, originally noted in 1961 by Fales and Davis. It was reportedly situated along the bayshore- In 1976, Almy could find no visible evidence of this site. The general site area, contained within a private club, was visited. No midden was observable on the surface. Given the nature of this club, and the lush landscaping, no penm_ssicn for subsurface testug was requested. It is possible that buried midden may still be intact. 3. 8So56, the Roberts Bay or Lmokalee site, is a large shell midden, test ex- cavated and described by Ta in the 1970s (Tal 1977a). Its condition in 1976 was noted as altered but excellent (AlMY) - In 1977 this site was exam- ined, ardiaeologically tested, and assessed as part of the Immokalee tract survey (ACI 1977). Since that time, scme portions of the shell midden have been destroyed by residential development (The Landings). Current field Sur- vey indicated that other parts are still intact, and covered, partially, by cond- .-. construct ed on stilts. MOM has been dated to the Manasota period, circa 500 B.C. to A.D. 800. 4. 8SO58, the James Haley Site, is a shell midden originally noted by Fales and Davis in 1961. They described it as a shell midden omplex with possible burials, situated around the James Haley home and to the north and south along ph,111pp, creek. oak and ceda vegetated the site area, with Pine forest to the north and west. In 1976, A1W recorded this site as located at 4211 South qbad Avenue. Houses Were an top of the Midden. A vacant lot to the West Of Shad Avenue, across from the midden, had been reported to contain [email protected], A.lmy noted (FIW form) the Tw visits were made to the above noted address. During both times, owner/resident was not at hcm. n=, no subsurface testing was carried out. Tile large hcme sits on elevated land, amid cabbage palm, Oaks, and Pule. The entire property was waked around, and the ground surface emaned for the presence of midden. The unc;rassed patches at the base of trees- was of particular focus. No such cultural material was observed. The shoreline Of Phillippi Creek, and adjacent land, was also examined, at the rear of the home 100 at 4211 South Sqmde Avenue*, as well as the property to the north. To the south, the rear of 4223 South Shade Avenue, fronting Phillippi Creek, was also examined. Due to the absence of the landowner/resident, no subsurface testang was carried out. No midden was visible at these properties either. Also examined were the sandy exposures across the road from 4211 South Shade, due south of the Trinity United Methodist Church parking lot. No cultural mate- rials, including human remains, were observed. 5. 8So84, Hansen's larAinj, was recorded by Abry in 1976 as a possible vil- lage/midden/burial area. The exact location was not known. The general site area has been mentioned since the late 1800s, when human remains were discov- ered here. In 1887, geologist Angelo Heilprin published an account of the human skeletal remains found here, which had been "exposed in a low bank of ferruginous sandstone along the shore" (Willey 1949:29). The human remains from Hansen's landing were included in the debates concerning the antiquity of humans in Florida. In 1907, Hrdlicka, who described and analyzed the Hansen's landing finds, ruled out the possibility of an early dating (Willey 1949:30). In their 1961 windshield survey of Sarasota County, Fales and Davis noted two sites in the Hansen's Landing area. These were noted as the Johnson Site, described as a village on the basis of the finding of some artifacts in the area; and the Red Rock-Hansen Lane Area site, wtuch was provided no descrip- tive information. 8So84, as recorded by Almy, ccmbines these Fales and Davis sites. As per her site file information, the Hansen's Landing site area has been dredged, filled, and residentially developed. Site integrity was noted as destroyed. Since 1976, construction of a private dock 'in the Red Rock Lane area, in the yard of the Gruder residence, has revealed the presence of human remains in shell midden material (Almy, persoml ccmn-mication). Field inspection of the shoreline at the Matthews residence to the immediate south indicated that the site did not extend this far to the south. The midden in the Gruder yard my be part of the- Hansen's landing site, as noted by Fales and Davis. Correct site - --wters are still unknown. 6. 8So616, the Phillippi Flake Scatter, is a lithic scatter discovered in 1988 as a result of systematic survey (Archibald and Deming 1988) of the Phillippi Estates Park, owned by Sarasota County. The site area has not been altered ince the time of survey, and remains in very good condition. Ten:Fpcral/cul- tural affiliation is unknown. s 7. 8So617, the Prodie Shell Midden, was also discovered during survey of the Phillippi Estates Park. It has been dated to the Mmmsota period, and is in excellent condition. 8. 8So618, -the Phillippi Creek Historic Reffuse site, was also discovered during the Phillippi Plantation Park survey. At the time of survey, this 20th century dump site was observed as moderately altered by erosion along the bank of Phillippi Creek. Site Evaluati : Assessirients of site condition/data quality and signifi- cance/National Register eligibility for the total 12 newly and previously discovered archaeological sites within the USGS Sarasota quadrangle map area (exclusive of the City of Sarasota and barrier islands) are summarized in Table 9. site locations are illustrated in Figure 9. 101 Table 9. Evaluaticn or cal Sites in the I Sarasota Map Area (MMIUS2.V8 Of the City of Sarasota and bw=er islands). Site Site Name Site Type Data Quality NR 8So6 Phillippi Creek Shell Midden 5 E 8So55 Field Club Shell Midden 5 E 8So56 Roberts Bay Shell Midden 3 B 8So58 James Haley Shell Midden 2 D 8So84 Hansen I s Landing Shell Middem/ 3 C. Burials 8So616 Phillippi Flake Lithic Scatter 2 E Scatter 8So617 Prodie Shell Midden Shell Midden 1 B 8So618 Phillippi Creek Historic refuse 3 E Historic Refuse 8So1380 Caravelli Lithics 5 E 8So1381 Hansen/Roberts Cemetery (Hist. 1 C Cemetery 8So1382 Phillippi Delta Shell Midden. 1 E 8So1383 Irmckalee "GII Shell Scatter 5 E 102 R 18 E 31 32 33 T36S Big RIDGE RD T3 7S 84 (GV) ROBERTS 1380 BI%Y 81;81 6 C 5 4 $A Jb- 155 58 %P 56 7 1' 83 9 1382 6 6 e 9 17 61 14% 8 17 16 O-t' 8 3 116 e 86 @@\l 70 Figure 9. Location of Archaeological Sites in the USGS Sarasota Map Area. 103 Of the total sites recorded for this project area, four'have been cam- pletely destroyed and three are severely altered. *Only three of the remaining seven sites are considered intact. These are the Hansen/Roberts Cemetery, the Prodie Shell Midden, and Phillippi. Delta. The remainder of the sites have beerl slightly to moderately disturbed, largely by residential development. . Seven of the 12 sites are deemed not significant, and thus, not eligible for listuig In the National Register. This evaluation is based upon either site destruction, or the poor informational value of the site. For example, while 8So616, 8So618, and 8So1382 are all in relatively good condUtion, they are not considered to have the potential to yield additional archaeological data of significance, nor are they considered among the best examples of their type(s) for the region. 8So84, Hansen,'s Landing, is considered potentially significant. Much of this site is probably buried, and should be subjected to systematic archaeological testing in ortler to make a final determination of significance. The James Haley site, 8So58, also not visible on the surface, will require testing before an evaluation of significance can be made. Additionally, the Hansen/Roberts Cemetery, 8So1381, will require historical research before a determination of site significance can be made. Two sites within this study area are deemed eligible for listuxj in the National Register. These include the Prodie Shell Midden (8So617) and the Roberts Bay Site (8So56). The Prodie Shell Midden, archaeologically tested in 1988, and the Roberts Bay Site, stuilied in the 1970s, were both assessed to be significant WdAstoric resources. Both have been -0--c-tstrated to contain undisturbed cultural deposits having the potential to yield information of significance to our understanding of patterns of settlement and subsistence dLwuxj the Manasota period. Both are considered eligible as per NR criteria I'd. It [email protected]&-icns: Like the Paulsen Point site in Englewood, the Prodie Shell Midden is a very significant cultural resource located in a County owned park. Ideally, it should be preserved and protected, for the benefit of all Sarasota County residents and visitors. Cn the basis of prior archeological testuig, it has been adjudged eligible for nomination to the National Register. The preparation of such a nomination, possibly done in conjuction with the historic buildings here, is suggested. Adverse impact to this site should be avoided. However, in the event that boat ramps, parking areas, or other facilities are to be constructed in this area, archaeological monitoring and excavation of areas of primary impact are recommended. Artifacts recovered as a result of such efforts, as well as the information derived, should be made a ible to the public via an on-site interpretive display - Cultural rater- ials, recovered as a result of the 1988 survey can be added to the assemblage, as deemed appropriate. The Hansen/pzberts Cemetery site currently occupies an undeveloped lot in a residential neighborhood. Adverse impact to this largely unmarked burial ground must be avoided. Subsurface reconnaissance by me-ans of remote serming is highly z eCOFLIMM a Iin oider to delineate the boundaries of the cemetery. crce done, indivict in 1 markers, and a protective fence are x eccam Ad- to protect this area from destruction. Current Property owners should be notified of the existence of this cemetery, and asked for thei-r COOPeratiOn in pro Bcting it. 104 In the event of planned alterations to the properties within and/or near the James Haley (8So58) and Hansen's landing (8So84) sites, including house additions, pools, docks, tree removals, or other activity necessitating a work permit, archaeological monitoring is . Such information, if suffi-. cient, should be used to make a final determination of NR eligibility. Finally, directly north of Phillippi Estates Park, on the north bank of Phillippi Creek, to the immediate west of U.S. 41, is a trailer park. This general area is deemed to have a high site location potential. During this survey project, the entire trailer complex was driven through, and checked for the presence of surface cultural materials. However, in view of the clustering of trailers and parked vehicles, there was little open ground available for surface inspection. The only subsurface testing carried out was at the ectreme northeast corner of the mobile home park. This produced negative results. Neverthel , the possibility-for buried cultural materials and/or features in this area is considered high. In the event of a zoning change wtuch would alter the land use from mobile home park to residential or commercial development, systematic, professional archaeological survey is recommended. 105 [email protected] Considerations ArchAeological survey of the coastal zone and selected eastward streams served to add 60 previously unrecorded prehIstoriC and historic Per-10d ar(711- aeological sites to the Sarasota County inventory. Of the total 60 SlteS, 22 were recorded ori the basis of background research, including both dOCUMerrt and literature study (3), informant interviewing (14), or a combination of both informant information and research (5). The majority of newly recorded sites were discovered as a result of systematic'arcbaeological field survey, entail- im both ground surface examination and subsurface testing. Of the 38 total sites discovered as a result of field survey, 14 were initially revealed by the presence of surface cultural materials or features. Twxrty-four sites lacked surface eqn-ession, and were discovered solely as a result of subsur- face shovel testing. It should be pointed out, however, that most of the sites discovered by subsurface testing are situated within large tracts of undeveloped land along the eastward stream. Here, relatively sizable expanses of vacant land were subjected to systematic archaeological survey, with close interval subsurface, twtiM. In addition to faciliting the location of sites, the intensity of survey efforts here allowed for the better definition of site Le it-,L both horizontally and vertically. Such tactics were generally not possible in the primary s=VeY area to the west of U.S. Highway 41, along the mainland coastal strip and barrier islands. Here, obs=ing mme=ial and residential devel- opments, dredged and filled areas, and the restrictive access to [email protected] @ds of privately owned properties collectively served to obviate both systematic and intensive survey efforts. Even where sites were clearly visible from the sur- face, generally in the yard of a private residence, permission to systematic- ally.survey adjacent properties with the aim of areally delimiting site boun- daries was rarely possible. Thus, it cannot be claimed that all areas of viarchaeologcal sensitivty" within the coastal zone were subjected to survey. certainly, if all private property within high probability areas could have been equally examined, it is probable that a greater number of buried sites would have been detected. While total coverage of the coastal zone Project areat in term Of sub- surface archaeological testing, could not be achieved, it is believed that systemtlc reconna.1ssance, cmblned with the results of survey on accessible properties, served both to support the existing predictive model for coastal Sarasota County, and allowed for informed decisions as to where future survey efforts should be directed. Numerous locales have been targeted for future survey in the event of planned land alterations. Such areas have been marked an the se&aon aerial maps wtuch have been subutted with this report. site To date, relatively little systemtic professional archaeological survey has been carried out in the coastal zone of Sarasota County. The majority Of- previously recorded sites are conspicUous above-ground aboriginal features such as shell Middens and sand m=xls. Specifically, these site types account for 70 percent of all previously recorded sites. Most of these were initially discovered as the result of "windshield" type survey or surface reconnaissance 106 only.. Over the past decade, a limited number Of assessment surveys of small, proposed developberrt tracts have served to add sites with little or no surface visibility. These include low artifact density lithic scatters, ceramic scat- ters, artifact scatters, and shell scatters, as well as a few historic period archaeological sites. In total, however, only 9 of these varied prehistoric "scatter" types have previously been recorded, plus two sites dating to the historic period.. The coastal zone project has, for one,.served to reduce the bias in site type recording. Based upon the physical remains observed, 27 shell, ceramic, lithic and artifact scatters were recorded as a result of this survey effort, or roughly 45 percent of the total sites. In addition, 10 historic period archaeological sites plus one historic period site component were located and recorded, comprising another 17 percent. Further, most -of the newly recorded sites classified as shell middens are small, buried cultural features, with little to no above-ground expression. Mum, while previous work served to delineate the areas of more permanent aboriginal habitation, newly discovered sites can add significantly to our understanding of short-term occupatien and special task oriented activity. With better taToral controls, hopefully such site type data will allow for a better understanding of inter-site relationships, activity scheduling, and patterns of resource exploitation. In general, the four types of "scatter" sites are similar in several ways. For one, all lack high density artifact concentrations. secondly, tool forms are rare. Site size is generally small, and the vertical distribution of artifacts is usually shallow. [email protected], the culbiral assemblages contained at lithic, ceramic, artifact, and shell scatters are indicative of short-term aboriginal occupation or utilization. It is probable that the site activities reflected by these assemblages focused upon the hunting and/or collecting of certain w=va and plant, f ood [email protected]@ f =-d in or near the wetlands. T.ithic Scatters: lAthic scattk-XS, evidenced by smal 1 quantities of chipped stcne debris or I'lithic debitage," result from late stage tool manu- facture and/or modification. In general, given the absence of locally avail- able souxces of lithic raw materials suitable for tool manufacture, it is riot surprising that lithic scatter type sites are infrequent in their occurence. This low occurence rate is in marked contrast, for example, to Hillsborough and pasco Camtles, where lithic scatter sites are near ubiquitous in some areas. A total of five lithic scatter type sites were recorded as a result of the Coastal Zone project. only one was evident from the ground surface; four were discovered by shovel testing. of the total sites recorded as lithic scatters, the an=rt of debitage averaged only three pi per site. Cul- tural materials were recovered from, depths ranging from 0 to 80 below surface. Three of the five sites were one meter or less in areal ex- tent. Ehvircrmer&.ally, all sites- were within 150 meters of an eastward creek or intermittent stream, with an average distanice to potable water of 38 meters. Most were situated in relatively elevated areas Vegetated with pine, saw palmetto, and scrub oak. pomello fine sand, a moderately well drained type, was the pnxbminant soil type association. In addition to these lithic scatters, two sites evidenced by the presence of two or three chipped stone projectile points were recorded, on the basis of informant information. In both cases, no other artifacts associated w:Lth these finds were reported. 107 Ceramic Scatters: Ceramic scatters are *similar to lithic scatters, ex- cept that the site assemblages-are comprised exclusively of broken pieces of ceramic vessels, or 11sherds," rather than lithic debitage or flakes. All pot- tery found during this survey was of a variety referred to as "sand-tempered Plain 111 an decorated utilitarian ware characterized by small to moddrate amounts of fine to granular sand as aplastic uiclusions to strengthen the clay. Generally, sites manifested solely on the basis of pottery sherds are not. as common in the Central Perarsula Gulf Coast region of Florida as are lithic scatters. A total of 15 ceramic scatter type sites were [email protected];covered during this pro- ject. Of these, only two had arry ground surface expression. The remainder were discovered through subsurface shovel testing. One had a small amount of broken marine shell in addition to the pottery. The number of sherds recov- ered per site ranged from one to 132. In the latter case, all sherds are believed to belong to a single broken vessel, shattered at the locus of dis- covery. Recovered ceramic assemblages averaged 29 sherds per site. More than half the sites, however, contained ten or fewer pieces of pottery. Cultural materials were found at depths of 0 to 90 centimeters below surface, with more than half confined to the uppermost 40 centimeters. Site size ranged from less than one to 625 square meters. Ten of the 15 sites measured ten or less square meters in areal extent.' All but one of the ceramic scatters were discovered along eastward streams. Mean distance to freshwater along the interior creeks and intermittent streams was 16.3 meters, with a range of 6 to 25 meters distance. r1he single coastal site was 300 meters from Lemon Bay. Generally, the majority of ceramic scatters were situated in well-drained, relatively elevated areas, characterized by scrub oak, pine and saw palmetto vegetation. Me predominant soil type, associated with eight sites, was Pcmello fine sand; Keri fine sand, thick phase was associated with four. Artifact Scatters: Artifact scatters are sites containing both lithics and ceramics. Minor inclusions of marine shell may also be part: of the cul- tural assemblage. Artifact scatters and shell scatters differ in that while artifacts in the former, food shell remains predominant over other classes of archaeological data in the latter. Like ceramic scatters, they probably reflect very similar aboriginal activities. only two artif act scatter type sites were discovered. The f irst, f cund along an eastward stream, is essentially a ceramic scatter, with the fortuitous discovery of a single waste flake in addition to the 125 sand- tempered plain sherds. The other, located five meters from Little Sarasota Bay, is a diffuse scatter comprised of one sherd, two flakes, and three small clam shell valves. It could also have been classified as a shell scatter. At both, cultural materials were recovered to depths of 90 and 80 centimeters respectively, and site size was 1.260 and 3600 square meters respectively. SW1 Scatters: The shell scatter sites known from Sarasota County, like those of Collier county to the south, range from smal 1, discrete deposits of marine shell with or without associated artifact , to multi-acre shell scatter complexes composed of dozens of discrete shell/artifact clusters, such as the Oscar Scherer State Recreation Area II site (8So6O8). This type of site, generally overlooked by archaeologists in the past, has more recently become the focus of professional attention (i.e Estabrook and Austin 1989). Five shell scatter type sites were recorded as part of this project, four as the result of field survey and one on the basis of prior survey (Williams 108 1977) and informant information. The sites discovered during field survey were similarly characterized by small amounts of marine shell, with or without a sherd or two of sand-tenpered plain pottery. No associated shell or stone tools were observed. Environmental settings, including fresh water association and distance, soil type, elevation, and vegetation, were variable for the total five sites. Shell Xtddens: A total of 20 shell middeh type sites were recorded during this project. These can be divided into three classes, based largely upon overall size and site composition. The first category ("Class V) includes large, above-ground shell middens, extending linearly a considerable distance and reaching heights of up to two meters above the ground surface. The diver- sity of shellfish species represented in these cultural deposits is generally high, and substantial amounts of associated artifacts and faunal remains can be expected. 'They probably represent multiple periods of intensive site usage over a long time. Previously recorded sites which fall within this category are the Roberts Bay (8So56) and Paulson Point (8So23) middens, among others. Six of the newly recorded shell middens are considered of the "Class III vari- ety: Oaks/Vamo (8Sol351), Blac)d:urn Bay (8Sol357), Bouffard (8SO1371), Lucke (8Sol376), Cedars (8Sol378) and Pirates (8Sol868). They range in size from 75 td 300 meters long by 20 to 40 meters wide, with a. mean overall areal extent of 5075 square meters. "Class III' shell middens are of intermediate size. Five newly recorded sites are categorized in this class: Wall (8Sol349), Johnson (8SO1369), Ford (Wo1375), Heron Lagoon East (8Sol377) and Pocono Trail (8Sol867). These are usually characterized by moderate above-grourxi expression, and range from 30 to 80 meters in length by 20 to 45 meters wide. Average areal extent is 1580 square meters. The Cove Site (sSog), Forked creek Point Midden (8SolO), wood midden (8So60) and Prodie Midden (8So6l7) are examples of previously recorded sites that fall within the medium size category. These middens are believed to represent sharter-term, possibly episodic utilization. Six newly recorded sites are small, buried black dirt and shell middens. They range in size from 10 to 30 meters long by three to 20 meters wide, with an average areal extent of 368.3 square meters. The cultural deposits, gener- ally.confined to the upper 30. below surface, are characterized by a limited number of shellfish species. Associated artifacts, including cera- mics and shell tools, are found in relatively small quantities. Included in the ,Class III,, category are the following: Hermitage (8SO1372), Severinsen (Wo1370), 6855 MK Road (8Sol373), O'Brien (8Sol375), mangrove violation (Wol,384), and Section 4 Midden (8Sol361). Five of these six are situated on the bayside of a barrier island. Low size and density of cultural materials, in addition to lack of shellfish diversity would suggest short-term, perbaps episodic utilizaticn/occupation rather than more sedentary habitation. Three newly recorded shell middens were not classified due to irx:omplete information. The Higel Midden (8Sol3G3), no longer extant, should probably be placed in the class I category, on the basis of informant information (Mickey Higel, personal communication). The PhillipPi Delta site (8Sol382), reported by George Luer as a small circular midden, and riot field checked during this project, is a Class II or III. Thirdly, Crisp Point (8So1379) could not be relocated during field survey. Published information, the basis of site recarding, is insufficient to allow for classification. 109 Temnoral/Cultural Affiliati The tanporal/cultural information used in this summary for previously re- corded sites is derived from the Florida Master Site File inventory print-out dated April 14, 1988, on file at the Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources. For more ccuplete information, the reader is directed to the Appendixf which contains not only the FNSF period designations, but also Supplemental data-gathered from published sources, unpublished manuscripts, and informant interviewing as part of the background research stage of this project. In cases where discrepancies exist between the FNSF classification and those contained in the literature, the former have been utilized. Of the total 61 previously recorded sites, .47.5 percent are of unknown temporal/cultural affiliation. Thirty-two sites, or 52.5 percent of the total, have been assigned a period. of these, 23 are multiple component sites, accounting for a total 44 separate temporal mrqpnnents. Only one site is listed as containing a Paleo-Indian component. seven are assigned Axchaic period affiliations. The remaining 36 site -,onents, are dated to the post-Archaic periods. Included are some periods no longer used to classify sites in the Cexrtral Peninsula Gulf Coast archaeological region, such as Glades, St. Johns, and Belle Glade. A total of four site '"IT ments' are assigned to the period(s) referred to as orange and Transitional. Chronologically, these are placed between the Archaic and Manasota. Four Orange and Transitional 7-!yrq:nnents are listed. Another eight sites are assigned either Perico island (now classified as Manasota) or Manascta -mr;"tnents, eight are Weed[en Island, and eight am Safety Harbor. ft,cm these data it can be cancludied that (1) the period of site utiliza- ticn/occupation is unknown for almost half of all previously recorded cultural resources; and (2) when known, the majority of recorded sites date to sometime during the post-Archaic period, circa 1000 B.C. to A.D. 1650. with few exceptions, the newly recorded prehistoric period sites cannot be assigned a temporal/cultural affiliation, given the lack of diagnostic artifact types found. Clearly, no evidence of sites datux; to either the earliest Paleo-Indian or Early Archaic periods was discovered. While such early sites have been found in Sarasota County, including Warm Mineral Springs, Little Salt Spring, the Gory Site, and the Venice Beach site, these are relatively rare. Three of these four are underwater sites, riot detectable by standard archaeological survey methods. In addition to these recorded sites, isolated finds of projectile points diagnostic of these early periods have been reported (i.e Venice area) (Almy 1985). Utilizatior) of the coastal zone during the succeeding Middle to Late Archaic periods was discovered at two lithic sites. Both the Caravelli (8So1380) and Bennie (8So1347) sites yielded projecti-le points classified as Florida Archaic Stemmed type. According to Bullen (1975:32), these were manufactured and used from approximately 5000 to 1000 B.C. It is probable that at least sane other newly recorded sites were occu- pied durim what is termed the "Ceramic Archaic" or Florida Transitional period, circa 1000 B.C. to 500 B.C. (Bullen et al. 1978:22-23). The shell middens categorized as class I, for exaMle, may contain such evidencq in their lowest levels, comparable to the Paulson Point site (8So23). Such 110 archaeological evidence may be anticipated as contained below the present water table. Clearly, on the basis of the recovery of undecorated sand-tenpered ceramics, the majority of sites recorded as a result of this project date to sometime after the Archaic period, circa 1000 B.C. to A.D. 1650. This would include the Florida Transitional, Manasota., Weeden Island-related , and Safety Harbor periods/cultures - UnfQrtunately, temporally diagnostic pottery styles, stone tools, and shell implements were riot recovered. Artifacts, 'when present, were largely confined to sand-tempered plain bodysherds. Luer and A1W (1980, 1982)) have _______=-t-rated that changes in vessel thickness, as well as lip and rim configuration can be used to separate plainwares through time. Unfortunately, most of the pottery recovered was in small assemblages of body- sherds, with little or no rim fragments. On the basis of the few rimsherds found, when datable, ceramic scatter type sites situated along the eastward streams are tentatively assigned to the late Manasota to Safety Harbor peri- ods, circa A.D. 400 to 1650. This compares favorably with two previously re- corded shell scatter type sites located along eastward streams: the Catfish Creek site (8So6O8) and the OSSRS II site (8So606). These have been dated at A.D. 700 to 1000 for the former (Austin and Russo 1989) and post A.D. 800 for the latter (AlW 1988). The only other sites with temporal/cultural informa- tich are the lacke Midden (8Sol376), which is assigned to the Manasorta through Safety Harbor periods on the basis of prior work by Tu (Personal - muf zuca- tion), and the Pocono Trail shell midden (Wo1867), tentatively dated to the weeden Island-related to Safety Harbor period on the basis of the shape of the rimsherds recovered. Settlement =19ming/Predictive Model Throughout the coastal zone, including the mainland as well as barrier island , coastal hamnwk vegetation of live Oak, cabbage palm, and red ceda , was found to be the most diagnostic site marker. Shell midden type sites, in particular, are those found most often in these environmental settings. Inland from the bayshore, along the eastward streams, ridges and knolls vegetated with scrub oak, pine and palmetto, and proximate to potable water, were most often associated with a variety of "scatter" type sites. As many investigators have previously pointed out, the large bayside shell midden sites reprMc:Jt=J the major village areas, or residential base camps-, primrily during the Manasorta, Weeden Island-related and Safety Harbor periods. Inland from the shore, along the eastward streams, are predominant1 y small camp type sites, repr menting. the scenes of temporary or seasonal occupation. It is probable that these inland "scatter" sites were occupied by small populations otherwise resident on the coast, whose travels to the interior were focused upon the hunting or collection of certain.wild plant and animal resources. Unfortunately, the functional nature, other than oVU-.u_- tive, of these small ,inland from the shore" sites are not fully understood. Comparable to these inland campsites are the relatively small shell middens discovered on the barrier islands. These too, it is believed, a movement of szmail groups, away from the major villages, for the PUZ of resource procurement. Like the inland 11sr-atters," the majority of barri& island sites were probably occupied only briefly, perhaps on a seasonal basis. [email protected] @ngly, most of the sites discovered on Siesta, Casey and Manasorta Keys are proximate to large mainland bayside sites. For example, both the previously recorded. Casey Key site (8So17) and newly recorded Mangrove Violation site (8So1384) are directly across Little Sarasota Bay from the Osprey site (8So2) at a distance of less than one-half mile. In like manner, sites 8Sol376 through 8Sol378 in the southern portion of Siesta Key are less than one mile acrci;s the bay from several sites, including Indianola (SS069), the Ralston Mound (8So83/446) and Holiday Harbor (8So75). The largest of the barrier island sites, such as the Lucke Midden on siesta Key -and Bouffard Midden on Manasota Key, may have been the locus of repeated short-term occupations over a long period of time. With the exception of the jorthernmost one to two miles of Casey Key, this barrier island was found to be relatively under-utilized in @rehistoric times, when compared with Siesta and Manascrta Key. -While several sites had previously been recorded for Siesta and Manasota keys, only one was noted for Casey Key- Despite opporturuties for ground surface inspection and .-M] Mxrface testing, l1___ sites were discovered on Casey Key than the other barrier islands. Manasota Key, on the other hand, was found to be rich in archaeological resources, from the Sarasota/Charlotte county line north to Manasota Beach. Survey results indicated a discontinuous pattern Of mostly small, 6hallow sites, lined along the slope of the beach ridge fronting the mangrove strip at the bayshore. In general, the sites discovered on Siesta Key were larger, fewer in number, and spaced at greater intervals along the shoreline. In addition to the collection of fish, shellfish, turtles, and other food resources,, the barrier islands, like the mainland, were also used to bury the dead. A large burial mound (8So17) is )0x= for the northern point of Casey Key. In addition, human rvmins have been found nearby in midden el is (Marquardt 1987). Other barrier island middens may also contain human burials. The Manasota Key Burial Site (8So1292), situated on the gulfside of Manasota, Key, contained the remains of over one hundred individuals. The association of these burial sites with nearby habitation sites has not yet been established. Future Research45ite significance The resultant contributions of this archaeological project have, in the final analysis, been mot quantitative than qualitative. On the positive side, the number of known sites within'the coastal zone and along selected eastward streams has been almost doubled. Rxther, added to the inventory have been a significant number of previously under-represented site types, including various forms of small, low-density, short-term, limited activity sites, as well as sites datux; to the historic period. concentrated survey efforts in Siesta, Casey and Manasota Key have also -served to add to our knowledge of the prehistoric utilization of these barrier islands. Rule the recorded locations of.these new sites provides useful data for historic preservation planning efforts, as well as future archaeological settlement pattern studies, the absence of site specific data concerning temporal/cultural affiliation and site function(s) is an unfortunate deficiency. In the absence of temporal contr ls, the relationships among sites, particularly the articulation between large coastal resources, and smaller interior creekside sites, is still poorly understood. 112 On the basis of their assessed potential to contribute significantly to our knowledge of regional prehistory, several coastal zone archaeological sites- are deemed eligible for nomination to the National Register of Historic Place$. These sites are believed to represent the best examples of their type for the region, are in a good to excellent state of preservation, and have demonstrated their potential to contribute data important to our understanding Of regional culture history, settlement patterning, resource utilization, mortuary practices, population structure, and other important- avenues of inquiry. The National Register eligible sites listed below include both previously as well as newly recorded sites. They are as follows: 1. 82qs4qoll Itystery River. Point 2. 82qSo14 2qLa4qm0qp0qp Mound 3. 8So23 Paulson Point 4. SSo24 Gory 5. 8So56' Roberts Bay 6. 8So2q59 osprey Point 7. 8So69 Indianola 8. 8So83/446 Ralston Mound 9. 8So438 Martin McGuire 10. 8So2q598 Stoltzrier 11. 8So68qO8 Catfish Creek 12. SSo617 Prodie Midden 13. 82qSo1302 Eagle Point III 14. 82qSo1349 Wall Midden 15. 82qSo1351 Oaks/Vamo Mid-4qdamn- 16. 82qS8qO1357 Blackbu8qz8qn Bay Midden 17. 82qSo1371 Bouffard 18. 82qS8qO1376 Lucke Midden 19. 84qS0qO1867 Pocono T4qtail In addition to these cultural resources, several previously and newly recorded sites are adjudged to be p8qatentLally eligible for nomination to the National Register. However, additional data gathering will be necessary before a final determination of eligibility can be made. In the process of acquiring archaeological data necessary for significance evaluation, valuable data Supplementing our current site file information can be derived. Those sites deemed potentially NR eligible are as follows:. 1. 8So3 Pool Hammock 2. 88qSo13 D8qavids 3. 8So27 Davis Midden 4. 8So68qO Wood Midden 5. 8So84 H24qansenf s Landing 6. 8So62qO6 28qOSSR 6qI2qI 7. 832qSo2q1292 Manasota Key Burial 8. 828qS08qO8q1321 Wilcox Ceramic 9. 832qS08qO2q1329 Knight's Trail Park 10. 832qSo2q1352 Catfish-North Creek Bridge/Webb Road 12. 828qSo8q1369 32qi04qc6qkIns08qm 12. 832qSo2q1370 Severinsen 13. 828qSo8q1373 6855 MK Road 14. 828qSo1374 15. 0qS20qSo1375 "Brien 16. 824qS6qo1377 Heron Lagoon East 17. 8qS28qSo1378 The cedars midden 113 18. 8SO1853 Eagle Point/Tamiazfti Trail 19. 8So1868 Pirates Midden. Finally, while caneteries are generally not considered eligible for rxmt- ination to the Naitioral Registr of Historic Places, the following sites are considered regionally inportant: 8So1345 Laurel Cemetery 8So1358 La= Bay Cemetery 8So1367 Venice Cemetery 8So1381 Hansen/Roberts 114 HISIMC REPCIRT General Introduction This section of the report contains the f indings, of the architectural field survey, including some. historical research [email protected] to the developnent of each comuLnuty. Only a general outline containing important dates has been included here for the reader's quick reference. Several excellent narratives on the histary of Sarasota CMmty have already been prepared, and the reader is directed to the Bibliography, located at the end of the report, for sources [email protected] to the history, developTent and architecture of Sarasota County. Two general references are highly re==*nded and were used ectensively for this report: Karl H. Grismer's The. Story of and Janet Snyder Matthews' Venice: 22m= from Horse and chaise. 1842 Josiah Gates along the Manatee River (January) Seminole War ended (August) Armed Occupation Act passed by the U.S_ Congress (August 2) which. it ated that six months' provisions and 160 acres [email protected] land, anywhere south of Palatka and Gainesville, would be given to settlers willing to carry arms to defend their hanes for five years" (Grismer 1946:27). Additional land could be purchased at $1.25 an acre. William H. Whitaker becomes the first settler within today's boundaries of Sarasota County, at the northexn end of the City of Sarasota,, which he called "Yellow Bluffs-" (Decem- ber 14) 1861 Begining of the Civil War; many homes were raided for food. 11he whitaker family moved to Manatee during the war. 1862 Hiomestead Act passed by U.S. Congress wtilch entitled each set- tler to 11160 acres, providing he built a home and tilled the soil for five years" (Grismer 1947:47). William Whitaker was still the only settler in the area which is now known as Sarasota County 1865 The Civil War has ended, bringing a new era to the Sarasota area (Manatee County). Newcomers arrived slowly at first, but the influx quickly gained pace- Many were nortierners, both Yankee soldiers who had been here during the war, and their friends and family who heard of the warmer climate. others were southern families which had been desolated by the northern armies or later by carpetbaggers. Both the southern and the northern families lived amicably as neigh- bors in this new frontier. 1867 Webb family settled in Osp rey 1868 Jessie Knight and his family became the first knoum settlers at lq*n-se and Chaise", later knowm as Venice. 1870 Early developnent of a small comnmity between Hudson Bayou and Phillippi Creek, eventually becoming the city of Sarasota 1871 Jchn S. Blackburn and his two sons, George and Frank hcme- steaded about 1 1/2 miles south of Osprey. 1878 post office granted on August 16 to Charles E. Abbe in Sarasota. prior to that, real was received at the Whitaker home, brought aver from Manatee about once a week by the Mitaker boys. 1910 Bertha Hdnor6 (Mrs - R)[email protected]) Palmer first VISItS Sarasota Coun- ty, and begins purchasing land- The Sarasota-Venice Caqpany is formed with her sons and Joseph Lord, 1912 John and Charles Ruigling begin purchasing and developing land in Sarasota 1914-18 Woild War I (U.S. involvewnt 1917-1918) 1917 Dr. Fred Albee begins purchasing land in Nokcmis 1921 Sarasota County was created when it divided from Manatee Coun- ty 1920s Boom years development and land speculation 1923 The Tamiami Trail crossed the Everglades in April 1925 The BLE began purchasing land in the Venice area 1927 Sarasota becomes the winter home for the Ringling Brothers and Barnum and Bailey Circus 1928 The Tamiami Trail is officially opened on April 25 and 26 1929 Effects of the stock market crash 1930s Depresssi and New Deal era 1937 Social Security Act was passed, guaranteeing retirees a steady monthly income. 1942-45 World War II (U.S. imrolvement) 1945-50 Post World War II development: Marry veterans returned to Florida after being stationed at one of the bases, due to the warmer clima . Between 1940 and 1950 the population of Florida increased appr =ately 23 percent whereas the ited States as a whole only increased about 9 percent within that same time period (Hwit 1950:4) Publications promoted Floridals health inducing aspects such as "Pure air, year-round health-giving climate, vitamin-packed fresh fruits and vegetables, and relaxirq #ierell (Hunt 1950: 97). A housing shortage all over the country induced rapid construction with cheaper materials and uniform designs. military builidngs were moved from the Venice Air Base to various parts of Sarasota County, both for residential and comnmity use. Trailer houses also became popular during this period as an --rxinical form of residence. 1948-58 The "Sarasota School" of architecture evolves with sane nota- ble architects such as Ralph TWitchell, Paul Rudolph, and Victor lundy creatiM "a contaqxx-ary and environmentally oriented style of architecture" (Garfinkel 1989:118). 1950-70 Steady growth is evident in Sarasota County. Tourism and re- tirement remain as the largest inccme producers in the coun- ty. 1970-90 ak neW COI IStructicn boom has hit Sarasota Courity, particularly in the Venice, Englewood and North Port c=munities Survey results are organized by ccnmLuuty, general locale, and barrier island progressing from south to north. The fouzteen survey areas, In Order of their presentationI are as follows: Englewood, Manasota Key, Between Englewood and Venice, Higelville, Eagle Point, Nokomis, Laurel, Casey Key, osprey, vamo, south of Phillippi Creek, Red Rock, Siesta Key, and The Uplands. Each of these survey areas is indicated on a map of the coastal zone area (Figures @[email protected] and 11). 130 fI 32 134 136 'IN 311 313 315 3-9 321 641 63 -N& G4 j 12 131: 1 3 135 137 12 314 3. 319 320 ;22 b3a 64,4 116 pegs 144 ),4 138 '1 327 325 121 EY 141 ISIS 33 332 328 326 324 640 658 654 654 OS REY- It 33 t I - - -- - - - - -- I-- .. -- - -- " -MYAXKA RIVER 14 471 149 151 3 3373 341 343 365 666 663 665 667 STATE PA 1K A, ------ GO)- _L50 152 336 33a 40 342 344 34G 662 664 666 668 146 Is .01 357 355 349 34? 643 641 679 G?? CAM Q GO Rig 358 356 3 4- 2 350 346 644 642 Gaa 6?6 In 359 3613 k 36? 369 685 Gar 689 69f CL 3GO 3 3?0 656 Gas 690 692 3 1 36 366 366 CASEY 64 300- - 1;9 KEY C'1377 375 373 37.1 707 705 703 701 zi --- 28 25 - -- .43AX. 380 376 3 372 708 ?00 704 ?02 LAUREL 365 349 $91 393 Toll 711 713 ?Is 33 - 3, 169 as 390 39r 394 TI 0 ?12 714 716 NOKOMIS 403 40 9 397 395 ?31 729 727 ?25 2) 4064 400, jt= 730 06- 726 06 1-2 41 40914 413 413 33 ?35 737 HIGELVILLE 407 EAGLE POINT ,a 6 4-1 4412 414 414 4181 734 736 734 740 01\ VE N ICE (N. 177 YEN ICE ,,,.25 42 3 421 419 ?55 a 753 T51 ?49 4 Ail Q9 43 428 426 424 422 420 ?56 ? 4 ?92 750 4435 437 439 440 757 759 764 763 CL 1 12) 2s - 39 1 122 V 436 440 442 y5a 760 ?62 ?64 44' r" 447 44f 443 yT9 777 ?? ?73 %: '50 440 4 4 446 Too 770 7 455 1. 460 462 444 781 .783 .. @ : I @[email protected] 14 -X, 441 463 445 ?92 704 786 ?aa .......... x 474 470 464 4GG Go$ 601 799 797 X. BETWEEN 47 471 4 X 69 467 904 802 loo Psa X ENGLEWOOD & VENICE . ...... 479 441 003 GOT Sol all .0) MANASOTA 14 6C: 460 442 KEY 806 dos SIO -2 40 403 627 SZ5 923 .21 0 .449 444 $26 026 824 22 CL .14 sag 831 833 5.3 [email protected]@ 3 0- 832 934 036 ENGLEWOOD ISoNk 0 947 845 *10. Surveyed Commun*ities in S Figure outhern 300 'so 848 846 29 3. 3 [email protected] 3 @41 [email protected] /" 25 4 30 @l 3 4 36 1-3 Sarasota County Coastal Zone. 095 ass 62) 502 so 856 $60 CNARLOTTE COUNTY Rge. IS E. R 19 E. R go. 20 E. Rge. 17 E. Rge. IS E. 117 UPLANDS MANATEE COUNTY 24 22 20 111 14 S -2 2 04 Rwd. 4 50V 3.4 23 21 Is IT 15 6 z? 29 31 3 36 6 30 32 34 36 192 S-28 41 39 30 43 qz (14) S a '43A 12A -2-r, S.. LL ; ,40A 40 so 214 S A R A S0 T 0 S-10 A 36 "A 4-4 CL CITY OF - S-36 1 I1;[email protected] 22) F. ...... t23) SARASOTA 21 22 9.9 S 35 S-37 9-30 45 A 4 (N. 1. C.) - 3-11 S M ACL a a 45 ZIG 1-16 S-44 S42 S-44. S-42 3-40 6 1,2 48 3-17 :543 "3 55 53 51 49 238 *,d. P-b 11-1 fl;48A S S 62 64 S48 -20 '[email protected] 2f QI 32 .4 4i S-Q 2 5 59 63 65 2 74 TO fin 6 0 RED ROCK- a 73 4ued A .95 80 G 9 9 94 so as C SIESTA KEY- 99 gr 2 95 102 too 96 96 2 0 CL 111 113 Its 287 SOUTH OF 10 112 114 Ile lie 2 PHILLIPPI CREEK 4. QO [email protected] 123 121 119 309 2 124 1 1 @2 120 129 f, 32 154 138 311 Vi VANICI L 31 )-4 140 134 OSPREY IE, 1 4, 139 146 149 Ist 3 115; 146 150 152 144' 155 153 Ui 16 w W) 160 A [email protected] 65 [email protected] --igure 11. Surveyed Communities in Northern Sarasota County Coastal Zone. (N.I.C. = not in contract) 118 .Survey findings for each area are presentlad as follows: 1. General development of the survey area. 2. Boundaries of the area and corresponding hal-f-section maps. 3. Survey Results, which includes a current general description of the area, new sites, previously recorded sites, and other sites pertaining to' the historical period but are recoded as archaeological sites. .4. GenZexal ons for the survey area. Included are a map of the survey area highlighting the historic sites and a list of Surveyed Historic Structures, complete with field survey numbers, FNSF numbers, street address, site name, historic context, architectural style, data quality, and NR or local eligibility. Completed Florida Master Site File (FNSF) forms for all newly recorded sites are contained in subsequent volumes fo this report. Accompanying this report are the half-section maps and bound field survey forms used in the field survey. A field survey number identifies each site surveyed. - Color slides, black and white negatives, and black and white prints not used for the FNSF forms have also been submitted to the Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources (SCEM). Copies of reference materials riot already located at SCDHR will be donated to the department. Summary of Survey Resul Bard styles ad in this FrA : A Most of the ave survey structures inventoried were frame vernacular, of very modest style and materials. many had alterations performed through the years, such as additions, porch enclosures, wirxlcwr:? replaced, new siding added, etc. There still remain a select number of frame vernacular structures, however, in good condition, with very few modifications. These are scattered throughout the entire coastal zone area. Mere are some Mediterranean Revival Style builduigs, generally found closer to the more developed areas such as in Nokomis (near Venice), in Vam (between Osprey and Sarasota), on Siesta Key (near Sarasota), two token les in the South Phillipi Creek area (near Sarasota), and one on Casey Key. Most are small scale residences, except for the Keith-Prodie mansion on the Phillipi Creek, Point of Palm in Nokaais (Dr. Albee's home), and several mid-sized residences. A few Mediterranean Revival Style commercial buildings remain in Nokcmis, as well as a school in Laurel and one in Osprey. Several semi-modern (early 1950s) Mediterranean Revival Style homes were developed in the Uplands cc==ty north of Sarasota, designed by architect/developer Augustin N. Tierry. A few bungalows are found scattered among the frame vernacular residences throughout the coastal zone area, but they are not predominant. Most of these are located in Vano. Two concrete block residences, with bungalow massing, were found in this survey. One, located in Englewmod, does not appear on the 1948 aerials. The other, situated on Kenilworth street in the Red Rock area, also appears to be of later construction. Based on cormersations with local residents, we discovered some wood frame residox:es were constructued by prefabrication [email protected] companies such as Jim Walters Corporation, based in TWupa. Although they used similar 119 materials and massing as the earlier wood frame vernacular residences, these were generally first built in the 1950s and 1960s.- They can be distinguished by lower pitch roofs, wider siding boards, and constructed on concrete'slabs or- on continuous concrete foundations. This particular corporation began [email protected] circa, 1946 and continues to operate as a large corporation with many subsidiaries. (A sales brochure from the early 1970s was obtained from Jim Walter Hanes in Tampa and has been placed on file at the Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources for future reference.) Other :5 tr uc I -IFt= encountered in this survey, also wood frame vernacular, were moved from the Venice Air Base soon after World War II for both residential and community use. Sane , were large rectangular buildIngs originally used as mess halls, etc. Most of the service men lived in small lfbutments", approximately 16 feet by 16 feet, some of which can now be found in Englewood. Numerous ' 1 ---- - of the air In and specific buildings are L&A:jj- CXIA J= available in the Venice Area Historical collection (VAHC) , in the Venice public library. Very few I%odernefl, International or Art Deco structures were discovered outside of the city limts of Sarasota or Venice. One unique example, built in 1950, is located in the Red Rock area, just south of the incorporated city of Sarasota. It is a rambling concrete residence with curved edges and numerous borizioptal overhangs. [email protected]*m other residences in this style were found in the unincoporated county, one in the Uplands camunity, north of Sarasota, and one on Casey Key. Although cons :ructed later than the required pre-1949 survey date, we have included the cries in Red Rock and the Uplands in this ..Irr-rehensive survey and have. prepared a Florida Master Site File form for each because of their unique style arid mmllent condition. A few exmples of residences desic;ned by nortable architects Ralph witchell and Paul Rudolph were located during this survey. Most, however, Were constructed after 1949. "As the tourists, wealthy retirees, and winter visitors returned after world War II, the cultrual legacy of the Palmers and Ringlings led to a strcng revitalized economy and the "Sarasota School" of architecture. Starting with small guest houses for the wealthy, such notable architects . . . established a contemporary and ly oriented style of architecture" (Garfinkel 1989:118). At the onset of this design Period (1948-1952) paul Rudolph was in partnership with Ralph Twitchell, a local architect who had been designing structures in the Sarasota area since the 1920s. After 1952, Rudolph continued in Private Practice with Offices in both Sarasota, Florida and New Haven, Cmmwr-tlctxt until he became [email protected] Of the School of Architecture at Yale University in 1958. A list of his. works is included in C0j-ItjMLQ== Archi . Several houses he designed between 1946 and 1950 were constructed on Siesta Key and Casey Key, some in colaboration with Ralph Twitchell (Morgan 1987:766). TWitchell's indiVidual Projects, however, have not been listed in a -yqrehensive form. His wife is currently preparing his blography and my include a number of his designs. In addition, his son, -Thlin Twitchell, a local architect, may have access to Or knowledge of Ralph Twitchell's architectural endeavours remaining in Sarasota County- Numerous other buildings were relocated for one reason or another, many due to the widening of U.S. Highway 41 (Tamiami Trail). Some motel cottages. were apparently moved to the Red Rock area. Josephine cortes describes a number of houses originally occupied by supervisory personnel at the Woodmere Lumber Company -Yduch were moved to Casey Key, siesta Key, Englewood and Venice (Cortes 1976:104) 120 Most of the structures encountered were small-scale residences, modest both in size and design. 'This is not surprising considering that the vast majority were originally constructed as winter residences. Sarasota was as much of a popular retreat from the cold northern climate for both the lower and middle classes as-it was for the upper class. Tourism has been an important economic source for Sarasota County since before the turn of the century. The fewer hcmes designed for the elite winter residents, such as the Palmers and the Albees, however, were quite grand in scale and epitomized the best deslg*n of the times. Unfortunately few of these estates remain. Other residences of a substantial size were constructed for pioneer homestead families who built their own houses and expanded them as the need and r curces pr ;ented themselves. Cne example is the Claude T. Curry residence in Nokcmis, a two-story wood frame house which Claude and his brother built in 1908. Unse homes which have remained in the original family have generally been maintained and altered in a manner sympathetic with the original design. Bas! materials in this survey: As most of the structures found were frame vernacular, it would be obvious that most of the materials used were wood. Lumber companies, marry with mills, such as the ones at Wood- mere (1917-1930), Laurel (The J. Ray Arnold Lumber Coupany, 1925-30), and in Venice (r1he Venice Lumber Co., 1926-1959) were numerous in the area, process- ing cat boards from the abundant pine trees in Sarasota County (Matthews 1989). Drop siding seems to have been the predcminant siding type used. Other types were: weatherboard, clapboard (narrower boards, and genm-ally older), pecky cypress sidirxI, and asbestos shingles. In later years vertical grooved plywood (T-111) was often used for additicns and remodeling. On occasion, aluminum or vinyl siding was found to have been added to sane of the historic structures included in this survey, but this was riot the predominant case. Very few brick structures were built, although brick was cmmonly used for fireplace chimneys and foundation piers. Poured concrete, structural clay tiles and concrete block were all used prior to 1949, but apparently were usually stuccoed. One example is the Laurel School constructed in 1928, usirxj structural clay tiles. Ocala block became Popular in the very late 1940s. nus material was probably first introduced by the avant-garde architects TW,tchell and &Xb1ph and cmtinued to be used, even today. Generally placed with stacked joints, these buff-colored blocks did not require painting. Mumerous concrete block structures were also constructed with exposed horizontal joints. Although quite .commm to this area, they were usually found to have been omt-structed in the early to mid-1950s. This type of construction apparently coincided with sane large scale development as marry subdivisions were platted in the 1950s. Sane unique examples of concrete block bungalows were found, one in Englewood, but based on the 1948 aerials were rnt camitructed until later. As mentioned above, brick was used for foundation piers, but the type of piers, for pre-1940 construction, were the trapezoidal ccrx=ete-piers. Concrete block piers were generally used in the 1940s and later. Continuous concrete block and concrete slab foundations were common in later construction or for buildings which were moved. 121 Window types and materials were often used to determine the general age Of a building or to determine whether it was remodeled. Early types of windows were wood double hung sash with various types of panes. Three vertical and four vertical over ne were very common in Englewood. Further north, two hari horizortal over two horizontal was somewhat popular. The standard two vertical over two vertical and the one over one were also found throughout the area, but not as often as the other styles. Some wood casement windows were discovered, generally used in Mediterranean Revival Style structures. steel casements were also used in Mediterranean Revival Style buildings, even as early as the 1920s, where they were used by the BIZ (Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers) in Venice. They were also amunct , however in newer additions and in concrete block residences built in the 1950S. Aluminum awning windows and single hung sash are often used today to replace original wood double hung windows, to enclose porches and in new additions. Jalousie windows were generally used as sash replacements and for porch enclosures as early as the 1960s. Abbreviations used in survay results and bahl The following abbreviations have been developed by the Florida Division of Historical Resources for use in the ccupiter retrieval of Florida Master Site File listings. We have used the same abbreviations in the Suxveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations tables for each cammmity. These are coded as follows: Historic (Based on knom date or appradmate time period of cons xuction): PREC Pqwt-Reoanstruction 1879-1898 SPAW Spanish-American War 1898-1916 WWIA World War I and Aftermath 1916-1920 BOOK Boan times 1920-1929 DEFR Eqression and New Deal 1929-1941 WW World War II and Aftermath 1941-1950 MODE Modern 1950-present Architectural 2=1 FRAM Frame vernacular MP2MI M&-8qxnuy Vernacular (generally poured concrete or concrete block) BUNG Bungalow MEDR Mediterranean Revival S32qP32O28qD Spanish Colonial miss Mission OOER Colonial Revival TU32qDR Tudor Revival COMM Commercial PRAI Prairie 32qDITE International MODE Moderne AR32qT32qD Art Deco 122 Table 10. Number of Surveyed Structures in eacb Cmmiunity Structures Field Survey FMSF Preliminary Community Surveyed Numbers Numbers Estimate EMlew;ood 243 001-242 Mo1385-162,ir N/A 252,253 Manasota Key 15 260-274 8Sol625-1639 N/A Between Englewood 10 243-251 8So1640-1649 N/A & Venice + 254 Higelville 4 8So519-522 N/A Eagle Point 11 910-920 8So2100-2110 N/A Nokomis 168 301-391 8Sol651-1818 N/A 395, 396 601-672 675,678,679 Laurell 35 580-589 8Sol820-1854 11 673-677 680-700 Casey Key 17 550-565 8Sol875-1891 N/A + 496 Os1MW 95 401-495 8Sol905-1999 61 VaM 32 501-527 8So2OOO-2031 30 537,541-544 South of Phillippi 13 528-536 8So2087-2099 N/A Creek 538-540 + 753 Red Rock 52 701-752 8So2035-2086 N/A Siesta Key 148 756-903 8So21'11-2258 N/A The Uplands 4 go-5-908 SSo1895-1899 N/A Total 847 ***** * As determined frm Draft, Historic Preservation Element, Sarasota County prepared by Historic property Associates, in 1987. A quick windshield survey was cmxIucted for this draft to identify the approxinate number of structures remaining construc"ed prior to 1936. one structure was surveyed twice. Previously recorded sites included in the Venice Historical Architectural Survey prepared in 1985. Blackburn Point bridge Includes previously recorded sites in Higelville. 123 .General. DevelgUpmt_: The 1897 Manatee County General Directory Englewood as a newly settled secticn at the extreme southern end of the county, located on Lemon Bay (Meserve 1897). In fact, the original plat of Englewood was filed and recorded on August 17, 1896, only a year earlier (Plat Book 1:150). "The small lots in the center of the map were home sites; the larger lots were for citrus groves. Elm Street, running north and -south, separated the two sections. It will be noted that the only named streets in the residential area, Stem-t, Harvard, Yale, Wmtworthand Perry, ended at Elm Street. In later years, these streets were extended east across Elm, but .in each instance required a jog in the road because of the difference in size between the* one-acre home lots and the 10 acre grove lots. All the streets were 20 feet wide's (Cortes 1976:59) Herbert Nichol and his two brothers from Chicago first developed Englewood, namirig it after their hometown suburb of Chicago and including some street names from Chicago such as Dearborn, Harvard and Yale (Frank n.d.:9). 7hey planned that this region would be a famous lemor growing area. The first colonists came in 1894, priompted by literature [describing Grove City,cn Lemon Bay] distributed at the Columbian Exposition of 1893 in Chicago. However, the Big Freeze of 1894, damaged many citrus trees and the freezes of 1895-96 completely wiped out the groves and many settlers left the area. . . . Marry visitors and permanent residents came to Englewood and enjoyed excellent hunting and fishing during the ensuing years. However, fishing was the main industry, riot lesna groves" (Englewood, Florida Proudly Salqtes an Historic Occassion: America's Bicentennial 1776-1976:15). William Goff had settled in the Englewood area eighteen years earlier. He arrived with his family, traveling from Twra by schooner in 1878 searching for a piece of land to settle and raise his family. His brother, Derpse, joined him in 1886 at which time they established the Tow of Grove City along the shores of Lemm Bay, just a few miles south of the future town of Englewood- Herbert Nichol was not discouraged by the freezes of 1894 and 1895-96. A post office was first established on July 3, 1895, with John S. Gibbons acting as the first postmaster. luo, years later, George D. Farr was listed as the POSt3mister and merchant. The 1897 Manatee County [email protected] Directory listed about 52 families in Englewood, including 37 farmers, one merchant (George D. Farr), one mechanic, one chemist, two tailors, one sailor, two mill operators, two teamsters, one laborer, three real estate agents (the Nichols brothers), and one capitalist. Fish was listed as the chief product. It was also noted that several orange groves had been planted (Meserve 1897). The Directory of the Lemon Bay Area, also published in 1897, "reveals a total*of 86 inhabitants, of whom 16 adults and 34 children were 'residents' and the remainder were 'Winter Visitors and men in the fishing camps"' (Cortes 1964). By 1898, Englewood boasted Ats first large hotel with 16 rooms, the Engelwood Inn, located at the bay end of Perry Street, with a dock leading into the bay more than 250 feet. Ttlis hotel was constructed by the Nichols family ccn4xmy (Grismer 1946). It became the winter residence of many prominent Chicago people until it burned to the ground in 1909 (Cortes 1976). 0 124 "In 1910 ,. T.M. Wrede, Sr., Nokomis, taking the Federal Census, found a permanent population here of 75 persons. Winter residents numbered about 50 " (Cortes 1964). The development of the section was retarded, however, by a complete lack Of transportation facilities and for many years Englewood was nothing but a fishing hamlet" (Grismer 1946:269) . Transportation to Englewood at the turn of the century was by water or by a shell -road leading southward from Sarasota. However, the early part of the 20th century brought hard surface roads and eventually automobiles to Englewood during the World War I era (Englewood, Florida Proudly salutes an Historic Occassion: America's Bicentennial 1776-1976). The Tamiami Trail was blazed through the Everglades in 1923 (originally routed through the center of Englewood); and the Seaboard Railway extension eventually connected Venice with Ft. Myers. During the first decade of the new century, new residents arrived to spend the winters, maintaining their northern homes for a summer residence. Many eventually became permanent residents, however, after finding that the summers were pleasant as well. The community continued to grow during the Florida Boom years when a bank and several new-stores opened (Grismer 1946). By 1923, the Lampp Hotel, operated by O.S. Lampp was in business. Thirty-one residents with assorted occupations were listed in the 1924 Sarasota City, County Directory. Mrs. P.E. Buchan was the postmaster and her husband was the local merchant. Englewood was incorporated as a municipality in November 1925 with 13 square miles, including four miles along the Gulf of Mexico and eight miles bordering Lemon Bay. According to the County Directories, Englewood was proud to have a community center, park, golf course, banks, hotel, stores, churches, schools, newspapers and industry by 1926. Many of these improvements only appeared on newspapers though, due to the unforeseen end of the real estate boom. At that time 63 families were recorded as residing in the town. T.H. Chapin was the proprietor of the Tamiami Lodge (Polk 1926). Unfortunately, the bank failed during the stock market crash of 1929, and all but one of the stores closed. Josephine Cortes explains in her book The History of Early Englewood that in 1929 "Englewood became unincorporated,' the Tamiami Trail was moved away and the town went back to its pre-boom status as a sleepy village on the bay .... (Cortes 1976:109). By 1936, after the devastating Depression Years, about 158 adult residents were listed in the County Directory. Mary W. Green was the postmistress several new businesses included the Ba Biological Laboratory (John F. and Elsa Bass ). and Angler's Inn (C.J. Cornell). Prominent citizens included: P.E. Buchan, County Commissioner (previously a merchant); Earl MacMichael , physician; William Plamonden, physician; and William H. Lampp boat builder. The Social Security Act was passed in 1937, guaranteeing retirees a steady monthly income, however modest. This encouraged many retirees to move to Englewood (as well as other parts of Sarasota County and Florida) where they built modest homes in which to enjoy their leisure years (Englewood, Florida Proudly salutes an Historic Occassion: America's Bicentennial 1776- 1976) In 1940, the County Directory showed a slight increase in residents, uP to about 186 adults. The Englewood Methodist Church, the Englewood 125 Presbyterian Church and the Englewood School are also listed in the directory. New businesses included the Loaf.."n" Lodge operated by John Van Norman and the West Coast Fish Co. managed by Herbert A. Anger.. The Englewood Gardens Subdivisions, located around the town of Englewood, were platted in 1941 and were first offered for sale through newspaper advertiserents in Washington, D.C. in 1942. Karl Grismer favorably described Englewood in his bock'The Story . "In 194 -6, Englewood showed indications of being on the verge of the ddvelopmrrt, which inevitably will ccme, sooner or later, because of the superb location of the community and the public-spiritedness of its residents" (Grismer 1946:269). Englewood continued to grow throughout the 1940s, 50s and 60s at a slowl, but steady pace which has resulted in a peaceful and restful, yet progressive community today. According to Josephine Cortes, "three generations of promoters were finally convinced that the Leman Bay area could not be hurried into becoming a carbon copy of northern industrial cities; they learned what its pioneer - -teaders knew . . . that the greatest attraction of this area was in being precisely what it is today - a predominantly residential commmity where there is plenty of room for children to grow, for adults to work and relax, and for older citizens to enjoy their retirement years in peace and-quiet, with just enough activity to keep them from growing stale" (Cortes 1964) Boundaries and 7he community of Englewood today basically includes the followings sections, listed with their curresiaxiing half-SeCtion maps in parenthesis. This consists of an area bound on the north by the intersection of Englewood Road (S.R. 775) and old Englewood Ptoad, near Buchan Airport; on the west by Lamion Bay; on the south by the Sarasota-CUrlotte County boundary; and on the east by Deer (or Godfrey) Creek. Miese sections were covered in our --yrrrehensive survey, --- primarily on the areas whicli were developed prior to 1949. Most of the land east of Indiana Avenue (S.R. 775) was rural or undeveloped in 1949, in fact, some of the earliest Subdivisions in that area were not platted until 1956 (half-section maps). The accompanying map of Englewvod (Figure 12) highlights the historic [email protected] 7eS identified during this survey of Englewood. Tlownship 40 South, Range 19 East, Section 22 (490 & 491) Section 23 (492 & 493) Section 24 (494 & 495) Section 25 (496 & 497) Section 26 (498 & 499) Section 36 (503 & 504) Ta*TL-hip 40 South, Range 20 East, Section 30 (851 & 852) Section 31 (853 & 854) Englewood continues to be predominantly a law-keyed community, cansist,ing mostly of single family residences and Small-scale comnercial. establishments. most of the residences are small to moderate in size, generally campatable in style and scale within each block, whether they are of historic or newer construction. The highest on of commercial activity occurs along Indiana Avenue and Dearborn Street, with secondary emphasis on North McCall Road. Surrounding the older established portion of Englewood, which is located north and south of Dearborn Street, west of 126 1 1 1 I . I I I I I I I I I I I I I Figure 12. Location of Historic Structures in the Englewood Study Area. - I I 127 Indiana Avenue, are numerous residential subdivisions. Many of these were developed as early as the late 1940s to mid-1950s and expanded further north, south or east of Englewood as needed. Sane areas are even now currently under construction. As a result of this Coastal Zone C:omprehensive Survey, 243 historic structures have been recorded (one was recorded twice), based on the criteria that they were constructed prior to 1949. Since this was the first community to be surveyed, a number of structures built in the early 1950s were also included, as they were of similar construction to those fran the late 1940s. The survey of Englewood provided a better understanding of construction techniques, styles and materials used in the more remote areas of Sarasota County. These have proven to be of a LKn modest caliber than those previously recorded in the city of Sarasota. Cnly those structures determined to have been oamtructed prior to 1949, based on the 1948 aerials, have been forumrded to the Florida Division of Historical Resources for inclusion in the Florida Master Site File. The majority of the structures found in Englewood are wood frame vernacular, scattered [email protected] @out the town. Many have been modified during the years, most with new additions, replacement windows, new siding, and/or existing porches enclosed. However, there are still a few unique architectural examples which have remained unaltered or sympathetically modified. The two largest concentrations of historic structures oca in the oldest portion of Englewood, at the west and of Perry, Dearborn and Green Streets; and at the southern end, along McCall Road, near the Lamon Bay Cemetery. Both of these areas bcrder Lemon Bay, an Inportaryt, factor in the development of Englewood. An unusual elemen found on a few residences in Englewood, is a long thin beivedere with clerestory windows ruraung most of the length of the ridge, used for ventilation. New S3 Locations and information for newly recorded sites were generally provided by J=al inf=mnt-s and [email protected] [email protected] at the Elsie QuirX Library in Englewood. All 243 surveyed sites are included in the list of Surveyed Historic Structures (Table 11). The most important ones have been Listed here with a brief narrative. 1. BuchanIs Landing, 40 Olive Street (8So1567) - Mt. and Mrs. Peter E. Buchan constructed this two story wood frame residence, circa 1916, located at the southern end of Old Englewood Road, on Olive Street. The first floor was used as a store, where supplies were brought in from Tampa by the schooners 11J.W. Booth" and Iq?hantom". Peter Buchan had originally arrived in the Lemon Bay area in 1902f where he first worked for 'the Chadwicks and then for Mr. Nichols, who owned the store and post office on Yale Street. In 1912, Peter Buchan purdhased the Nichols' store and post office, includuig all of the He then moved the operation into his new store at Buchans Landing in 1916. "In 1924, P.E. Buchan sold his store to Mr. Campbell of Nocatee and left the Englewood area" (Cashatt n.d.). The family returned ten years later, however, and Mr. Buchan was appointed Sarasota County Ccmissicner, representing Englewood. He remained in office for a total of 18 years I until he retired at the age of 80 (Cashatt n. d. ) - After their deaths (in 1968 and 1971 respectively), their daughter and her family, the Jack Tates, resided in this house. Table 11 128 ENGLEWOOD, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Map & FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Local Survey Elig. Oil 155 S. MCCALL RD'. MODE. MASO E 101 589 S. MCCALL ROAD MODE MASO 1 E 179 405 YALE ST. MODE MASO 3 E 104 8Sol385 65 1ST AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 D 109 8Sol386 65 2ND AVE. DEPR FRAM 3 C* 110 8Sol387 55 2ND AVE. DEPR FRAM 3 C 098 8Sol388 20 BAY ST. DEPR FRAM 3 C 099 8Sol389 60 SAY ST. WW2A MASO 1 0 100 8Sol39O 80 BAY ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 075 8Sol39l 170 BAY ST. WW2A FRAM 3 E 074 8Sol392 175 BAY ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 076 8Sol393 176 BAY ST. WW2A MASO 3 E 053 8Sol394 T01 BROADWAY BOOM BUNG 1 C 045 8Sol395 775 BROADWAY WW2A MEDR 3 E 046 8Sol396 755A 890ADWAY UNKN FRAM I C 044 8Sol397 899 BROADWAY WW2A BUNG 3 E 036 8Sol398 575 BURR LANE OEPR FRAM 3 C 136 8Sol399 55 CEDAR ST. BOOM FRAM 3/4 D 129 8Sol4OO 140 CEDAR ST. DEPR FRAM 3 D 130 8Sol401 160 CEDAR ST. DEPR FRAM 3 D 131 8Sol402 198 CEDAR ST. OEPR FRAM 3 D 186 8Sol403 245 CEDAR ST. BOOM' FRAM 3 C 184 M1404 345 CEDAR ST. WW2A FRAM 3 0 185 8Sol405 355 CEDAR ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 236 8Sol406 ? CEDAR ST. DEPR FRAM 3/4 D 227 8Sol407 51 COCOANUT AVE. LEMON BAY WOMEN'S CLUB WW2A FRAM I A 157 8Sol408 251 COCOANUT AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 D 226 8Sol408 251 COCOANUT AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 D 159 8Sol409 255 COCOANUT AVE. WW2A FRAM 1 D 150 8Sol4lO 301 COCOANUT AVE. DEPR FRAM 3 C 229 8Sol4ll 335 COCOANUT AVE. WW2A MASO 1 D 143 8Sol4l2 398 COCOANUT AVE. WW2A MASO 3 0 118 8Sol4l3 555 COCOANUT DEPR FRAM 3 C 119 8Sol4l4 556 COCOANUT DEPR FRAM I C 117 8Sol4l5 575 COCOANUT WW2A MASO 3 D 010 8Sol4l6 210 S. COWLES ST. BOOM MEDR 3 C 008 8Sol4l7 349 S. COWLES ST. MODE BUNG 3 D 162 8Sol4l8 200 DEARBORN ST. DEPR FRAM 4 D 161 8Sol4l9 232 DEARBORN ST. KELLY'S TAVERN UKNK FRAM 4 D 160 8Sol420 240 DEARBORN ST. ORIGINALLY ROYAL CASINO BOOM FRAM 3 C 137 8Sol421 498-DEARBORN ST. DEPR FRAM 3 0 038 BSol422 463 DEARBORN ST. ZIEGLER HARDWARE STORE Boom FRAM 3 C 114 8Sol423 DEARBORN ST. BOOM FRAM 3 C 138 8Sol424 30 ELM ST. OEPR FRAM 3 C 139 8Sol425 50 ELM ST. WW2A MASO 4 E 140 8Sol426 60 ELM ST. Ww2A FRAM 3 D 141 8Sol427 70 ELM ST. 'NW2A FRAM 3 0 132 BSol428 150 ELM ST. WW2A FRAM 3 0 177 8Sol429 201 ELM ST. MODE OTHR 3 0 176 8Sol430 255 ELM ST. MODE FRAM 3 D 129. Table 11 (cont.) ENGLEWOOD, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Map FMSF Site Address Site Name- Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Local Survey # Elig. 178 8So1431 270 ELM ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 175 8So1432 295 ELM ST. MODE FRAM 3 0 208 8So1433 430 ELM ST. WW2A FRAm 3 D 013 8So1434 +240 FRAY ST.' WW2A OTHR 3 D 014 8So1435* 211 FRAY ST. DEPR MASO 3 D 015 8Sol436 221 FRAY ST. WW2A MASO 1 0 016 8So1437 253 FRAY ST. WW2A FRAM 3 0 020 8Sol438 45 GREEN ST. WW2A MASO 3 0 029 8So1439 150 GREEN ST. WWZA FRAm 3 0 023 8So1440 170 GREEN ST. OEPR FRAM 3 C 024 8So1441 190 GREEN ST. WW12A FRAM 3 0 025 8So1442 250 GREEN ST. WW2A FRAM 1 0 027 8So1443 348 GREEN ST. WW2A OTHR 3 D 029 8So1444 GREEN ST. ENGLEWOOD METHODIST CHURCH BOOM FRAM 3 C 031 SSo1445 502 GREEN ST. DR. MARY GREEN'S HOUSE Boom BUNG 3 C 032 8So1446 510? GREEN ST. WW2A MASO 1 0 033 8So1447 GREEN ST. DEPR FRAM 1 C 034 8So1448 526 GREEN ST. WW2A FRAM 3 E 035 8So1449 530 GREEN ST. AQC9Zo4 ])AMD$ PESIDaIXF, BOOM BUNG 3 C 210 BSo1450 430? HARVARD ST. WW2A FRAm 3 C 216 8So1451 431? HARVARD ST. WW2A MASO 3 D 209 8So1452 430 HARVARD ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 211 8So1453 440 HARVARD ST. WW2A FRAm 3 D 215 8So1454 441 HARVARD ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 214 8So1455 451 HARVARD ST. WW2A FRAM 3 C 212 8So1456 460 HARVARD ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 213 8So1457 470 HARVARD ST. WW2A FRAM 3 E 057 8So1458 775 HARVEY WW2A MASO 3 E 058 8So1459 785 HARVEY WW2A MASO 3 E 069 8So146O ?? HORTON AVE. HORTON HOUSE BOOM FRAM I C 067 8So1461 36 HORTON AVE. BOOM MASO 1 C 068 8So1462 45 HORTON AVE. DEPR COLR 1 C 223 8So1463 54 HORTON AVE. WW2A MASO I D 066 8So1464 S. INDIANA AVE. ENGLEWOOD COMMUNITY CLUB WW2A FPAM 3 C 042 8So1465 801 S. INDIANA AVE. BOOM BUNG 3 D 043 8So1466 845 S. INDIANA AVE. DEPR FRAM 3 D 059 8So1467 890 S. INDIANA AVE. 02A MASO 3 0 070 BSo1468 810 KNIGHTS LANE WW2A FRAM 3 C 071 8So1469 820 KNIGHTS LANE DEPR MASO I C .072 BSo147G 828-830 KNIGHTS LANE DEPR BUNG 3 C 218 8So1471 850 KNIGHTS LANE Boom BUNG 3 0 063 8So1472 855 KNIGHTS LANE DEPR FRAM 3 D 062 8So1473 880 KNIGHTS LANE HORTON HOUSE 02A MASO 3 0 018 BSo1474 141 LANGSNER WW2A MASO 3 0 019 8So1475 148 LANGSNER 02A MASO 3 0 017 8So1476 149 LANGSNER WW2A MASO 3 D 239 8So1477 55? N. LEWIS ST. DEPR MASO 1 D 054 8So1478 690 LIBERTY DEPR FRAM 1 C 055 8So14T9 727 LIBERTY 'AW2A MASO 3 17A ACmlAan AR I I M;: 4ZT mnn;: golm I 130 Table 11 (cont.). ENGLEWOOD, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Map & FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Local S6rvey Elig. 028 8So1481 47 MAGNOLIA AVE. WW2A MASO 3 0 030 8So1482 52-MAGNOLIA AVE. WW2A MASO 3 D 007 8So1483 285 MAGNOLIA AVE. ZIEGLER HOUSE BOOM BUNG 1 C 228 8So1484 15 N. MANGO ST. WW2A MASO 3/4 D 151 8So1485 16 N. MANGO ST. WW2A FRAM 3 0 152 8So1486 N. MANGO ST. OEPR BUNG 3 C 153 8So1487 75 N. MANGO ST. DEPR BUNG 3 C 155 8So1488 60 N. MANGO ST. WW2A MASO 3 6 154 8So1489 95 N. MANGO ST. DEPR BUNG 3 C 026 8So1490 101 S. MANGO ST. WW2A MASO 1 D 158 8So1491 30 N. MAPLE ST. BOOM MEDR 1 C 156 8So1492 75 N. MAPLE ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 002 8So1493 275 S. MAPLE ST. WW2A 'MASO 3 D 003 8So1494 280 S. MAPLE ST. WW2A BUNG 1 C 163 8So1495 12 N. MCCALL ROAD WW2A FRAM 3 D 164 8So1496 30 N. MCCALL ROAD WW2A FRAM 3 C 165 8So1497 N. MCCALL ROAD Ww2A FRAM 3 C 166 8So1498 50 N. MCCALL ROAD DEPR FRAM 5 D 012 8So1499 101 S. MCCALL RD. UNKN FRAM 3 D 225 8So1500 110-120 MCCALL RD. DECORAMA CABINETS DEPR MASO 4 D ET.AL. 009 8So1501 233 S. MCCALL RD. WW2A MASO 1 D 001 8So15O2 210 S. MCCALL RD. DEPR FRAM 3 E 112 8So1503 470 S. MCCALL RD:1-8 WW2A FRAM 1 0 221 8So1504 495 S. MCCALL ROAD WW2A MASO 3 E 108 8So1505 550 S. MCCALL ROAD BOOM SPCO 1 C 105 BSo1506 559 S. MCCALL ROAD 02A FRAM 3 D 073 8So1507 562-572 S. MCCALL RD. WW2A FRAM 1 0 8So1508 5T2 S. MCCALL ROAD WW2A FRAM 3 D 107 102 8So1509 575 S. MCCALL ROAD WW2A FRAM 3 D 106 8SoJ510 592 S. MCCALL ROAD WW2A FRAM 3 D 078 8So1511 635 or 651 S. MCCALL RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C 219 M1512 650 S. MCCALL ROAD 02A MASO 3/6 D 103 8So1513 661 S. MCCALL ROAD WW2A MASO 3 D 079 8So1514 665 S. MCCALL RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C 077 8So1515 666 S. MCCALL RD. OEPR FRAM 3 D 080 8SoJ516 669 S. MCCALL RD. Ww2A FRAM 3 0 087 8So1517 670A S. MCCALL RD. CURWOOD COTTAGES BOOM SPCO 1 C 088 8So1518' 670B S. MCCALL RD. CURWOOD COTTAGES Boom SPCO 3 089 8So1519 670C S. MCCALL RD. MEMORIAL FOUNTAIN BOOM SPCO I C 090 8So1520 670D S. MCCALL RD. CURWOCD COTTAGES WW2A FRAM 3 D 091 8So1521 670E S. MCCALL RD. CURWOOD COTTAGES WW2A FRAM 3 D 092 8So1522 670F S. MCCALL RD. CURWOOD COTTAGES BOOM SPC0w 3 C 093 8So1523 670G S. MCCALL RD. CURWOOD COTTAGES BOOM FRAM 1 C 094 8So1524 682 S. MCCALL RD. DEPR FRAM 1 C 095 8So1525 686 S. MCCALL RD. WW2A MASO 3 E 096 aSoJ526 690 S. MCCALL RD. DEPR BUNG 3 D 081 BSo1527 707 S. MCCALL RD. 02A FRAM 3 C 082 8So1528 717 S. MCCALL RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C 083 SSoIS29 727 S. MCCALL RD. Ww2A MASO 1 -D 131 Table 11 (cont) ENGLEWOCO, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Mao & FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data . NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Local Survey Elig. 097 8561530 732 S. MCCALL RD. BOOM FRAM 1 C 084 8So1531 747 S. MCCALL RD. WW2A MASO I D 086 8So1532 785 S. MCCALL RD. DEPR FRAM 1 C 085 8So1533 799 S. MCCALL RD. WW2A MASO 1 C 217 8So1534 870 S. MCCALL RD. ENGLEWCOD HOMES/PARCELS PLUS WW2A MASO I' D 061 8So1535 880 S. MCCALL RD'. WW2A MASO 1 D 056 8So1536 773 MICHIGAN AVE.. BOOM MASO 3 C 065 8So1537 25 NEW JERSEY WW2A MASO 3 D 064 8So1538 40 NEW JERSEY Boom BUNG 1/5 C 168 8So1539 149 N. NEW YORK AVE. WW2A FRAM 1 D 169 8So1540 151 N. NEW YORK AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 0 172 8So1541 N. NEW YORK AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 D 173 8So1542 N. NEW YORK AVE. MODE MASO 3 D 021 8So1543 25 S. NEW YORK AVE. OEPR FRAM 3 C 113 8So1544 2 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD. QUIMBY-JERGENS-RINKARD SPAW FRAM 3 C RESIDENCE 116 8So1545 25 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD. WW2A FRAM 3 D 115 8So1546 30 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD. BOOM FRAM 3 C 120 8So1547 40 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD. WW2A FRAM 3 D 121 8So1548 80 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD. FORMER ENGLEWOOD STATE BANK BOOM FRAM 4 C 123 8So1549 89 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD. DEPR OTHR 3 C 122 8So1550 99 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD. BOOM FRAM 3 C 202 8So1551 225 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD. DEPR FRAM 3 D 204 8So1552 245 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD. DEPR FRAM 4 D 203 8So1553 250 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD. (NOW E.C.E. 3885) WW2A FRAM 3 C 205 8So1554 325 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD. DEPR FRAM 6 D 206 8SO1555 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD. WW2A FRAM 3 0 207 8So1556 455 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD. UNKN FRAM 6 D 232 8So1557 470 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD. WW2A MASO 1 C 237 8So1558 607 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD. WW2A FRAM 3 D 242 8So1559 V? OLD ENGLEWOOD RD. Boom FRAM 1/5 C 241 8So1560 608 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD. BOOM FRAM 3 C 252 *8So1561 799 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD WW2A FRAM 3 C/o 253 8So1562 801 OLD ENGLEWOOD RD WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 238 8SoI563 551 N. OLIVE ST. DEPR MASO 3 0 240 8So1564 571 N. OLIVE ST. WW2A MASO 3 C/D 040 8So1565 2 S. OLIVE ST. Boom MASO 4 D 037 BSo1566 13 OLIVE ST. DEPR BUNG 4 0 039 8So1567 40 S. OLIVE ST. BUCHAN'S LANDING WW1A FRAM 1 C 148 8So1568 15 N. ORANGE ST. DEPR FRAM 3 D 149 8So1569 25 N. ORANGE ST. DEPR FRAM 3 D 147 8So1570 45 N. ORANGE ST. WW2A FRAM 3 0 144 8So15T1 50 N. ORANGE ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 146 8So1572 60 N. ORANGE ST. DEPR BUNG 3 D 145 8So1573 67 N. ORANGE ST. DEPR BUNG 2 C 004 8So1574 252 PALM GROVE AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 0 167 8So1575 90 W. PERRY LN (147 NY) WW2A FRAM 3 E 133 8So1576 402 W. PERRY ST. DEPR FRAM 3/4 0 142 8So1577 420 W. PERRY ST. 02A MASO 3 0 230 8So1578 425 W. PERRY ST. WW2A MASO 6 0 132 TaLe 11 (cont.). ENGLEWOOD, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations. Map FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Iocal Survey # Elig. 134 8Sol579 440 W. PtRRY ST. WW2A FRAM' 3 D 135 8Sol58O 451-455 W. PERRY ST. WW2A FRAM 3 C 128 8SO1581 W. PERRY ST. DEPR FRAM 5 C 127 8Sol582 540 W. PERRY ST. DEPR FRAM 3 D 124 8Sol583 604 W. PERRY ST. LAMPP FAMILY RESIDENCE WWlA FRAM 3 C 125 8Sol584 606 W. PERRY ST. DEPIR FRAM 3 C 126 8Sol585 700 W. PERRY ST. DEPR FRAIM 3 D 041 SSolSBG 822 PINE ST. WW2A MASO 3 D 1194 8Sol587 E. OF 255 PINEAPPLE ST. UNKN FRAM 6 0 060 8Sol588 ? RIVERVIEW DEPR BUNG 3 D 047 8Sol589 730 SPRUCE ST. DEPR FRAM 3 C 048 8Sol590 740 SPRUCE ST. WW2A MASO 1 D 049 8Sol591 750 SPRUCE ST. WW2A MASO 1 D 050 BSoI532 760? SPRUCE ST. WW2A MASO I D 051 8Sol593 7TO SPRUCE ST. WW2A MASO I D 052 8Sol594 775 SPRUCE ST. DEPR BUNG I C 224 8Sol595 785 SPRUCE ST. WW2A MASO 3 D 222 8Sol596 875 SPRUCE ST. WW2A MASO 3 D 235 8Sol59T 501 STEWART ST.. DEPR FRAM 1 C 234 BSol598 533? STEWART ST. STEWART CT. APTS WW2A MASO 3 D 233 8Sol599 533 STEWART ST. STEWART CT. APTS OEPR FRAM 3 D 231 8Sol600 655 STEWART ST. WW2A MASO 3 D/E 170 8Sol601 127 THRALL MODE FRAM 3 0 171 8Sol602 129(?) THRALL MODE FRAM 3 0 220 8Sol6O3 145 TYLER AVE. WW2A MASO 3 D ill 8Sol604 176 TYLER AVE. WW2A FRAM 1 C 005 8Sol6O5 202 S. WASHINGTON AVE. DEPR BUNG 3 D 006 8Sol606 251 S. WASHINGTON AVE. WW2A FRAM I C 201 8Sol607 621 WENTWORTH WW2A FRAM 3 0 195 8SO1608 WENTWORTH ST. MODE MASO 3 D 196 8Sol6O9 BEHIND 715 WENTWORTH DEPR MASO 3 0 197 8SO1610 WENTWORTH ST. DEPR FRAM 1 C 198 8SO1611 WENTWORTH ST. STUART ANDERSON RESIDENCE DEPR FRAM 3 C 180 8Sol6l2 410 YALE ST. WW2A FRAM 3 0 181 8Sol6l3 430 YALE ST. MODE FRAM 3 0 182 8Sol6l4 480 YALE ST. CHURCH OF GOD DEPR MASO 3 0 200 8Sol6l5 638 YALE ST. WW2A FRAM 3 0 183 BSoIS16 -510 YALE ST. DEPR FRAM 3 D 199 8So1617 690 YALE ST. DEPR FRAM 3 C 193 8Sol6l8 760 YALE ST. DEPR FRAM 4 C 191 8Sol6l9 770 YALE ST. SPAW FRAM I C 192 8Sol620 BEHIND 798 YALE ST. UNKN FRAM 1 0 189 8Sol62l 800 YALE ST. DEPR FRAM 3 C 188 8Sol622 810 YALE ST. WW2A FRAM 3 0 187 BSol623 820 YALE ST. 1AWZA FRAM 3 0 190 BSol624 821 YALE ST. BOOM FRAM 3 C 133 2. Quimby-Jergens-Rm*card Residence, 2 Old Englewood Road (8So1544) - This two story wood frame residence was originally constructed circa 1897 by the Quimbys and operated as "Ws. WiTaby's Boarding House for Ladies and Gentlemen.11 Mrs. Quimby, her son, George, and her daughter, Josie, were very hospitable, and their home became a frequent gathering place for the young people in the town. The house was later sold to kx1rew Tergens, of the Jergens Lotion Company, who vacationed there. Professor Edward Sonmiermeier (the brother of a long time resident of Englewood, Mrs. Mae Wetherall) purchased the property from Andrew JergerLs in 1912. It was latdr awned by Mrs. Donna Rinkard, hence the current name of the sign: Rinkard Guest Home. Although some of the owners have changed the appearance of the house through the years by err-losuxj the numerous porches, it remains in good condition. Having withstood several hurricanes, it is the oldest remaining house in Englewood and is a fine example of pioneer craftsmanship (Cashatt n.d.; Cortes 1976:74). 3. Royal Casino, 240 Dearborn Street (8So1420) - The two story wood frame Royal Casino was originally built in 1924 at the end of the pier at Buchan's Landing- "It was Englewood's- first restaurant which featured dining and dancing. The kitchen was on the lower level, the food being sent by Iftnb waiter' to the upper level" (Cashatt n.d.). In addition, the casino which could hold 150 people was used as a local meeting place for several clubs and organizations until 1927 when the Florida land boom came to an end, causing the restaurant to close. Stuart Anderson then leased the casino where he operated a fish house until the 1936 hurricane damaged the building. The following year, Ollie Tate purchased the building, which was still relatively sound, and had the top floor moved to its present location on the corner of Dearborn and Maple Streets. There it remains as a single story residence occupied by the Tate family (Cashatt n.d.; Cortes 1976:90). It has been modified only slightly. 4. Floyd Ziegler family residence, 285 S. Magnolia Avenue (8So1483) - This wood frame bungalow residence was ntructed in the 1920s for Floyd Ziegler, a pharmac an early Sarasota County Cmviissioner repr rAmTting Englewood (1925 - 1930) and the owner of the local hardware store (Cashatt n.d.). This is a fine example of residential design suited to Florida's climate and has retained its original configuration and materials. 5. Ziegler Hardware Store, 463 Dearborn Street (8So1422) - Constructed in 1925 by Floyd Ziegler, this two story wood frame commercial building contained a hardware store, grocery store and post office. It was Operated [email protected] the yeam by the Zieglers, Ollie Tate and Leo Kropp- "Dr. Mary Green, a school teacher and founder of the Lfiff= Bay Woman's Club, was the postmistress [there] from 1928 to 194311 (Cashatt n.d.). 6. Englewood Methodist Church, ??? Green Street (8So1444) - The Englewood Methodist church I=-AJjLX9grLeg "on wai formally organized around 1914-15-- by Reverend joseph Barton. Meetings were held in the one-room school house on Old Englewood Road until it burned in 1921. The community was then without a Sunday School for several years until the group reassembled in 1926, and met in the newly-constructed Lemm Bay %kimnls Club. Tand was donated on magnolia street by Mr. and Nts. Stanley lampp where a new church building could be cozL-3nmcted. The cmx3reg i an then raised money to build their new church, which was completed by April 5, 1928 for $1250.00, using volunteer labor under the direction of am:-t Ainger arid Paul Jampp. Between 1928 and 1940 the Church was not always able to find a pastor. Mrs. Pat Lampp, feeling a sense of 134 responsibility toward the church, "has been credited with keeping the church going almost single-handedly through [those] dark days" (Cashatt n.d.). In 1953 neW pews Were installed to replace the original Slat benches and the front door was eypanded so funeral services could be held there. The bell tOWer was removed in 1958 when a new facade was added to the front 11ccmplete with ornamental columns" (Strickland 1987). In 1962 (or 1958?) the building was moved to its new location on Green street and was awned by the church of the -Nazarene from 1978 until the Imon Bay Historical Society gained title to the building a few years ago (Cashatt n.d.; Strickland 1987). 7. Curwood Cottages, 670 McCall Road (8Sol5l7-8Sol523) - During the boom years, American novelist James Oliver Curwood, joined his brother at their attractive estate in Englewood where he wrote ane of his books. Today, the six Curwood Cottages, basically designed in the Spanish Colonial style, remain surrounding a memorial, fountain in the central courtyard. The fountain was dedicated to his daughter who died young and is interted at the lamon Bay Cemetery (local informants). 8. 732 McCall Road (8So1530) - This large wood frame, rectangular residence is ccompletely surrounded on all four sides by a continuous screened porch. Apparently constructed in the 1920s, this fine example of a residence designed for Florida's climate has remained in an excellent, unaltered condition. (Mus could possibly be a residence described by a local informant, said to be located at 742 McCall Road and built in the mid-30s for a doctor from, Coniat, Chio.) 9. Englewood Couatunity Club, Indiana Ave. and McCall Road (8Sol464) Originally built in 1928, this rectangular wood frame building was later relocated to this location. 10. Englewood State Bank, 80 Old Englewood Road (8SoI548) - This wood frame structure is rxw a residence but was originally cons :ructed in 1925 as the Englewood State Bank. "One of the founders and director was Stanley lanpp, an early settler and land developer" (Cashatt). Mie bank failed in 1928, though, and was later converted into a residence occupied by one of Robert Cashatt's brothers. 11. Historic Barn and residence, 608 old Englewood Road (8Sol559 & 8Sol560) 7hese zi - date from the 1920s and are rxw in fair to deteriorated condition. The barn, a large cne-and-a-balf story wood frame structure, is typical of rural gricultural architecture and is the onlv one found in this coastal zcne survey. 12. Edith Larqop Residence, 604 W. Perry Street (8Sol583) - This is the Lmapp family residence, early inhabitants of the comnmity of Englewood (see history above and Englewiood State Bank description). This tAo-story wood frame vernacular house remains in good condition, barely altered from its original construction. 13. The Ashleigh Davids Home, 530 (?) Green Street (8Sol449) - This was one of the last homes from the woodmere c=mmity to be rebuilt in Englewood. Mrs. Mae Anderson Ashleigh Davids was the daughter of J.D. Anderson who homesteaded in the area in 1894. 14. Dr. Mary Green Residence, 502 Green Street (8Sol445) - Dr. Mary Green was one of the early teachers at the Englewood School (opened 1898) arid fou nded 135 the Lemon Bay [email protected] Club (Lemon Bay Wanan's Club). Her house, said to be a [email protected] -Catalog house was built circa 1925. It closely resembles "The westly" de-sign shown in Houses- ty Mail: A Guide to Houses from Sears, Roebuck and except the porch has been enclosed and the balcony in front of the dormer has been removed (Stevenson 1986:123). 15. Stuart Anderson Residence, Wentworth Street (8Sol611) - This large two- story wood frame. vernacular resideiDce is located on the bayfront at the west 'end of Wentworth Street. Constructed in 1936, it was originally sited at 71:1 Yale Street. (Joe and Elsie Anderson Czerwinski, Stuart Anderson's ni and her husband, live at 711 Yale Street and may be able to provide aMitional information. The Stuart Anderson Residence is set deep inside a fenced-in lot so close inspection of the building was not possible.) Stuart, born in 1898, was the son of J.D. Anderson, one of Englewood's earliest settlers. In 1925 he began a commercial fishing business in Englewood, the Lemon Bay Fisheries (Cortes 1976:50). Previously Pkxxmded Sites: Only one structure in Englewood, The Lemon Bay Woman's Club, was previously recorded in the Florida Master Site File (SSo615) and in the National Register of Historic Places (88001150). The Lemon Bay Woman's Club, originally called Inhe Mother's Club" was organized in 1918. After meeting for several years in the Royal Casino and the school house on Elm and Dearborn, the club changed its name to the Lemon Bay Woman's Club in 1923 and contr3cted a wood frame vernacular clubhouse on the corner of Coconut and Maple Avenues (51 N. Maple Avenue). Otber Sites: Several historic structures which were either reported by informants or researched in the Elsie Quirk Library (Englewood) proved to be located in Charlotte County and were therefore not included in this report. one of these sites is thelka Marine Laboratory located on New Point Comfort Road. other sites referred by local informants need to be investigated further. These have been listed here with accompanying notes provided by the informants. A. Grey building on Elm Street with a steep gable roof , moved pre-1918. B. Freere's home, a white house on Burns Lane, was moved there in the early 1950s. C. E.J. Newman had a cattle run in the 1920s. D. The old Church of God near Englewood Road was originally a 161x161 hutment from the Venice Air Ba . E. Mr.-. -Sharp's home at 3 McCall Road, behind the Hermitage Realty, was the original whitaker family residence constructed in 1924. F. Historic structure at the corner of Cocoanut and North McCall Road. G. Lynn Horton Residence, a yellow house at the end of Horton Street, was built in 1926. one other site, related to the historic period of Englewood, is the Lemon Bay Fishery Complex reoOrded as an archaeological site (8So1359). The structures were torn down in 1975 (Cortes 1976:87). This complex was located along the east shore of Lemon Bay, between Wentworth Street and Yale Street. General Recommendations: The citizens of Englewood have already-shown an interest in preserving their historic resources as noted in a request for a 0 136 comprehensive survey of their community. This is being accomplished by this Coastal Zone Survey. The survey results indicate predominantly scattered historic structures , as well as two large concentrations , which present a two- sided problem to be resolved. First, the existing historic structures which prove to be significant to the history of Englewood's development and serve as unique architectural examples typical to this area need to be protected. In addition, however, new infill development needs to be encouraged (or at least allowed) where structures are not threatened. Once Sarasota County has adopted a Preservation ordinance and planning strategy, Englewood should adapt it to meet their specific types of structures and planning needs. A local review board, complete with local guidelines, should be beneficial in monitoring the area since the community is located at the extreme southern aid of the county, about 28 miles from Sarasota. Varying degrees of restrictions could be imposed on the community, based on the location. The two heaviest concentrations of strictures are located first, in the original downtown area of Englewood (Old Englewood Road and Buchan's Landing area) and second, along South McCall Road. They should be incorporated into separate and distinct local historic districts (and potentially National Register Historic Districts with more research) controlled by an Englewood Preservation Ordinance and Review Board. The remainder of the surveyed historic resources which contain a B,C, or D rating in the NR Eligibility category should be investigated further . In addition, they should each be reviewed when a permit is requested for development, destruction , remodeling, restoration, etc. to determine the affect on the community as a whole. Infill planning strategies, recommendations, and restrictions should be determined by the planning board as soon as possible, to develop a comprhensive plan suitable for the controlled development of Englewood. Several sites have been determined potentially eligible for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places based on their architectural merit and importance to the development of Englewood. Most of them remain in good condition but are scattered throughout the community . Additional research is required on the development of Englewood and on each individual site proposed. A number of historic structures located within Charlotte County, which were not included in this survey should also be investigated. Additional structures may also be deemed eligible based on this research. It is recommended that all of the structures found eligible should be submitted as a Multiple properties nomination to the National Register of Historic Places. of these sites include the following: 1. Buchan's Landing 2. Quimby-jergens -Rinkard Residence 3. Royal Casino-Kelley's Tavern 4. Floyd Ziegler Family Residence 5. Ziegler Hardware Store 6. Englewood Methodist, church 7. 732 McCall Road 8. Englewood Methodist Club 9. Edith Lampp Residence 10. Dr. Mary Green Residence 137 The Curwood Cottages should be included in a separate thematic Multiple Properties nomination combined with other tourism related sites in Sarasota County. Another thematic Multiple Properties nomination could include military buildings moved from the Venice Air Base. Several hutments were relocated to Englewood for use as residences after World War II. This nomination would include other military [email protected] of historical importance moved to other parts of Sarasota County as well. 11he La= Bay Women,'s Club has already been placed in the National Register of Historic Places. 138 MANASMX IM General Develo=ent: Captain Joseph C. Leach settled in the area now knowm as Blind [email protected] Park, on Manasota. Key, as early as 1882. He is among the earliest known residents of the Englew:)od area. "Capt. Leach fanned and fished on Manasota Key, then lacm as 'The Palm Ridge. I The key was later renamed Peninsula Key, and still later,-Manpsota Key" (Frank n.d.). Carl Johansen and his family moved from Arcadia to Manasota Key and built a house, today known as The Hermitage, circa 1906. Mr. Johansen awned a sawmill on the shores of Lemon Bay, north of Yale Street, from which he rafted lumber across the bay to build this house. Their only access to the mainland was by rowboat, which Carl Johansen used every day to get to work (Cashatt n.d.). The Hermitage exists today, with. numerous additions and oth .er structures added during the years, just south of Blind Pass and due west of the center of Englewood. A few years earlier, in 1903, Capt. Steve Chadwick built his home in Erxjlewood Beach (Charlotte County) on Manasota Key, south of The Hermitage (Stickney 1972). Prior to 1926 or 1927, when Steve Chadwick built the first private toll bridge connecting the mainland with Manasota Key, -- nsportation across the bay was- available by ferry, or by private boat. Steve Chadwick operated a ferry boat where the bridge was eventually located, in Charlotte County. Two men, known only as Smith and Finney, operated another ferry frrm Buchan's Landing across the northern end of Lemon Bay to Manasota Key, on an infrequent basis. The Chacback bridge eventually deteriorated and was replaced in 1950 with the Leo Wotitzky Bridge and again with a newer one in 1964. Sarasota County commissioners voted to construct a bridge leading to the northern end of the key in 1925 at the request of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, who wanted to develop Manasota Key along with their planned city at Venice. By 1936, when Walter van B. Roberts first visited Manasota Key, only two structures existed on the key within Sarasota County: the Hermitage and the Palm Ridge Club, later known as the Manasota. Beach Club (Roberts 1968). Apparently many people had purchased land on the key purely for speculation, but after the '"bust" most of the property was abandoned for taxes. "Sometime before 1936 and probably during the boom, there was a road or trail of sorts up the key" (Roberts 1968). By 1936 it was only passable from the Hermitage north to the Manasota Bridge, but was re-opened between 1936 and 1938 by Mr. Qrahm so that they could all get building materials to their houses. Even so,' it was only a small dirt road covered with jungle growth (Roberts 1968). During the early to mid-1930s the nudist philosophy was intriguing Americans. Ptpfesscr Warren, Head of the Psychology, Department at Princeton University wrote an article in the American Journal of [email protected]=Ql about his studies on the nudist philosophy. Both the Hermitage and the Palm Ridge Club were operated as nudist colonies for awhile during the 1930s. Otto and Dorothy pfundstein purchased . property which contained a forty year old building*(in Township 40 South, Range 19 East, Section 22, Northwest quarter) in 1935. The couple added to the existing house and opened the Palm Ridge Club which-became the place to stay with good accomodations, excellent food, an electric power plant, and congenial guests. In 1941 the Pfundsteins 139 converted the club into a conventional resort which they operated until 1950 when they. sold the property to Mr. Gwynne (Roberts 1968). The Hermitage began as a nudist resort a few years earlier than the Palm Ridge Club, but was sold to Louise and Dick Plumer in 1937 or 1938. Mrs. PlMer took in guests and served meals there until 1943 when the Almonders pL=chased the place. They continued the practice of taking in guests at their home. Dr. Alfred R. Niitney, a retired building tractor or engineer biilt a [email protected] just south of the Hermitage which was Completed by July 1941. He had arranged to have his meals with Louise Plumer in the Hermitage and contiued to have them with the Aloonders after they pa-cInased the estate. Unfortunately, Dr.' Riitney was.killed by a taxi cab in New York around 1944 (Roberts 1968). South of the Hermitage, Col. Douglas Adair a-aham and his wife Dorothy purchased as mch property as they could, naming the area Galleon's Reach (in Tawnship 40 South, Range 19 Enst, Section 35). There they constructed a house, completed by the spring of 1939. Walter van B. Roberts' house, designed by Princeton architect Martin Beck, and Charles Fritter's house were also cozLs :ructed at the same time. Another house designed by Martin Beck was built for Fred Seward by December 1940, but was destroyed by fire in July 1941 and was never rebuilt. In 1943 a storm washed out the key road at Blind Pass, just north of the Hermitage, and was not made usable again until 1955. Boundaries and MV: The northern end of Manasota Key is located in Sarasota Camty and extends south into Charlotte County, where EngleAcad Beach is .located. The portion located within Sarasota County is at least 9 miles long, starting just south of the Venice Airport, In the northwest corner of Township 39 South, Range 19 East, Section 30. The upper four and a quarter miles, basically undeveIgned until now, are located in the following sections: Township 39 South, Range 19 East, Section 30 Section 31 Section 32 Township 40 South, Range 19 East, Section 5 Section 8 section 9 Within Section 9 (T403, R19E), the northern access road to ManasOta Key lead west to the Manasota public Beach and south along Manasota Key Road which is developed on both sides with private residox>--.. These remainiM sections of Manasorta, Key, located within Sarasota County, are as follows: .Township 40 South, Range 19 East, Section 15 Section 16 Section 22 Section 26 Section 27 Section 35 Due to the large extent of this key, a USGS quad map will be used to locate the existing historic structure siies (Figure 13).' VKM CE 140 A 0 C ZA4 0 us .41 9Lpw (5D -j DeiELOPMENT-S C M 245 246 UZ 200 MMASCM < 0 Figure 13. Loc ation of Historic Structures. US MANASOTA KEY AND UPS AREA BETWEEN ENGLEWOOD AND VENICE 50-OASOM COW" 141 Survey Results: Most of the structures evident on Manasota Key are new private -residences, many currently under construction or recently canpleted within the past few years. Cne residence designed by well-known architect Paul Rudolph, Of the "Sarasota School" of Architecture, is located in Township 40 South, Range 19 East, Section 16. New S3 : Fifteen structures have been recorded . during this comprehensive survey and are listed in the Surveyed Historic Struqtures Table 12. Two large s-ites, the Hermitage and the Manasota Beach Club, have been stibdivided in this survey to include each building as a separate file. 1. The Hermitage, 6660 Manasota Key Road (Tdwnship 40 South, Ranqe 19 East, Section 27) (Wo1629-Wo1635), ridw composed of seven structures and two water tanks, was originally built circa 1906 by Carl Johansen. This property, located just south of Blind Pass, is owned by Sarasota County and ned by the Parks and Recreation Department. (See history above.) 2. Mie Manasota Beach Club (Palm Ridge Club), 7620 and 7660 Manasota Key Road (TowTiship 40 South, Range 19 fhst, Section 22) (8SO1636-8SO1639), consists of about 19 strucWres, some historic and some contemporary. Mie original house WEIS first built at the turn of the century. In 1935 it was enlarged and operated as the Palm Ridge Club by the Pfundsteins. (see history above.) 3. Four other residences located south of the Hermitage, constructed between 1939 and 1949 have been included in this survey. (See listing of surveyed structures.) General Reccumendati The Hermitage, currently owned by the Sarasota C=-xty Parks and Recreation Department, should be listed on the National Register of Historic Places based on both architectural and 1 invortance. This site was documented with architectural measure drawings. and hutcCjraphs in 1987 by Rebecca Spain at the request of the Sarasota County Parks arid Recreation Department. Ibese drawings, notes and report are on file at the Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources. In addition, the Manasota Beach Club (Palm Ridge Club) may, with additional research, prove to be eligible for inclusion in a thematic Multiple Properties nomination to the National Register of Historic P1 an its merit as a tourist resort which has remained in operation since the mid-1930s. Me remaining residences on Manasata Key are not deemed worthy of a National Register Ncmination. Any site containing a B, C or D rating in the NR Eligibility category, however, should be reviewed thoroughly before demolition or remodeling permits are approved. 142 Table 12. MANASOTA KEY, ENGLEWOOD, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Map & FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Local Survey Elig. 267* 8So1625 6260 MANASOTA KEY RD LUNA VISTA WW2A FRAM 3 D 266 8So1626 6275 MANASOTA KEY RD ARP RESIDENCE DEPR FRAM 3 C/D 264 8So1627 6295 MANASOTA KEY RD LaBoutillier RESIDENCE DEPR FRAM 3 C 265 MAU 6330 MANASOTA KEY RD GALLEON'S REACH DEPR MASO 3 C/o 268 8So1629 6660 MANASOTA KEY RD THE HERMITAGE SPAW FRAM 3 a/c 269 8So1630 6660 MANASOTA KEY RD THE HERMITAGE, SHELTER DEPR FRAM 5 B/C 270 8So1631 6660 MANASOTA KEY RD THE HERMITAGE, SHED GARAGE DEPR FRAM 5 B/C 271 8Sol632 6660 MANASOTA KEY RD THE HERMITAGE, GUEST HOUSE BOOM FRAM I B/C 272 8So1633 6660 MANASOTA KEY RD THE HERMITAGE, WHITNEY DEPR FRAM 1 a/c RESIDENCE 273 8So1634 6660 MANASOTA KEY RD THE HERMITAGE, PUMP HOUSE & DEPR FRAM 1 B/C WATER TANKS 274 8So1635 6660 MANASOTA KEY RD THE HERMITAGE, WHITNEY GARAGE DEPR FRAM I a/c 260 8So1636 7620 MANASOTA KEY RD MANASOTA BEACH CLUB WW2A MASO 3 D/E 261 8So1637 7660 MANASOTA KEY RD MANASOTA BEACH CLUB (PALM Boom FRAM 3 C RIDGE CLUB) 262 M1638 7660 MANASOTA KEY RD MANASOTA BEACH CLUB (PALM BOOM FRAM 3 C RIDGE CLUB) 263 M1639 7660 MANASOTA KEY RD MANASOTA BEffiX UUM kVALM Boom FRAM 3 C RIDGE CLUB) 143 EWM �CCD-VEMCE (INCLUDING WOCCHERE) General DevelpWmt: The Manasota Land and Timber Company, a Maryland Corporation, purchased a large tract of tunber land in Sarasota County from the Southern Investment. Company in August 1917. World War I had created a need for lumber to build ships, etc. in France and Great Britain. These countries no longer had the tamber resources required so they turned to the Urlited States. Herman C. Kluge was sent by a New York manufacturing company to search for -timber land. This area proved favorable to Kluge due to the large native lcngleaf pine trees which had growm here since before the days of the Indians and the valuable cypress trees growing in the burr xujding swamps (Cortes 1976). Kluge founded the Manasorta. Lumber Company, purchasing land from the Manasorta. Land and Timber Company, and started a settlement at Woodmere (Northeast quarter of the Northwest. quarter of Section 3; Tlownship 40 South, Range 19 East) in 1918. [email protected] town would be the hcme base for the Manasota. lumber Company,, cmi:aining a four-story sawmill, three drying shed , a commmissaryl, a movie house, 1,500 homes, and two chijrches- The Gulf Coast Rail Road passed through the center of Woodmere, connecting the lumber company with Venice where logs and lumber were switched to the Seaboard Rail Road beaded for Tampa (Matthews 1989; Cortes 1976). The Manascta Lumber Company awned only 240 acres of land, but its ',logging crews ranged far and wide in a systematic clearing of thousands of acres to which it had aquired timber rights" (Cortes 1976:103). An extensive network of narrow gauge railroad tracks led into the forests for the logs to the mill (Cortes 1976). According to Nemo, who wrote a local newspaper column, this was "the largest and best equipped mill in the country" (Matthews 1989:161). However, by the 1920s and the cortwponAluirg land boan in Florida, most of the pine trees along the southwest coast of Florida had been felled for timber (Cortes 1976). In 1921/22 the entire lumber operation, amity and railroad were sold to the Nocatee-Manatee Freight Company due to a lack in demand for lumber and the reduced supply of timber. It was renamed the Woodmere Lumber Company and continued operation at a smaller scale under the guidance of Howard Cole (New York City), president and O.K. Cole, vice-president and general manager. The 1923-1924 Sarasota County Directory lists 145 residents which included 80 blacks employed as teamsters, log sawyers, laborers, mechanics, and firemen. "Sane white workers had wives and families in residence. Those whites were employed as carpen ers, supexvisors, clerks, hotel proprietors, electricians, saw filers, I wood superintendents, plant and mill foremen, railroad engineers, ccuutissary clerks, truck drivers, woodsmen, POSt3naster [F.L. Ziegler of Englewood], quarter bOss, ice-Plant foreman and time3ceeper" (Matthews 1989:161). The number of residents quickly declined, leaving only 26 listed in the 1926 County Directory (Polk 1926). Wood fires and grass fires swept the west coast of Florida in 1929/30, destroying part of the then abandoned town of Woodmere (Matthews 1989:161). Remaining structures were either moved (two to Casey Key, four to Siesta Key, ten in Englewood, and about 20 in Venice) or razed for materials (Cortes 1976). (At least three of these have been identified on Siesta Key in this survey.) Boundaries and Bound on the east bY Englewood Road (@R 775) and on the west by Lemon Bay, this survey area is as follows. Starting at the north end, just sotath of W.LeAted Venice, and continuing south to the north end of 144 the surveyed area of Englewood, the following sections and corresponding half- section maps indicated in parenthesis are included: TowTmzhip 39 South, Range 19 East, Section 17 (427 & 428) Section 20 (433 & 434) Section 28 (449 & 450) Section 29 (451 & 452) Section 30 (453 & 454) Section 31 (455) Section 32 (456 & 457) Section 33 (458 & 459) Section 34 (460 & 461) Township 40 South, Range 19 Rast, Section 3 (470 & 471) Secticn 4 (472 & 473) Section 5 (474) Section 9 (475 & 476) Section 10 (477 & 478) Section 11 (479 & 480) Section 14 (485 & 486) Section 15 (487 & 488) Section 16 (489) Due to the extensive area included here, and the few remaining historic structures, these have been located on a USGS quad map for this report (Figure 13, located in Manasota Key section). Survey : This area has primarily been developed with residential communities. Ten scattered historic structures remaining from the 1930s and 1940s were discovered either along Englewood Road (SR 775), Manasata Beach Road, or in isolated rural areas and have been included in this survey. These have been included in the list of Surveyed Historic Structures (Table 13). only a cancrete pump house remains as a standing structure from the original community and lumber ccupany of Woodmere and has been included as part of the Woodmere Sawmill Ccmplex Archaeological Site (8So1368). General : most of the surveyed sites in this area date to the 1940s and do not meet the for National Register ncminaticns. Those with a C or D rating in the NR Eligibility category should be revaewed carefully before demolition or remodeling pemits we approvW. 145 Table 13. BETWEEN ENGLEWOOD & VENICE, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Map & FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site 0 Context Style Quality Local Survey El ig.* 248 8Sol640 2a5l DONOVAN RD. WW2A FRAM 3 D 247 BSol64l 231 DUMAS RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C/o 254 8So1642 1700 ENGLEWOOD RD WW2A FRAM 1 C 251 8Sol643 1975 ENGLEWOOD RD. TWIN REALTY WW2A FRAM 1 D 249 8Sol644 2260 ENGLEWOOD ROAD ALLIED ASPHALT PAVING WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 250 8So1645 2260 ENGLEWOOD ROAD ALLIED ASPHALT PAVING WW2A MASO I D 245 8So1646 1433 E. MANASOTA BCH. RD WW2A FRAM 3 0 246 HOW 2050 W. MANASOTA BCH. RD DEPR FRAM 3 C 243 8So1648 1908 S. TAMIAMI TRAIL WW2A FRAM 1 D 244 8Sol649 1910 S. TAMIAMI TRAIL WW2A FRAM 3 D 146 XILIZ General Develggvat: Francis H. "Frank" Rigel, a native of France, and his wife, Addie, moved frcm Philadelphia to Horse and Chaise (present day VeLce) in 1883, where they purchased 73 acres of "choice fertile land" in Rnbert Roberts,' bomestead. Frank Higells large family, consisting of six sons, Frank Jr., Harry, Ralph, Eugene, George and Wesley, all helped raise garden crops and commercially processTruits into marmalades, syrups and wines (Matthews 1989:128-129). By 1885 Frank Rigel had applied for and established a post office, which he called Eyry, to serve 30 inhabitants in the commmity of Horse and Chaise. This post office only remained in operation from February to Novenber when mail service was returned to Webb's osprey post office (Matthews 1989). Frank Higel killed himself in 1892 during a domestic dispute, but his family remained in Florida. The 1897 General DiogtgMI o Manatee listed 16 residents in the Venice area, including George and Ralph Higel, farmers. Frank Jr. became a school teacher in Venice. Harry was active in real estate and commerce in the new town of Sarasota. George Higel became the Venice correspondent for the Sarasota I writting under the pseudonym "Nemoll, the of his father's schooner. Ralph and his wife, Tub, operated their home, Moss Oak, as a resort guest house, similar to the Webb's resort at Spanish Point. Boundaries and MV: Higelville (Southwest quarter of Section 1, Tlownship 39 South, Range 18 East) consists of a few streets just outside of the northwest portion of the incorporated city of Venice. Included is a map of Venice (Figure 14), taken from An Historical [email protected] Survey. Venice. Flor locating Higelville. =W Resul : Nestled within an newer upper middle class residential neighborhood of Venice, Higelville is threatened by high taxes based on the increased land value of the surrounding lots. This area was included in the .. mprehensive survey of Venice conducted in 1985. [email protected] location map (Figure 14) and brief description of the surveyed sites have been included in this report. In addition, a map of Venice showing the boundaries of the 1985 survey and a list of the recorded sites have been included as an Appendix to this report. Previously Plecm:ded Sites: Four sites were recorded in the 1985 r-rehensive sur%W of Venice. A copy of each existing Florida Master Site File form has been included as an Appettlix to this report. 1. Moss Oak House, 816 LaGuna Drive (8So521) - Ralph and Lulu Rigel's house was built at the turn of the century, and completed in 1916. This two story wood frame residence was operated by Mrs. Ralph Higel as a resort guest house in the early part of the 20th century. It is currently owned and occupied by joy and Mickey Higel. mr. Higel is Ralph Rigel's grandson (Mickey Rigel, personal communication). The house has since been sided with aluminum. A partially modified wooden boat house, handmade concrete seawall, and ramwrts of an early dock have been found on this site and recorded as part of the Higel Bayside Archaeological Site (8So1364) in this survey. 2. mass Oak Inn (George Rigel Residence), 820 Madrid Avenue (8So522) - This was actually George and Abbie Rigel's residence, constructed in 1908. 3. Grove House, '811-813 LaGuna Drive (8So520) - This two story house, 11SItone Grove originally constructed about 1898/1900 as the [email protected] House"? 147 C: C) 0 M L CO IM lo as C= 0 C-= it IL Tt __j L__J I ___j 280 0. 0 0:0. 0 ....... 0 0 . ..... 0 D 0 0 0 0 C 00000 n r. FO 0 T.iE PI 41 TO T411AM TP,% I L S T=1U.1 IRAIL k. m x 0 0 I.... = (A " (A rt 4-P0 rt H C 0 0-3 1> 0 01 n C') Ia. 0 0 rt r+ I- " " '0 '@ " CO 0- oil -.P- to C C a r-P r+ (D 04 CO P1 rt = Q. = = M 0 QQ 9Q Z CD a r+ 03 0 03 > r+ 03 QQ CD CD R8 Figure 14. Location of Source: An Historical Architec- Historic Struc- f.: tural Survey, Venice, tures in Higelvi, Florida (Werndli et al. (1985). 148 is the oldest standing structure in Venice. stone Grove was nearby, centered on Roberts Bay. The house was later moved (in 1949/50 ?) to its present location f or George Higel, Jr. At that time the original porch [email protected] the house was removed. A carport was then incorporated on either side of the house using sane of the porch col:umns. All of George Higel , Jr. Is children were born in this house (Betty Arnall; Mickey Higel, personal c=mLinication) . 4. 800 LaGuna Drive (6SO519) - Constructed during the 1920s, this Mediterranean Revival style residence is typical of the boom time structures built in Venice. General--- it 'is recanwanded * that a Multiple Properties nomination be prepared for the three Higel family residences: The Moss Oak House, the Moss Oak Inn (George Higel Residence), and the Grove House. Additiona.1 research is required. In any case, each of these four recorded historic sites in Higelville should be reviewed thoroughly prior to granting a demolition or remodeling permit. These properties are currently being threatened by new "up-scale" residential [email protected], raising their current [email protected] values and taxes. Primarily some type of tax relief program is necessary to prevent these *bouses from being razed for new construction. Since each is privately owned, National Regster listing will not alleviate this prcblem. 149 PAM IP03NT General Devel Eagle Point, a thirty ac:re .11close-to-nature", resort, was in 1916 on the southern shore of Roberts Bay, in the heart of Palmer land. Uiee develop-aent of the winter sporting, hunting and fishing camp was supervised by M.T.L. 1%ikell Evans of Virginia. one-story porch-wrapped guest houses, linincj a "boulevard" leading fran the clubhouse to the Gulf, were constructed of heart " lumber and painted barn red with kftite trim. pine The two-story club house contained the dining roan and bachelor's quarters upstairs. Amenities included a boat basin, channels, and a tennis court (Matthews 1989:196-198). Mike Evans purchased the camp from the Sarasota- Venice Company in 1918 and continued operations there every winter season. It has remained basically unchanged for decades (Matthews 1989:213,218). Boundaries and Located just outside of the Uxxx1mrated city limits of Venice, Eagle Point (Southwest quarter Of Section 6, Township 39 South, Range 19 East) is currently bound on the west and north by Roberts Bay, on the east by U.S. 41 (Ttmiami Trail), and on the south by the city of Venice. Figure 15 presents both an existing site plan and a small location rap. Survey Although Eagle Point was included in the Historical Architectural Survey of Venice prepared in 1985, Florida Master Site File forms were riot prepared for the existing .16 on the site. New Sites: As a result of this Coastal Zone Comprehensive Survey, eleven Florida Master Site File forms (8So21OO-8So211O) were prepared for the Eagle Point Club site (759 Tamiami Trail). This included the main clubhouse, ten vacation cabins, and eleven assorted dependency s - All of the buildings are constructed of wood frame with weatherboard or drop siding. Most of the cabins are one-story, except for cabins #1 and #9 which have usable rooms in the attic space. The roof configuration is unique, a gable on hip roof, camnoz to all of them (including the clubhouse) except for cabin #4 which has a hip roof, and cabin #10 which has a gable roof. It appears that cabins #1 through #5, the clubhouse, the dependency structures, and cabin #10 were all ca h, :ructed prior to cabins #6 through #9- The ten cabins flank the two-story clubhouse which is located at the apex of a gentle curve, composed of the cabins and clubhouse, all of which basically face west (towards Roberts Bay). Directly east of the clubhouse and cabin # 5 are the dependency Zi which include the servants,' quarters, the caretaker's house, a pump house and wooden water tower, the laundry, two garages, two sheds and a chicken coop. Between cabins #3 and #4, 'a small square structure was built of large concrete bricks. Most of the structures have been modified slightly, generally with porches either enclosed and/or amed. General Recommendations: As a result of the 1985 xagrehensive survey of Venice, it was recommended that Eagle Point, including a portion of the old Tamiami Trail, be proposed as a National Historic District (An Historical Architectural %an=. Venice. Flori ). This has yet to be accomplished but is still a strong r mnendation as it has remained relatively unchanged since its original construction in 1916. The site represents an important aspect of 150 MOKOM13 [email protected] PO 114 T VET41CE LOCATION MAP 940 1717 WA EAGLE POINT Figure 15. Location of Historic structures at Eagle Point. 151 Table 14. EAGLE POINT CLUB, VENICE, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Map & FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Local Survey Elig. 910 8So2100 759 TAMIAMI TRAIL EAGLE POINT CLUB, CABIN 41 WW1A FRAM 3 B/C 911 8So2101 759 TAMIAMI TRAIL EAGLE POINT CLUB, CABIN #2 WW1A FRAM 1 B/C 912 '8So2102 T59 TAMIAMI TRAIL EAGLE POINT CLUB*, CABIN #3 WW1A FRAM 1 a/c 913 8So2103 759 TAMIAMI TRAIL EAGLE POINT.CLUB, CABIN #4 WW1A FRAM 1 a/c 914 8So2104 759 TAMIAMI TRAIL EAGLE POINT CLUB, CABIN #5 WW1A FRAM 1 a/c 915 8So2105 759 TAMIAMI TRAIL EAGLE POINT CLUB, CLUBHOUSE WW1A FRAM 3 B/C 916 8So2106 T59 TAMIAMI TRAIL EAGLE POINT CLUB, CABIN #6 WW1A FRAM 3 a/c 917 8So2107 759 TAMIAMI TRAIL EAGLE POINT CLUB, CABIN #7 BOOM FRAM 1 B/C 918 8So2108 759 TAMIAMI TRAIL EAGLE POINT CLUB, CABIN #8 BOOM FRAM 1 a/c 919 8So2109 759 TAMIAMI TRAIL EAGLE POINT CLUB, CABIN #9 BOOM FRAM I B/C 920 8So2110 759 TAMIAMI TRAIL EAGLE POINT CLUB, CABIN #10 BOOM BUNG 1 B/C 0 152 Florida's pre-boom years when northerners spent their winters here fishing and hunting. The western portion of the site, that which borders Roberts Bay, is currently being subdivided and developed as a residential community. To date, however, there are no apparent plans for the existing structures. They are very important to the history of Sarasota County, as mentioned above, and every effort should be made. to place them in the National Register of Historic Places as a unified site. If this is riot possible, the buildings should be restored or rehabilitated for use vacation cottages (most likely high-quality due to the nature of the surrounding residential development), and the site's existing contextural and enviromental integrity surrounding these structures should be maintained. 153 N09CKES General Develomment: Part of the area now known as Nokanis was actually the location of*the first pioneer settlement in the Venice area. In 1868, Jesse and Caroline Varn Kmcjht brought their family of six boys and. seven girls, ranging in age from one year old to the mid-20s, from a settlement east of Ttnpa. 7he family built a house and out buildings on the peninsula bound on the north by present day Dona Bay, Shakett, (-qiake It) and Salt creeks, and called the arm Horse and Chaise (Matthews 1989:68-69). They continued to purchase land in the areas known today as Nokomis, Laurel and Venice. The first post office in this general vicinity was established in 1888 by Darwin Curry, in his hme just south of Shakett Creek. Cuz=y, who also operated a general-merchandise store, had married one of Jesse Knight's daughters and settled near the Yjught hiomestead. The name chosen was Venice, as it was shorter than Horse and Cbaise; the postal applications requested short names. Charles Oliver Curry, Darwin's uncle, was a circuit riding Methodist Minister arid had previously married ftwx:es Knight (Zilles 1975:Edgar Curry interview). After living in Manatee for several years, they eventually returned to the Yjugtrt family hiomestead, and Charles became the postmaster in 1896. Upcn his death in 1901, his son, Claude T. Curry took aver the job for several months. Claud later married Mabel Wilson (from Old Myakka). They moved to the CurTy hcvestead and began constructing a house, with the assistance of his brother Charles Samuel, a carpenter and boat builder, in 1908. Ihis two story wood frame residence remains today in its original location on the corner of Lucile and Portia Streets (Claude T. Curry notes, Venice Area Historical Collection). Claude maintained a grove and vegetable farm. By 1911, Pott er Palmer of Chicago, owned mos of the land around Roberts Bay and by 1917 either the Potter Palmer estate or the Sara ;cta-Venice Company contained. land saith of Bee Ridge Road in Sarasota to 3ust north of Manasota Key, from the Gulf east toward the Wakka River, including the river area. The Seaboard Air Lim Railway cotis:xvcted tracks to a terminus south of Robert--- Bay (within present day A.XJLYULatC:6& City of Venice), completed in 1911. The station there was named Venice. William 0. Harrison relocated the original Venice post office in 1912 "to a new building about 300 feet north of the railroad crossing on the west side of the track in present day Nokcmis" (Venice Pcst.Office narrative, VAHC). W.G. Black, a developer from Tampa, established a small subdivision to the east, called Venice Hiomesite Campany, in 1915. Eight blocks were clustered around the railroad, south of the post office. By 1916, the post office was moved again to the terminus of the Seaboard Air Line Railway, south of R2erts Bay, in present day Venice. In 1917, however, a post office by the name of Nokcmis was established by Alfred F. wrede southwest of the original Venice post office (Matthews 1989; Venice Post office narrative, VAHC). The Seaboard Air Line Railway was bisected by the new asphalt boulevard, later to beccme the Tamami Trall, wiuch ran south across Roberts Bay to Eagle Point and on to Venice over another bridge. Dr. Fred H. Albee, considered "the world's greatest bone surgeon" in the 1926 Sarasota County Directory, was an early settler of Nokcmis. He [email protected] 112 acres from the Sara mrta-Venice Company in 1917. Along with Ellis W. Nash, they stlIodivided. the parcel into 130 lots, laid out streets radiatiM from two inner avenue circles and the asphalt highway, and created the Nokomis subdivision. '"No concrete bridges connected (the] subdivision to laurel on 154 the north and Eagle Point on the south" (Matthews 1989:205). Work soon began on the Albee's winter estate at "Fiddler's Point" which would include a farm and grove in addition to the house. The United States became involved in World War I that year, so construction on the new house would have to wait. - I Dr. Albee returned to the Venice area in 1920 and purchased two small parcels from the Knights to complete his land holdings on Dona Bay. He dreamed of creating a "city of stability" where every house and building would be =L-structed of cement (Polk 1926). The Pollyanna Inn (or Villa Nokomis) was officially opened January 8, 1922. This was "a high class, 35 room hotel" to be in operation during the Winter season from December to March. 'Ihe 192'1-22 Sarasota County Directory describes Nokomis as located on the Seaboard Air Line Railroad, sixteen miles south of Sarasota, on the Dixie Highway, near Casey's Pass and the Gulf of Mexico. "Since the completion of the paved roadway through the center of the village, building operations have PX rapidlyl 'Ihe Martin Building and Mercantile Co. are now cmwtructing a high class hotel building and several fine private residences, while others are being planned. The population is about 30011 (1922 92= ). Mie Martin Store, managed by Thomas R- Martin, provided general merchandise for the town's inhabitants. 7hcmas R. Martin was also president of Martin Building and Mercantile Co., contr ctors; an architect; and. pns"aster. His home and studio however, were located on M13M Street, in Sarasota (1924 Sarasota ). Mrs. Potter Palmer [email protected] Thomas Martin to move from Chicago to Sarasota where she hired him to work on her house at The Oaks estate in Osprey. He remained in the area, eventually Aesigning numerous structures [email protected] Sarasota County, including the Lamon Bay Wcman-'s Club in Englewx)od. On February 14, 1923 the Fred and Lcuella Albee moved into their new northern Italian revival. style mansion, npoint ot Palms'#, on the pexiinsula. It was a "fine residence overlooking Dona Bay and Casey's Pass (and had] been completed at a of about $50,000-0011 (1924 Sarasota County D Ihey om*lnued to reside year-round in their [email protected] home in Coicnia, New Jersey (Matthews 1989:214-216). Fiddler's Island was connected to the peninsula by bridge- 1Ihe area north of Dona Bay was also purchased by Dr. Albee who decided to make nearly 400 lots available in the Bay Point section of Nokomis for the 1924-25 winter tourist season. "Four avenues radiated from an open space called Albee Green" (Matthews 1989:226). . Albee organized the Venice-Nokomis Cbandber of Commerce and later the Venice-Nokomis Bank, in 1925, with himself as president and A.L. Joiner and A.W. Bell as vice presidents. it was first located in Nokomis, but was later moved to Venice in February 1927 (Grismer 1946). A two roan school house Was cmwtructed in 1924, in the Mediterranean Revival style at 234 Nappino Trail. Two new wings were added in 1927. The 1926 Sarasota C%Rmty Directory listed about 83 adult residents in the Nokcmis area. By then, Isabel Albee (not or- Fred Albee's wife), was postmistress. N.L. McCarty was the vice president of the Albee Construction Co. The Real Estate business was well-represented with Roger C. Rice, W.L. Dunn, and L. Blake. Thomas wiede was the local merchant and T.C. Swales was a contractor (Polk 1926). 155 Ten-years later, -Isabel Albee was still the Nokomis postmistress. Approximately 80 residents were listed in the 1936 Polk's Sarasota County Directory. The Bailey Hall School and the Nokomis School were in operation, with T.V. Curington as principal of the latter school. A promising tourist industry was evident by the following business listings: The Anchorage Resort, operated by C.J. Conn; the Cardinal Villa Nokomis, inanaged by Daniel and Helen Cardinal; Gladys Caldwell's Pelican Gift Shop; and the Nokomis Lodge Tea Rom operated by Jane McBaine (Polk 1936). By 1938 about 30 more residents were listed in the County Directory, totaling approximately 109. "During the depression era, a large part of the railroad - Is former holdings in the Venice area were ampired by Dr. Albee. In June 1945, a syndicate of St. Petersburg business men headed by Robert S. Baynard [email protected] most of these holdings from Dr. Albee's widow", including large portions of the city of Venice, the town of Nokcmis, parts of the residential deve1q3nent of Bay Point and Treasure Island (Casey Key), and 12,000 acres 6f farm land (Grismer 1946:269). The area xuxiing the Curry homestead was later developed by Harold Batas who married Lucille Claire Curry, Claude and Mabel's daughter. Lucille Avenue is named f or her. Boundaries and MV: Nokomis is bound on the north by the northern boundary of half-saction maps 171 and 384, on the west by Blackburn Bay, on the south by Roberts Bay, and on the east by Albee Farm Road. Since the community of Nokomis straddled the Tamiami Trail (US 41) when it developed, and is intersected by both Dona Bay and Shakett Creek, the survey area was ottended east of US 41. The area surveyed as Nokomis includes the following sections and corresponding half-section map numbers (in parenthesis): Township 38 South, Range 18 East, Section 35 S half (169) Section 36 S half (171) Township 38 South, Range 19 East, Section 31 S half (384) Township 39 South, Range 18 East, Section 1 (172 & 173) Township 39 South, Range 19 East, Section 6 (405 & 406) A map of Nokcmis (Figure 16) has been included to identify the location of historic [email protected] recorded during this survey. Survey Resul : Nokomis is primarily a residential comamity with some cowe=ial structures located aloM Tamiami Trail (U.S. 41), on Colcnia Lane, and along the railroad tracks. Most of the residences are small single family homes designed in a variety of styles and construction periods. A total of 168 historic structures were found in the Nokomis area. The majority, 91, Wem located on the small peninsula bound by D6na Bay and Roberts Bay, east and west of the Tamiami Trail. The remaining 77 structures were found scattered north of Dom Bay. New Sites: The 168 strLictures surveyed are included in the list of Surveyed Historic Structures (Table 15.). Some of the more important ones have been described below. 1. Point ol Palm, Fred Albee Residence, 201 Cherokee Place (8So1686 and 8So1687) - Constructed in 1922, this northern Italian revival style mansion 93 a 10 CO (;:, all "0 1, 0 C, on 0 Ito C3 0 a a - 93% 00 0 0 a ti , MDC [email protected] k'j Goo na 01 ,'@- L '@31 0 giR - a adc @@ ja ni 401, CZ Col 0 .313 C- C3 rzp4 . V brM cl a /,OA 41 -1 c, [email protected] @ a vf cz Oflo Mr 211 k1V cl E3 0 45 0 C C2 ID IN 157 Table 15. NOKOMIS, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Map FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Lo6al Survey Elig. 651 8So1651 106 E. ALBEE RD. WW2A FRAM 1 D 652 8So1652 175 E. ALBEE RD. WW2A FRAM 1/3 C/o 648 8So1653 406 W. ALBEE RD. VILLA ELIZABETH APARTMENTS DEPR FRAM. 3 C/D 649 8So1654 424 W. ALBEE RD. BOOM TUDR 3 C 672 8So1655 903 W. ALBEE RD. WW2A FRAM 3/4 D 671 8SoIS56 908 W. ALBEE RD. WW2A FRAM 3 D 670 8So1657 913 W. ALBEE RD. WW2A FRAM 3 D 354 8So1658 111 ALBEE FARM RD. WW2A MASO I D 350 8So1659 217 ALBEE FARM RD. WW2A FRAM 3/6 0 383 - 8So1660 219 ALBEE FARM ROAD BOOM FRAM 3 C/D 353 8So1661 ? ALBEE FARM RD. BOOM FRAM 3/5 D 653 8So1662 12? AMALFIE RD. DEPR FRAM 3 D 678 8So1G63 130 AMALFIE DR. CORSAN RESIDENCE DEPR MASO 3/4 D 679 8So1664 130 AMALFIE DR. CORSAN RESIDENCE, GUEST WW1A FRAM 3 C 317 8So1665 4500) ANCHORAGE DR. HOUSE WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 644 8So1666 123 AVE. BAHIA BOOM FRAM 3 C 645 8So1667 129 AVE. BAHIA DEPR [email protected] 3 C 643 8So1668 111 AVE. DE LA ISLA WW2A FRAM 1 C/D 642 8So1669 113-A&B.AVE. DE LA ISLA DEPR FRAM 3 C 641 8So1670 115-A&B AVE. DIE LA ISLA WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 396 8So1671 128 AVE. DE LA ISLA DEPR FRAM 3 C/D 638 8So16T2 138 AVE. DE LA ISLA DEPR FRAM 3 C 640 8So1673 233 AVE. DE LA ISLA WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 639 8So1674 237 AVE. DE LA ISLA WW2A FRAM 3 D 612 8So1675 403 BAY POINT AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 D 613 8So1676 405 (?) BAY POINT AVE. BOOM TUDR 3 C/o 601 8So1677 410 BAYVIEW PKWY. WW2A FRAM 1 D 602 8So1678 410 1/2 BAYVIEW PKWY. WW2A FRAM 1 C/D 604 8So1679 414 BAYVIEW PKWY. WW2A FRAM 1 C/D 603 MIN 417 BAYVIEW PKWY. WW2A FRAM 3/4 D 605 8So1681 423 BAYVIEW PKWY. WW2A FRAM 3 D 607 8So1682 506 SAYVIEW PKWY. WW2A MASO 3 D/E 606 8So1683 525 BAYVIEW PKWY. WW2A FRAM 3/4 D 349 8So1684 608 CENTRAL AVE. BOOM FRAM 3 C/D 662 8So1685 816 CHANNEL ACRES RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 325 MIN 201 CHEROKEE PLACE POINT 0' PALMS BOOM MEDR 1 B/C 326 8So1687 201 CHEROKEE PLACE BOOM MEDR 1/3 B/C 669 8So1688 105 CIRCUIT RD. WW2A FRAM 3 D 675 8So1689 220 CIRCUIT RD. SMITH RESIDENCE WW2A FRAM 1 C 343 8So1690 118 E. COLONIA LANE AMERICAN BOOKKEEPING WW2A SPCO 3 C 342 8So1691 234-36 E. COLONIA LN. WW2A FRAM 3 D 341 8So1692 235 E. COLONIA LANE BOOM MEOR -3 C 348 8So1693 401 E. COLONIA LANE KENMAR APARTMENTS BOOM MASO 3 C 370 8So1694 800 E. COLONIA LANE WW2A FRAM 3 D 371 8So1695 802 E. COLONIA LANE NICKS NURSERY & LANDSCAPING WW2A FRAM 3 0 334 8So1696 121 W. COLONIA LANE WW2A COLR 1 C 324 8So1697 302 W. COLONIA LANE WW2A FRAM 3/4 D 382 8SoIS98 1227 DONA WAY WW2A FRAM 3 D OC-1000 t) V) C1 AMC11f%C eT ww 0) A rmlu I 158 Table 15 (cont). NOKOMIS, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Map & FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Local Survey Elig. 379 8Sol7Q0 107 S. JESSICA ST. W112A FRAM 3/4 0 378 8So1701 210 S. JESSICA ST. WW2A FRAM 3 0 373 8So1702 300 S. JESSICA ST. W112A FRAM 3 D 376 8So1703 307 S. JESSICA ST. WW2A FRAM 3/4 D 374 8So1704 308 S. JESSICA ST. WW2A FRAM 3/4 D 375 8So1705 311 S. JESSICA ST. W112A FRAM 3/4 D/E 377 8SO1706 317 S. JESSICA ST. WW2A FRAM 3/4 D 372 8So1707 511 S. JESSICA ST. W112A FRAM 3 D 668 8So1708 223 LOUELLA LN. WW2A FRAM 1 C/@D 384 8So1709 1212 LUCILLE AVE. CLAUDE CURRY HOMESTEAD SPAW FRAM 1/3 B/C 610 8So1710 413 LYONS BAY RD. WW2A MASO 3 D 611 8So1711 502 LYONS BAY RD.- WW2A MASO 3 D 609 8So1712 516 LYONS BAY RD. WW2A FRAM 3/4 D 608 W1713 522 LYONS BAY RD. WW2A* MODE 3 C/D 667 8SoIT14 907 McHILL RD. DEPR FRAM 3 0 305 8So1715 104 E. NIPPINO TRAIL BOOM MASO 3 C/D 306 8SolT16 109 E. NIPPINO TRAIL BOOM MEDR 3 C 308 8So1717 124 E. NIPPINO TRAIL DEPR FRAM 3 C 30T 8So1718 129 E. NIPPINO TRAIL DEPR FRAM 3 C/D 309 8So1719 248 E. NIPPINO TRAIL WW2A MASO 3 D 313 8SoIT20 107 W. NIPPINO TRAIL BOOM MEOR 3 C 314 8Sol721 108 W. NIPPINO TRAIL WW2A MEDR 1 C 336 8So1722 110 W. NIPPINO TRAIL H. PAUCHEY RESIDENCE BOOM MEDR 3 C 335 8Sol723 112 W. NIPPINO TRAIL HOUSER RESIDENCE BOOM BUNG 3 C 352 8So1724 720 OLD ALBEE FARM RD. W112A FRAM 3 D 351 8So1725 7i4 OLD ALBEE FARM RD. WW2A FRAM I C/D 346 8So1726 606(?) OSCEOLA RD. WW2A FRAM 1 D 345 8So1727 608 OSCEOLA RD. WW2A FRAM 1 0 391 8So1728 700 OSCEOLA RD. WW2A FRAM 3 D 347 8So1729 401 E. PALM SPAW FRAM 3 C 619 8So1730 206 (?) W. PALM AVE. BOOM MEOR 3 C 620 8So1731 409 W. PALM AVE. BOOM MEDR 3/4 C 637 8Sol732 209 PALMETTO RD. W112A FRAM 3 C/o 636 8So1733 219 PALMETTO RD. BOOM MEDR 1/3 C 635 8So1734 223 PALMETTO RD. BOOM MEDR 3 C 395 8So1735 329 PALMETTO RD. OEPR MASO 3 0 624 8So1736 218 PAMETO RD. BOOM MASO 1 C 625 8So1737 225 PAMETO RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C 626 8So1738 305 PAMETO RD. BOOM MEDR 3 C 627 8So1739 307 PAMETO RD. BOOM SPCO 3/4 C 628 8So1T40 315 PAMETO RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C 614 8So1741 502 PAMETO RD. UNKN FRAM 3/4 D 615 8So1742 507 PAMETO RD. BOOM MEOR 1 C 616 8So1743 508 PAMETO RD. BOOM MEOR I C 617 8Sol744 512 (?) PAMETO RD. BOOM MEOR 3 C 618 8So1745 517 (?) PAMETO RD. BOOM MEOR 3 C 632 8So1T46 213 PAVONIA RD. BOOM SPCO 3 C 633 8So1747 214 PAVONIA RD. BOOM FRAM 3/4 C/D 634 8So1748 216 PAVONIA RD. BOOM ITAL 3 C 631 8So1749 221 PAVONIA RD. WW2A MASO 3 D 159 Table 15 (cont). NOKOMIS, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Map & FMSF Site Add ress Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Local Survey Elig. 630 MUM 225 PAVONIA RD. BOOM BUNG 3 C 629 8So1751 303 PAVONIA RD. BOOM BUNG 3 C 622 8So1752 207 PINE RD. OEPR FRAM 3 C 623 8So1753 216 PINE RD. DOR FRAM 3 C 621 8So1754 306 PINE RD. DEPR BUNG 1 C 338 8So1755 106 E. POCONO TRAIL BOOM MEDR 3 C 339 8So1756 202 E. POCONO TRAIL BOOM MEDR 3 C 340 8So1757 218 E. POCONO TRAIL BOOM MEDR 3 C 330 8So1758 112 W. POCONO TRAIL BOOM FRAM 3 C 329 8So1759 115 W. POCONO TRAIL BOOM FRAM 3 C 331 8So1760 122 W. POCONO TRAIL BOOM SPCO 3 C 333 - 8So1761 129 W. POCONO TRAIL BOOM MEDR 3 C 332 8So1762 132 W. POCONO TRAIL BOOM ITAL 3 C 390 8So1763 105 N. PORTIA ST. WW2A FRAM 3/4 D/E 388 M1764 103 S. PORTIA ST. WW2A FRAM 3 O/E 380 8So1765 203 S. PORTIA ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 381 8So1766 204 S. PORTIA ST. WW2A FRAM 3 0 361 8So1767 301 S. RAVENNA ST WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 362 M1768 308 S. RAVENNA ST WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 363 8So1769 406 (?) S. RAVENNA ST BOOM FRAM 3 C/D 364 8So1770 408 S. RAVENNA ST WW2A FRAM 3 D 365 8So1771 524 S. RAVENNA ST BOOM MEDR 3 C/o 358 8So1772 300 S. RIVER BLVD WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 359 MOM 301 S. RIVER BLVD WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 357 8So1774 304 S. RIVER BLVD WW2A FRAM 1 C/D 360 8So1775 307 S. RIVER BLVD WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 356 8So1776 308 S. RIVER BLVD Ww2A FRAM 3 0 355 8So1777 315 S. RIVER BLVD WW2A FRAM 3 C/o 661 8Sol778 114 SHORE RD. WW2A FRAM 6 D 659 8So1779 119 SHORE RD. WW2A FRAM 3 D/E 660 8So1780 203 SHORE RD. WW2A FRAM 3 0 666 MOM 408-A&B SHORE RD.' MODE FRAM 3/4 E 663 8So1782 413 SHORE RD. WW2A FRAM 3/4 D/E 664 8ScI1783 511 SHORE RD. DEPR FRAM 3/4 D 665 8So1784 601 SHORE RD. WW2A FRAM 3 0 656 8So1785 115 SILVER SPRAY LN. SILVER SPRAY APARTMENTS WW2A FRAM 3 D 655 8SolT86 116 SILVER SPRAY LN. SILVER SPRAY APARTMENTS WW2A FRAM 3 D 654 8So1787 117 SILVER SPRAY LN. SILVER SPRAY APARTMENTS Ww2A FRAM 3 D 657 8So1788 1?? SILVER SPRAY LN. WW2A FRAM 3/6 D 366 8So1789 600 SUN CREST DR WW2A FRAM 1/3 C 369 8SoIT90 604 SUN CREST DRIVE WW2A FRAM 3 D 368 8So1791 700 SUN CREST DRIVE WW2A FRAM 3 D 312 8So1792 104 SUNRISE DR. WW2A FRAM 3 D 316 8So1793 112 SUNRISE DR. WW2A MASO 3 D 315 8So1794 200 SUNRISE DR. WW2A FRAM 3 C 311 8So1795 208 SUNRISE DR. WW2A FRAM 3/4 C/o 310 8So1796 216 SUNRISE DR. WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 323 8So1797 321 SUNRISE DR. WW2A FRAM 3 D 322 8So1798 330 SUNRISE DR. 02A INTE 3 0 1?1 A4Zn17QQ A117 qI IND I I= r10 f1coo CDAM I r, 160 Table 15 (cont). NOKOMIS, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Mao _FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Local Survey Elig. 318 8So1800 412 SUNRISE DR. WW2A FRAM 3 D 319 8So1801 417 SUNRISE DR. FIDDLER'S COVE WW2A FRAM 1 C 320 8Sol802 420 SUNRISE DR. DEPR FRAM 1 C 328 8So1803 107 SUNSET DR. BOOM FRAM 3 C 327 8Sol804 111 SUNSET DR. WW2A FRAM 1 C/D 658 8Sol8O5 218 N. TAMIAMI TRAIL DEPR FRAM 3/4 C/'D 650 8So1806 255 N. TAMIAMI TRAIL PALM.& PINES M081LE & R.V. WW2A FRAM 3 C/D PARK 647 8Sol$07 3?? N. TAMIAMI TRAIL WW2A FRAM 1/5 0 646 8SoI808 4?? N. TAMIAMI TRAIL CORETTES TAVERN BOOM FRAM 3/4 D 337 MAN 801 S. TAMIAMI TRAIL VENICE-NOKOMIS BANK BOOM MEDR 3 C 344 8So1810 901 S. TAMIAMI TRAIL CAROL'S ANTIQUES WW2A INTE 3/4 D 302 8Sol811 1011 S. TAMIAMI-TRAIL SUNTROL CO. BOOM FRAM 3 D 301 8Sol8l2 1199-? S. TAMIAMI TRAIL BARGAIN BARN WW2A FRAM 3 D 303- 8So1813 1199-? S. TAMIAMI TRAIL WW2A FRAM 3 D 304 8Sol814 1199-? S. TAMIAMI TRAIL WW2A FRAM 3 D 387 8So1815 102 S. VERONA ST. WW2A FRAM 1 D/E 386 8So1816 104 S. VERONA ST. WW2A FRAM 1 D/E 385 8Sol817 106 S. VERONA ST. WW2A FRAM 1 D/E 367 8So1818 503 WANDA PLACE WW2A FRAM 3 D 161 was the home of Dr. Fred and Louella Albee. It remains in good condition today and. is currently for sale. 2. The Venice-Nokomis Bank, 801 S. Irm-dami Trail (8So1809) - This two-story Mediterranean Revival style commercial building was constructed in 1925. Two years later, the bank was moved to Venice , but the building remained. It is in good condition and is currently used as a commercial building. 3. The Claude T. Curry Residence, 1212 Lucille Avenue (8So1709) - Claude T. Curry, the cousin of the first postmaster in the area, built this two-story wood frame house with his brother in 1908. It is currently occupied and is in fair condition. Most of the original fabric remains visible, as it has not witnessed extensive modifications through the years. 4. 130 Amlfie (8So1663 and 8Sol664) - Dr. Susan Corsan and Dr. Blanca Hillman constructed a house circa 1933 along the north shore of Dam Bay, east of the Tamiami Trail. An older wood frame residence stood nearby on the same parcel of larxi. Dr. Corsan had a 7 1/2 acre garden which she opened to visitors. Donations were used to help support the Nokomis Fire Department (Margaret Wrey, per-scnal cc=mcaticn). The Corsan/Hillman house, curreitly owned by Margaret Wrey, has been remodeled with new additions. The earlier wooden house remains-in its original location with fewer modifications, now used as a guest cottage for their visitors. Two areas contained heavy concentrations of historic structures, primarily from the real estate boom period. These were both developed by Dr. Fred Albee and are described below. 5. The Nokomis subdivision, platted in 1917, is located on the peninsula bound on the south by Roberts Bay and on the north by Dom Bay and Shakett (Shake It) Creek. It contains a high =m-mitration of Mediterranean Revival and Spanish Colonial Revival style residences and some small commercial structures. In addition, there are a large number of wood frame vernacular and bungalow residences constructed throughout the twentieth century. most of the newer infill construction includes concrete block residences and commercial structures. 6. The Bay Point Subdivision was platted in 1924. It is located north of Dom Bay and =tains a less dense collection of Mediterranean Revival style homes. Most of the ;idences are a combination of wcod frame vernacular, Mediterranean Revival style, and newer concrete block homes rept senting boom period,*depression era, and post-World War II architecture. Other Sj Several early homestead sites-have' been covered with new construction or remain vacant today. These have been included in the archaeological section of this survey report. The first is Fiddler's Isalmid [email protected] site (SSoI365). in the Anchorage development on Fiddler's Island.- A house on this site; constructed in the 1930s (or possibly earlier), occupied by Mr. North has been razed. A concrete sea wall and small wooden structure in today. Second, is The Anchorage site (SSo1366) also located on Fiddler's Island. Third and last, is the Venice Ceketery (SSoL367) used since the 1880s, [email protected] part of Jesse Knight's homestead. General Recommendations: It is ----ended that additional research be conducted regarding the development of Nokomis. Two important concentrations 162 Of historic structures, established during the real estate boom period, remain today. These are located in the Nok.amis Subdivision and the Bay Point subdivision as described above in the survey results. Neither area appears to be cohesive enough to be considered as a National Register Historic Districtf but should be established as two 1,ocal Historic Districts. Two sites merit individual nominations to the National Reg#ter Of Historic Places based -on their architectural significance and their association with local historical events arid/or persons. These particular sites, Point ol Palm and the Claude T. Curry homestead, would also need to be researched further prior to the preparation of a nomination proposal. The Venice-Nokomis Bank building would be a potential candidate for inclusion in a thematic Multiple Properties nomination for the National Register of Historic Places as a Boom Time ccmmercial structure or as an example of the Mediterranean Revival style. Several other sites may be eligible for a Multiple Properties nomination to the National Register. These need to be studied further and incluri , but are not limited to, the following: the Kermar Apartnents, the Villa Elizabeth Apartments, and the Dr. Corsan Guest House. A number of military bQ11duigs were moved to NOk0MIS from the Venice Air Base after world war II. Most of these were converted into residerxms and some may be eligible for a NUtiple Properties nomination to the National Register. This would include military ::i - of historical importance moved to various parts of Sarasota County- Above all, eacti historic site recorded in this survey with a B, C or D rating in the NR Eligibility category should be investigated further and should be reviewed thorm;hly prior to [email protected] of a demolition or remodeling permit. 163 LAUREL General DevelgMmt: The first post office of Laurel was established in 1903 '(Matthews 1989:127), but the County Directories do not include a separate listing for Laurel until 1924. Ella Elvira "Effie" Blackburn married Julian B. Roberts, an immigrant from Cuba who lived in Braidentowm, in Miy 1904. Effie I s parents, Frank and Emm Blackburn, who had south of Spanish Point in the area of today s Blackburn Point Road, gave the couple twenty acres of "bay front" land where they built their home that same year (Matthews 1989:146-147). Their house, located on the bayfront south of present Roberts Road, burned in the 1970s (Mrs. Isaac Roberts, personal commmication). (Their son, Isaac, currently has a house on the south corner of Roberts and Bayshore Roads, northeast of the original hcme site.) Mr. Roberts (riot related to Robert Roberts in Venice, for whom Roberts Bay was named) became the first principal for the new Laurel Granuar School, amusbnicted in 1928 (Matthews 1989:274; Polk County Directories). He retained that position for at least 12 years according to the county directories. Mary May I'Molliell Wrede, daughter of Rebecca Caroline "Calliell Knight and Alfred Franklin Wrede, married Albert E. Blackburn, Frank and Emmas second son, on Thanksgiving 1907 (Matthews 1989:332). They nrn,@ a house north [email protected] Effie and J.B. Roberts' home, also on the bayfrcnt. This house burned circa 1930, at which time a new two story wood frame house was constructed on the same- site (Mrs. Frank Blackburn, personal comnmication). (It was torn down circa 1970 when Mollie wanted a new concrete house.) Albert and Mollie had one dauOiter, Eva Ruth, and four sons, Calvin Duese, Jesse Franklin 'Iftank", Lewis Earl, and Albert Wrede. Albert Blackburn had been "a ranch foreman and hiring agent for Bertha Hcnora Palmer. He had resided in a two-story foreman's house at Meadowsweet Pastures (part of present Myakka River State Park), where some of his children had been born" (Matthews 1989:226). In 1925, Blackburn agreed to help Albert Cummer obtain options on land east of Venice for the BLE (Matthews 1989:226- 227). The following year he was also hired to manage their demonstration dairy fazm, east of Venice (Matthews 1989:236). He was also named "me of the [email protected] meztx-xs of the Venice Farm Board, to advise buyers" (Matthews 1989:263). Albert Blackburn owned nLxh of the land in Laurel west of the railroad and north of the J.B. Roberts hcoestead. Alonzo I'ljonniell and Erna Harn werb married in 1922 and settled in the laurel area, just south of [email protected] laurel Road. Alonzo had arrived in Mokomis in 1903 where he first worked as a cowboy and then later as a mechanic and carpenter (Huskey 1985). Their sons, Jack and Harley, remain in the area today. "Fishing was done by almost everycne at the time, and massive turpentine operations were underway in local pine woods. Meanwhile, tourists began flowing into the area in search of game and fish" (Huskey 1985). At that time, 1924, C. Phillips served as the postmaster and merchant. The laurel Turpentine Company employed most of the.residents of 'Laurel, which amounted to about 36 then (1924 Sarasota County DirectOrV). The Blackburn fandly was well-represented by Albert and his wife, Frank and his wife, and Spencer and his wife. They raised fruit and other crops. 164 The McCloud turpentine still (Laurel Turpentine caqk-my), managed by Sam McKeithan,. became the center of a community which boasted a commissary, [Church,] and housing for the blacks on the north side of today's Laurel Road [and east of the Tamiami Tr4ilp, (Arnall 1987:4). An unmarked cemetery was located in an area of high land Just east of the still and railroad, on what is now Highlands Circle near Mission valley Boulevard (Arnall 1987:4). [email protected] 1925 the. J. Ray Arnold lumber Company was established in Laurel, increasing the population to approximately 92. As elsewhere in Florida, the lumber industry followed the turpentine industry when the pine trees were tapped of all their oleorosin sap, used in making turpentine. The. lumber company, ccuplete with nine or ten small mills located out from the main mill, processed lumber from trees on 80 acres of land located north of the McCloud turpentine quarters. 1"niere was a ccmamity of about 50 to 100 houses including a camd-soary, living pla for married and single black and white individuals. By 1930 all of the timber was sawed out" (Arnall 1987:4).. Like other communities developing south of Sarasota, Laurel was located- along the Seaboard Air Line Railroad (Polk 1926). Anothef "negro section", knowm as "Albee's quarters", "lay west of the Seaboard tracks in Laurel, and a 'white labor' section east of the Venice Railroad station" (Matthews 1989:225-226,238). Most of the people worked for Dr. Albee or on the BLE (Brotherhood of locomotive Engineers) const:uction projects in Venice during the mid-1920s. of them later worked in the Venice Lumber Coqxkry (1926-1959). Betty Hauser Arnall, wtiose father George Hauser owTied the cxxqoany, rar-d-mrs names such as: Clarence Sims, George Harris and Henry Morgan. Scme of the relatives of these men still live there (Betty Arnall, personal cmaunicaticn). "Dr. Fred Albee and his brother Stephen started growing gladiolus and narcissus along the east side of Dom Bay and Shakett Creek (in Nokomis] back in the late twenties and early thirties. Mis was the first comnercial farming venture in the area and the first commercial growing of ornamentalsol (Davis and Zilles, 1975, Mabel Curry interview). Ten years later, the 1936 Polk"s Sarasota County D showed a decline in the population to 77 adult residents, about half of whom were "colored." Two schools had been established in the area. The laurel Grammar School, a new stuccoed Mediterranean Revival style building was =L-jtr using structural clay tile in 1928. Located along the T-amiami Trail, it .replaced the earlier wooden school house located across Roberts Road, on the north ( hotograph at VAHC). J.B. Roberts was the first principal. The Laurel Colored School was directed by E.W. Penn. Mr. F.M. Harp was POStMOLSI (Polk 1936). By 1938 George 0. arid Marie Bell operated a tourist camp in Laurel. The 1938 Sarasota County Director-V recorded about 88 residents, including approximately 35 "colored" residents (Polk 1938). Colonel W.R. Grove settled in the area south of South Creek in what is now the residential development of Sorrento Shores. His house was located on South Creek, urrounded. by a lychee grove (Betty Arnall, Personal 7 -vigil uAcation). Boundaries and M: This - nirgrehensive survey of Laurel includes an L-shaped arm bound on the north by the section line dividing section's 14 and 15 from Sections 22' and 23 (Township 38 South, Range 18 East) just south of South Creek (west of U.S. 41) and by Laurel Road (east Of U.S. 41). The southern 165 b0UndarY Consists of the souther line of half-section maps 168 and 170. The Tamiami Trail (U.S. 41) forms the east boundary, north of Laurel Road, whereas Shakett Creek becomes the boundary south of Laurel Road. Blackburn Bay forms the west boundary. Structures ldcated along the east side of the Tarnami Trail and along the north side of Laurel Road (east of U. S. 41) were also included. Starting from the north, the following sections and corresponding half-section maps were covered in this survey of Laurel: Township 38 Soiuth, Range 18 East, SecEion 22 (159) Section 23 (160 & 161) Section 25 (164 & 165) Section 26 (166 & 167) Section 35 N half (168) ection 36 N half (170) Township 38 South, Range 19 East, Section 30 S half (382) Section 31 N half (383) Using the half-section maps and current aerials, the following map (Figure 17) was prepared to irxilcate the location of the historic structures included in this survey. Survey The camounity of Laurel is much smaller and less dense than Nokcmis. Several residential developments and commercial strip shopping centers appearing along U.S. 41 are potential threats to this area. A total Of 35 historic sites were inventoried in this survey and have been listed in the Surveyed Historic Structures Table 16. New Sj : Ten of these sites were located west of U.S. 41, consisting of wood frame vernacular, bungalows, and masonry vernacular (concrete block) residences. Four were constr =ted in the late 1940s and do not represent any unique architectural styles. This portion of Laurel was originally settled by the Harn,' Roberts and Blackburn families. Relatives of each still live in the area, mostly in newer concrete block residences. A few of the more important sites west of U.S. 41 have been listed below: 1. Mks. Barney York Residence, 612 Laurel Road (8So1848) - This house was first remodeled circa 1925 from an older wood frame residence. Other additions have since been constructed on the east side. Lord Roberts, a [email protected] tim resident and neighbor recounted that it was originally built by a man named Belnere circa 1910. 2. Verna Blackburn Residence, 1109 Bayshore Road (SSol824) - Lord Roberts also reported that this house was built by Berkholder, a World War I veteran, in the mid-1920s. Verna Arnold, daughter of J. Ray Arnold, married Duese Blackburn, son of Albert and Mollie Blackburn. This two-story wood frame house has remained relatively unaltered through the years. 3. J. Weller Bay Cottages (Hill Cottages), 1649 Bayshore Road (8So1828) Four wood frame cottages line the end of Hill Street, ending with newer concrete block duplexes along the bayfront. Apparently these were built in the 1930s. Three are identical except for minor alterations, and one is slightly different. This one, located third from Bayshore Road, appears to have been constructed earlier than the rest. 166 1 I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I Figure 17. Location of Historic Srtuctures in Laurel. I 167 Table 16. LAUREL, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Map FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data ' NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Local Survey # Elig. 686 8So182O 104 ANDER86N RD. WW2A FRAM 3/4 C/D 687 8So1821 ??? ANDERSON RD. WW1A FRAM 3 C 673 8So1822 710 BAYSHORE RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C 674 8So1823 819 BAYSHOAE RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C 584 8So1824 1109 BAYSHORE RD. VERNA BLACKBURN RESIDENCE BOOM FRAM 1/3 B/C 583 8So1825 1135 BAYSHORE RD. LORD ROBERTS RESIDENCE WW2A MASO 3 D/E 582 MIN 1221 BAYSHORE RD. ELIHUE ROBERTS RESIDENCE WW2A FRAM 3 D/E 587 8So1827 1501 BAYSHORE RD. WREDE BLACKBURN RESIDENCE WW2A FRAM 3/4 D 588 8So1828 1649 BAYSHORE RD. (1-4) J. WELLER BAY [email protected] DEPR FRAM 3 C 684 8So1829 204 BROWNS RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C 682 8So1830 212 CHANDLER RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 683 8So1831 229 CHANDLER RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C 696 8So1832 509 CHURCH ST. DEPR FRAM 3 C 695 8So1833 ??? CHURCH ST. CHAPEL BAPTIST CHURCH OF BOOM FRAM 3 C LAUREL 697 8So1834 600 CHURCH ST. MORGAN RESIDENCE BOOM FRAM 3 C TOO 8So1835 ??? CHURCH ST. DEPR FRAM 3 C 694 8So1836 308 COLLINS RD. C. HOLLENQUEST RESIDENCE WW2A FRAM 3 C 698 8So1837 ??? COLLINS RD. ROBINSON'S GROCERY Boom FRAM 3 C 699 BSo183B COLLINS RD. & CHURCH ST. BOOM BUNG 3 C 690 8So1839 6 FOREST ST. DEPR BUNG 3 C 6B9 8So1840 ?? FOREST ST. WW2A FRAM 3 C 688 8So1841 ?? FOREST ST. WW1A FRAM 3/6 C 692 8So1842 ?? GROVE ST. DEPR FRAM 3/4 C/D 691 8So1843 395 E. LAUREL RD. RAM MARINE SERVICES, INC. Boom FRAM 1 C 693 8So1844 ??? E. LAUREL RD. THE MARTINS RESIDENCE DEPR FRAM 3 C 677 8So1845 503 W. LAUREL RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C 676 8So1846 519 W. LAUREL RD. HARN-SCOBORIA RESIDENCE WW2A FRAM 3 C 580 8So1847 600 W. LAUREL RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C 581 8So1848 612 W. LAUREL RD. MRS. BARNEY YORK RESIDENCE BOOM BUNG 3/4 C 685 8So1849 237 MT. PLEASANT RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C 586 BSoIB50 1405 OAK ST. A.E. BLACKBURN'S BARN BOOM FRAM 1/3 C 680 8So1851 12 OLD TRAIL WW2A FRAM 3 C 681 8So1852 ?? OLD TRAIL WW2A FRAM 3 D 585 8So1853 331 ROBERTS RD. ISAAC ROBERTS RESIDENCE WW2A MASO 3 D/E 589 8So1854 1241 N. TAMIAMI TRAIL LAUREL SCHOOL Boom MEDR 3 B/C 0 168 4. The Laurel school, 1241 N. Tamiami Trail (8Sol854) - Constructed in 1928, this Spanish Colonial Revival style school *building remains basically unaltered on the exterior . It is currently vacant and the school board is trying to sell the property which is in a prime development location. The remaining 24 are located east of U.S. 41. A number of small wood frame and cancrete block houses are located in an area bound on the north by Laurel Road and on the west by U.S. 41. Most of these are occupied by low income residents and have been modified through the years as the need and resources arose. For this reason, some structures constructed pre-1949 may not have been obvious and were not recorded in this survey. South of Collins Road and west of the railroad is the original "Albee's Quarters," a black community established in the 1920s. This area is reputed as being a high crime area and was not surveyed thoroughly at this time. The structures observed are primarily wood frame vernacular, bungalows and concrete block residences. Most are in fair condition and many have been altered from their original configurations. The area north of Laurel Road and east of U.S. 41 has been developed with new residential subdivisions. The only historic structure of any significance east of U.S. 41 is described as follows: 6. Chapel Baptist Church of Laurel, Church Street (8SO1833) - A newer concrete block church has been constucted next to this simple wood frame church building dating frcm the 1920s or 1930s. Many of the windows have been enclosed or replaced with metal awning windows. It currently sits vacant. This was one of the churches which served the black community of "Albee's Quarters. 1 Other Sites: Two of the sites surveyed were locations of original pioneer I tead which have since been destroyed. One, the Isaac Roberts Residence, 331 Roberts Road, was built in the late 1940s on the property of the original Julian B. Roberts homestead. The original house, which burned down 1n the 1970s, was located closer to the bay (southwest of the present house). At the other site, Frank Blackburn's residence, 1405 Oak Street was built circa 1970 to replace Albert E . Blackburn's house built in the 1930s. This house in turn replaced their original homestead house built circa 1907 (see General Development above). An historic wood frame barn remains at this site today- General Recommendations: The historic stuctures in the Laurel community are riot concentrated together in such a fashion to be eligible for a National Register Historic District. A Local Historic District may be possible for the black community based on its historical importance to the Venice -Nokomis area, but would have to be researched further (both historically and politically). Numerous structural intrusions may prevent this from being possible. Several sites, however, are potentially eligible for inclusion in Multiple Properties nominations to the National Register Of Historic Places- These include the following: 1. The Laurel School as part of an educational thematic nomination (see Recommendations at the end of the report). 2. The j. Weller Bay cottages as part of a vacation/tourist thematic nomination (see recomendations at the end of the report). Other sites which are important historically and/or architecturally but require additional information are: the verna Blackburn Residence, the Harn- 169 Scarboria Residence, the Barney York Residence, 503 Laurel Road, and 395 Laurel Road. The sites where the Julian B. Roberts horestead and the Albert E. Blackburn hamstead originally stood should be investigated further if the .existuig properties are goiM to be subdivided or developed (see survey results for addresses). Additional research - should eventually. be. gathered. pm-taining to the developnent of the cam-uuty south of Laurel Road and east of U.S. 41 to determine if a more 7xTrIprehensive survey of this area is required. This is particularly true with the area along Church Street ("Albee's Quarters") since this was riot thoroughly surveyed (see Survey Results). In any case, all sites with a B, C or D rating in the NR Eligibility category should be reviewed carefully before a demolition or remodeluxj permit is granted. 170 CXM IWI General Devel Casey Key was originally called Chaises,*s Key. Captain John Charles Casey, an army officer from the Second Seminole War, asmisted with the first U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey between 1848 and 1851. The published chart recorded the inlet at present Venice as "Casey's Pass", the barrier. island to the north was labeled "Chaises's Key" (this was seventeen years before the Knights arrived and named their settlement Horse and [email protected]) I and the mainland of Venice was called "Piney Bluffs" (Matthews 1989:38,70). By 1856, however, the name of Chaises's Key was changed to Casey's Key on a new Florida _map. The early pioneer eaders and guests would cross over to Casey Key to hunt animals such as bobcats, panthers, and raccoons (turtle eggs were also very popular) and to cut bLTttcr&jood, mangrove, and ceda . Even as early as the 1870s there were complaints of too many turtle-egg hunters on the beach (Matthews 1989: 111). Just after the turn of the century, the Isaa Shumard family arrived at Casey Key. Originally from Missouri, they had been living in Fort Meade, Florida for a while. The family included two sons, Jesse and Orville, and four daughters, Lizzie, Florence, Flossie, and Clara. The Shumards and their neighbors, Mr. and Nkns. A. Root, both raised bees. 1hey eventually started a Sunday school, held in Mary's Chapel at Spanish Point, for the community children. [email protected] neighbor, G.M. Ragan operated the Seldom Inn at his home. Jesse Shumard "settled federal larxis across the bay from Osprey in spring 1903. By 1910, his homestead included a six-rom house, a dock house, workshop, artesian well, a fenced six-acre orchard, and a vegetable gardenif (Matthews 1989:151-152). Zachariah M. Dryman nor than 100 a on Casey's Key, south Of the Blackburn in 1909. Me bay along this area was later*called Dryman Bay (Matthews 1989:152). In the early 1910s, Isaac T. Siumard sold most of his sixty-two acres on Casey Key to the Sara x*a-Venice Company, but retained ten acres which included the family's "Island 11 (Matthews 1989:185). A $1,300,000-00 Treasure Island Hotel was proposed for the southern end Of Casey Key by the Sara mrta-Venice Couparry (Matthews 1989:200). The United States entered World War I, and all dreams of expansion ended for a while. Mie Blackburn Point Road bridge was constructed in 1925-26, connecting the mainland to the north end of Casey Key. The Treasure Island bridge was opened January 1923 as a toll bridge constructed by E.C. Warren (Grismer 1946:230). Through the depression years, teenagers from the Venice-NdwmLs convuuty en ftained themselved with beach parties at lqk*cms Beach on Treasure Island (Casey Key), where an abandoned Marvin (inventor Henry Marvin) house (called Lyons House by locals) was a favorite place for cbaperoned overnight campuig" (Matthews 1989:314). A group of small vacation cottages were constructed near the-southern end Of the key at "Jamay Beach". The current owner, Mrs. Vera Davis, has a 171 Postcard dated 1941 and signed by Raymond-Whitco1mb, Inc., with an aerial photograph of the site. One large house and* four small cottages overlooked the Gulf, four mcire*small cottages and a large garage were located'on the bay side. A boulevard ran north-south between them, with another garage and shed located on the median. Eight of these structures remain there today. Boundaries and Mar): About seven miles long, Casey Key extends from Midnight P&W (Northwest corner of T38S, R18E, S4) on thb north, to the Venice Inlet (Southeast corner of T39S, R18E, S2) on the south. Casey My includes the following , sections: Township 38 South, Range 18 East, Section 4 (144 & 145) Section 9 (146) Section 15 (157 & 158) Section 16 (146) Section 22 (159) Section 26 (166 & 167) Section 27 (166) Section 35 (168 & 169) Township 39 South, Range 18 East, Section 2 (174) Since this key is so large, all remaining historic structures have been located on a USGS quad nap for this report (Figure 18). Survey Resul Although a number of structures are evident on Casey Key on earlier maps and aerials, only 17 remaining historic sites were recorded duriM this survey. They have been included in the list of Surveyed Historic Structures (Table 17) and the more important ones have been described below. Now Sites: 1. MacAdoo--Beattie Residence, 3204 Casey Yay Road (8So1889) - This fine Mediterranean Revival style home, located on Dryman Bay, was built in 1928 by Mrs. MacAdoo (note this name was prwided by the current owner and the spelliM is not guarranteed to be accurate). She designed and created the ornate plaster frieze panels which surround the front of the house, depicting sea creatures. The current owner, Mrs. Beattie, purchased the house from Mrs. MacAdools estate and moved here in 1951. 2. 2914 & 2960 Casey Key Road (8So1886 & 8So1887) - These two sites actually consist of eight structures, some historic and sane ccntei,qporr y. Constructed of wood frame with weatherboard sidux;, the main structures conjure images of a mountain camp site. No history was found for these sites, although the architecture is unique and the main buildings have rx:yt been modified extensively. 3. Miller House, 2209 Casey Key Road (SS01884) - -Ihis international style house was designed by Paul Rudolph and Ralph Twitchell in 1948. UsiM lime "Ocala" block, they created a low profile T-shaped building overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. This house was featured in several architectural magazines at the time (-q Bibliography). It was remodeled in the mid-1970s and a large two-story (compatible) addition is currently being L'Structed at the north side of the house. A boat house was originally proposed, designed and 172 ROAD Soo 5-32 5113 6, 14 cps 0 WON L 564 RC" CASEY KEY MOIWM13 Figure 18. Location of Historic Structures, 173 Table 17. CASEY KEY, FLORIDA Surveyed Hittoric Structures Results and Evaluations Map & FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Local Survey Elig. 551 3104 CASEY KEY RD. MODE FRAM 1 E 564 8So1875 409 CASEY KEY RD. JAMAY BEACH WW2A FRAM 3 C 560 M1876 413 CASEY KEY RD. JAMAY BEACH WWZA FRAM 3 C 561 8So1877 416 CASEY KEY RD. JAMAY BEACH WW2A FRAM 3 C 559 8So1818 417 CASEY KEY RD. jAMAY BEACH, TREASURE ISLAND WW2A FRAM 3 C 562 8So1879 418 CASEY KEY RD. JAMAY BEACH WW2A FRAM 3 C 563 8So1880 420 CASEY KEY RD. JAMAY BEACH WW2A FRAM 3 C 557 SSo1881 421 CASEY KEY RD. JAMAY BEACH WW2A FRAM 3 C 558 8So1882 421A CASEY KEY RD. JAMAY BEACH WW2A FRAM 3 C 556 8So1883 2108 CASEY KEY RD. BOOM FRAM 3/4 D 565 8So1884 2209 CASEY KEY RD. MILLER HOUSE WW2A INTE 3 C 555 8So1885 2910 CASEY KEY RD. GOLDEN POND WW2A FRAM 3 C 554 8So1886 2914 CASEY KEY RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C, 553 8So1887 2960 CASEY KEY RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C 552 8So1888 3009 CASEY KEY RD. WW2A FRAM 3 D/E 550 8So1889 3204 CASEY KEY RD. MACADOO-BEATTIE RESIDENCE Boom MEDR 3 B/C 496 BSo!890 BLACKBURN POINT RD. BLACKBURN POINT ROAD BRIDGE BOOM OTHR 1 8 published for the bay side of the property but was never constructed (personal communication with caretaker). 3. Jamay Beach Cottages, 409, 413, 416, 418, 417, 420, 421, 421A Casey Key Road (8So1875 to 8Sol882)- These eight wood.frame cottages were part of a complex built prior to 1941 (see General Development above) and remain in good condition with few alterations. 4. Blackburn Point Bridge (8So1890) This is the only swivel bridge remaining in Sarasota County and possibly the only bridge in the county still in use since 1926 when it opened on December 15. The Champion Bridge Co., from willmington, ohio, cciLstructed this Warren TnLss (with verticals) swing bridge between 1925 and 1926 as a result of a bond issued in July 1924. This was one of the first bonds issued after Sarasota became a county in 1922, important historically since Sarasota separated from Manatee County in an effort to focus on much-needed road and bridge construction in this part of the county. General Recommendations: It is recommended that the MacAdoo-Beattie Residence be included in a thematic Multiple Properties nmination to the National Register of Historic Places along with other isolated Mediterranean Revival style structures in Sarasota County (see Recommendations at the end of the report). The Tamay Beach cottages should aim be researched further for potential inclusion in [email protected] thematic Multiple Properties nomination to the National Register with other vacation/tourist sites in the county ([email protected]@aticns at the end of the report) . EKtxmlve historical research has been prepared by the Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources for the Blacld=m Point Bridge and has been deemed eligible for listing in the National Register Of Historic Places. Additional can nctural research is required Prior to preparing a National Register Nomination Proposal. Further research should be compiled regarding the sites 2914 and 2960 Casey Key Road before re=mnendations can be made for them. A few structures located on Casey Key may have been cons tructed prior to 1949 but were not recorded in this SUrIM7. This oocured because the buildings were either modified, hiding their original materials and configuration, or were built in the late 1940s of a similar style to most 1950s construction. it is recommend that the results of this survey be reviewed with the 1948 aerials, if they are available, to determine which structures ray have been missed by this survey. More valuable, however, would be a survey of all of the structures remaining in Sarasota County designed by Ralph TWitchell and Paul Rudolph (and other designers of the ##Sarasota school of Architecture"). This proposed survey should include all of their structures, regardless as to the date of construction or location within the county. (See Recommendations at the end of this report for further details). All sites recorded in this survey which contain a B, C or D rating in the NR Eligibility category should be reviewed carefully before demolition or remodeling permits are granted- 175 OSEM General Develorment: In February 1867, a well educated farming family from Utica, New York started theii journey.to Florida, wtiere they eventually set up a homestead in osprey, spurred by the Congressional Hanestead Act of 1862. John Greene Webb, his wife Eliza Ophelia, Graves Webb, their five children (Arma, Will, Lizzie, Jack and Ginnie), Eliza's father, Samuel Graves, and her sister Emily set out by schooner from the New York.Harbor to their new home in Florida. After they arrived at the Manatee River settlement, they becjan searching for land to homestead. Finally, in July 1867, they decided on a site, along the lower Sarasota Bay, fourteen miles south of the Wlutaker homestead. By the end of August their garden was in blocm and they were starting construction on their new home "-a 'balloon house-'-partition sides filled in with homemade concrete that could be plastered over later. It was [email protected] * * .11 (Matthews 1983:281-282). Eliza Webb wrote to her family in New York describing the houses in Florida which were more open than those in New York: "You will be surprised to hear that the richest people here (worth forty thousand dollars) live in houses in which our cattle in the north, would perish in the winter" (Matthews 1983:282). Their new home, which they named Spanish Point, was ready September 10, 1867, almost eight months after they left their home in Utica, New York the last week in January (Matthews 1983). The Webb family were the only ones living in that general vicinity when they established their homestead, but quickly -- friends from the north to come visit and set up their own teads. "During the 1870s and early ?0s a small cot unity grw up in Webbs neighborhood and in 1884 he applied for a post office. His petition was granted and the community was named osprey at his request. He chose the name because of his admiration for the beautiful Osprey, a gorgeous dark-brown fish-hawk" (Grismer 1946:52). By 1897, the General Directory of manatee county described Osprey as a fine fishing point, with land, high pine and suitable for citrus fruit culture. Located eleven miles south of Sarasota, the fifteen families listed received daily mail directly frcm, Sarasota. John G. Webb, the local postmaster, also operated a hotel at Spanish Point. other residents included five fishermen, one turtle hunter, one laundry operator, one laborer, two vegetable farmers, two builders (William B. Webb and R.S. Griffith), one farmer, and one guide (Meserve 1897). webb placed advertisements in northern newspapers, emphasizing the warm winters at Osprey and his own Webb,*s Winter Resort (Grismer 1946:51). Marry guests stayed at their resort and a number of them returned annually, scme eventually made this area their home, once the town of Sarasota was founded (Grismer 1946:52). Mrs. Potter Palmer (Bertha Mathilde Hcnor6) arrived in Sarasota early in 1910, traveling from her home in clucago with her brother, Adrian, and her son, HwiorC She had been intrigued by an ad in the Clug= Daily Tr placed by Joseph Lord who was selling large undeveloped tracts of land wtuch he had acquired near Sarasota, Venice, and Myakka since 1885. That year, Mrs. Palmer, her brother, and son began acquirinig. land from Mr. Lord. They eventually formed the Sarasota-Venice Ccuparry with Adrian Hionor*, president, Joseph Lord, vice-president, Potter Palmer Jr., treasurer, and Hionor6 Palmer, secretary. During the next few years the company purchased thousands of acres of orange groves and native pine land, and granted a right-of-way to the seaboard Air Line Railway (Matthews 1989:173,178-179). 176 Bertha Honorb Palmer had decided to establish her estate where the Pioneer settlement of Osprey stood. This'would be close to the coastal center Of Palmer land. Mrs. Palmer's aunt, Laura Carr Honor6, purchased twelve acres for her just north of Frank and Lizzie Webb Guptill's house, bordering the Webb homstead, in [email protected] 1910. She soon began remodeling an existing two- -story, four-columned, wood frame house located on the bayfroryt, originally built in 1900 by-lawrence 30nes (Matthews 1989:181). Mrs. Palmer called her -winter. estate Osprey Point, and her remodeled house,-the Oaks. On the-estate, she enhanced its natural beauty with formal gardens and numerous paths. The existuxj Webb homestead buildings were also remodeled. Ifts. Palmer's Osprey Point estate contained its own electric plant and water system, several groves, separate buildings for house servants and grounds supervisors, a small village and commissary for white and black work crews, livestock and poultry sheds, and a farm which she developed, called Home Farm" (Matthews 1989:182). In addition, Bertha Honor6 Palmer occupied herself with her large ranch, Mea owsweet Pastures, located inland along the Myakka River. Unable to finish her plans for the Oaks and Osprey Point, Mrs. Palmer died in 1918, due to cancer. By 1922, Osprey was described as a village and post office close to the shore in the Sarasota County . IIS=razxIing it are some of the most beautiful winter homes in the South.. The area is one capable of very great expansion in agricultural production" (1922 Sarasota County Directory). About 118 residents were listed, as well as a Baptist church and Victor A. Saunder's general store and post office. Sane of the families included their nothern residences in the listuig. The Palmer Estate continued to employ laborers after Mrs. Potter Palmer's death (1922 Sarasota County Nat marry changes occured in two years, except J. Mack Hamlin, from the Osprey Mercantile Co., became postmaster. The 1923-24 Sarasota County listed approximately 112 residm-rts plus children. The population declined to about 84 inhabitants by 1926, even though the Seaboard Air Line Railway had been installed through Osprey (Polk 1926). Ten years later, there were only 66 residents according to the 1936 Polk's Sarasota County Di J. Mack Hamlin continued to be the prvqtmnster and owner of the Osprey Mercantile Co. An Osprey Chamber of Comerce was created, with C.W. Webb as secretary (Polk 1936). The population began to irKxease again, so that by 1938, there were again close to 120 residents (Polk 1938). The Palmer estate in Osprey was left to Mrs. Potter Palmer's son, Potter Palmer, Jr. and in turn was succeeded by his children. "A great woods fire in 1950, destroyed mich of the natural coastal timberline east of the extensive grounds and house. Afterward mos of the acreage was planted in fields for ornamental plants and fruit trees for Palmer Nurseries" (Shepard Associates 1980:H-35). Bertha Hcnor6 Potter's grandson, Gordon, operated the nursery and opened the gardens and house to visitors to promote his ornamental plants. Boundaries and MV: The area included in this mirrrp-herLsive survey of Osprey is bound on the north by the northern boundary of Township 38 South and North Creek; on the west by Little Sarasota Bay; on the south by the southern boundaries of Sections 14 and 15 (Township 38 South, Range 18 East), just south of South Creek; and on the east by the eastern boundaries of Sections 3 and 10 (Township 38 South, Range 18 East). Since the -3111101itY Of Osprey developed on both sides of the Tamiami Trail (U.S. 41), the boundaries were 177 extended east of U.S. 41. The following soctions and corresponding half- section maps are included in this,survey: Township 38 South, Range 18 East, Section 3 (142 & 143) Section 4 (144 & 145) Section 10 (147 & 148) Section 14 (155 & 156) Section 15 (157 & 158) Two maps have been prepared for this report identifying the location of the historic k-tures surveyed in the osprey area. Figure 19 contains the original COILUMiity of Osprey where the largest concentration of sites were recorded. This map was derived 'from the current half-section naps and aerials. The other map, Figure 20, represerits the area south of Osprey. Fewer historic sites were found in this area, therefore a USGS quad map was used. am= : Today Osprey is a small, quiet ccmmmity bisected by U.S. 41. A total of 95 historic structures have been recorded in osprey as a result of this survey. Larger, estate residences were constructed along the bayfront, generally as winter residences for wealthy northern inhabitants. 7hese were found to be mor decorative and in better corxiition than those on the east side of the Tamiami Trail (U.S. 41). The styles included are a Mediterranean Revival, a two-story Colonial Revival, and a number of one- and two-story wood frame vernacular houses. Those on the east side of the Tamiami, Trail constitute smaller, mor modest arx-estory frame vernacular and simle bungalow houses, most of which are in fair condition. These homes were probably used by laborers wbo, lived here yearround. Intermediate sized wood frame and concrete block structures are scattered in between. Spanish Point at the Oaks, a small portion of Mrs. Potter Palmer's estate which contains some of the Webb family homes and Mks. Palmer's gardens, is a National Register site. New Sites: The 95 structures surveyed have been included in the list of surveyed Historic Structures (Table 18). More important sites have been described below. 1. Osprey School, 337 North Tamiami Trail (8So1975) - Built at the same time as the Laurel School, in 1928, the Osprey School is not as ornate. However, it is a fine example of Boom Time schools and remains in excellent structural conaLtion. currently it stands vacant while the school board attempts to sell the property. 2. The Palmer Estate Caretaker Houses, 343 and 369 Palmetto Avenue (8Sol945 & 8Sol946) - These wow frame bungalows were originaly constructed for the caretakers of the Palmer Estate in the 1920s. one was copied from a house north of the estate, near Vamo,' Mr. Hand's house (Jan Matthews, personal c=mmicaticn). Bath of these :%P remain in excellent condition with very few modifications, if any. 3. The Oaks Gazebo, Reflecting Pond and Dock (8So1936 & 8SO1937) - Located w1tj= the west side of r1he oaks lw=y residential development, along the bayfront these are the only remaining north of Mrs. Potter Palmer's 178 a8 Ov 00 a -0 nim V.-a 400 18.0 1; U w D a.! m GO 1 i coo 55-00, 171 qLj .0 77-M-11 C3 C3 Cm I 0 V al C3 0 =51 It# > Uj I= IL Figure 19. Location of Historic Structures. 179 Ip - 'T V0- 0 dqzs 4;5 1710 47-f 4730 'k lip 047t .1915, MLUxwjepKA NT 487 CASE:%( SOUTH OSPREY Figure 20. Location of Historic Structures. 180 Table 18. OSPREY, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic S.tructures Results and Evaiuati-ons Map & FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site context Style Quality Local Survey Elig. 436 MIMS 125 E. BAY ST. WW2A FRAM 3 C 475 8So1906 322 E. BAY ST. WW2A MASO 3 D 476 BSoIS07 338 E. BAY ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 457 8Sol908 34(?) W. BAY ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 458 8Sol9O9 124 W. BAY ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D/E 488 8So1910 ?? BAYVIEW DRIVE WW2A FRAM 3 D 401 8Sol911 20 CHURCH ST. DEPR FRAM 3 C 402 8So1912 40 CHURCH ST. DEPR BUNG 3 C 424 8So1913 125 CHURCH ST. WW2A FRAM 3 C/o 407 8So1914 118 GLENWOOD AVE. DEPR FRAM 3 C 432 8Sol915 149 GLENWOOD AVE. WW2A FRAM 5 D 466 8Sol916 166 GLENWOOD AVE. WW2A FRAM- 3 D 423 BSoI917 424 GLENWOOD AVE. 19W2A FRAM 3 0 452 8So1918 18 MAIN ST. WW1A FRAM 3 C 453 8Sol9l9 19 MAIN ST. DEPR FRAM 3 C 454 8So1920 22 MAIN ST. DEPR FRAM 3 C 455 SSol921 119 MAIN ST. DEPR FRAM 3 C 459 8So1922 124 MAIN ST. WW2A MASO 3 D 485 8Sol923 143 NORTH LANE WW2A MASO 1 D 447 8So1924 37 OAK ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 449 8Sol925 43 OAK ST. WW2A MASO 3 D 405 8So1926 105 OGBURN ST. WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 408 8So1927 112 OGBURN ST. DEPR FRAM 3 C 434 BSo1928 113 OGBURN ST. DEPR FRAM 3 C 437 8So1929 116 OGBURN ST. WW2A FRAM 3 C/o 435 8So1930 120 OGBURN ST. WW2A FRAM 3 0 406 8Sol931 121 OGBURN ST. OEPR FRAM 3 C 433 BSoIS32 125 OGBURN ST. WW2A MASO 3 0 474 8So1933 220 OLD VENICE RD. DEPR MASO 3 D 473 8Sol934 406 OLD VENICE RD. WW2A FRAM 3 D/E 472 8Sol935 ? OLD VENICE RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C 478 8So1936 OSPREY POINT DR. THE OAKS GAZEBO & REFLECT.POND WW1A OTHR 2 a/c 484 HOW OSPREY POINT DR. THE OAKS DOCK WW1A GRKR 2 B/C 450 8Sol938 202 PALMETTO AVE. WW1A FRAM 3 D 460 8Sol939 221 PALMETTO AVE. WW1A FRAM 3 C 461 8So1940 221 PALMETTO AVE. GUEST HOUSE OF SITE 460 UNKN FRAM 3 C 495 8Sol941 313 PALMETTO AVE. 6 492 8So1942 325 PALMETTO AVE. BOOM FRAM 1 B/C 493 MOW 32T PALMETTO AVE. Boom FRAM 3 C/o 494 8Sol944 329 PALMETTO AVE DEPR FRAM 3 C 462 8Sol945 343 PALMETTO AVE. PALMER ESTATE CARETAKER'S BOOM BUNG 1 C HOUSE 463 8Sol946 369 PALMETTO AVE. PALMER ESTATE CARETAKER'S Boom allNG 1 C HOUSE 491 8Sol94T 400 PALMETTO BURROWS-MATSON RESIDENCE DEPR COLR 3 B/C 467 8So1948 138 PATTERSON ST. WW2A FRAM 3 0 431 SSo`1949 210 PATTERSON AVE. 'NW2A FRAM . 3/4 D/E 430 8So1950 241 PATTERSON AVE. WW2A FRAM 3/6 0 465 8So195l 258 PATTERSON AVE. '#W2A FRAM 3 0 425 8So1952 331 PATTERSON AVE. Ww2A FRAM 3 0 181 Table 18 (cont.) OSPREY, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Mao & FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Local Survey Elig. 464 8So1953 343 PATTERSON AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 D/E 422 8Sol954 410 PATTERSON AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 D 421 8So1955 428 PATTERSON AVE. WW2A FRAM 3/4 D 420 8So1956 440 PATTERSON AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 D 419 8So195T 452 PATTERSON AVE. "AW2A FRAM 3 D 418 8Sol958 470 PATTERSON AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 D/E 438 8So1959 48 PENNSYLVANIA AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 C/o 404 8So1960 101 PENNSYLVANIA AVE. DEPR FRAM 3 C 429 8So1961 220 PENNSYLVANIA AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 D 426 8So1962 322 PENNSYLVANIA AVE. WW2A FRAM 3/6 D 417 8So1963 425 PENNSYLVANIA AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 D 416 8So1964 437 PENNSYLVANIA AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 D 415 8So1965 455 PENNSYLVANIA AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 D/E 456 8So1966 42 PINE AVE. WW1A FRAM 3 C 446 8So1967 158 PINE AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 C 490 8So1968 811 SARABAY RD. WW2A INTE 3 C/D 489 8So1969 932 SARABAY RD. THE WILD WOODS WW2A INTE I C/D 451 8So1970 13 N. TAMIAMI TRAIL WW1A FRAM 2/3 C 443 8So1971 132 N. TAMIAMI TRAIL PLAY IT AGAIN CONSIGNMENT SHOP WW2A MASO 1 0 442 8So1972 136 N. TAMIAMI TRAIL SNYDER MOTOR CO. WW2A FRAM 3 E 428 8So19T3 3?? N. TAMIAMI TRAIL WW2A MASO 1 C/D 471 8So1974 3?? N. TAMIAMI TRAIL 1ST BAPTIST CHURCH OF OSPREY WW2A MASO 3 D 448 8So1975 337 N. TAMIAMI TRAIL OSPREY SCHOOL BOOM MASO 3 B/C 411 8So1976 470 N. TAMIAMI TRAIL KATHY'S WW2A MASO 3 E 4T9 8So1977 500 N. TAMIAMI TRAIL MARY'S CHAPEL RECONSTRUCTION WW1A FRAM 2 A 480 8So1978 500 N. TAMIAMI TRAIL ACORN COTTAGE DEPR FRAM 2 A 481 8So1979 500 N. TAMIAMI TRAIL WHITE COTTAGE PREC FRAM 3 A 482 8So1980 500 N. TAMIAMI TRAIL POINT COTTAGE DEPR FRAM 2 A 483 8Sol981 500 N. TAMIAMI TRAIL GLIPTILL HOUSE SPAW FRAM 2 A 487 8Sol982 1356 S. TAMIAMI TRAIL STRATHMORE REALTY CORP. WW2A FRAM 3 D 486 8So1983 1935 S. TAMIAMI TRAIL JOHN BRADSHAW RESIDENCE DEPR FRAM 3 C 444 8So1984 4 WASHINGTON AVE. DEPR FRAM 3 D 469 8So1985 12 WASHINGTON AVE. WW2A MASO 1 D/E 468 8SoI986 21 WASHINGTON AVE. WW2A FRAM 3/4 0 409 8So1987 33 WASHINGTON AVE. DEPR FRAM 3 C 410 8So1988 34 WASHINGTON AVE. OEPR FRAM 3 C 403 8So1989 114 WASHINGTON AVE. WW2A FRAM 1 -D 439 8So199O 128 WASHINGTON AVE. WW2A FRAM 3/4 D 440 8So1991 138 WASHINGTON AVE. WW2A FRAM I C/D 441 8SoI992 144 WASHINGTON AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 D 470 8So1993 242 WASHINGTON AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 D/E 427 8So1994 349 WASHINGTON AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 414 8So1995 433 WASHINGTON AVE. WW2A FRAM 1 C/o 477 -8So1996 457 WASHINGTON AVE. WW2A FRAM 3/4 E 413 8So1997 462 WASHINGTON AVE. Ww2A FRAM 3 D 412 8So1998 469 WASHINGTON AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 0 445 8So1999 22 WEBB ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 182 mansion, The Oaks, which burned a few decades ago. They were all restored a few years ago during the early development stages of The Oaks. Previously Recorded Sites: Spanish Point at the Oaks, part of the Webb family's homestead and Mrs. Potter Palmer's estate, was placed on the National Register of Historic Places as the "Osprey Archaeological and Historic Site" ("The Oaks" Tract) (75000569), in 1975, the first in Sarasota-County. It is currently operated by the Gulf Coast Heritage Association, Inc., a private, not-for-profit organization. Each building was itemized during this survey, however, for separate Florida Master Site File listings, at the request of Linda Williams, director. These include the following: 1. Mary's Chapel Reconstruction (8So1977) 2. Acorn Cottage (8So1978) 3. White Cottage (8Sol979) 4. Point Cottage (8So1980) 5. Guptill House (8So1981) General Recommendations: since mos of the historic structures identified in tbis survey are scattered among newer wood frame and concrete block structures, it is doubtful that it will qualify for a National Register Historic Distric. However, a Local Historic District for the area contained west of the Tamiami Trail should be pursued. Additional research would be required to determine eligibility and acceptable boundaries- The two Palmer Estate Caretaker's Houses merit consideration to the National Register of Historic places as they are both fine examples of wood frame vernacular architecture designed for Florida, are in excellent condition, and pertain to the estate era which played an important aspect in the history of Sarasota County. Most houses of this type have been destroyed, altered considerably, or moved out of context. The osprey School should be included in a thematic Multiple Properties nomination to the National Register of Historic Places along with the Laurel School (see Recommendations at the end of this report. In addition, it would provide an excellenct community center. Spanish Point at the Oaks has shown an interest in aquiring the building which would be a great asset to Spanish point, to the community,and to the county. It would emphasize the importance of preserving Sarasota County's historical and architectural past as a cohesive unit and would be highly visible to the county citizens south Of Sarasota. This would be a great educational tool towards the goal of increasing county-wide awareness in historical preservation and in its own history ( Recommendations at the end of this repor ). I Osprey is threatened both from the north and south by continued large scale, upper income residential developments. In addition, the number of commercial establishments has increased rapidly along U.S. 41, both within the preservation of Osprey and along the approaches. Both of these factors will affect the historical background. planning strategies should be implemented soon, before the area is overrun with new development. 183 VAM General Develomient: Two real estate developers, Mr. A.A. Wren, of Missouri, and Ms. Bessie P. Gibson, of-Virginia, discovered the charm of this bayside area, located south of Sarasota, along the northern boundary of Mrs. Potter Palmer's estate. They began developuq the community of vamo in June 1924, named in honor of their home states. Their- prat )tional brochure called. it '"Ihe Gem of SarasotA Bay". "Its location,. on Sarasota Bay, with [email protected], climate, scenery and drinkuxj water, has proven a magnet to fran the very start. More than thirty homes have already been built, and the town has stores, a hotel, church and school facilities" (Vam-Bristol pronctional brochure). In the same brochure, the developers were pramoting the pleasant year-round climate of Bristol, on the Virginia-Tennessee border. A map outlining the route between the two ccmmmities was published "compliments (of the] Florida and Virginia Developers, I:ncorporated". (Map, brwhure and plat are on file at the Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources.) . In November 1925 a bus load of Virginians who had purchased or planned to purchase properties in Vamo arrived to see the new community (Sarasota Heral , 11/23/25). Advertisements for 3-, 5-, and 6-room houses appeared in the Sarasota newspaper in December 1925 by Lawrence L. May, realtor and Victor M. Cook. The tile and stucco "ultra modern" bungalows, designed in the popular Mediterranean Revival style included such amenities as screened sleeping porches, 10-foat high ceilings, firepla , built-in china closets, book cases, ironing boards, etc., hat water, plenty of windows, awnings, garages, and large shaded lots, depending on the size of the house. one residence even boasted a fountain in the front yard. According to the 1926 Sarasota County D this was a "city built especially for the residents of these two states, although others will find just as hearty a welcome. . . . It adjoins the estate of Mrs. Potter Palmer where the Tamiami Trail berxis in close to the bay" (Polk 1926). The Vamo, Lodge, owned at one time by Mr. W.B. Beatty, local newspaper man, was a popular gatheruxj spot for locals and visitors. Some arrived by boat, "since the lodge edged the bay, while others str lled down the 31-foot- wide promenade provided on either side of Vamo, Drive" according to Mrs. Norma Martin (Souders 1978). Dancirxj, dinner and overnight stays in the guest rooms were available in this large two-story wood frame house. Flarkuq this promenade were the Spanish-style homes coiLstructed by the Vamo developers (Souders 1978). "When the real estate bubble burst, people began slipping away at night, leaving homes and businesses. niose remaining stripped anything they could sell from empty :2 , just to pay for food. It became a ghost town with sea breezes blowing through the wuxlowless buildings as wveds; took over the once-tidy lawns. Men the school burned, leaving, even now, only an empty lot at the corner of Vamo Road and Vamo Way. Today the only evidence of commercial activity is the gas station which has been renovated into a two- story home" (Souders 1978). By 1936, 41 residents were listed in the Sarasota County Directory, mostly fishermen, although a painter decorator by the name of James Rogers (and wife, JUl-ie) was included. The population remained fairly stable for the next few years. 184 Boundaries and Basically contained within a small triangular area accessed by Vamo Road and Vamo Way, Vamo is bound on the north by the intersection of Tamiami Trail (US 41), Beneva, Road and Vamo Road. On :the west it is bound by the Little Sarasota Bay, on the south by the southern boundary of Tawiship 37 South and North Creek, and on the east by the I-amiaml Trail (U.S. 41). The following sections and half-section maps (indicated in parenthesis) were used for this catprdmnsive survey: Towtiship 37 South, Range 18 East, Section 27 S half (124) Section 28 S half (126) Section 33 (130 & 131) Section 34 (132 & 133) A map of Vamo (Figure 21), included in this report, was based on current half-section maps and aerials to identify the location of recorded historic .structures. Three [email protected] wes are highlighted but were not surveyed due to accessibility problems. All three are assumed to be historic based on infor-mticn provided by local informants. survey Resul This community consists of low scale, single family residences situated on small, quiet streets. surrounding it, however are high-rise minium, buildings, '"TrIl'arcial strip shopping centers, and newer residential developments Thirty-two historic :5 were recorded in the Vamo area. About half (13) are simple wood frame vernacular houses scattered among newer wood or concr-ete block infill houses. A small collection of thirteen Mediterranean Revival style homes, located on Vamo Drive, date from the real estate boom period of the 1920s. In addition three bungalows and three masonry verracular (concrete block) houses were included in t1us survey. The majority (19) date frcm the 1920s, consisting of wood frame vernacular, bungalow, and Mediterranean Revival style residences. One, the Vamo Lodge at the west end of Vamo Drive, was probably constructed pre-1920. Another smaller wood frame residexice at 1927 Bayonne Street appears to have been constructed during the depression yeart. Post world war II construction created the next highest cmxxmtration of str kcb I fifteen remaining today, both wood frame vernacular and masonry veXnacular (concrete block). Now Si The thirty-two structures surveyed are included in the list of Surveyed Historic Structures (Table 19). Sane of the more important StrUC13 have been described below. 1. vamo lodge (Martin House), 1700 Vamo Drive (8So2006) - This [email protected] wood frame vernacular house, located at the west end of Vamo Drive on the bayfront, was a popular boarding house and gathering place during the 1920S (see history above) . It is currently owned by jack and Norma Martin, who live in a newer hcme rxaoct door. 2. Vamo Drive (8So2OO7 - 8So2019) - These thirteen Mediterranean Revival style villas were cmis zucted in 1924/25 during the initial development of Vamo. Many have been enlarged through the years, but all of them remain in good to excellent condition, retaining most of their original character. 185 CD 10 <2 ll'-pammocoo cC) [email protected] con tio rl C= . (3160pa C3 D 00M zo nm OV a E=Q left @jp r- 3 C 60 p [email protected] 0 6 13 um 8 (@ 'oj C3 !C5, COCA0 a Da - - D a C3000 IMCC3 Q i N r=d= Utz 0i '0 lap a 1313 1 1 , (3: CnC) C) E3 Cc=e3 Ml C, 0, OD cc 1! " e 2 c= lug"= 13 1 1 (?MI3 On !a Room CI is a lb a --.L, [email protected], 5V 1:31 1 %p sm V A M 0 Figure 21. Location of Historic Structures. 186' Table 19. VAMO, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structu res Results and Evaluations Map & FMSF She Address Site Name Historic Arch D .ata NR or- Field Site context Style Quality Local Survey Elig. 525 8So2OOO 1821 BAYONNE ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 544 8So2001 1927 BAYONNE ST. DEPR FRAM 3 C 524 8So2OO2 1808 MOVA ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 522 8So2003 1713 RITA ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 523 8So2004 1717 RITA ST. BOOM MASO 3 C 537 SSo2005 1747 RITA ST. WW2A MASO 3 D 511 8So2006 1700 VAMO DR. VAMO LODGE WW1A FRAM 3 C 512 8So2007 1705 VAMO DR. BOOM MEDIR 3 C 510 8So2008 1710 VAMO DR. BOOM MEDR 3 C 513 8So2009 1711 VAMO DR. BOOM MEDR 1 C -508 8So2010 1720 VAMO DR. BOOM MEDR 3/4 C 514 -8So2011 1725 VAMO DR. BOOM MEDR 1 C 509 8So2012 1734 VAMO DR. Boom MEDR 3 C 515 8So2013 17351?) VAMO DR. BOOM MEDR 3 C 507 8So2014 1744 VAMO DR. BOOM MEDR 3/2 C 516 8So2015 1745 VAMO DR. BOOM MEDR 1/3 C 506 8So2016 1T58 VAMO DR. BOOM MEDR 3 C 517 8So2017 1759 VAMO DR. BOOM MEDR 1/3 C 518 8So2018 1769 VAMO DR. BOOM MEDIR 3 C 505 8So2019 1770 VAMO DR. BOOM MEDR 3 C 519 8So202O 1809 VAMO DR. BOOM FRAM 3 C/D 520 8So2021 1818 VAMO DR. WW2A FRAM 3 D 521 8So2022 1846 VAMO DR. Boom BUNG 3 C/D 526 8So2023 8531 VAMO RD. BOOM FRAM 3 C 543 8So2024 8607 VAMO RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C 542 8So2025 8611 VAMO RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C 541 8So2026 8623 VAMO RD. WW2A MASO 3 D 504 BSo2027 8935 VAMO RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C/o 503 8So2O28 1851 VAMO WAY Boom BUNG 3 C 501 8So2029 1863 VAMO WAY Boom BUNG I C 502 8So203O 1875 VAMO WAY WW2A FRAM 3 D 527 8So2031 1891 VAMO WAY WW[2A FRAM 3 D 187 In addition, a few fine examples of frame vernacular and bungalow residences remain in this comnzuty and should be preserved. These include 1927 Bayorpe Street- (8So2001), 8531 Vamo Road .(8So2023), 1851 VaMo Way (8So2O28), and 1863 Vamo Way (Wo2029). other Sites: A portion of the original Tamiami Trail remains as the one- lane Vamo Way. General Rkoormendati It is strongly recci ed that a National Register Historic' District be created along Vamo Drive which would include the Wditerranean Revival Style homes and the wood frame vernacular Vamo Lodge. A Local'Historic Distric, enccupasuig the entire community (specific boundaries to be determined after further research) would help maintain the airbiance of this secluded community. Lartje scale developments should be restricted from this area and - single family detach6d residences should be encouraged for construction on existing vacant lots. Vamo contains some of the few bungalows found in Sarasota County and has a nice collection of small wood frame vernacular houses, some with very few modifications. Those listed in the Survey Results section above should be investigated further. in addition, any site containing a B, C or D rating in the NR Eligibility category should be reviewed [email protected] @y before demolition or remodeling permits are approved. Several sites in the Vamo area which were known to have historic structures were inaccessible. These should be surveyed by SCEM with permission from the property owners. Site locations, owner names and phone numbers have been provided to SMHR under separate cover. 188 SOUM CP PEUIZXPPI CREEK General 19=11t: Phillippi Creek was probably named for Felipe Bermudez, a Spanish f isherman who "worked in the f ish camps located along the central Gulf Coast during the early to mid-1800s" (Thompson 1988:7). Early maps from 1847 to 1857 show that his fish camp, 11rancho," was located near the mouth of the creek. it E3 not certain when the name of the creek where Felipe Bermudez lived became "Phillippils Creek" and ultimately, "Phillippi Creek." Phillippi Creek does appear as a place name on a list of postal locations drawn up by the Sarasota Postmaster in 1878. Bermudez's name was probably first corrupted and anglicized from "Felipe" to "Phillippill by the American Army surveyors. (Mccipson. 1988:10) This parcel of land was part of the vast four million acres of undeveloped land purchased by Hamilton Disston in 1881 to save the state of Florida from bankruptcy. Two years later, W.J. Drumwright purchased forty acres in the southeast quarter of the southeast quarter of Section 7, Township 37 South, Range 18 Fast where he started a small farming operation. By 1887, four of these acres were recorded to have been improved according to the tax rolls. As he grew more prosperous over the years he purchased additional parcels adjacent to his original forty acres. In May 1910, he sold about 118 acres along the Phillippi Creek to George H. MaUieny and his son, Charles Woodburn Matheny. A year later, they subdivided the parcel, located north and south of Phillippi Creek, creating "Phillippi Park" (Thanpson 1988). Ms. Mabel Lim, of Chicago, purchased eight lots in the new Phillippi Park Su division in May 1911 where she planned to build a winter home. She never accomplished this goal and sold the property to Edson Keith, also from Chicago, on December 17, 19i5. Keith purchased an lot in the Gulf view subdivision* on Little Sarasota Bay from T.M. %brcester. A large two- story stuccoed house designed by Otis and Clark architects, from Chicago, in the Italian Renaissance style, was coiLstructed in 1916. This became the family's full-tim residence until Edson Keith's death in 1939. Nett-ie Keith, his wife, eventually sold the estate to Mae Hanson, another Chicagoan. Mae Hanson planned to retire at the estate but her lucrative company, Mae Marie, Inc., where she designed and manufactured doll clothes, kept her in New York City much of the time. Rule there, she married Charles Prodie, "an executive with a large drugstore chain" ([email protected] 1988). Mr. Prodie retired to their Sarasota estate which was then converted into a luxury inn called the "Phillippi Plantation" sometime in the early 1950s. Both the Phillippi Plantation and Mae Hansen-Prodie were first listed in the Sarasota City in 1955. Although the Phillippi Plantation ceased operations as an inn during the 1960s, Mrs. Hansen-Prodie continued to rent out rooms. '"Ibe two-story frame house that had once been occupied by the Keith's servants was remodeled into several apartments" (Thompson 1988:25-26). The County of Sarasota purchased the property fran Mrs. Hansen-Prodiels heirs after her death on April 20, 1986. 189 Boundaries and Mar): Since this area, actually now an extension of the city of Sarasota, is highly developed, the Tamiami Trail (US 41) was consistently used as an eastern boundary (both sides of the road were included however). Bound on the north by Phillippi Creek, on the west by Roberts Bay, and on the south. by the community of Vamo (the intersection of Tamiami Trail, Beneva Road and Vamo Road). The following sections and UULL half-section maps were included in this survey-area: Township 37 South, Range 18 East, Section 7 S half (84) Section 8 S haif (86) Section 17 (103 & 104) Section 18 (105 & 106) Section 20 (109 & 110) Section 21 (111 & 112) Section 28 N half (125) Due to the extent of this specific survey area, between Phillippi Creek and Vamo, a USGS quad map has been used in this report (Figure 22) to located the recorded historic strictures. Survey : Land included in half-section maps 109, 110, 111, 112, and 125 are basically developed with new residential communities, condominiums and commercial shopping centers. Thirteen historic structures remain north of stickney Point Road scattered amang newer single-family detached residences. Newer structures line bath sides of the Tamiami Trail (U.S. 41). The majority (9) of the 5 --tures surveyed were constructed post World War II, consisting of wood fram vernacular and masonry vernacular (concrete block) residences. One, Florence's Manor, a two-story Mediterranean Revival Style house, was caristructed in the 1920s. The most important site in this ,area is the Keith-Prodie estate which contains a large Italian _____Jssance style residence built in 1916 and a two-story wood frame bungalow built around the time. New si The thirteen str surveyed are included in the list Of Surveyed Historic Structures (Table 20). Some of the more important ones have been described below. 1. The Keith-Prodie Estate (Phillippi Plantation), 5500 S. Tamiami Trail (8So2096 and 8So2097) - Lomted on the southern shores of Phillippi Creek, west of the Tamiami Trail (US 41), U-ds Italian Renaissance style mansion was constricted in 1916, the first of its kind in the Sarasota area. This style did not come into common use in this area until the real estate boan years of the 1920s (see history above). ibis site is already owned by the Sarasota County Parks and Recreation Department and is 0=0'rtly in the process of beim restored. it has been deemed eligible for the listing in the National Register of Historic sites, but as yet a Nomination Proposal has not- Prepared- The twio-story wxd frame bungalow was originally used as a servants quarters and then later converted into apartments by mrs. Hansen-prcdie (see General Developuent above). A smaller are-story wood frame structure was used as the laundry for the estate and im - 1 2. Florence's Manor, 5944 Briarwood Avenue (8So2088) - This unique example of' a Mediterranean Revival Style residence is located in the Florence Subdivision 190 At A? kEy Cl 7" M-38 WrALY 5.40 LrTrLE 15AY SOUTH OF (DN\ PHILLIPPI CREEK Figure 22. Location nf Historic Structures in Vamo. 191 Table 20. AREA SOUTH OF PHILLIPPI CREEK, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Map & FMSF Site'Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Local Survey Elig. 533 8SoZO87 6338 BEECHWOOD AVE. WW2A FRAM 1 0 532 8So20B8 5944 BRIARWOOD AVE. FLORENCE'S MANOR BOOM MEDR 1 B/c 753 8So2O89 7326 CAPTAIN KID AVE. 530 8So209O 5849 DRIFTWOOD AVE. WW2A MASO 3 D 8So2091 2134 HIVELY ST. WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 540 539 8So2092 2062 PINEHURST ST. WW2A FRAM I CjD 538 8So2093 2077 PINEHURST ST. WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 529 8So2094 1827 SOUTHWOOD ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 528 8So2095 190T SOUTHWOOD ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 534 8So2096 5500 S. TAMIAMI TRAIL PHILLIPPI PLANTATION WW1A MEDR 3 B/C 535 8So2O9T 5500 S. TAMIAMI TRAIL PHILLIPPI PLANTATION BUNGALOW WW1A FRAM 3 a/c 536 8So2098 6450 S. TAMIAMI TRAIL PINE SHORES TRAILER PARK WW2A FRAM 3 C 531 8So2O99 5925 WILDWOOD AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 D 192 (Plat Book 3, Page 22). Its most striking feature is a port-cochere extending from the front of the house to the street, supported by classical wood columns, which creates a long balcony above. deneral Racommendations: The Keith-Prodie estate, currently owTied by the Sarasota County Parks and Recreation Department should be rxmunated for Jisting on the National Register of Historic Places. Sharyn M.E. Thompson prepared an extensive historical overview of the estate in 1988. It is also recaLimet ed that Florence's Manor be placed on the National Register Of Historic Places. This would probably be best accomplished with a thematic Mitiple Properties Nomination combined with other Mediterranean Revival style residences existing throughout the courrty. The remaining 25 ictures, constructed in the 1940s, have been modified to various [email protected] through the years. Those with C or D ratings in the NR Eligibility category should be investigated further or reviewed carefully before demolition or remodeling permits are approved. A number of Unique concrete block and wood residences Were constructed in the early 1950s between Stickney Point Road and Phillippi Creek. Some of these my even have been constructed as early as the late 1940s, although this area was checked on the 1948 aerials. Miese emnples may be eVOItUally be important in the development of post World War II constrtiction techniques in Sarasota County. 193 F!ED ROaVHUM General Dev6 Hayden was established three miles south of Sarasota on Sarasota Bay where a post office was started by George W. Hayden just before Christmas 1895 (Matthews 1989:139). The 1897 General Qjrgg= of Manatee includes four farmers and one fisherman and their families as residing in Hayden. It is noted.for its land, high pine and is suitable for citnz fruits (Meserve 1897). A map of Manatee County dated 1897 placed the town of Hayden on the bay in the south half of Section 31, Township 36 South, Range 18 East. This would now be within the incorporated limits of the City of Sarasota, in the vicinity of today's Cherokee Park (Hayden file, SCDM). The 1944 USGS map of Sarasota, Florda, however, indicates that thq towm of Hayden was situated east of the Tamiami Trail and south of Bee Ridge Road wiuch is in conflict with the above location description. (Note: A Siesta &-y Peli article dated August 25, 1977 describes moving the Hayden house across the old north bridge to Siesta Key. This two-story wood frame house, built circa 1926, was moved from the Old Tamiami Trail, wtLere Kane's furniture store now stands, near the Whitacres, (or Whitaker's ?) Tourist Camp and across the street from Bispham's Milk CmTpany. Mr. Herald moved here with his family in 1926 from Brooklyn. Dottie Herald is his daughter. This may explain the location of Hayden on later maps and sbould be researched further.) Assuming that Hayden was established according to the 1897 map and is therefore located within the city limits of Sarasotaf this ccmmzuty was riot included in this survey of unincorporated Sarasota County. nw area lax= today as Red Rock developed immediately south of Hayden, also on Sarasota Bay. It was originally part of the homestead settled by Peter Hansen and his family, who arrived in this area in 1870. His daughter ocean Hansen later married Captain Louis Roberts. Cyrus 'icy" Bispham, who operated Bayside Dairy, lived in a two,-story wood frame house located on the east side of Ta=ami Trail. Local surveyor Charles idmscn prepared four subdivisions in this area along Camino Real arid the Tamiami Trail (Plat book 4, pages 2,3,25 and 44). He built a house overlooking Sarasota Bay circa 1910 on what is now Westbrook Drive. It was later moved to Churchill Downs off State Road 72 (Pat Ball, personal -111rinication). (Pat Ball, a local contractor, is Mr. Johnson's cm-arrison. He has a copy of the drawings for the original house and may be able to provide addition information about his grandfather.) The Riegel family dredged a boat basin in the mid-1930s at the end of Kenilworth Street, using a mule and scoop, for use as a commercial marina (Pat Ball, personal ccumunication). Boundaries and M: Located north of Phillippi Creek and south of Bay Road (the southern limits of irxxx-porated Sarasota), this area is bound on the west by Roberts Bay and on the east by Phillippi Creek. The area known as Red Rock is located along the bayfront, inmediately south of Bay Road, wtiereas the community of Hayden originated L-ast of the Tamiami Trail (US 41). -Ibe following sections and corresponding half-section maps are included in the -qrehensive survey of the Red Rock area: 194 Township 37 South, Range 18 Fast, Section 5 (74 & 75) Section 6 (76 & 77) Section 7 (83 & 84) Section 8 (85 & 86) A map of Red Rock (Figure 23) has been included in this report to locate the historic structures recorded during this survey. Survey Results: Private residential communities are located at the southern end of this area, immediately north of Phillippi Creek. A nice concentration Of historic wood frame vernacular residences was found in balf-sections 76 and 77, west of the Tamiami Trail (U.S. 41), intermingled with newer wood frame and concrete block single-family residences. Larger private residences, both new and historic, are located along the bayfront. Newer commercial structures line both sides of the Tamiami Trail (U.S. 41) the entire length of the Red Rock survey area. A total of 52 hitoric structures were recorded during this survey process. The majority (32) were constructed during the 1940s, generally wood frame or masonry vernacular residences, some of which have been converted into small offices. Eleven stzuctures remain from the Depression Era, consisting of one Mediterranean Revival style house, two bungalows and eight frame vernacular structures. In addition there is one frame vernacular from the Boom years and one frame vernacular from the 1910s. Three sites recorded were constructed in the early 1950s; one is an excellent example of the art deco/moderne style, another is a collection of four wood frame vernacular cottages built circa 1955, the last one is a small wood frame residence. A few structures in the Red Rock area may have been constructed prior to 1949 but were not recorded in this survey. This occured because the buildings were either modified, hiding their original materials and configuration, or were built in the late 1940s of a similar style to most 1950s construction. A .list of lax= structures which may be questionable as to original construction dates has been provided to the SCDHR to be investigated furthex. These sites have also been highlighted on the map of Red Rock (Figure 23) with hatch lines. New Sites: The 52 structures surveyed are included in the list of surveyed Historic Structures (Table 21). Some of the more important ones have been described below. 1. The Bispham Residence, 4611 S. Tamiami Trail (8So2O88O) Cyrus Bispham operated the local Bayside Dairy. This two-story wood frame structure, located on the east side of Tamiami Trail, among newer commerical structures, was his residence history above). 2. The Marvin-Whelan Residence, 1325 Quail Drive (8So2065) - Designed by architect/builder Robert Marvin in 1950, this is an excellent example of the- art deco/modern style. It is a rambling poured concrete house, with curved edges, a flat roof, cantilevered overhangs, large metal Casement windows, a pair of metal and glass french doors, and built-in concrete flower bed under some of the windows (Sidney Whelan). it is currently owned by Sidney and John whelan, a local architect.. 195 r 'Ell I W----------------- J L CO m all C? a [) w C9 C3 D 71;0 117 it'" 3ma= ad oil C30 C2 . wm6ft sn"W-Ta Iw- El Pri 0 o V CIM DOUCDC:jIl 130 M C3 cm 738 a C2 0 C1 C3 C3 C3 6-- [email protected] D ED mo L sww" 0 C3 0 (Mac -CMD cr 6c] CC=31 CZJ [email protected] r.:? 0 E? 6 - I -C no 0 I- Itfti"Op <-, CC= MI Corp [email protected] 0 []0 OCZ10 00 &I D C3 C3 [email protected] cc 0 cl 0 co C;3 D a r C)r-3- 94 0 (3 L I& -_ 1. C3 13 B-OW13010-04i" IIF 0 cm3 7w vs.' , CO C . C3 C3 C3 1" -9 D Cz @53 cS a C3 MCI q? 0000 E3 CD C3 [email protected] E3 13 r-3 CO0C) d3 001t, Q WD g 7aE 13 r3 [email protected] .101 C3C3C3CjM QdbZ3Cn G3 Lr- Odom- oo C3 .I-LD La D= C3 PASMENTIAL PON [email protected] C RED- ROCK in [email protected] ..tgure 23. Location of Historic Structures in Red Rock. 196 Table 21. RED ROCK AREA, SARASOTA, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations map & FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Local Survey Elig. 751 8So2035 1150 BAY RD. DEPIR BUNG 748 8So2O36 1511 BAY ROAD DEPR BUNG 3 C 732 8So2037 3?46 BROWN AVE. DEPR FRAM 3/5 C 749 8So2038 3850 FLORES AVE. DEPR BUNG 3 C 737 8So2039 1721 HANSEN ST. WW2A -FRAM 3 C/D 736 8So204O 1806-10 HANSEN ST. HARRIS RESIDENCE WW2A FRAM 3 D 735 8So2041 1811,13,15 HANSEN ST. MODE FRAM 3 D 734 8So2O42 1821 HANSEN ST. BOOM FRAM 1/5 C/D 733 8So2O43 1829 HANSEN ST. F.E. CHAPMAN RESIDENCE WW2A FRAM 3/6 D 723 8So2044 1817 IVANHOE ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D/E 722 8So2045 1818 IVANHOE ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 721 8So2046 1836 IVANHOE ST. WW2A MASO 3 D 720 8So2047- 1840 IVANHOE ST. WW2A MASO 3 D 719 8So2048 1902 IVANHOE ST. n2A FRAM 3 D 718 8So2049 1912 IVANHOE ST. WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 739 8So205O 1520 KENILWORTH ST. DEPR FRAM 3 C/o 740 8So2051 1600 KENILWORTH ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 741 8So2052 1606 KENILWORTH ST. WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 711 8So2O53 1816 KENILWORTH ST. WW2A FRAM 3 C 713 8So2054 1817-21 KENILWORTH ST. WW2A FRAM 3 C/o 712 8So2O55 1826 KENILWORTH ST. ONKN FRAM 3/4 C/D 714 8So2056 1827-29 KENILWORTH ST. DEPR MEDR 3 C 715 8So2057 1837-39 KENILWORTH ST. ROBERT KENT RESIDENCE WW2A FRAM 1 C 710 8So2058 1842 KENILWORTH ST. WW2A FRAM I C/D T16 8So2O59 1843-45 KENILWORTH ST. DEPR FRAM 3/4 C 709 8So206O 1902 KENILWORTH ST. WW2A FRAM 3 C 717 8So2061 1903 KENILWORTH ST. WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 708 8So2062 1912 KENILWORTH ST. WW2A FRAM 3 C T07 1918 KENILWORTH ST. WW2A FRAM 1 c 752 8So2064 1900 PHILLIPPI SHORES DR WW2A MASO I C/D 742 8So2065 1325 QUAIL DRIVE MARVIN-WHELAN RESIDENCE MODE MODE 1/3 B/C 743 8So2066 4009 RED ROCK LANE DEPR FRAM 3 C 744 8So2O67 4013 RED ROCK LANE DEPR FRAM 3 C/D 746 8So2O68 4014 RED-ROCK LANE MATTHEWS RESIDENCE DEPR FRAM 1/2 C T45 8So2O69 4021 RED ROCK LANE DEPR FRAM 3 C 747 8So2070 3940 RED ROCK WAY DEPR FRAM 3 C 731 8So2071 1803 ROBIN HOOD ST. Ww2A FRAM 3 C/D 730 8So2O72 1811-13 ROBIN HOOD ST. WW2A FRAM 3/4- D/E 729 8So2073 1817 1/2 ROBIN HOOD ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 728 8So2074 1823-25 ROBIN HOOD ST. MODE FRAM 3 D/E 72T 8So2075 1833 ROBIN HOOD ST. WW2A FRAM 3 D 726 BSo2076 1837-39 ROBIN HOOD ST. n2A FRAM 3 D 725 8SoZ077. 1909 ROBIN HOOD ST. WW2A FRAM 3/4 D 724 BSo2078 1919 ROBIN HOOD ST. WW2A MASO 3 0 T38 8So2OT9 3,959 SUNSHINE AVE. 'AW-2A FRAM 3 C/D 750 BSo2080 4611 (?) S. TAMIAMI TR. BAYSIDE DAIRY, BISPHAM WWIA FRAM 3 a/c 704 8SO2081 1704 WORRINGTON ST. RESIDENCE WW2A FRAM I c ae.1MV5 IC11 WADDIMr.TPM IZT INW2A FRAM 3 c 197 Table 21 (cont.). RED ROCK AREA, SARASOTA, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Map & FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Local 'Survey Elig. 705. 8SoZO83 1833 WORRINGTON ST. WW2A FW 3 C 702 8So2084 1836 WORRINGTON ST. DEPR FRAM I C 706 8So2085 1837 WORRINGTON ST. WW2A FRAM 3 C 701 M2086 1920 WORRiNGTON ST. WW2A MASO 1 C 198 ftevicusly Recorded Sites The Field Estate, located on the bayfront at the west end of Field Road, was constructed in the first quarter of 'the twentieth century. A Florida Master Site File was prepared for this site ;hich was then listed in the National Register of Historic Places in (8So398) w 1986 (86001238). It remains in good condition where it serves as a [email protected]:ate club, the Field Club oi Sarasota. General Recommendations: The houses near the Tamiami Trail (U.S. 41) are potentially t1weatened by continued ccmnercial developTmt along U.S. 41 and by newer up-scaled residential Constn=ticn to the south and west. The concentration of residences located just west of Ttmiami. Trail should be protected by the creation of a Local Historic District. Sites which were not recorded but are highlighted with hatch lines on the map (Figure 23) and sites containing a B, C or D rating in the NR Eligibility category should be investigated further, or should be reviewed thoroughly before demolition or remodeling permits a approved. IIhe Bispbam Residence should be considered for listing in the National Register, based on further research. otherwise a local preservation easement may be a worthwhile consideration. It is Al -r 2 - - I I I I : I that the marvin-Rielan Residence be included in a future thematic Multiple Properties Nomination combined with other art deco, moderne arxi/or international style residences coi hs tnicted in Sarasota County in the 1950s. 199 SIESM KEY General Develo=gnt: According to Karl Grismer in his The Story of Sarasota, the. keys, or barrier islands, which lined the coast-of Sarasota County remained relatively isolated from the mainland. until 1917 when the Siesta Bridge was constructed. As a result, their developnent was iong retarded. For man ,y decades their only inhabitants were itinerant fishermen who lived in palmetto shacks and sold their salt-cured fish to traders. In the Eighties, however, a few began settling there. They weren't attracted to the keys by the rich shell- hammock lands or by the beautiful, hard-packed, sparkling beaches. They went there simply because the Florida Internal 1; - I Ivemyt Board had practically stopped on the mainland in 1883 by -deeding away almost all the land to speculators. For some strange reason, the politicians and land grabbers happened to miss the keys - so there the I teaders went. However, the keys were too remote from civilization, because of a lack of bridges, for even the hardy pioneers and few of them remained long enotxgh to prove up their * claims. Most of them sold their rights to persons who sensed that some day the keys would into their am - and were willing to bxy the land and wait for development (Grismer 1946:182-183). crie of the w=pticris, however, were Captain LoLds Roberts and his wife, ocean Hansen Roberts. Louis Rnberts arrived from Key West in 1878 wtien he met and married Mr. and Mrs. Peter Hansen's daughter, ocean. The Hansens had settled on Sarasota Bay (now Red Rock area) in 1870. The young Roberts couple filed a claim for their own homestead on Sarasota Key (Siesta Key), almost directly across the bay fr-om her parents, property. They built a house on the key where they fished, tended a large garden, and raised a family, enlarging the house as needed (Grismer 1946:183). Roberts Bay, located between Sarasota Key and the mainland, was eventually rk-med for Louis Roberts. jesse Shumard, who had settled a homestead on Casey Key in 1903, acquired an _--iticnal 70 acres, by homestead, on Siesta Key, several miles south of stickney Point Bridge (Matthews 1989:152). About the turn of the century the Roberts family began taking in wanter visitors as guests. 7hey soon learned that 11cateriM to the 'tourist' trade was more profitable than either fishing or farming so, along about 1906, Mr. Roberts enlarged their house again and began calling it the Roberts Hotel" (Grismer 1946:183). The following year Roberts formed the Siesta Land Co. along with Harry L. Higel (of Venice) and E.M. Arbogast. They platted the subdivision of Siesta, "a wonderful place to rest," (from the Spanish word meaning rest) on the northern end of Sarasota Key. Roberts changed the name of his hotel to the Siesta Hotel. (By 1946 the key was still labeled Sarasota Key on verimemilit. maps, but was called Siesta Key on the county map.) The siesta Hotel became a famous place to visit, both because of its location 200 "amid towering Palms" and for Captain Roberts delicious seafood dinners (Grismer 1946:183). The Siesta subdivision did not prosper as well since the Siesta Bridge had not been constructed yet and the only access to the key was by boat. The Bay Island Hotel opened in early 1912. Harry Higel continued to promote their development "Siesta Key on the Gulf" between 1911 and 1913. "Bayou Hanson, Bayou Nettie and Bayou Louise were dredged and carols opened. Bath houses were erected on the gulf beach and a 150-foot dock built" (Grismer 1946:184). J.K. Murphy and H.F. Reils purchased property from Rigel, formed the Indian Beach Land Co., and started a nation-wide sales campaign (Grismer 1988:208). Harry Rigel also built the Higelhurst Hotel at Big Sarasota Pass during the winter of 1914-1915, "but on on March 31, 1917,. just before. the bridge was formally opened, the hotel burned to the ground" (Grismer 1946:184). A post office was established at Siesta from July 16, 1915 to July 18, 1917. In late 1925, the Sarasota Heral ran real estate advertisements for a number of developments throughout the county, including the "Mira Mar Extension" on Sarasota Beach, Sarasota Key (Grismer 1946:210). "Construction of the Stickney Point road and bridge was started by the county May 8, 1926, and opened the following winter." A new Siesta Bridge was offically opened May 1927 (Grismer 1946:230). J.B. Lamby a local builder, constructed some poured concrete structures, including residences, on Siesta Key as early as 1948. He was the Wilder for many of the houses designed by Ralph Twitchell and Paul Rudolph, such as the Revere Quality House located on the northern end of Siesta Key within the incorporated city limits of Sarasota. Lamby constructed a number of residences in the Sarasota Point area. Boundaries and Maps: The northermost tip of Siesta Key is actually part of the incorporated city of Sarasota, located in Township 36 South, Range, 17 East Section 36) The sections and half-section maps used for this survey which covers the remainder of Siesta Key include the following: Township 37 South, Range 17 East, Section 1 (78 & 79) Section 2 (79) Section 11 (80) Section 12 (81 & 82) Section 13 (107) Township 37 South, Range 18 East, Section 7 S half (84) Section 18 (105 & 106) Section 19 (108) Section 29 (127 & 128) Section 32 (129) Section 33 (131) Half-section maps will be used to show the locations of the historic structures on the northern, largest part of the key (Figure 24); and a USGS quad map will be used for the southern portion of the key (Figure 25). Survey Results: Several Heavy concentration of historic structures were found on Siesta Key. One, at the north end, known as Fishery Point, is located 202 WILLA 60A MIT all ev. pow all am zw-sr^. MY SOUTH SIESTA KEY Figure 25. Location of Historic StructuresCAzry ry 203 within the ir4;orporaW city limits of Sarasota. Imm ediately south of the city limits are two more collections of historic structures: at the south end of Flamingo Avenue and along Roberts.Point Road. Other concentrations are at Sarasota Point (Sarasota Beach and Miza Mar Subdivisions), Point of Rocks, and south along Midnight Pass Road. New Sj A total of 148,sites were recorded during this coastal zone survey, located on Siesta Key cirtsi-de of the incorporated City of Sarasota. These have been included in the list of surveyed Historic Structures (Table 22). Some of the more important sites have been listed here. 1. The Lucke Residence, 8615 Midnight Pass Road (8So2213 & 8So2214) - Two residences are located at this site. The main house is a large two-story Colonial Revival style home constructed or-remodeled in the early 1940s by a senator. The other house appears to be an older two-story wood frame which may have been moved to this site. It is currently vacant. Alth&xjh it has been altered slightly, it retains most of its original materials and structure. 2. The Cedars, 7811 Midnight Pass Road (8So2195) - This two-story stuccoed [email protected] Revival style residence was constructed in the early 1920s. It is in fair condition but bas riot been altered [email protected] through the years and could be saved. 3. The Out of Door School, 144 Reid Street (8So2240) - Established in 1924. George Tu should be able to provide ----iticnal information regarding the history of this school. 4. Flamingo Avenue - Five historic r-13 were recorded in this survey at the south end of Flamingo Avenm. They are all large residences which are well-maintained. Mime include the Tuttle-Nidiffer Residence (8So2184) designed by Helen Douglas French and built circa 1925 (or 1940/41?); the Tuttle Servants Quarters which was moved several yards to the west and converted into a private residence (8W2183); the McDonald Residence (8So2185) which was barged-in to this site many years ago; the Wisner-Armstrcng-Fishman Residence (8So2186) which was also designed by Helen Douglas French,* and the MacGregor-Maggio Residence (8So2182). These structures are intermingled with a rozd)er of contemporary residences. One historic Italian J ssance Revival style residence, located at the very end of this peninsula, is the Le Chateux DJ'eux, 4100 Flamingo Avenue, originally built for A.B. Edwards (Sarasota's first mayor). A Florida Master Site File has already been prepared for this site (8So1285), however it is currently being extensively remodeled. Additional information is available at SCDHR regarding the construction of 'this house. 5. Siesta Inn, 4002 and 4006 Roberts Point Road (8So2250 - 8So2254) - This collection of cottages behind a large two-story wood frame hotel remain in fair condition today. The Inn was established in 1924 and continued in operation until about 1978. The cottages behind the Inn are still occupied by renters. Mrs. Am Matthews ran the resort and now lives nearby. Her son, Clarence Matthews, [email protected] owns the property and lives across the street in a conteffq=ary house (local infor=nt) - This Inn is located north of the previous Roberts Hotel or Siesta Hotel (see history above). 6. Roberts Point Road - Besides the siesta Inn, there are six other historic structures located along Roberts Point Road (see list of Surveyed Historic 204 Table 22. SIESTA KEY, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Map & FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site.# Context Style Quality Local Survey Elig. 809 8SO2111 5201-AVE. DEL MARE WW2A MASO 1 0 808 8So21l2 5334 AVE. DEL MARE WW2A FRAM 3 6 807 8So2ll3 5448 AVE. DEL MARE WW2A FRAM 3 D 804 8So2ll4 5528 AVE. DEL MARE WW2A MASO 3 D 817 8So2ll5 ???? AVE. DEL MARE WW2A MASO 1/3 C/D 805 8So2ll6 5546 AVE. DEL MARE WW2A INTE 1 C/o 803 8So2l1T 5553 AVE. DEL MARE WW2A FRAM 3 C 829 8So2l18 435 AVE. DEL NORTE WW2A FRAM 1 C/D' 828 8So21l9 446 AVE. DE MAYO WW2A MASO 3 D 772 8So2120 85 AVE. MESSINA WW2A FRAM 3 D 771 8So2121 86 AVE. MESSINA MIRA.MAR APARTMENTS WW2A MASO 3 0 773 8So2l22 98 AVE. MESSINA DEPR MASO 3/4 D T82 8So2123 140 AVE. MESSINA TROPICAL BREEZE APARTMENTS WW2A MASO 3/4 D 777 8So2l24 5247 AVE. NAVARRA WIN2A FRAM 3 D 767 8So2125 62 AVE. VENECCIA BOOM MEDR 1/3 C 768 8So2l26 84 AVE. VENECCIA WW2A ARTO 1 C/D 770 8So2l27 94 AVE. VENECCIA WW2A FRAM 3/6 D 769 8So2l2$ 99 AVE. VENECCIA WW2A FRAM 1 D 783 8So2l29 125 AVE. VENECCIA WW2A MEDR 3/4 C/D 766 SWIM 77 BEACH RD. DEPR ARTD 3/4 C/D T65 8So2131 99 BEACH RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C 763 8So2l32 105 BEACH RD. DEPR MEDR 1 C 762 8So2133 109 BEACH RD. DEPR BUNG 3 C 764 8So2l34 110 BEACH RD. DEPR MEDR 3 C 761 8So2l35 117 BEACH RD. DEPR BUNG 1/3 C 827 8So2l36 153 BEACH RD BEACHWOOD APARTMENTS WW2A FRAM 1 C #8,9,10 784 8So2l37 217 BEACH RD. DEPR FRAM 3/4 0 785 8So2138 316 BEACH RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C/D 787 8So2139 321 BEACH RD. BOOM MEDR 3 C 786 8So2l4O 324 BEACH RD. DEPR FRAM 3/6 C/D 788 8So2141 331 BEACH RD. BOOM MEDR 3 C 791 M2142 459 BEACH RD. CRESCENT HOUSE Boom BUNG 3 a/ 792 BSo2143 505 BEACH RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C 793 8So2144 515 BEACH RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C 794 8So2l45* 523 BEACH RD. RINGLING BEACH HOUSE acom SPCO 3 C 795 8So2146 551 BEACH RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C/o 796 8So2147 560 BEACH RD. BOOM FRAM 3/6 C/o 797 8So2148 563 BEACH RD. WW2A FRAM 3 0 802 8So2149 645-647 BEACH RD. WEST WIND WW2A FRAM 3 C 801 8So2l5O 649 BEACH RD. WEST WIND WW2A FRAM 3 C 800 8So2l51 655 BEACH RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C 799 BSo2l52 657 BEACH RD. DEPR FRAM 1 C T98 8So2l53 673 BEACH RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 903 8So2154 101 BIG PASS RD. DENMAN HOUSE WW2A INTE 1 C 840 8So2155 5235 CALLE DE COSTA WW2A FRAM 3 D 790 8So2156 5402 CALLE DE LA SIESTA WW2A FRAM 3 D 789 8So21'57 5404 CALLE DE LA SIESTA WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 814 8So2l58 5507 CALLE DEL INVIERENO WW2A FRAM 3 D 815 8So2159 625 CALLE DEL OTONO DEPR I C/D 205 Table 22 (cont.). SIESTA KEY, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Map @MSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Local Survey Elig. 811 8SoZ160 629 CALLE DEL OTONO WW2A MASO 1 D 816 8So21G1 642 CALLE DEL OTONO WW2A FRAM 1 C/D 810 8So2162 643 CALLE DEL OTONO WW2A FRAM 3 D 830 8So2163 627 CALLE DE PERU DEPR FRAM 3 0 831 8So21G4 636 CALLE DE PERU WW2A FRAM 3 D 833 8So2165 304 CALLE MIRAMAR WW2A FRAM 3 C/o 834 M2166 308 CALLE MIRAMAR DEPR FRAM 3 C 835 8So2167 312 CALLE MIRAMAR WW2A FRAM 3 D 839 M2168 330 CANAL RD. BOOM MEDR 1 C 838 8So2169 340 CANAL RD. WW2A MASO 3 C/D 837 8SoZ170 348 CANAL RD. WW2A FRAM 3 D 836 8So2171 378 CANAL RD. WW2A MODE 3 D 861 M2172 438 CANAL RD. WW2A FRAM 3/4 D/E 823 8So2173 522 CANAL RD. WW2A MASO 3 D 822 8So2174 558 CANAL RD. WW2A MASO I C/o 813 8So2175 606 CANAL RD. WW2A MASO 3 0 812 8So217G 612 CANAL RD. WW2A FRAM 3 D 806 8So2177 646 CANAL RD. WW2A MODE 3 D 776 8So2l78 94 COLUMBUS BLVD. SIESTA BREEZE APARTMENTS W112A MASO 3/4 D 775 8So2179 105 COLUMBUS BLVD. OEPR FRAM 3 D 774 8So2180 108 COLUMBUS BLVD. WW2A MASO 3 D 894 8So2181 1108 CRESCENT ST. DEPR FRAM 1 C 845 8So2182 3T99 FLAMINGO AVE. MacGREGOR-MAGGIO RESIDENCE WW2A FRAM 3 C 842 8So2183 3820 FLAMINGO AVE. TUTTLE SERVANTS' QUARTERS BOOM FRAM 3/2 B/C 841 8So2184 3821 FLAMINGO AVE. TUTTLE-NIDIFFER RESIDENCE BOOM COLR 3 B/C 843 8So2185 3901 FLAMINGO AVE. McDONALD RESIDENCE WW1A FRAM 3/2 B/C 844 8So2186 4015 FLAMINGO AVE. WISNER-ARMSTRONG-FISHMAN DEPR COLR 3/2 B/C RESIDENCE 865 8So2187 4420 HIGEL AVE. WW2A FRAM 3 C 821 8So2188 2 ISLAND CIRCLE WW2A MASO 1 C/D 818 8So2189 105 ISLAND CIRCLE WW2A FRAM 1/3 C/D 819 8So2190 288 ISLAND CIRCLE WW2A FRAM 3 D 820 8So2191 350 ISLAND CIRCLE W112A MASO 1 D 873 8So2192 7517 MIDNIGHT PASS RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 8T2 8So2193 T521 MIDNIGHT PASS RD. Boom FRAM 3/4 0 871 8So2194 7525-29 MIDNIGHT PASS RD DEPR FRAM 1 C 760 8So2195 T811 MIDNIGHT PASS RD. THE CEDARS BOOM MEOR 1/3 C 874 8So2196 7915 MIDNIGHT PASS RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C/o 8T5 8So2197 T92T MIDNIGHT PASS RD. HAMILTON RESIDENCE OEPR FRAM 1 C 876 8So2198 8009-11 MIDNIGHT PASS RD BOOM FRAM 3 C 889 8So2199 8239 MIDNIGHT PASS-RD. DEPR FRAM 3 0 888 8So2200 8303 MIDNIGHT PASS RD. W112A MASO 3 0 887 8SoZZ01 8307 MIDNIGHT PASS RD. SIMPSON RESIDENCE 02A MASO 3 D 759 8So2202 8318 MIDNIGHT PASS RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C/o 885 8So2203 8319-A MIDNIGHT PASS RD. SIMPSON RESIDENCE WW2A MASO 3 C/o 886 8So2204 8319-B MIDNIGHT PASS RD. SIMPSON RESIDENCE DEPR MODE 3 C/o 884 8So2205 8339 MIDNIGHT PASS RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C 883 8So2206 8347 MIDNIGHT PASS RD. DEPR FRAM 3/4 D 882 8So2207 8355 MIDNIGHT PASS RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C/o 881 8so2208 8447 MIDNIGHT PASS RD. SMITH-JOHNSON RESIDENCE DEPR FRAM 3 C/D 206 Table 22.(cont.),. SIESTA KEY, FLORIDA Surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Map & FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context 3tyle Quality Local Survey Elig. 879 8So2209 8451 MIDNIGHT PASS RD. BOOM FRAM 3 C/D 880 8So2210 8453 MIDNIGHT PASS RD. DEPIR FRAM 3 c 878 8So2211 8527 MIDNIGHT PASS RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 758 8So2212 8541 MODNIGHT PASS RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C/D T56 8So2213 8615-A MIDNIGHT PASS RD. SALLY LUCKE RESIDENCE DEPR COLR *3 c 757 8So2214 8615-8 MIDINGHT PASS RD. BOOM FRAM 1/3 C 877 8So2215 8865 MIDNIGHT PASS RD. MIDNIGHT PASS PUB WW2A FRAM 3/4 0 902 8So2216 4900 OCEAN BLVD. CLUBHOUSE WW2A FRAM 3 c 862 8So22lT 5029.(?) OCEAN BLVD. KELLERMAN'S PHOTO/OLD SALTY WW2A MASO 3/4 D/E DOG 779 8So2218 5250 OCEAN BLVD. CAFE GARDENS BOOM BUNG 3 B/C 781 8So2219 5251 OCEAN BLVD. WW2A FRAM 3 D 778 8So2220 5254 OCEAN BLVD. OCEAN BLVD. SAIL80ARDING acom BUNG 3 a/c 780 8So2221 5255 OCEAN BLVDI' BOOM MEDR 3 C 866 8So2222 6531 PEACOCK RD. LOWE RESIDENCE Ww2A FRAM 3 c 869 8So2223 6621 PEACOCK RD. WW2A MASO 3 D 868 8So2224 6639 PEACOCK RD. CHAMBERLAND-LAEHY RESIDENCE WW2A FRAM 3/4 c 867 8So2225 6711 PEACOCK RD. BRIG. GEN. DeARMOND RESIDENCE WW2A INTE 3 c 825 8So2226 5405 PLAZA DESLAS PALMAS WW2A FRAM 3 D 826 8So2227 5408 PLAZA DESLAS PALMAS DEPR BUNG 3 C/o 824 8So2228 5409 PLAZA DESLAS PALMAS DEPR FRAM 3 C 901 8So2229 7101 POINT OF ROCKS CIR. GREENWOOD RESIDENCE BOOM FRAM 3 c 900 8SoZ230 7102 POINT OF ROCKS CIR. DEPR FRAM 3 C 892 8So2231 1012 POINT OF ROCKS RD. DEPR FRAM 3 c 891 8So2232 1021 POINT OF ROCKS RD. MASO MASO 1 C/D 893 8So2233 6905 POINT OF ROCKS RD. DEPIR FRAM 3 C 895 8So2234 6910 POINT OF ROCKS RD. DEPR FRAM 3 C 896 8So2235 7208 POINT OF ROCKS RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 89T 8So2236 T220 POINT OF ROCKS RD. EMERY RESIDENCE WW2A FRAM 1 c 898 8So2237 7224 POINT OF ROCKS RD. LAURIA RESIDENCE DEPR FRAM 3 c .899 8So2238 7302 POINT OF ROCKS RD.. DEPR FRAM 3/4 C/o 890 8So2239 7322 POINT OF ROCKS RD. WW2A FRAM 3 C 832 8So2240 144 REID ST. OUT OF DOOR ACADEMY Boom FRAM 3 a/c 849 8So2241 4118 ROBERTS POINT CIR. DEPIR BUNG 3 C 848 8So2242 4136 ROBERTS POINT CIR. Boom BUNG 3 C 847 8So2243 4170 ROBERTS POINT CIR. WW2A FRAM I D 846 8So2244 4189 ROBERTS POINT CIR. SHUTTLEWORTH RESIDENCE Boom MEDR 3 c 863 8So2245 3931 ROBERTS POINT RD. DEPR FRAM 3/4 c 864 8So2246 3953 ROBERTS POINT RD. WW2A FRAM 3 c 860 8So2247 3959-61 ROBERTS PT. RD. DEPR FRAM 3 D 859 8So2248 3970 ROBERTS POINT RD. 'NW2A MEDR 3 C 858 8So2249 4000 ROBERTS POINT RD. DEPR BUNG I C 854 8So2250 4002 ROBERTS POINT RD. SIESTA INN HOTEL + COTTAGE #4 BCCM FRAM 3 c 855 8So2251 4002 ROBERTS POINT RD. SIESTA INN HOTEL COTTAGE #7 BOOM FRAM 3 C 856 8So2252 4002 ROBERTS POINT RD. SIESTA INN HOTEL COTTAGE $8 BOOM FRAM 3 C 857 8So2253 4002 ROBERTS POINT RD. SIESTA INN HOTEL COTTAGE #9/10 BOOM FRAM 4 C 853 8So2254 4006 ROBERTS POINT RD. SIESTA INN HOTEL COTTAGES BOOM FRAM 3 c #1,2,3,5,6 852 8So2255 4010 ROBERTS POINT RD. 300M FRAM 3 c 851 9Sn2256 4026 ROBERTS POINT RD. WW2A TUOR 3 D 207 Table 22 (cont.).. SIESTA KEY, FLORIDA Surveyed'Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Map FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context -Style Quality Local Survey Elig. 850 BSoZ257 4074 R08ERIS POINT RD. Boom FRAM 3 C 870 8So2258 6520 SABAL DRIVE WW2A FRAM 3 C/D 208 Structures). These vary in style and size amid newer concrete block residences. In addition, four smaller sites were found on Roberts Point circle,. at the end of this peninsula (see list of Surveyed Historic Structures). 7. Three houses on Midnight Pass Road (8451, 8453 and 8527) (8So2209, 8So2210, 8So2211) at Siesta Point, were moved from Woodmere. They were oriqimlly [email protected] in 1928 (Betty Arnall, personal communication). 8. Brig. General DeArmand"s Residence, 6711 Peacock Road (8S02225) - Located Just. south of the Stickney Point Bridge, this residence was constructed in 1949, designed by Ralph TWitchell's office. DeArmand altered the entrance (west) side, but the east bayfrcnt facade consisting of large floor-to-ceiling glazed panels remains relatively unaltered. 9. 101 Big Pass Road (8So2154) - This house was designed by Ralph TWitchell and Paul Rudolph in 1948. It may be the Dermian House but this has not been verified yet. Constructed of lime "Ocala" block, this low profile International style residence overlooks the Gulf of Mexico. It has remained basically unaltered. Prevmwly Recorded Sites: A previous survey of historic resources within the city of Sarasota included some struct-uress at the north end of Siesta Key. This area was not included in the scope of work for the Sarasota County Coastal Zone Survey. The previously recorded sites are listed as follows: 1. 44 Norsota. Way (8So165) 2. 604 Norsorta. Way (8So166) 3. 333 Edmonsion Street (8So167) 4. 3308 Higel Avenue (8So383) 5. 3322 Rigel Avenue (BS0600) 6. 3353 Rigel Avenw (SSo421) 7. 4105 Shell Road, MacK(inlay Kantor Estate (8So.430 & 8So609) 8. 3442 Flamingo Avenue (8So431 & 8So610) General : several areas on Siesta Key lend themselves to potential Local Historic Districts. They should be researched further to determine eligibility and definite boundaries. These areas include: 1. North portion of Siesta Key, including the area contained within the incorporated, City of Sarasota, Flamingo Avenue and Roberts Point Road. 2. Siesta Point, which includes the Siesta Beach and Mira Mar subdivisions. 3. Point of Rocks - Two sites are led for separate thematic Multiple Properties nominations to the National Register of Historic Places. These are: the Out of Door School as part of an educational thematic nomination along with the osprey School and Lamml School (see Recommendations at the aid of this report); and The cedars as part of a Mediterranean Revival style thematic nomination (see Recommendations at end of the report) - Wlth additional research two mor sites may be eligible for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places. These include the Lucke Residences and the Siesta Inn -raglex. 209 It is also reconmended that a cmiprehensive survey of the structures designed by Ralph Twitchell and Paul Rudolph (and other designiers of the "Sarasota School of Architecture") be cortiucted at a future date. This proposed survey should include all of their structures, regardless as to the date of construction or location within the county. (See Reconuendations at the end of this report for further details). Accoraing to the list in "--- : arary . between 1946 and 1949 five houses were designed by TWitchell and Rudolph for Siesta Key (Morgan 1987:766). The Derman House (1946) may be the house surveyed on Big Pass Road. Me Finney* Guest House (1947) is listed as a project. Both the Revere Quality House (1948) and the Healy Guest House - "Cocoon House" - (1948) are 1 ted within the incorporated city limits of Sarasota. The last house built duriM the period covered by this survey was the Deeds House which was not found at this time. Several other designs were 'published in the late 1940s. The corrC=-tXJnd.-2LnIg magazine articles have been given to the SCEM for future research. In any event, all of the sites listed which contain a B, C or D rating in the NR Eligibility category should be reviewed- thoroughly before a demolition or remodeling permit is approved. 210 THE UPLANDS General Development: This incorporated community, located just north of the City of Sarasota, straddles the Sarasota-Manatee County line. It was subdivided in 1949. Zinn's Restaurant is the only structure to appear on the February 1948 aerials for the portion of the community located within Sarasota County. Several buildings were already erected in Manatee County, just north of Edwards Drive, which also appeared on the aerial (Aerial 1-D-54, SCDHR). By 1911 this parcel of land was owned by John and Mabel Ringling. Ellen F. and R.C. Caples purchased the land in 1924 but sold it to E.P. Taliferro in 1927. Twenty years later, Augustin N. Thierry purchased the property on Nay 26, 1947. It was transferred by Augustin N. Thierry and his wife, Virginia B. , to The Uplands, Inc. in August 27, 1947. Paul F. Thielen was president and Augustin was secretary of this corporation. A year later, certain lands were transfered to the Curry & Turner Construction Co. They created a small lake in the center , Lake Uplands, which drains into Sarasota Bay. The subdivision was platted on April 12, 1949 (Plat Book 5, pp. 15q-15A) (Attorney's Abstract, 1951). Soon after Thierry designed his own home, located on the northwest corner of lane Road and Poinciana Drive. A modern version of the Mediterranean Revival style, his house was designed to take advantage of the Florida breezes, with alot of cross ventilation. He designed about ten more concrete block residences, in a similar style, in this development within the next decade. Boundaries and Map: The portion of the Uplands community contained within Sarasota County include Edwards Drive, which also constitutes the county line; Poinciana Drive; Parkview Avenue which runs east-west at the southern end; Lane Road, which runs north-south between the abovementioned streets; Uplands Boulevard on the west end, along the bay; and Downey Road, running north-south on the east end. It is bound on the east by the Tamiami Trail (U.S. 41). This area is located in Sections 1 and 2 of Township 36 South, Range 17 East. Half-section maps are 1 and S-3 respectively. A map of the Uplands community (Figure 26) has been included in this report to identify the structures recorded. Those which are highlighted with hatch lines may also be eligible for a National Register Historic District at a future date but were not recorded at this time since they were constructed post 1949. New Results : All of the construction in this community, in the portion contained within Sarasota county, was constructed after 1949 except for Zinn's Restaurant. Therefore, only a few selected structures were were recorded as representative examples found in this part Of the comminity New sites: Four sites were recorded in this survey and included in the list of Surveyed Historic Structures (Table 23). Some of the more important sites have been described below. Other sites darkened on the corsponding map were also probably designed by Iluerry and would be significant in a Loccal or National Register Historic District. 1. Zinnts Restaurant, 101 Tamiami Trail (8So1898) - now part of USF/New College was named for the family who owned and operated it. EM 9 C> IAA&j kwu [email protected] C.&J-4rf Or-31n 0 C:3 9,-3 C-1-512 0 V3 40A w t)q,vc El IA (A t-4 0 dl" -LIMrr.5 n n rt WW Q El 2 0 rt 0 0 THE UPLANDS Ora 212 T,abie 23. THE UPLANDS, SARASOTA, FLORIDA surveyed Historic Structures Results and Evaluations Map & FMSF Site Address Site Name Historic Arch Data NR or Field Site Context Style Quality Local Survey Elig. 908 8SO1895 441 fARKVIEW DR. MODE FRAM 3 C 907 8So1896 455 POINCIANA DR. BRAREN RESIDENCE MODE MODE 3 C 906 8So1897 481 POINCIANA DRIVE THIERRY-SCHWANZ.RESIDENCE MODE MEDR 1 C 9DS M1898 101 N. TAMIAMI TRAIL ZINN'S RESTAURANT WW2A MASO 3 C 213 213 2. Thierry-Schwanz Residence, 481 Poinciana Drive (8So1897) - This concrete block, H-shaped house was designed by Thierry as his awn residence on northwest corner of Lane Road and Poinciana Drive. The Schwanz's purchased the house from the Thierry family after Mrs. Thierry died. 3. Braren Residence, 455 Poinciana Drive (8So1896)-This art deco residence was constructed circa 1949-1950 by Mr. Braren. General Recommendations: This community was investigated at the request Of Kafi Benz, with the Sarasota Alliance for Historic Preservation. The local neighborhood association has shown an interest in placing the community (or a portion of it) on the National Register of Historic Places as Historic District. It is recommended that further research be conducted regarding this community and architect/builder/developer Augustin N. Thierry. A future National Register Historic Disctrict could either emphasize the development of the entire community, including the portion located in Manatee County, or just highlight the structures designed by Thierry. In any case, each of the sites highlighted with hatch lines on the community map (Figure 26) should be reviewed thoroughly before demolition or remodeling permits are approved. Apparently Sarasota Lock and Key has a number of old photographs of this area which would prove helpful in conducting further research. Thierry's son currently lives in Venice and may be able to provide additional information. 214 MANAGEKW This historic resources survey project has successfully served to locate and*identify sites of significance on bath public and private lands within the coastal zone of Sarasota County. Based upon these findings, a variety of ini- tiatives and protection strategies for the management of historic resources are 1. ReWlations: It is through instruments of law, regulation and administra- tion, regulated by a variety of county and divisions, that the county government can most effectively influence the protection and preserva- tion of historic resources. Some of these are as follows: A. Historic Preservation : Preserving and protecting the his- toric resources of the coastal zone of Sarasota County can most effectively be accomplished through the initial adoption of a county ordinance, as recom- mended in the Historic Preservation Plan prepared by Historic Property Asso- ciates (1989:14): The adoption of a historic preservation ordinance would provide the -legislative authority to regulate in an effective manner the pr servaticn, of historic resources in the county. Me ordinance must create a review authority to Implement its objectives. In turn, the review authority must depend upon a unit of county Verrummailt to provide logistical support and informtion for its deliberations and decisions. The county is fortunate in having already established an office responsible for collecting and maintaining the kinds of information required for that purpose and creating the position of director of historical resources, who can lend staff support to the authority (Historic Property Associates 1987:59). Among the compaxnits of an Historic Preservation Ordinance are procedures and criteria for the rxminaticn and desicmtion of local landmarks and/or his- toric districts, as well as the provision for fines and penalties for viola- tors of the ordinance. Draftu)g and passage of a county Historic Preservation Ordinance is considered to be of the highest priority. A number of Florida cities and counties have enacted preservation ordin- ances. One of the mos "" rarehensive and [email protected] is the 'Netropolitan Dade [email protected] Historic Preservation Ordinance" (Ord. No. 81-13; 1,1-17-81) which requires an historic preservation board which is vested with the power, authority and jurisdiction to designate, regulate and administer historicall culturalf archaeological and architectural resources in Dade County, as prescribed .by the chapter under the du-ect, jurisdiction and legislative contr 1 of the board of county commissioners (Section 16A-5). Among the historic preservation board's powers and duties are the designation of individual sites, districts and archaeological zones, issuance or denial of certificates of appropriateness and certificates'to dig. B. [email protected] Local Government (CLG): Adoption of a historic preservation ordinance is also encouraged,, since it serves as a prerequisite for Sarasota C=ityls parEicipation in the Certified Local Government Program (CI-G). The 215 215 establishment of a Historic Preservation Board will also be necessary prior to becoming a CLG participant. Benefits of being a CLG participant include eli- gibility to apply for federal survey and- planning grant money. Thus, Sarasota County is urged to apply for certification, once the necessary prerequisites have been met. C. APOXSEE: Sarasota County's Comprehensive Plan: As an initial step, we urge the Sarasota County Board of County Commissioners to implement the many programs set forth in the Historic Preservation Plan section of the Historic Preservation Element, as contained in Chapter one of the Sarasota County Com- prehensive Plan (APOXSEE 1989:20-22). The specific goals, objectives and policies contained herein will serve to assist local government officials and citizens involved in the local preservation program. It is suggested that the map of Archaeological Sensitivity Zones (Figure 1, p.5) contained in be modified to include the southern part of siesta Key, as contained east of Midnight Pass Road, from Stickney Point Road south to Turtle Beach. That part of the coastal zone on the mainland (non- filled) between Stickney Point Road on the north and North Creek on the south, should also be included as a zone of archaeological sensitivity. In addition, all historic resources discovered as a result of the current survey effort should also be added to the Land Use Maps. Sites and properties which may eventu- ally be added to the National Register of Historic Places should also be illustrated on the appropriate updated maps, once they have become listed. D. Land Use and Zoning Mechanisns - The designation of site areas as greenbelt, nature preserve or passive recreation is a very effective zoning technique which has been used to protect significant historic resources. This concept is most beneficial when one or more significant sites are located within a land development project. When a developer is required to set aside a certain amount of land within the project area for conservation or passive recreation in order to fulfill permitting requirements, an historic site in the project area can be preserved and fulfill the "greenspacing" requirement- The Oaks/Vamo Midden and Webb Road sites, newly recorded in the USGS laurel quadrangle map area, are located within a tract scheduled for residential de- velopment. "Greenbelting" of these site areas is strongly recommended. 2. Development Review Process: Sarasota County is encourage to establish and implement administrative guidelines that will ensure the review of the impact of land altering activities on historic resources, including archaeo- logical sites and historic structures. The Historic Preservation Plan con- tained in Chapter one of Apoxsee (1989:20-22) presents the following Policy statements. Implementation of these recommendations are strongly urged. policy 1.1.1 "Develop and implement a review procedure triggered by ap- plication for permits and land development petitions similar to the current procedures utilized for the review of rezone, special exception, Sector Plan, and Development of Regional Impact Applications." I Policy 1.1.4 "Adopt the USGS topographic maps that have been marked to indicate the presence of known or potential resources as the official series of maps employed by the County in its review and permitting activities, and maintain and update the maps as necessary." 216 Policy 1.1.7 "Provide guidelines to the Sarasota County Departments and Divisions of Planning, Natural Resources, Transportation, Building and 7,0nIng, Parks and Recreation, Forestry, Mwironmental Services, and the Real Property Office in the developwnt and implementation of review and monitoring [email protected] dures and educate County regulatory staff regarding the County's [email protected] and historic resources." The Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources is currently in the process of hiting a staff - archaeologist. It is zecormnexx1ed that this individual oversee the review procedures, in cooperation with personnel fz= Other =z&Y departments and, divisions, as enumerated in Policy 1.1.7 above. In the event of land altering activities requiring permit approval, the proposed project should be reviewed to ascertain whether any known or potential historic resources will be impacted. Projects subject to review should be eqnnded to include approvals for parking lots; grading, earth m(Ning, excavation and fill, and drainage and utilities placement; permits issued by the Departneft of Natural Resources for coastal zone dredge and fill activity and dock construction,- Division of Forestry permits for tree removal; park and recreation area construction; solid waste permits; and plats approved by the Building and Zoning Department. 7he USGS --p-graphic maps and USDA Soil Survey maps prepared by Historic Property Associates (HPA) for the Sarasota County Planning Department in 1988, should be updated using the findings of the current coastal zone survey pro,- ject. These maps, in addition to the section aerials marked during the cur- ren project, should be used as the officiaL series of maps for review pur- poses. Professional archaeological survey should be mandatory in proposed developmat areas coterminous with zones of archaeological sensitavity. Such work should be paid for by the permit applicant. r1he procedures for carrying out survey and project review, as outlined in Tesar 1988 ('"Me Historic Preservation Compliance Review Program of the Florida Department of State, Division of Historical Resources") and in the Historic Resource Review Manual (HPA 1988) should then be followed. 3. The National E=ster : 7he National Register of Historic Pla is an official listing of historically significant sites and properties throughout the Cciuntry, maintained by the National Park Service, U. S. Depart- ment of Interior. It includes districts, sites, buildings, b ictures and objects that have been documented as significant in American history, archi- tecture, archaeology, engineering or culture. The National Register is an 'resources. tool in encouraging the pr mvation of significant historic At present, there are only two National Register listed sites situated within the unincorporated, coastal zone of Sarasota County. These include the osprey site (8So2) and the Field Estate (8So398) (Apcxsee 1989: Figure. 3, p.15). It is xeccx. ed that all historic resources classified as MR Cate- gory B in the preceeding Archaeological Sites Report and Historic Structures Report section of this document be nominated to the National Register of [email protected] Places. It should be emphasized that landowner consent will be required before ncminations can be made. All NR Category B sites have been adjudged significant, and thus NR eligible, on the basis of existing data. It is suggested that in addition to individual site nominations, the following be considered. 217 217 A. Archaeological Sites -Fourteen prehistoric archaeological sites are suggested for consideration as a thematic National Register district nomina- tion. All are related to each other by type (shell midden). The estuarine setting of these resources also provides a common theme. The 14 sites include: # Name Location Ownership 1. 8So23 Paulsen Point Lemon Bay - mainland Public - County 2. 8So598 Stoltzner Leomon Bay- barrier isl. Private - Ind. 3. 8Soll Mystery River Lemon Bay - mainland Public - State 4 . 8Sol371 Bouffard Lemon Bay - barrier isl. ? 5. 8So56 Roberts Bay Sarasota Bay - mainland Private - Corp. 6. 8So59 Osprey point little sara.Bay - mainland Private - Corp 7. 8So438 Martin/McGuire Shakett Creek - mainland Private - Ind. 8. 8Sol351 Oaks/Vamo North Creek - mainland Private - Corp. 9. 8Sol349 Wall Midden Blackbrn Bay - mainland Private - Ind. 10. 8Sol357 Blackburn Bay Blackburn Bay - mainland Private - Ind. 11. 8Sol376 Lucke Midden Little Sara. Bay - bar. isl Private - Ind. 12. 8So6l7 Prodie Midden Phillippi Creek - mainland Public - County 13. 8Sol302 Eagle Point III Roberts Bay - mainland Private - COrP. 14. 8So1867 Pocono Trail Dona Bay - mainland ? of these 14 sites, three are on public land. The Paulsen Point site is located at Sarasota County's Indian mound park in Englewood; the Prodie Midden at Phillippi Estate Park; and the Mystery River site is on land maintained by the University of South Florida, Sarasota campus. Ownership of the property occupied by the Bouffard site is unknown. This undeveloped lot is directly southeast of the county-owned Hermitage property. The ownership of the unde- veloped parcel within which the Pocono Trail site is situated is also unknown. The remaining sites are on lands owned privately by individuals or corpora- tions. Four historic period archaeological sites are also recommended for con- sideration as a thematic multiple Properties National Register listing. All are cemeteries containing the gravesites of some of the "founding fathers" and other early settlers of their respective communities. These sites include: 1. 8Sol345 Laurel Cemetery 2. 8So1358 Leman Bay Cemetery 3. 8Sol367 Venice Cemetery 4. 8Sol38l Hansen/Roberts Cemetery In addition to these thematic nominations, the Catfish Creek site (8So608), a shell scatter; the Ralston/Indianola Mound (8So83/446), a burial mound; and the multi-component Gory site (8So24), are adjudged significant and eligible for listing in the National Register. The Ralston/ Indianola Mound represents the only intact burial mound in the coastal zone of unincorporated Sarasota County- Twenty other sites, both previously recorded and newly discovered, have been classified as NR Category C, or potentially significant. Pending land- owner permission, archaeological testing is recommended so that a final deter- mination of significance/National Register eligibility can be made. Such work is strongly urged. These properties are as follows: 0 218 Name Type Ownership 1. 8So3 Pool Hammock Village Private - Ind. 2. 8So13 Davids Shell Midden Private - Ind. 3. 8So14 Lampp Mound Burial Mound Private - Ind. 4. 8So27 Davis Midden Shell Midden Private - Corp. 5. 8So6O Wood Shell Midden Private - Ind. 6. 8So84 Hansen's Ldng. Shell Midden Private - Ind. 7. 8So606 OSSRA II Shell Scatter Public - State 8. 8So1292 Manasota Key Bur. Cemetery/Sh. Mid. Private - Ind. 9. 8So1321 Wilcox Ceramic Scatter Private - Ind. 10. 8So1329 Knight's Trl. Artifact Scatter Public - County 11. 8So1352 Catfish Creek Bridge/Road Private - carp. Bridge/Webb Rd 12. 8So1369 Johnson Shell Midden Private - Ind. 13. 8So1370 Severinsen Shell Midden Private - Ind. 14. 8So1373 6855 MK Road Shell Midden Private - Ind. 15. 8So374 Ford Shell Midden Private - Ind. 16. 8So1375 O'Brien Shell Midden Private - Ind. 17. 8So1377 Heron Lag. Shell Midden Private - Ind. 18. 8So1378 Cedars Midden Shell Midden Private - Ind. 19. 8So1853 Eagle Point/ Road Segment Private - Corp. Tamiami Trail 20. 8So1868 Pirates Midden Shell Midden Private - Ind. Among these are sites located on county (8So1329 in Knight's Trail Park) and State land (8So606 at Oscar Scherer State Recreation Area. B. Historic Structures- Specific recommendations for each community have been included in the corresponding survey area. An overall summary of these recommendations is presorted here. Five individual sites were deemed eligible for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places due to their architectural significance, and their association with local historical events and persons. In addition, they exhi- bit either typical or above-average architectural characteristics for their period of construction. Additional research would be required for each. These sites are listed below: 1. The Keith-Prodie Mansion, 5500 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota (8So2096). This Italian Renaissance style mansion, constructed in 1916, was the first of its kind in the Sarasota area. 2. The Hermitage, 6660 Manasorta Key Road, Englewood (8So1629 - 1635). This complex of seven wood frame structures exemplifies the evolution of a structure as it progressed from an early homestead to a guest house catering to the ever increasing f -low of tourists. The original structure, built circa 1905, is still visible under the numerous additions. 3. The Claude Curry Homestead, 1212 Lucille Avenue, Nokomis (8So1709). Another pioneer homestead, this house was constructed in 1908, one of the few remaining from that era. Numerous members of the Curry family were influen- tial in the development of Nokomis and Sarasota County. 219 4. Point O'Palms, 201 Cherokee Place, Nokomis (8So1686 arxi 1687). Another Italian Renaissance style estate, this residence was constructed for Dr. Fred Albee in 1922. Dr. A2bee, a famous bone surgeon, also played an important role in the developuent, of Nokomis, Venice, and Sarasota County. 5. Eagle Point, Venice (8So2100 - 2110). This winter [email protected] for hunting and. fishing was built in 1916 and has remained basically unchanged through the years- other structures of equal importance were located in areas which could be nominated as Historic Districts. Refer to the individual survey area recom- it-ions for important buildings located within each =mmmty. The following districts are recommended for listang on the National Register: 1. Vamo Drive, Vamo. 2. Original Towm of Englewood (Old Englewnod Road arxi Buchan's Lfflx1ing area). The following areas may not. be cohesive enough to be considered as National Register Districts, but should be researched further and recommended as Incal Historic Districts: 1. McCall Road, Engleiwood 2. Nokomi s subdivision, Nokomis 3. Bay Point subdivision, Nokomis 4. Point of Roc1m, Siesta Key 5. North end of Siesta Key, including a portion contained within the City of Sarasota, Flmmngo Avenue, and Roberts Point Road. 6. siesta Beach, Siesta Key 7. Red Rock area A number of amit-ional historic sites could be combined into several the- matic multiple properties nominations for the National Register. Each would need further historical and architectural research. 7hese include the following sites for each thematic group: 1. Mediterranean Revival (including variations such as Italian Renaissance and Spanish Colonial). a. Mackbo-Beatty Residence, 3204 Casey Key Road (8So1889) b. Florence's Manor, 5944 Briarwood.Avenue, Sara a. (8So2088) c. The Cedars, 7811 midnight Pass Road (8So2195) 2. Educational facilities. (This could also include other schools in Sarasota county, not just those in the coastal zone area). a. Laurel School, 1241 North Tamiami Trail, Laurel (8So1854) b. Osprey School, 337 North Tamiami Trail, Osprey (8So1975) c. The Out of Door Academy, 144 Reid Street, Siesta Key (8So2240) 3. Vacaticn/TouriSt (Guest cottages) - a. Curwood Cottages, 670 McCall Road, Englewood b. Jamay Beach Cottages, Casey Key c. J. Weller Bay Cottages, Laurel 4. Venice Air Station buildings moved to Other Parts Of Sarasota C=lty- (This *would entail quite a bit of research. Much information is 220 available at the Venice Area Historical Collection. Many structures were reused as residences, camtnuty gathering halls, government buildings, etc. 5. Boaft-time Commercial Buildings. a. Venice-Ndkomis Bank A separate [email protected] properties nomination is to encompass all of the 'structures located in Englewood, which in one form or another, were important to the development of this community. Most remain in good condition and are scattered throughout the survey area. Additional research is required for each to determine eligibility. Other structures may also be deemed eligible based on this research. Some of these sites include the following: 1. Buchan's Landing, 410 Olive Street (8So1567) 2. Residence, 2 Old ErxjleAxx1 Road (8Sol544) 3. Royal Casino, Kelly's Tavern, 240 Dearborn Street (8So1420) 4. Floyd Ziegler Family Residence, 285 South Cowles Street (SSol483) 5. Ziegler Hardware Store, 436 Dearborn Street (8So1422) 6. Englewood Methodist a=ch, Green [email protected] (8So1444) 7. 732 McCall Road (8So1530) 8. Englewood Commauty Club. Indiana Avenue and McCall Road ([email protected] 9. Edith Lampp Residence, 604 West Perry Street (8So1583) 10. Dr. Mary Green. Residence, 502 Green Street (8Sol445) AnoEber multiple properties rcmination should be considered for the three Higel family homes located in Higelville. Each of these had a Florida Master Site File form prepared during a previous survey. Again, further research would be required. Miese sites include the following: 1. Moss Oak House, 816 LaGuna Drive (8So521) 2. Moss Oak Inn (George Higel residence), 820 Madrid Avenue (8So522) 3. Grove House, 811-813 La Guna Drive (8So520) Future grant monies should be sought for research into surviving struc- tures designed by local architects. Two such surveys would be proposed, one for the works of Mvinas R. Martin; the other for designs by the "Sarasota School of Architecture"I predominantly Ralph Twitchell, Paul Rudolph and victor imxty. Thcms R. Martin came to Florida from Clucago in the 1910s at the request of Mrs. Potter Palmer to work at her estate in Osprey, The Oaks. He remained in Sarasota County wbere he designed numerous residences and ammercial buildings. Ralph Twitchell was also a local architect practicing in Sarasota County since the 1920s. When Paul Rudolph graduated from the Harvard Graduate School Of Design in 1947 he began working with Ralph TWitchell. Mey were the P of the international style as it related to the climate and setting of the west coast of Florida. They [email protected] the philosophy of the well-known Sarasota School of Architecture. Mrs. TWitchell is currently writing a biography about her husband Ralph. In addition, his son Tolin is a local architect in Sarasota. Each may be able to provide important information for future research. 221 it is that once the biography is completed, a thorough survey be - conducted to 'record the remaining structures designed by Ralph Twitchell and Paul Rudolph (and other designers of the "Sarasota School of Architecture"). This proposed survey should include all of their structures, regardless of ccarstruction date and locaUon within the county. Finally, each recorded site with a B, C,.* or D ratirxj in. the National Register eligibility category of list of Surveyed Historic Structures for each cmwuty should be investigated furthw. To begin with, each of these sites should be reviewed thoroughly before demolition or remodeling permits are appruv . I Additional, research may present other sites worthy of nomination to the National Register of Historic Places. 4. Public Acquisition: County acquisition of significant historic resources and/or archaeologically/historically itive lands can be achieved through fee-simple purchase, the purchase of developnent rights, or through. the pur- chase of easements. In the ca of development rights, for exanple, owner- ship remains in the hands of the private property owner. However, the govern- ment purchases the right to develop (or not to develop) the land, as it chooses. Two sites/site areas within the unincorporated portion of the coastal zone are suggested for public acquisition. Both are presently listed for sale. rnie Ralston/7ndianola Mound (8So83/446) is a very significant abori- ginal burial mound. It represents the only intact site of its type in yu"Wed coastal Sarasota County. The other property recxx ed for purcImse is that containirxj the Lucke Midden (8So1376) as well as several newly recorded historic structures. This land is situated in the southern part of Siesta Key. If sold to a private developer, it is likely that a rezone request allcwirxj higher density residential development will be made. This unique setting is ivportant not only for its historic resources, but also the presence of rare coastal hannod)c vegetation. In its totality, the Lucke property should be considered an important asset for all citizens of Sarasota County. 5. Preservation Incentives: There are other methods of protection for kustoric resources available to Sarasota County, includuig the creation of financial incentives outside of regulatory mechanisms. The County is urged to employ such inceytives, as easements, restrictive covenants, transfer of developrent. rights, and tax relief through donations and other mechanisms. A. Wpm t - An easement is an interest or a right in property wtuch is less than the full, or fee simple, interest. An archaeological easerent, for example, places rest:x-ictions on future alteration or developnent, pro @cting archaeological resources from damaging changes. Easements are widely ap-- plicable because they can be individually written to avoid placing hardships on the property owner. They my be acquired by purchaw, ex&ongef will, or eminent domain, but: usually they are acquired by gift. Also, they are ge-ier- ally in perpetuity to qualify the donor for federal inccme tax deductions (Gyrisco 1980:3). 222 A preservation or conservation easement, as detailed in Section 704.06, F.S. 1985, amended in 1986, is designed to retain the physical appearance of sites or properties of historical, architectural, archaeological, or cultural significance, and can be acquired by any organization or by a charitable corporation. Subsection (3) specifically provides for "a charit- able corporation or trust whose purposes include the . . . preservation of' buildings or sites of historical or cultural significance - 11 "Aside from . its impact on other state laws, this statute is of great practical importance in. its validatien under Florida laws of conveyances for which donors seek a charitable deduction under the federal income tax scheme, thus strerrjthening this economic incentive to preserve historic properties (including archaeo- logical sites)" (Hunt 1987:27). By giving an easement to a VEW1111el rt or a 501 (c) (3) charitable organiza- ation, it can be claimed as a charitable deduction on federal income taxes. Further, charitable cxxztr-ibuticns in excess of the statutory limits may be carried over and used during the next five years. A gift of an easement is particularly important in areas of rapidly rising land values. Where property is sold, federal capitol gains tax will be reduced [email protected] the gift of an easement (Gyrisco 1980:5). B. Trarnfer of DewJ ; I Rights - The transfer of development rights is another potential avenue for the preservation of historic resources. In separating the right to develop a particular parcel of land from the owner- ship of that parcel, it is possible to preserve the existing use of the land. The right to develop a parcel of land can be moved from the original parcel, where further development is prohibited, to another parcel of land. The second parcel my then be developed at a higher intensity than would otherwise be permitted by the zoning ordinance (Gyrisco, 1980:7). C. Dmatiam - The donation of an archaeological or historic site to an individual or by an organization to the State of Florida or to a local govern- m6nt for --- on purposes is highly desirable. It allows the recipient state or local M-naent to make progress tcwards resource protection goals at a greatly reduced expeise. Incentives to the donor lie in relief of tax burdens and other liabilities associated with the property, and a federal in- come tax decb=ticn if the donation qualifies as a suitable contribution in ----rdance with Section 170(c) of the [email protected] Revenue Code (Florida Depart- ment of State 1986:36) 6. guz= of [email protected]__Owned Significant and potentially significant historic resources are located on county-owned lands. Among these are the Paulsen Point site (8so23) at Indian Mound Park, and the Prodie Midden (8So616) at Phillippi Estates.Park- other inventoried historic resources are at the Hermitage and Knight's Trail Park. The discovery and evaluation of archaeological sites, most of wtuch are riot readily apparent on tlielandscape, is a labor- and time-intensive effort. In 1988, for example, the 65 acre Phillippi Estates Park, situated at US 41 and phillippi creek, was systematically surveyed by a team of professional archaeologists (Archibald and Deming 1988). A total of 20 person days was expended on this task, resultuxj in the location and. evaluation of three archaeological sites. Similarly, several small ceramic and artifact scatter type sites were discovered at Knight's Trail Park. Most of these recurces would not have been found, had it riot been for intensive, close interval, 223 systematic subsurface shovel testing, carried out as part of the current project. Dozens of Properties, ranging from one acre neighborhood recreation areas to large multi-facility parks and beaches, are owned by Sarasota County. Sys- tematic survey of all such county-owned land within the coastal zone was not possible during this project. However, such work is recommended, particularly at those Parks, recreation areas and beaches encompassing 20 or more acres in size. As new park land is acquired, systematic professional archaeological survey is also suggested. Future improvements, to existing parks may incclude athletic fields, court areas, picnic facilities, recreation buildings, trails, play apparatus areas, parking areas, boat ramps, and landscaping. It is suggested that the county Parks and Recreation Department, in cooperation with the Department of His- torical Ressources, ascertain whether parklands to be improved fall within archaeological sensitivity zones. If such is the case, it is recommended that the services of a professional archaeologist be retained to systematically survey at least all areas slated for development/improvement. Similarly, new land acquisitions, if contained within archaeological sensitivity zones, should also be surveyed. Several parks with archaeological site location potential are currently scheduled for improvements. Survey in these areas is recommended. Among these is the 82 acre Caspersen Mainland park in South Venice, at Sunset Drive and West Shamrock. This property was acquired following successful passage Of a bond issue in 1986. Scheduled improvements include a recreation building, athletic fields, picnic facilities, outdoor court area, jogging and nature trails, parking and landscaping. The 36 acre Woodmere Park, located on Jacaranda Boulevard at Alligator creek, will be developed with a mixture of active and passive recreation uses, based on community needs. Blind Pass Beach on Manasota Key has been slated for the construction of docks and picnic. shelters on the Lemon Bay side of the property, as well as parking and land- scaping. A restroom/concession building, dune walkovers, and parking facili- ties are scheduled for construction at Nokomis Beach on Casey Key at Albee Road. Some of the County parks, such as Woodmere, are designated MSTU parks. Therefore, part of the revenue for their development will come from MSTU funds. Sales tax will provide continuing revenue for non-MSTU park improve- ments. The recently passed Ordinance No. 89-40, providing for a Local Option One-cent sales surtax, will also raise revenue for public facility improvements over the next ten years. Hopefully, some of these monies can be expended for archaeological survey. 7. Protection of Burial Site: Another aid to the preservation and protection of historic resources, specifically those containing human interments, is Chapter 872, Florida Statues, 1987. Although riot originally intended as a preservation. law, this statute provides penalties for willfully destroying, mutilating, defacing, injuring or removing any tomb, monument, gravestone, burial mound, earthen or shell monument containing human skeletal remains or associated burial artifacts. Such action is a misdemeanor of the first degree. However, if the damage to such Property is greater than $100 or if any property removed is greater than $100 in value, then the perpetrator is guilty of a felony of the third degree. 224 [email protected], as was the case recently on Manasota Key, land altering acti- vities will accidentally and unexpectedly uncover human remains. In such an event, in accordance with this statute, human remains must riot be removed and all work within at least a three meter (10 feet) radius of the find mist cease. Chapter 872.05 enumerates the procedures that should then be followed. 'Wien preservation in place is not possible, human remains and associated artifacts in archaeologivcal contexts must be removed in a professionally acceptable and sensitive manner. For historic Native. American remains, consultation and coordination with the Florida Governor's C=,r-il on Indian Af f aim is necessary . . . (Tesar 1988:24). Marry sites located in the coastal zone of Sarasota County may contain I== remains. These site types include aboriginal burial mounds, as well as shell middens and urnmrked historic cemeteries. It is urged that the Depart- ment of Resources take a leadership role in increasing public awareness of this recent legislation, and the need to protect all burial sites, wbether marked or unmarked. In 1988, the Florida Anthropological Society (FAS) published an informational brochure highlighting the : 31211'- to Chapter 872. Public distibutiai of this document can be facilitated through the local FAS chapter, Time Sifters, Inc. 9. Public One of the most pu^vrful defenses against the des- truction of slcpuficarrt historic resources is the stewardship exercised by an educated and concerned citizenry. Commmity-oriented educational opportun- ites that highlight the hu;nr Ance of archaeological and architectural sites is essential to preservation. one such avenue of ecb ntion is through the development of interpretive displays and informational brochures for county parks. several significant and locally important historic resources are located within cour&y parkland. Muse include the Paulsen Point site at Indian Mound Park; the Prodie Midden as well as Keith/Prodie estate at Phillippi Park; a small shell midden and historic at the Hermitage; and numerous ceramic, lithic and artifact scatter type sites at Knight's Trail Park. With the *on of the Sarasota County Departments of Historical Resource--., Natural Resourcm, and Parks and Recreation, interpretive ed,@[email protected] centers could integrate historic [email protected] concerns with ivi= xmtal edb ation programs. Sar-dsota axmty is also f ortunate to have several organizations wtuch sponsor a variety of educational out-reach program, such as the conduct of. informative lecture series, walking tours, and other activities geared toward historic resources preservation. Amcng these is the Time Sifters, a local chapter of the Florida Anthropolgocal Society. Advocate groups such as this are themselves a valuable local resource. 225 BIBLIOGRAPHY 1924 Vamo-Bristo Promotional Brochure. Brochure and map on file, Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources. 1976 Englewood, Florida Proudly Salutes An Historic Occasion: America's Bicentiennial 1776-1976. Almy, Marion M. 1976 A Survey and Assessment of Known Archaeological Sites in Sarasota County, Florida. Master of Arts Thesis, University of South Florida, Department of Anthropology, Tampa. 1978 The Archaeological Potential of. Soil Survey Reports. The Florida Anthropologist 31:75-91. 1985a An Archaeological Survey of Selected Portions of the City of Venice, Florida. Manuscript on file, ACI., Sarasota. 1985b Cultural Resources Survey of the Venice Center, Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, ACI, Sarasota. 1986 Archaeological Assessment Survey of the word of Faith Complex, Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, ACI, Sarasota. 1988 Phase I Archaeological Reconnaissance of Area "All, Oscar Scherer State Recreation Area, Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, ACI, Sarasota. Almy, Marion M. and George M. Luer 1986 Final Report. An Archaeological site Assessment survey of the Barclay Tract, osprey, Florida. Manuscript on file, ACI, Sarasota. 1987 Spanish Point - A Guide to Prehistory. Osprey: Spanish Point at the Oaks. Almy, Marion M. and J. Raymond Williams 1978 An Archaeological and Historical survey of the Proposed City of Sarasota Wastewater Effluent Irrigation Site in Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, ACI, Sarasota. Archaeological Consultants, Inc. 1977 Immokalee Technical Memorandum No. 7, Archaeological Investigations. Manuscript on file, Archaeological Consultants, Inc. (ACI), Sarasota. 1988a Cultural Resources Assessment for Laurel Road Widening, Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, ACI, Sarasota. 1988b Archaeological Investigations: Report for Spanish Point Site Restoration Design Team. Manuscript on file, Spanish Point at the Oaks, Osprey. 226 Archaeological Consultants, Inc. 1988c. An Archaeological Site Assessment Survey of Corey's Landing, longboat My, Florida. Manuscript on file, ACI, Sarasota. 1989a An Archaeological Site Asses&v--nt Survey of the North Creek Golf Villas Development and Immediately Adjoining Area. Manuscript on file, ACI, Sarasota. 1989b An Archaeological Survey of the Eagle - Point Property, Venice, Florida. Manuscript on file, ACI, Sarasota. 1990 An Archaeological Survey of the Stacjtx= Subdivision, Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, ACI, Sarasota. Arcbi ba 1 d, - Lauren 1988 Historic Resource Review Manual. Manuscript on file, Sarasota Coun- ty MM, Sarasota. Archibald, lauren and Joan Deming 1988 A Rmse I Axclmeological Survey of Phillippi Plantation Park (Keith- Prodie Estate), Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on File, Sarasota County Parks and Recreation Department, Sarasota. Arnall, Betty (Elizabeth H.) 1987 Laurel Turpentine and lumber Narrative. Manuscript on file, Venice Area collection, Venice Pkiblic Library. 1988a Taped Interview with I'M" Mabel Hudson of Laurel, Florida; corzles- pondence with Muriel Thompson regarding location of turpentine still, homing, church and cemetery on Laurel Road; Taped interview with Eva m=Keithan zeigler and Muriel Thauqpson, On file, Venice Area Historical Collection, Venice Public Library. Arnall, Betty (Elizabeth H.) and Janet Snyder Matthews 1988 Venice post office Narrative. Manuscript on file, Venice Area Historical Collection, Venice Public Library. Attorneyls Abstract and Title Services, Inc. 1951 Abstract of Title to Certain Lands in Sarasota County, Florida: Lot 14 and W1/2 Lot 16 Block H. (Prepared for the Uplands, Inc.). Amstin, Robert J., Janice R. Ballo, and Wward HanSm 1989 Cultural Resource Assessment Survey Of the Proposed Sarasota Conference Center Development site, Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, Piper Air-haeological Research, Inc. (PAR), St. Petersburg- Austin, Roberti., Janice R. Ballo and Kenneth W. Hardin 1988a Cultural Resource Asses . Survey of the Palmer Venture Develop- ment Parcel Q, Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, Piper Archaeological Research, Inc. (PAR), St. Petersburg- 1988b Cultural Resource Survey of the Palmer Venture Develop- merrt Parcel R, Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, PAR, St. Petexsburg. 227 Austin, Robert J. and Michael Russo 1989 Limited Excavations at the catfish Creek Site (8So608), Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, PAR, St. Petersburg. Brooks, Mark J. 1983 An Archaeological. Survey of the Preserve at Misty Creek Property, Sacasita County, Florida. manuscript on file, PAR, Sarasota. Brinton, Daniel G. 1859 Notes on the Florida Peninsula. Its Literary History. Indian Tribes and Antiquities. Philadelphia. Bullen, Ripley P, 1950 Tests at the Whittaker Site, Sarasota, Florida. The Florida Anthropologist 3:21-30. 1959 The Transitional Period of Florida. Southeastern Archaeological Conference Newsletter, No. 6, pp. 43-53. 1965 Florida's Prehistory. IN Florida from Indian Trail to Space Age, by Carlton Tebeau. Delray Beach: Southern Publishing Company. 1970 The Transitional Period of the Southern Southeastern United States as Viewed from Florida, or the Roots of the Gulf Tradition. Southeastern Archaeological conference Bulletin, No. 6, pp. 63-70. 1971 The Sarasota County Mound, Englewood, Florida. The Florida Anthropologist 24:1-30. 1975 A Guide to the Identification of Florida Projectile Points. Gainesville: Kendall Books. 1978 Tocobaga Indians and the Safety Harbor Culture. In Tacachale: Essays on the Indians of Florida and Southeastern Georgia During the Historic Period, edited by J.T. Milanich and Samuel Proctor. Rigley P. Bullen Monographs in Anthropology and History, No. 1, pp. 50-58. Bullen, Ripley and Adelaide K. Bullen 1976 The Palmer Site. Florida Anthropological Society Special Publication Number 8, Burger, B. W. 1984 Cultural Resources Survey of the Gulfstream Land and Development Corporation Properties in Venice, Florida, T39S, R19E, Sections 9, 15, 16, and 27, for Adley Associates Inc., Sarasota, Florida. Manuscript on file, Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources (DHR), Sarasota. 1987 Letter to Mr. Gordon Stoltzner RE: Phase I Cultural Resources Assessment Survey of Proposed Manasota Bay Estates Subdivision. Manuscript on file, Florida Division of Historical Resources, Tallahassee. Cashatt, Robert n.d. Old Englewood Tour. 228 aausen, Carl J. and Marion M. Almy 1976 Florida's Little Salt Spring: A Site Preserving Unique Late Pleistocene/liblocene Cultural and Etwironmental Evidence. Paper presented 'at the 35th Annual Meeting of the Southeastern Archaeological Conference, Knoxville. Clausen-, Carl J., H.K. Brooks and A.B. Wesolowsky -1975 Florida Spring Confirmed as 10,000 Year Old Early Man Site. Flori AnthroMlggical Society Publications No. 7. Clausen, Carl J., A.D. Cohen, Cesare Emiliani, J.A. Holman, and J.J. Stipp 1979 Little Salt Spring, Florida: A unique Underwater Site. science 203:609-614. Cockrell. W.A. 1973 Remains of Early 'Man Recovered frart Spring Cave. Arghives and History 4:3. 1989 The Manasota Key Burial Site. Paper presented at the 41st Annual Meeting of the Florida [email protected] Society, Jacksonville. Cockrell, W.A. and, Larry Murphy 1978 Pleistocene Man in Florida. Archaeolggy of Eastern North Ameri 6:1-13. Cortes, Josephine 0. 1976 The History of Early D3gL1e%,;ood. Punta Gorda: F`uncoast, Publishing Caqmny- curry, Claude T. n.d. - Autobiography. On file at Venice Area Historical Collection, Venice Public Library., Dall, W.A. 1887 Notes on the Geology of Florida. American Journal of Science 34:161- 170 (_13exies 2). Davis, Doris 1979 Ihe Ttmamj I-rail - Mick, Mosquitoes, and Motorists: A Riato Essay. History 1:14-24. Davis, Doris and J.A. Zilles . 1975 Interview with Mrs. Mable Curry. April 4, 1975. Estabrook, Richard W. and Robert J. Austin 1989 Slell Scatter Sites in South Florida. Paper presented at the 46th Ax=al Meeting of the Ar chaeological Conference, Twipa. Fales, John and Doris Davis 1961 An Archaeological and Historical Survey of Sarasota County, Florida. manuscript on file, Sarasota County CM, Sarasota. Florida-PiedMont. Directory QXVMY 1922 Manatee County Directory-- 1921-1922. Asheville, N.C.: Florida- Piedmont Directory C=ipany Publishers. 229 Frank, Stan n.d. Englem)od's History. Sarasota Herald Tribune. Fraser, Linda 1980 Faunal Analysis of the Venice Site. Bureau of Historic Sites and es Bulletin 6:77-80. Garfinkel, Richard M. 1989 A- de to [email protected] Higtaric Architecture. Gainesville: University of Florida Press. C-cc&wjn, Larry, JoLee Pearson and Jobn Fioroni 1978 Salvage E=avations at the Brothers Site, Sarasota County, Florida. The Florida [email protected] 31:117-127. Griffin, J. B. 1952 ArcheolgV of the Eastern United States. University of Chicago Press. Grimes, David 1986 1980s Surround Tire-Warp Cammmity of Vano. Sarasota Tr May 25, 1986. Grismer, Karl 1946 The == of Sarasota: M.E. Russell. Gyrisco, Goffrey M. 1980 11593, Information Related to Responsibilities of the Secretary of Interior, Section 3, Executive Order 11593: Legal Tools to Preserve Archaeological Sites. U.S. Department of the Interior, National Park Service. HarcUn, Kemeth W. and, Janice R. Ballo 1987a Cultural Resource Survey of Palmer Venture Development Parcel KK, Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, PAR, St. Petersburg. 1987b Cultural Rwwource [email protected] Survey of Palmer Venture Development Parcels FDG, Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, PAR, St. Petersburg. 1987c Cultural [email protected] Assesmnent Survey of Palmer Venture Development Parcels PL, Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, PAR, Sa 1sota. Hardin, Kenneth W. and Harry M. Piper 1984 Manasota: %hich way to the Bortler? Paper presented at the 36th Annual Meeting of the Florida Academy of Sciences, Boca Raton. Heilprin, A. 1887 Explorations on the Westcoast of Florida and in the Okeechobee Wilderness. Transactions of the Free Institute of science. Philadelphia. 230 Historic Property Associates 1987 (Draft) Historic Preservation Element, Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, Sarasota county Department of Historical Resources Archives. Hrdlicka, Ales 1907 Skeletal Remains suggesting or Attributed to Early map in North America. Bureau of American Ethnology Bulletin 33. 1918 Recent Discoveries Attributed to Early Man in America. Bureau of American Ethno 66:1-67. Hunt, A. Lowell 1950 Florida Today. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons. Hunt, E. L. Roy 1986 Managing Growth's Impact on Florida's Historic Resources. In Perspective on Florida's Growth Management Act of 1985, Edited by John M. DeGrove and Julian Conrad Juergensmeyer. Lincoln Institute of Land Policy, Monograph Number 85-5. Pp. 101-114. Huskey, Judy 1983 Discovery of Burial Ground Surprises Marry Residents. Sarasota Tribune, September 5. 1985 Venice Looks Back 100 Years to Pioneer Vision and Pluck. Kenyon, Kathy and Robin Strassburger 1977 An Archaeological and Historical Survey of the Proposed City of Sarasota 201 Wastewater Management Facilities, Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, Florida Division of Historical Resources, Tallahassee. Larson, Lewis H. 1980 Aboriginal Subsistence Technology on the Southeastern Coastal Plain During the Late Prehistoric Period. Gainesville: University Presses of Florida. Leidy, Joseph 1889 Notice of Some Fossil Human Bones.Transactions of the Wagner Free Institute of science. Philadelphia. Luer, George M. 1977a The Roberts Bay Site, Sarasota, Florida. The Florida Anthropologist 30: 121-133. 1977b Excavations at the Old Oak Site, Sarasota, Florida: A late Weeden Island - Safety Harbor Period Site. The Florida Anthropologist 30:37-55. 1986 Same Interesting Archaeological Occurrences Of Quahog Shells on the Gulf Coast of Central and Southern Florida. The Florida Anthropo- logist 39:125-159. 231 Luer, George M. and Marion M. Almy 1979 Three Aboriginal shell Middens on Longboat Key, Florida: Manasota Period sites of Barrier Island Exploitation. The Florida Anthro- Doi 32:34-45. 1980 The Development of Sane Aboriginal Pottery of the Central Peninsular Gulf Coast of Florida. The Florida Anthropologist 33:207-225. 1981 Temple Mounds of the Tampa Bay Area. The Florida Anthrpologist 34:127-155. 1982 A Definition of the manasata Culture. The Florida Anthropologist 35:34-58. 1987 The Laurel Mound (8So98) and Radial Burials with Comments on the Safety Harbor Period. The Florida Anthropologist 40:301-320. Luer, George M., Marion m. Almy, Dana Ste. Claire and Robert J. Austin 1987 The Myakkahatcbee Site (8So397), A Large Multi-period Inland from the Shore site in Sarasota County, Florida. The--Florida Anthropolo- gist 40:137-153. Maddex, Diane (Editor) 1985 All About Old Buildings: The Whole Preservation Catalog. Washinton, D.C.: The Preservation Press. National Trust for Historic Preservation. Marquardt, William H. 1985 Archaeological Reconnaissance on Casey Key, Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, University of Florida, Institute of Archaeology and Paleoenvircnmental Studies, Gainesville. Marth, Del 1973 Yesterday's, Sarasota Including Sarasota County. Miami: E.A. Seemann Publihig. Inc. Matthews, Janet S. lderness. A Settlement History of Manatee River Sarasota agy 1523-188 Tulsa: Caprim Press. 1983b History. In Spanish Point at the Oaks: History and Archaology. Gulf Coast Heritage Association, Inc., Sarasota, Florida, pp. Hl- H60. 1989 Venice. Journey from Horse and Chaise. Sarasota: Pine Level Press. MAlester, Virginia and Lee 32qW.Alester 1989 Field Guide to American New York: Alfred A. Knopf. McCarthy, John F. and Glenna M. Dame 1983a A History of the Maakka River, Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, Sarasota County Department of Historical Rescurces Archives. 232 McCarthy, John F. and Glenna M. Dame 1983b, A History of the Sarasota County Gun Range Site Containing a Brief History of the Shakett Creek Region. Manuscript on file, Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources Archives. Meserve, Andrew I. 1897 A Complete General Directory of Manatee County. Florida. Braidentown, Florida. Milanich, Jerald T. 1972 Excavations at the Yellow Bluffs-Whitaker Mound, Sarasota, Florida. The Florida Arthropologist 15:21-41. Milanich, Jerald T. and. Charles H. Fairbanks 1980 Florida. Archaeology New York: Academic Press. Miller, James J. 1974 An Archaeological and Historical Survey of the Palmer 0aks Tract in Sarasorta. County,- Florida Division of Archives, History and Records Management (FDAHRM), Miscellaneous Project. Report Series Number 20. 1983 Archaeology. In Spanish Point at the Oaks: History and Archaeo- logy. Gulf Coast Heritage Association , Inc., Sarasota, Florida, pp. AI-A13. Monroe, Elizabeth B., Sharm Wells and Marion Almy 1982 Historical , Architectural, and Archaeological Survey of Sarasota, Florida. Bureau of Historic sites and Properties, Miscellaneous Project. Report Series Number , Tallahassee. Moore, J. E. 1932a The Indian Mound East of laurel, Florida. Copy of manuscript on file, A=, Sarasota. 1932b, Log of Laurel Mound. (With 1936 Addendum). CON of typescript on file, ACI, Sarasota. Morgan, Arm and Colin Naylor (Editors) 1987 Chicago: St. James Press. Pettengill, George W., Jr. 1952 The Story of the Florida Railroads. The Railway and Locomotive Historical Society Bulletin No. 80. Boston. Piper Archaeological Research, Inc. 1987 An Aogical and Historical Study Of the Ringling-Macarthur Reserve, Sarasota County, Florida. Technical Report No. 3. Manuscript on file, Sarasota County Department Of Historical Resoures Archives. Polk, R.L. & Co. 1924a Sarasota Jacksonville: R.L. Polk & Co. 1924b Sarasota County D Jacksonville: R.L. Polk & Co (Also for years 1926, 1936, 1938, 1940, 1945 and 1947) 233 Roberts, Walter van B. 1968 manasota Key, Florida, some Reminiscences. Manuscript on file, Elsie Qurk Library, Englewood. Royal, William. R. and Eugenie Clark 1959 Natural avservation of Mum &-din, W-;mm Mineral Springs, Florida. AzLerican 26:285-287. Ruppe ,Reynold J. 1980 7he Archaeology of Drowned Terrestrial Sites: A Preliminary Report. Bureau of Historic sites and ProDerties Bull 6:35-45. Tallahassee. 1987 ribe Location and Assessment of Underwater Sites. In Wet Si ArchaeolgV, edited by Barbara A. Purdy. Caldwell.' N.J.: Telford Press, pp. 55-68. Ruppe, Tricia A. 1980 Analysis of the Mollusks from the Venice Beach Site. Bureau o Historic Sites and Bmpg=ieri Bull 6:61-69. Saltman, David 1989 Groups Bicker Over Church's Renovation. Sarasota Herald August 15, 1989. Sarasota County Planning Department 1989 Plan. 7he Revised and Updated Sarasota County Comprehensive Siepard Associates 1980 Master Plan. The Oaks Preservation Center. Simpson, Joseph H. 1915 History of Manatee County, Florida. Braident0m HOMI - Rxtc)- copied and bound copy on file, Sarasota County Department of Historical Resources Archives. Smith, Marion F. Jr. 1987 Guide, to the Historical structure Form of the Florida Master Site File. Tallahassm: Florida Division of Historical Resources. Souders, Barbara J. 1978 Vamo IfGem of the Bay," Regains Former Luster. Sarasota April 18, 1978, Page 10A. Stevenson, Katherine Cole and H. Ward Jandl 1986 Houses by Mail: A Guide to Houser; from Sears. Roebuck and Washington, D.C.: The Preservation Press. Stickney, Benjamin 1972 1903 House is Beach landmark. Sarasota Herald-Tr October 4, 1972., Section V, Page 1. Stiles, Wilson 1989 Interoffice Memo to Linda Hawk, &mironmental Specialist, Coastal Zone Division, RE: Minor work Permit No. 89-64. 234 Strickland, Mark . 1987 Local Church a Landmark? Encrlewood Times, June 20, 1987.' Sulzer, Elmer G. 1971 Ghost RaijMgdg of Sarasota Sarasota County Historical commission, Sarasota. Tebeau, Charlton W. 1971 A History of Florida. Miami: Universityof Miami Press. Tesar, Louis D. 1986a. Historic Preservation and Florida's Local Government comprehensive Planning Process. IIhe Florida AnthropoLogi: 39:257-279. 1986b Historic Preservation Considerations in Local Government Camprehen- sive Planning. Manuscript on file, Bureau of Historic Preservation, Division of 1 Resources, Tallaha 1986c The Historic Preservation of Local [email protected], Compre- hensive Planning: r1he -InVortance of Public Participation. Marru- script on file, Bureau of Historic Preservation, Division of Resources, Tallahassee. 1987 The Historic Preservation compliance Review Process of the Florida of State, Division of Historical Resources. Manuscript on file, Florida Division of Historical Resources, Tallahassee. Thompson, Sharyn M.E. 1988 An Historical Overview of the Edson Keith Estate. Manuscript on file, Sarasota county Department of Historical Resources. Towrohend, F. Trench 1875 Wild Life in Florida with a Visit to Cuba. London: Hurst and Blackett. Tricebock, Kenneth F. 1973 =ore Sarasota and Vic Sarasota: Sarasota county Historical commission. United States of AcjricultLire 1959 Soil of Sarasota County. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office. Warner, Joe G. 1980 Biscuits and IT-aters: A History of Cattle BanghiM in Manatee St. Petersburg: Great outdoors Printing Co. Werndli, Phillip 1985 An Historical Architectural survey, Venice, Florida. Mnuscript on file, Sarasota C='rty Planning Department- Willey, Gordon R. 1949 Archeology of the Florida Gulf Coast. Smithsonian Instltutlcn Miscellaneous Collecti Volume 113. Washington, D.C. 235 Willis, Raymond P. 1985 Archaeological and Historical Survey of the 500 Acre Prestancia Tract in Sarasota County, Florida. Manuscript on file, Sarasota County DHR, Sarasota. Zilles, J.A. 1975 Interview with Edgar Curry, September-22, 1975. Appendix A: Sample of Florida Master Site File Form for Recordirxg Historic Structures. Page 1 HISTORICAL STRUCTURE FORM Site 8 original FLORIDA MASTER SITE FILE update. Recorder SITE NAME HISTORIC CONTEXTS NAT. REGISTER CATEGORY OTHER NAMES OR MSF NOS COUNTY OWNERSHIP TYPE PROJECT NAME DHR NO LOCATION. (Attach copy of USGS map, sketch-map of immediate area) ADDRESS CITY VICINITY OF / ROUTE TO SUBDIVISION BLOCK NO LOT NO PLAT OR OTHER MAP TOWNSHIP RANGE SECTION 1/4 1/4-1/4 IRREGULAR SEC? y n LAND GRANT USGS 7.51 MAP UTX: ZONE EASTING NORTHING COORDINATES: LATITUDE -D -M S LONGITUDE D M S HISTORY ARCHITECT: F M L PUILDER: F M L CONST DATE CIRCA RESTORATION DATE(S): MODIFICATION DATE(S): MOVE: DATE ORIG LOCATION ORIGINAL USE (S) PRESENT USES (S) DESCRIPTION STYLE PLAN: EXTERIOR INTERIOR NO.: STORIES OUTBLDGS PORCHES DORMERS STRUCTURAL SYSTEM(S) EXTERIOR FABRIC(S) FOUNDATION: TYPE MATLS INFILL PORCHES ROOF: TYPE SURFACING 'SECONDARY STRUCS. CHIMNEY: NO MTLS LOCNS WINDOWS EXTERIOR ORNAMENT CONDITION SURROUNDINGS NARRATIVE (general, interior, landscape, context; 3 lines only) ARCHAEOLOGICAL REMAINS AT THE SITE FMSF ARCHAEOLOGICAL FORM COMPLETED? y n (IF Y, ATTACH) ARTIFACTS OR OTHER REMAINS AppendiX B: Sample of Florida Master Site File Form for Recording Archaeological Sites. APPENDIX B Page I ARCHAEOLOGICAL SITE FORM Site #8 . original FLORIDA MASTER SITE FILE Recorder ,,.._,jpdate Version 1.1: 11/88 Field Date SITE NAME(S) PROJECT NAME DHR-#. OWNERSHIP _privato-profit _priv-nonprof -priv-indiv _priv-unsp -city _county 2ederal USGS MAP NAME CITY UIX- ZONE 16 / 17 EASTING NORTHING/_J_J_J._/_J_/2/ COUNTY TWP RANGE SECTION ADDRESS/VICINITY OF/ROUTE TO (Optional) LATITUDE d In s LONGITUDE d m 5 TYPE OF SITE (All that apply) _yrahist unspecified -him aboriginal -hist nonaboriginal -hist unspecified SETTING STRUCTURES OR FFA =RES FUNCTION DENSITY -land site -aboriginal boat -fort -road segment -non* specified -unk--own _.ag;ic/far= bldg -midden - then midd*n -campsite -single artifact _watland fresh -burial mound MA unspecified - shell mound -loctractive site -difftm scatter 21 [email protected] salt/tidal -building rem&= _zmaxion -shipwreck -habitagn/homest4ad -don" scatter>2/m -cametery/grave - mound unspecif _subsurface features -farmstead -variable density _.!Andwwuw -Oump/rdudd, - -Plantation -wall, -villace/town -earthworks _yladorm mound -wbwf/dmk -quarry HISTORIC CONTEXTS (All that apply) -22"knovm culture -aboriginal unspecif _,hist unspecified ABORIGINAL. -Early Azchaic -Gladsa l1b -Manaacta St. Jobna-unspecif [email protected] Creek -Alachua _Early Swft Creek -Gladw lIc -Middle Azchaic -St. Job= I -Transition&L [email protected] unqw- _EngWwood -Glad4a M -Mount Taylor -St. Johns I& -Wooden Island -Balle Clads -Fort W111ton - Gladw III& - Norwood -St. John& rb -We*den Island I _polls Clads I -Gladsss unspecif -Gladw Mb -orange -St. Johns II -W*Wen Island 11 [email protected] Glade II -Glades I -Glad" Mc -Paloo-Indian - St. Job= IIS -Bell* Glade 1U -Gladea I& -Xickorr Pond -Penzacola -St. Johns Ilb, -B411e Clads IV -Glad" Ib -Late Archaic [email protected] raland -St. Johns Ilc [email protected] Pond Gla" 11 -La" Swift Creek - Safety Harbor -Santa Ross -prehistc-scAtramic _Peptford -ciadw M -L'son-jefiemn -St. Augustin, -Seminole -prsthisk-cerwnic NONABORIGINAL. -lot Spa 1700-63 -Amer Tarr 1321-44 -Postreca ISM-97 -Depnn 1930-40 -American 1321- __Ij*. Spanish unsp, -Brit 1763-1783 -Statehood 1345-40 -SpWar 1398-1916 -WW U 1941-49 -American -Is* Spa 1513-99 -ZdSpa 1783-UI21 -Clvil War 1362-46 -WW 11917-1920 -Modern 1960- -American 1900- -."t Spu IGW-99 -Raconser 1366-79 -Boa 1921-1929 -Afro-American RECORDER'S EVALUATION OF SITE Eligible for National Register? _yea -ugly. need umformation - Lnoufficient information - Significant as part of district? -y" * -no _Uaiy, need information - insufficient information Significant at the local level? -.7411 -no - _&Wy, need information -innufflcient information SIGNIFICANCE STATEMENT FOR COMPUTER FILES (Limit to 3 lines herv, attach full justification) DHR USE ONLy ------------------------------------------------------------- DHR USE ONL DATE LISTED KEEPER DETERMINATION OF ELIGIBILITY*. Yes No Date ON NAT REG. SHPO EVALUATION OF ELIGIBILITY: Yes No Date Yes No Date LOCAL DETERMINATION OF ELIGIBILITY. Local Office Florida Master Site FiladDivision of Historical Rasources/The C&pitol/[email protected], FL 32399-Q2S0/9G4-487-2= Appendix C: Data S=wxy: Previously Recorded Archaeological Sites in the Coastal Zcne Sbxty Area. Site Site Name Map [email protected] Date DQ NR 1. 8Sol Englewood Mourd ENG BK WE2;SAFE 5 E 2. 8So2 Osprey (Palmer). LAU SH, SK ARC-SAFE 2 A + HIST. 3. 8So3 Pool Hamnock LAU HAB WE - SAFE 6 C 4. 8So6 Phillipi Creek SAR SK ? 5 E 5. 8So7 Midnight Pass EK SK ? 5 E 6. 8So8 Manasata Key ENW SK GL 5 D (Davis Midden) 7. 8S09 Cove VEN SH BW;GL; 3 E CRAN;SJ 8. 8SolO Forked Creek ENW SK GL;CRAN; 5 E Point Midden PER;SJ 9. 8soll nystery River ENW SK ARC;NAN 2 B, Point 10. 8Sol2 Second Point ENW SC 6 E North . . . 11. 8So13 Davids ENG SK ? 3 C 12. 8So14 LarW Hound ENG HK ? 2 B/C 13. 8So15 Englewmod ENG SC ARCL 4 E Cemetery 14. 8So17 Casey Key BK SK WE 5 E 15. 8So23 Paulson Point ENG SM TRAN - 2 B SAFE 16. 8So24 Gory VEN PAL - WE 3 B 17. 8So27 Davis Midden BK SK ARCL;MAN; 3 C SAFE 18. 8So28 Mosquito Control LW SH ?* 3 E 19. 8So29 Burial Mound 1AU EK ? 3 D, Island site Site Name Map Type Date DQ NR 20. 8So3O Burial Island LAU SK ? 3 D Midden 21. 8So53 Coconut Bayou SAR SK ? 5 E Midden 22. 8So54 Out of Door SAR SK ? 5 E School 23. 8So55 Field Club SAR SK 1 5 E 24. 8So56 Roberts Bay SAR SH MAN 3 B 25. 8So57 Martin Midden SAR SK MAN 5 E 26. 8So58 James Haley SAR SK ? 2 D 27. 8So59 Osprey Point LAU SK MAN 2 B 28. 8So6O Wood Midden LAU SM ? 3 C 29. 8So61 Osca Scherer im SK 5 E State Park 30. 8So62 Sal-E Creek MWnd LAU EN ? 5 E 31. 8So63 Horse & Chaise VEN SK ? 5 E 32. 8So64 Forked Creek ENW SH ? 4 E Midden 33. 8So65 Cherokee Midden ENG SK ? 5 E 34. 8So68 Matheny Creek BK SK ? 5 E 35. 8So69 Indianola EK BM WE;SAFE 3 B 36. 8So75 Holiday Had r BK SK ? 4 D 37. 8So82 Pinehurst Spg. BK H? ? 5 E 38. 8So83 Ralston Mourid 13K BK WE;SAFE 1 B (446) of 7 39. 8So84 Hansenls Landing SAR "Village 3 C! 40. SS090 Townsend Shores LAU Sm Si 5 E 41. 8So98 Laurel Mound LAU EK SAFE 5 E 42. 8So100 Manasorta Key VEN SK ? 5 E Bridge site Site Name Map Type Date DQ NR 43. 8So399 Blind [email protected];s Midden ENG, SK MANA 6 D ENW 44. 8So4OO Hatchett Creek I VEN SC ? 2 E 45. 8So434 Sprenthall VEN is PAL-ARC 5 E 46. 8So438 Marti n McGuire LAU SK ? 1 B 47. 8So439 Eagle Point VEN LS ARC 5 E 48. 8So443 Saleman VEN is ARC 4 E 49. 8So461 Florida Land LAU Sm ARC 5 E 50. 8So594 Barclay LAU LS ARC 5 E 51. 8So595 Melnick LAU Sm ARC;MAN 4 E WE;SAFE 52. 8So598 Stoltzrier ENG SK WE-SAFE 2 B 53. 8So6O6 Oscar Scherer LAU SC WE-SAFE 3 C 54. 8So608 Catfish Creek LAU SC MNN-WE 2 B 55. 8So616 Phillippi Flake SAR IS ARC 2 E Scatter 56. 8So617 Prodie Shell SAR SK MAN 1 B Midden 57. 8So618 Phillippi Creek SAR HR 20th c. 3 E Historic Refuse 58. 8So1292 Manasota Key ENW CEK, MAN 4 C Burial SK 59. 8So1301 Eagle Point II VEN CS MAN 4 E 60. 8So1302 Eagle Point III VEN SK MAN 2 B. 61. 8So1853 Eagle Point/ VEN RD 1920s+ 2 C Tamiami Trail LEE= FM APPMIX C AND D MR (USGS 2jgdzmngle): ENG Eri4lewood LAU Laurel SAR Sarasota BK Bird Keys ENW Englewood NW VEN Venice Site BM Burial Mound SK Shell Midden SC Shell Scatter IS Lithic Scatter CS Ceramic Scatter AS Artifact Scatter L Lithics Only CEK Cemetery HR Historic Refuse RD Road Segment S 'A Single Artif act Miscellaneous Historic Date: PAL Paleo-Indian ARC Archaic ARCL Late Archaic IRAN Transitional MAN Manasota. WE Weeden Island SAFE Safety Harbor GL Glad BLG Belle Glade CRAN Orange si St. Johns PER Perico, Island Appendix D: Data Sumary: Newly Facarded i Cal -gi in the Coastal StLi&y At-ea. Site Name Map Type DQ NR 1. 8So1313 Park Stream IAU CS 1 E 2. 8So1314 Rustic Road IAU LS 2 E 3. 8So1315 Scrub Thicket LAU CS 1 E 4. 8So1316 Pahnetto, LAU CS 1 E 5. 8So1317 Creek Shore IAU CS 1 E 6. 8So1318 Cindy LAU LS 1 E 7. 8So1319 FoxIs Sherds LAU CS 1 E 8. 8So1320 Horse Pasture LAU CS 1 E 9. 8Sol321 Wilcox Ceramic LAU CS 1 C 10. 8So1322 curious cow IAU CS 1 E 11. 8SO1323 Sara LM LS 1 E 12. 8So1324 One Flake LAU Sh 1 E 13. 8So1325 Fox Creek IAU CS 1 E 14. 8So1326 [email protected] cow LAU SA 1 E 15. 8So1327 Fox's Flakes IM IS 1 E 16. 8So1328 Jumping Fish LAU SA 1 E 17. 8So1329 Filicift.-S Tr. LAU AS 1 C 18. 8So1343 Linda LAU CS 4 E 19. 8SoI344 victor LAU CS 4 E 20. 8So1345 Laurel Cemet. LAU CM 2 C 21. 8So1346 Webb St. Scat. LAU AS; 4 E HR 22. 8So1347 Bemie LAU L 5 E 23. 8So1348 Lychee lane IAU SC 5 E 24. 8So1349 Wall Midden IM SK 2 B site Name Map Type IDQ NR 25. 8So1350 Haucke IAU SC 4 E 26. 8So1351 Oaks/Vamo LAU SM 2 B 27. 8So1352 Catfish Cr. Br/ ER; 4 C Webb Road RD 28. 8So1355 Osprey P.O. LAU SC 5 E 29. 8So1356 Sack of Sherds LAU CS 6 D 30. 8So1357 Blackburn Bay LAU SK 2 B 31. 8So1358 Lewn Bay Cem. ENG CK 2 B 32. 8So1359 Lemm Bay ENG 4 E [email protected] Cmplex 33. 8-9o1360 Paulsen Point Mr. CK 3 D Cenetery 34. 8So1361 Section Four VEN SH I E Midden 35. 8So1362 Coleman/ VEN CS 2 E Nantucket Rd. 36. SSo1363 Higel, Midden VEN SM 5 E 37. 8So1364 Higel Bay-kde VEN 4 E 38.' 8So1365 Fiddler's Isl. VEN 4 E 39. 8So1366 An&,orage VEN SA 2 E 40. 8So1367 Venice Cemet. VEN CK 1 B 41. 8So1368 Woodmere VEN 4 E 42. 8So1369 Johnson ENG SM 2 C 43. 8So137b Severinsen ENG SM 2 C 44. 8So1371 Bouffard ENW SM 2 B 45. 8So1372 Hermitage ENW SM 4 E 46. 8So1373 6855 M.K. Rd. ENW SM 3 C 47. 8So1374 Ford ENW SK 3 C 48. SSo1375 O'Brien ENW SM 2 C site Name Map Type DQ NR 49. 8So1376 Lucke Midden BK Sm 2 B 50. 8So1377 Heron Lagoon BK Sm 2 C East 51. **8Sol378 Cedars Midden BK Sm 2 C 52. 8Sol379 crisp Point BK SK 6 D 53. 8So1380 Caravelli SAR L 5 E 54. 8So1381 Hansen/Pmberts SAR a4 1 C 55. 8So1382 Phillippi Delta SAR SR 1 E 56. 8So1383 Immokalee G SAR SC 5 E 57. 8So1384 Mangrove Vio- SK Sm 4 E lation 58. 8So1866 Englewood Bay ENW SC 4 E Park 59. 8So1867 Pocono Trail VEN Sm 2 B 60. 8So1868 Pirates Midden BK Sm 3 C '(986T TTPUMM :BanOS) ;DTTT-Al-abTH buTMTOUT ';EP'FMA JO 14TO aq4 U'r seqTs TRmiq--)a4Tq.,)-w pgpxa)ea ATsnoTA8Zd :2[ XT -Hi go up Ll ..;i CITT LIMIS FIGURE 2: SURVEY AREA* FIGURE 5 BAY v,05FVLTS 4, CITY OF V 03 That portion of the C constructed in 1926-2 to John Nolen's Maste existence in 1985. LI :FIMO 0 00 0.4 IC= ___jimnnp 0 0 W-0-01 U -0 000 io 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 rm 0, 00 par. F-1. CUL 0 0. 0 ;c 0 "a oca 00 GULF OF 00 r, MEXICO 0 0 00 00 , 1.11 0 a00 Doc LEGEt Contributing o Contributing a Florida Mode MAPPED STRUCTURES STATUS NBR STREET NANIE MOD 615 Alhambra Road CBA 408 So. Armada.Road CBA 424 So. Armada Road CBA 428 So. Armada Road CBA 432 So. Armada Road. CBA 504 So. Armada Road CBA 512 So. Armada Road CBA 516 So. Armada Road MOD 612 So. Armada Road C 708 So. Armada Road CBA 710 So. Armada Road CBA 205 The Corso C 613 Granada Avenue C 625 Granada Avenue CBA 713 Groveland Avenue CBA 716 Groveland Avenue CBA 717 Groveland Avenue C 721 Groveland Avenue C 725 Groveland Avenue CBA 732 Groveland Avenue CBA 737 Groveland Avenue CBA 800 Groveland Avenue C 801 Groveland Avenue C 804 Groveland Avenue C 809 Groveland Avenue CBA 810 Groveland Avenue C 820. Groveland Avenue C 824 Groveland Avenue CBA 833 Groveland Avenue CBA 908 Groveland A venue CBA 909 Groveland Avenue CBA 912 Groveland Avenue CBA 913 Groveland A venue CBA 917 Groveland Avenue CBA 921 Groveland Avenue CBA 925 Groveland Avenue CBA 927 Groveland Avenue CBA 928 Groveland Avenue CBA 933 Groveland Avenue CBA 937 Groveland Avenue CBA 941 Groveland Avenue CBA 1004 Groveland Avenue CBA 1005 Groveland Avenue CBA 229 So. Harbor Drive C 241 So. Harbor Drive C 324 So. Harbor Drive C 409 So. Harbor Drive CBA 501 So. Harbor Drive C 505 So. Harbor Drive CBA 519 So. Harbor Drive CBA 521 So. Harbor Drive M 0 D 612 So. Harbor Drive MOD 801 So. Harbor Drive MOD 825 So. Harbor Drive C Soo Rauser Lane CBA 800 Higel Drive CBA 915 Inlet Circle Road CBA 923 Inlet Circle Road CBA 927 Inlet Circle Road CBA 933 Inlet Circle Road CBA 943 Inlet Circle Road CBA 951 Inlet Circle Road C 811, 813 LaGuna Drive CBA 816 LaGuna Drive C 820 Madrid Avenue CBA 417 Menendez Street CBA 429 Menendez Street CBA 517 Menendez Street CBA 203 Miami Avenue CBA 217 Miami Avenue C 229 Nliami Avenue C 233 Miami Avenue C 232 Milan Avenue CBA 236 Milan Avenue CBA 712 Myrtle Avenue C 713 Myrtle Avenue C 717 Myrtle Avenue C 721 Myrtle Avenue CBA 725 Myrtle Avenue C 733 Myrtle Avenue CBA 737 Myrtle Avenue CBA 808 Myrtle Avenue CBA 915 Myrtle Avenue CBA 1005 Myrtle Avenue CBA 251 So. Nassau Street CBA 405 So. Nassau Street CBA 409 So. Nassau Street CBA 413 So. N assau Street CBA 417 So. Nassau Street CBA 421 So. Nassau Street CBA 429 So. Nassau Street CBA 500 So. Nassau Street C 504 So. Nassau Street MOD 513 So. Nassau Street CBA 200 Palermo Place CBA 204 Palermo Place CBA 208 Palermo Place CBA 212 Palermo Place C 410 Palmetto Court CBA 309 Pedro Street CBA 321 Pedro Street C 326 Pedro Street CBA 233 Pensacola Road CBA 239 Pensacola Road CBA 243 Pensacola Road CBA 244 Pensacola Road CBA 255 Pensacola Road C 261 Ponce de Leon Ave.* CBA 308 Ponce de Leon Ave. CBA 309 Ponce de Leon Ave. CBA 310 Ponce de, Leon Ave. CBA 317 Ponce de Leon Ave. CBA 332 Ponce de Leon Ave. CBA 337 Ponce de Leon Ave. C 517 Riviera Street C 529 Riviera Street CBA 540 Riviera Street CBA 545 Riviera Street C 224 Salerno CBA 314 Salerno CBA 240 San Marco Drive @-CBA 248 San Marco Drive MOD 256 San Marco Drive CBA 309 Sorrento Drive CBA 325 Sorrento Drive CBA 328 Sorrento Drive CBA 333 Sorrento Drive CBA 220 St. Augustine CBA 140 W. Tampa Avenue CBA 238 W. Tampa Avenue C 408 Venezia Park C 412 Venezia Park C 504 Venezia Park C 508 Venezia Park CBA 512 Venezia Park C 303 Venice Avenue East CBA 416 Venice Avenue East CBA 633 Venice Avenue East CBA 201 Venice Avenue West CBA 205 Venice Avenue West CBA 213 Venice Avenue West CBA 217 Venice Avenue West CBA 221 Venice Avenue West CBA 225 Venice Avenue West CBA 231 Venice Avenue West CBA 247 Venice Avenue West CBA 251 Venice Avenue West CBA 303 Venice Avenue West CBA 305 Venice Avenue West C8A 307 Venice Avenue West CBA 311 Venice Avenue vVest .C 605 Venice Avenue West C 613 Venice Avenue West C 625 Venice Av enue West MOD 641 Venice Avenue West KEY C - Contributing-Pristine CBA - Contributing but altered MOD - Florida Moderne I I . I AMenlix F: Index to Soil Survey of Sarasota County. Flgri maps. I I I I I I I I I I I I .I I I I 82 ONWOOD --- 6 A IF OU ARBOR I SARASO1, India INDEX TO MAP I BA r sch B Verly CM C SARASOTA COU HIrAKE BA rO FLORIDA d City Islan Cedar 27*200 Coon 7 8 h iakk. Carol Key S A A 0 1 0 1 2 Islas ARMAND 3 1- 1 1 1 f LI IJ as ASS 16 9 Be I I .0vis. 111 6 Bee idle 5 15 17 LL :4 rAT w. !a 27,15, V, 18 10 22 [email protected] -1 Lis it U ARK r It AKI, 82*15, R. 21 E. 62*10, 161ANATEE COU 4 25 17 1 I - - /Z lsi.n Cit 41, 2. 3 34 3 0 131 T 40 37 4 42 c 1, N 4 48 ZZLZ COUNTY 6 91 !2 27*0(Y 7' 9 9 -+0 *rA 53 z En Ile o i- 54 CHARLOTTE Appendix G:. Sanple Field q rvey Form Used in Historic Structures Survey. Recorder: Site No. Location: Survey Section: Site Name: Historic Contexts: 1916-20, WWlA 1920-29, BOOM 1929-41, DEPR 1941-50, WW2A Significance: Arch Hist NR Dist Local Other Address: Moved? Y M Vicinity of/Route to: Original Use: PrivRes Comm Educ Relig Indust Govt Other Present Use: PrivRes Comm Educ Relig Indust Govt Other Description: Style: FrameVern MasonryVern MedRev Bung Other Plan (exterior): Sq Rect L- T- U- shaped Irreg Other (interior): CentAisle Dogtrot DblPile, CentHall or SideHall SglPile, CentHall or SideHall Hall&Parl Shotgun Irreg Other No: Stories Outbldgs Porches Dormers Struct. systems: Wd.: balloon, braced, platform Brick Conc. olk Conc,poured Coquina blk Other Ext. Fabric(s): Wd: Wtrbd Dropsdgn Clapbd Bd&Btn Other Brick: running common English Flemish Stack Conc: Blk,plain Blk,rustic Poured,smooth Poured,textrd Stone,veneer uncoursed or rubble or ashlar Stucco: textured rough cast shell dash Other Foundation: Type: Continuous Pier Slab Other Matl: Brick ConcBlk Conc,poured Stone Wdblks Infill: Lattice Brick Conc Stone ConcBlk Bd&Batten pierced or continuous Porches: N E S W Other No. of Bays Access direction Type: Entrance End Gallery Stoop Portico Balcony No. Of stories Arch. features: Roof: Type: Hip Gable Gambrel Pyramid Shed Flat Built-up Jerkinhead Other: Surfacing: Shingles: Wood, slate, metal, composition Comp. rolled Sheet metal: 3-V, 5-V, Corrug., standing seam, Tile: barrel, flat, Built-up Other Secondary Roof Struct.: Dormer: eyebrow, flat, gable, hip, shed Cross gable Belvedere Cupola Steeple Tower Dome Turret Deck Other Chimney: No. N S E W; Center Offset End, int or ext Ridge Matl: Brick Conc ConcBlk Stone Tile Other Windows: Type: Sash, DH SH TH Casemt Awng Jalousie Fixed Sliding Panes: Matl: Wood Metal Other Config: Bay Paired Grouped/Ribbon (No. )other Ext. Ornmt: Brick Conc Metal Tile Wood Stone Other Description: Condition/Integrity: Condition: Excellent Good Fair Deteriorated; Threatened integrity: Altered Unaltered Orig. site Restored Moved Surroundings: Rural Urban; Resid Comm Educ Indust Govt Alterations: Windows Porches Addition Archaeological remains? Location Map(s): USGS 1/2 Section HOAA COASTAL SERVICES CTR LIBRARY 3 6668 14111384 7