[Congressional Record Volume 169, Number 62 (Thursday, April 13, 2023)]
[Extensions of Remarks]
[Page E308]
From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]



                        HON. GERALD E. CONNOLLY

                              of virginia

                    in the house of representatives

                        Thursday, April 13, 2023

  Mr. CONNOLLY. Mr. Speaker, I rise to recognize the recipients of the 
2023 Fairfax County Student Peace Awards.
  The Fairfax County Student Peace Awards began with one high school in 
2006 to encourage high school aged students to think about peace as 
both a means and an end, and to recognize young people who work as 
peacemakers. By 2013, the program was being offered in every public 
high school in Fairfax County, as well as in many private schools.
  Participating high schools choose one Junior or Senior, or one 
student group active in promoting peace or removing the causes of 
conflict. Examples of outreach include committing to peace by engaging 
in activities that strive to end conflict, either locally or globally, 
promoting the understanding of divisive issues and situations to bridge 
differences, and working to resolve conflicts among students or members 
of the community who feel isolated or alienated.
  I am pleased to include in the Record the names of this year's 
Student Peace Award winners:
  Filimon Meaza, Annandale High School; Debora Horng, Centreville High 
School; Ella Ostlund, Chantilly High School; Ella Duncan-High, Edison 
High School; Adan Eftekhari, Fairfax High School; Lucia Patino Iporre, 
Falls Church High School; Ash Bulmer, Hayfield Secondary School; Amanda 
Green, Herndon High School; Girl Up, Justice High School; Nadine 
Elosta, King Abdullah Academy (KAA); Jessica Sim, Lake Braddock 
Secondary School; Bareen (Bree) Yagana, Langley High School; Mohamed 
Karim EI-Gaili, John. R. Lewis High School; Matthew Sullivan, Madison 
High School.
  No Place for Hate, Marshall High School; Saehee Perez, McLean High 
School; Amare D'Agostino, Mount Vernon High School; Aaliyah Garnett, 
Mountain View High School; Frank Marquez, Quander Road School; Jaeda 
Lawton, Robinson Secondary School; John Claude Shaffer, South County 
High School; Urooj Khattak, South Lakes High School; Social Change 
Club, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology; Sarah 
Salama, West Potomac High School; Muqtader Zahid, West Springfield High 
School; Cameron Kasper, Westfield High School; UNICEF Club, Woodson 
High School.
  Mr. Speaker, the efforts of these young people are the building 
blocks of a more peaceful and tolerant world. I commend them on their 
efforts and dedication and ask my colleagues to join me in 
congratulating each award recipient and thanking them as well as 
Fairfax County Public School System and sponsor organizations for all 
they have done for our community.