[Congressional Record Volume 168, Number 193 (Tuesday, December 13, 2022)]
[Page H9699]
From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]


  The SPEAKER pro tempore. The Chair recognizes the gentleman from 
Virginia (Mr. Cline) for 5 minutes.
  Mr. CLINE. Mr. Speaker, I rise today to recognize the Fincastle 
Volunteer Fire Department for 75 years of service.
  Since its beginning in 1947, the Fincastle Volunteer Fire Department 
has been a 100 percent volunteer organization and remains strong with 
30 volunteers currently.
  These brave men and women play a crucial role in working alongside 
Botetourt County Fire and EMS services, offering critical localized 
emergency fire prevention and mitigation support for the people of 
  The volunteers who serve as firefighters and EMTs within the 
department go through extensive training, giving up their time, energy, 
and safety to help others.
  Working alongside the firefighters and EMTs are support personnel who 
perform the vital administrative work and fundraising that keeps the 
station functioning.
  They are led by current officers Chief Dustin Ware, Deputy Chief Ben 
Campbell, Captain Matthew Webster, Lieutenant Kyle Setliff, Lieutenant 
Frank Schermer, and Lieutenant Jordan Campbell.
  The Fincastle Volunteer Fire Department's longevity stands as a 
testament to the civic spirit of the town and an example we should all 
  I thank the Fincastle Volunteer Fire Department for their selfless 
service and wish them another 75 years of success.

              Recognizing Stuarts Draft Cheerleading Team

  Mr. CLINE. Mr. Speaker, I rise to recognize the Stuarts Draft Cougars 
cheer team for winning this year's Class 1 and 2 Virginia State 
cheerleading championship. This victory marks the program's fifth State 
title in 6 years.
  The Cougars faced numerous hurdles to reach this victory, placing 
second behind Fort Defiance during the first round. However, before the 
second round began, Coach Tammy Carter told the team to be ``the 
athletes they trained to be,'' and they did just that.
  By focusing on what they needed to improve, the Cougars left it all 
on the mat and increased their score by 30\1/2\ points, earning the 
State title.
  These talented athletes include Lexi Almarode, Addison Colvin, Jenna 
Comer, Sofia Coppola, Taylor Huffman, Zoe Mader, Zane Marshall, Abby 
Mikolay, Caydence Morris, Tarynn Morris, Baleigh Painter, Eiko Puckett, 
Olivia Puckett, Alyssa Sanner, Holly Stevens, A'mya Swats, and Natalie 
  For six seniors on the team, Sofia, Zoe, Zane, Abby, Caydence, and 
Baleigh, this was their memory of cheering together, an outpouring of 
emotion hoisting the State championship trophy one final time.
  Senior Zane Marshall said of his class' historic reign: ``To have 
three [State championships], I don't even know how to feel. It is 
crazy,'' he said.
  The seniors will leave their high school cheerleading careers with 
their heads held high, knowing their leadership and performance have 
left a lasting legacy on the team.
  Congratulations to all the talented athletes and dedicated coaches on 
this incredible victory. They have earned it.