[Congressional Record Volume 161, Number 89 (Thursday, June 4, 2015)]
[Extensions of Remarks]
[Page E843]
From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]



                         HON. CHARLES B. RANGEL

                              of new york

                    in the house of representatives

                         Thursday, June 4, 2015

  Mr. RANGEL. Mr. Speaker, I rise today to congratulate the 2015 
recipients of the coveted Ellis Island Medal of Honor.
  This prestigious honor is presented annually by the National Ethnic 
Coalition of Organizations--NECO, and pays tribute to our Nation's 
immigrant heritage, as well as to those whose achievements and 
contributions to our Nation embody the American Dream. The Ellis Island 
Medals of Honor are awarded to U.S. citizens from diverse ethnic 
backgrounds who exemplify outstanding qualities in both their personal 
and professional lives, while continuing to preserve the richness of 
their particular heritage and culture. Since the Medals' founding in 
1986, more than 2,000 American citizens have received the Ellis Island 
Medal of Honor, including six American Presidents, United States 
Senators, Congressmen, Nobel Laureates, athletes, artists, clergy, and 
military leaders. The Medal is not about achieving material success, 
nor is it about the politics of immigration; it is about the people who 
have committed themselves to this nation, embraced the opportunities 
America has to offer, and most importantly, who have used those 
opportunities to not only better their own lives but make a difference 
in our country and in the lives of its people.
  Citizens of the United States hail from every nation known to man. It 
is the key to why America is the most innovative, progressive and 
forward thinking country in the world. The Ellis Island Medals of Honor 
not only celebrate individuals but also the pluralism and democracy 
that enabled our fore bearers, ourselves and the next generation of 
Americans to celebrate their unique cultural identities while still 
championing the American way of life. In addition, by honoring these 
remarkable Americans, we honor all who share their origins and 
acknowledge the contributions they have made to America.
  I commend NECO and its Board of Directors headed by my dear friend, 
Nasser J. Kazeminy, for honoring these truly outstanding individuals 
for their tireless efforts to foster dialogue and build bridges between 
different ethnic groups, as well as to promote unity and a sense of 
common purpose in our nation.
  Mr. Speaker, I ask all of my colleagues to join me in recognizing the 
good works of NECO and in congratulating all of the 2015 recipients of 
the Ellis Island Medal of Honor.

              2015 Ellis Island Medal of Honor Recipients

       Shohreh Aghdashloo, Dr. Kamiar Alaei, Masoud ``Mike'' 
     Altirs, Domingo T. Alvear, MD, FACS, FICS, Shireen Atabaki, 
     MD, MPH, Christopher Atamian, Trisha A Bailey, Jay H. Baker, 
     PhD., Patty Baker, Rear Admiral Paul Becker, U.S. Navy, Miri 
     Ben-Ari, Mirghavamaddin Bozorgmir, Nicholas R. Caiazzo, Esq., 
     Ted A. Chaglassian, MD, FACS, Dr. Allen Chan, D.C, Jo Ellen 
     Chatham, PhD, Diane Cirincione-Jampolsky, PhD, Maj Gen. 
     Vincent A. Coglianese, Rocco B. Commisso, Edward T. Creagan, 
     MD, Juan Carlos Cruz, Rajdeep K. Dhami, MD, Reverend Peter M. 
     Donohue, O.S.A., LCDR Joyce M. Elter, USN (Ret), Ahmass 
     Fakahany, Sheriff Louis Falco III, Adm Mark E. Ferguson III, 
     USN, Meera Gandhi, Chad P. Gehani DDS, Richard L. Gelfond, 
     Palmer C. Hamilton, Esq., Leslie Hanson, Master Chief Eric J. 
     Heimburger, Myron Z. Holubiak, Gerald G. Jampolsky, MD, Dr. 
     Kyo ``Paul'' Jhin, Rahul M. Jindal, M.D., Ph.D, MBA, Mike O. 
     Joulakian P.E, Pamela J. Joyner, Vahe Karapetian, Colonel 
     James J. Keefe, Mariam Khosravani, Kevin D. Kim, Rev. Seung 
     Hee Kim, Mr. Young Kil Kim, KV Kumar, Chief Cathy L. Lanier, 
     William ``Don'' Larson, Dr. David Lizarraga, Luis G. Lobo, 
     Howard Lutnick, Martha ``Muffy'' MacMillan, Hildegarde 
     Ercklentz Mahoney, John (Manoukarakis) Manos, RADM Larry Roy 
     Marsh (Ret.), Major General Thomas J. Masiello, USAF, Lt 
     General Wendy M. Masiello, DAD Brian F. McCauley FBI, Deric 
     A. Milligan, Major Creighton A. Mullins, USAF, Harry 
     Nadjarian, Chief Abdo Nahmod, Alyssa Navallo-Herman, Justice 
     Sandra Day O'Connor, James P. O'Neill, Catherine O'Reilly, 
     Dr. Zulfiya Orynbayeva, Anoosheh M. Oskouian, Lieutenant 
     General Raymond P. Palumbo, Congressman Ted Poe, Bernard J. 
     Poussot, Robert L. Priddy, Mariano Rivera, Dr. Mostafa 
     Ronaghi, Andrew Sabin, Mike M. Sarian, John Sculley, Gerard 
     Senehi, Frank Shankwitz, Dr. Simon K. Simonian, Major General 
     Linda L. Singh, S.Mona Sinha, Robert F. Spetzler, MD, Hao 
     Jiang Tian, Jeremy Travis, Peter Unanue, Bob Unanue, George 
     Uribe, Nikiforos Valaskantjis, Meredith Vieira, Wafeek Samuel 
     Wahby, Ph.D, B.Th, Kenneth E. Warner, Esq., James N. 
     Weinstein, DO, MS, Richard Roderick Willis, Rabbi Amiel Wohl, 
     Ehsan Yarshater, PhD., Shirley Young, Theodore K. Zampetis, 
     Francois Zayek. International Medal Recipients: Baroness Dr. 
     Sandip Verma, Bert Sakmann MD, PhD.

       International Ellis Island Medal of Honor Recipients: 
     Baroness Dr. Sandip Verna and Bert Sakmann MD, PhD.