[Congressional Record Volume 157, Number 99 (Wednesday, July 6, 2011)]
[Extensions of Remarks]
[Page E1236]
From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]



                            HON. DAN BURTON

                               of indiana

                    in the house of representatives

                        Wednesday, July 6, 2011

  Mr. BURTON of Indiana. Mr. Speaker, I rise today to congratulate the 
2011 recipients of the coveted Ellis Island Medal of Honor. Presented 
annually by the National Ethnic Coalition, NECO, the Ellis Island Medal 
of Honor pays tribute to our Nation's immigrant heritage, as well as 
individual achievement. This year, the Ellis Island Medal of Honor 
takes on a special significance as 2011 marks the 25th anniversary of 
these distinguished awards, a milestone which was celebrated this past 
May with a patriotic ceremony on Ellis Island. The medals are awarded 
to U.S. citizens from various ethnic backgrounds who exemplify 
outstanding qualities in both their personal and professional lives, 
while continuing to preserve the richness of their particular heritage. 
Since the medal's founding in 1986, more than 2,000 American citizens 
have received Ellis Island Medals of Honor, including six American 
Presidents, several United States Senators, Congressmen, Nobel 
Laureates, outstanding athletes, artists, clergy, and military leaders.
  As we all know, citizens of the United States can trace their 
ancestry to many nations. The richness and diversity of American life 
makes us unique among the nations of the world and is in many ways the 
key to why America is the most innovative country in the world. The 
Ellis Island Medals of Honor not only celebrate select individuals but 
also the pluralism and democracy that enabled our ancestors to 
celebrate their cultural identities while still embracing the American 
way of life. This medal is not about money, but about people who seized 
the opportunities this great country has to offer and who used those 
opportunities to not only better their own lives but make a difference 
in the lives of those around them. By honoring these outstanding 
individuals, we honor all who share their origins and we acknowledge 
the contributions they and other groups have made to America. I commend 
NECO and its Board of Directors headed by my good friend, Nasser J. 
Kazeminy, for honoring these truly outstanding individuals for their 
tireless efforts to foster dialogue and build bridges between different 
ethnic groups, as well as promotes unity and a sense of common purpose 
in our Nation.
  Mr. Speaker, I ask all of my colleagues to join me in recognizing the 
good works of NECO over these last 25 years and in congratulating all 
of the 2011 recipients of the Ellis Island Medals of Honor.

              2011 Ellis Island Medals of Honor Recipients

       Gina Addeo, Setrak O. Agonian, Margaret Ajemian Ahnert, 
     Carlos E. Alvarez, Hamid Ansari, Michael Aram, Tom Arnold, 
     Kevork B. Bardakjian, PhD, Stanley M. Bergman, Tejinder 
     SinghBindra, Col. Matthew Bogdanos, Esq., USMC (Ret.), John 
     A. Brennan, MD, Paul A. Brinkley, Jerry Cahill, Hon. 
     Salvatore J. Cassano, Anthony D. Chimino, Steve S. Chon, Jim 
     Clifton, Darryle D. Clott, James F. Comley, Giancarlo Crupi, 
     MD, James Jian Cui, MD, PhD, Supt. Joseph A. D'Amico, Marty 
     D. Davidson, Joseph F. Dean, ADM Bruce DeMars, USN (Ret.), 
     Nitin V. Doshi, DDS, Pierre Dulaine, CAPT Linda L. Fagan, 
     USCG, David Fitzpatrick, PhD, Bill V. Gallo, Cyril E. 
     Geacintov, PhD, John Giuffre, SSgt. Salvatore A. Giunta, USA, 
     Joseph R. Haiek, Dorothy J. Harber, Lacy J. Harber, Stuart C. 
     Harvey, Jr., Salah M. Hassanein, Robert S. Hekemian, Hon. 
     Patrick Henry, Scott H. Herman, Fernando J. Hernandez, John 
     M. Iacono, O. Wayne Isom, MD, Joel P. Jahraus, MD, MG 
     Nathaniel James, AUS, Hon. James A. Kaddo, Chief Charles S. 
     Kammerdener, Dr. Munr Kazmir, Ken Kendrick, Kamran Khavarani, 
     PhD, Hon. Peter J. Koutoujian, Sr., Cecilia M. La Pietra, OP, 
     Wai Lap Leung, MD, Jeffrey E. Levine, Jerry Lewis, Weining 
     Liang, MD, Joanie M. Madden, Babu Rao Mandava, Joseph A. 
     Martorana, Anthony J. Melita, Joseph S. Micallef, JD, Radmila 
     Milentijevic, PhD, LTG John F. Mulholland, Jr., USA, Francis 
     Najafi, Vali R. Nasr, PhD, Younes Nazarian, Denis O'Brien, 
     James G. O'Connor, John O'Hurley, Gail Talanian O'Reilly, 
     Harvey E. Oyer, III, Esq., Mustafa Oz, MD, FACS, BG Frederick 
     M. Padilla, USMC, Fa Y. Park, Patrick M. Park, William L. 
     Perocchi, Vladimir Prodanovich, Philip Pumerantz, PhD, Fahim 
     Rahim, MD, Naeem Rahim, MD, Ali C. Razi, Frank L. Regnante, 
     Doris Roberts, Michele M. Rollins, Esq., Thomas Roma, Bruno 
     L. Sammartino, Samin K. Sharma, MD, Kevin Chang Yao Shih, 
     Donald F. Shula, CMSgt Darren A. Silsbee, USAF, Susan Sommer-
     Luarca, Joel Szabat, George Veras, Manu K. Vora, PhD, MBA, 
     Joseph M. Walsh, Shirley Wang, Richard P. Wei, Roger L. 
     Williams, MD, Walter W. Wise, Jr., Chris Jia Shu Xu, Madlena 
     Zepter, Philip Zepter, Kenny Weiqun Zhang.