[Congressional Record Volume 146, Number 13 (Monday, February 14, 2000)]
[Extensions of Remarks]
[Page E131]
From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]



                          HON. JOHN E. SWEENEY

                              of new york

                    in the house of representatives

                       Monday, February 14, 2000

  Mr. SWEENEY. Mr. Speaker, I rise today to honor New York State's 
Teacher of the Year, Mrs. Marilyn Lance of East Greenbush, New York. 
Mrs. Lance surpassed nearly sixty other candidates to win the highly 
coveted award, which is affiliated with the national Teacher of the 
Year program. Mrs. Lance is the first Capitol Region teacher to win the 
award in twenty four years.
  Marilyn Lance has dedicated the last 27 years to upholding the hopes 
and dreams of hundreds of children in the Averill Park Central School 
District. Optimism and positive vibes permeate from her classroom. She 
believes every child can achieve and provide the spark required to 
ignite their creativity, imagination and interest. Children embrace her 
caring demeanor and rise to meet her high academic standards.
  Mrs. Lance brings a special set of skills into her class of first and 
second graders. She never asks a child to do something they can't do 
and has a knack for bringing out the best in every student.
  Student success is her top priority. Her reward is seeing students 
grow and learn. She truly cares about each and every student. Mrs. 
Lance meets their needs at every level: educational, emotional, and 
spiritual. Children in her class are treated with respect and learn the 
value of kindness and decency. I commend her efforts to provide a rich, 
intellectually stimulating environment in which children learn the 
vital skills required to be successful in our society.
  Mr. Speaker, please join me in congratulating Marilyn Lance on her 
selection as New York State Teacher of the Year. Also, please join me 
in wishing her the very best of luck in the upcoming National Teacher 
of the Year competition.